We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't come hungry” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't come hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

When I read past reviews of this resort I brushed off the fact the food didn't get the best reviews thinking, maybe they just had a bad experience. But after being there for 5 day and having nothing but horrible food I can guarantee those reviews were correct. Though the food is plentiful and always available do not expect to have hot food. We tried multiple times to be first in line at restaurants in hopes of hot fresh food but was greeted with cold preheated stuff, most likely left over from the day before. Luckily this resort had an ice cream bar and we probably ate more ice cream than actual food because it actually tasted good. Coming to Mexico I wasn't expecting to get Sam's Club bulk cheese on my nachos.

This resort doesn't have any hot tubs, only cold water jacuzzis. Also very surprising was the lack of night life at the resort. We went during the end of November so the sun went down pretty early (5:30) and it seemed that as soon as the sun went down the resort became a ghost town. They do have shows at night but not a lot of people went to it, and the dance club was completely empty.

Pros: The staff is very nice, great beach, lots of pools and chairs to relax, Staff was always around cleaning stuff. Staff spoke english

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank vacationcoupleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your vacation in Mexico.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Every comment brought forth by our guest is highly appreciated. We commend ourselves on maintaining high standards and strive for high customer satisfaction. We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your last stay, with respect the food, for the breakfast and lunch we have different options for our guest which they will found food for their preference. For the dinner we have the main buffet, every night is different theme: caribbean, oriental, spanish, international, mexican, etc. Also, we have the restaurants a la carte (dinner reservation is mandatory with the concierge in the building), we have 07 options for our guest, also we have the room service which is available 24 hrs.
We do not have hot jacuzzi, however we have the spa where you will find hot Jacuzzi and indoor pool. For the activities at night, our staff animation has activities until 04:30 p.m., then, they will prepare the other activities for our guest (mini disco, pre-show, main show).
Again, thank you for your constructive comments, your feedback helps us in order to improve our service.
We hope to serve you in a next future if you decide choose Iberostar again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,241
    1,518
    497
    178
    90
See reviews for
2,767
1,301
48
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well lets start with the Bad!!!! Arrive at Hotel ask for are room and all the they have is a king size when we ask for 2 beds.Walk into are room ,to are surprise there is a god awful Moldy smell in the room .Ask to be moved but they said they did not have anything available.Open window all night could barley breath for all the moisture and smell.Next Finally got moved to another room but was just a regular room not a Junior suite.Way better then Junior dont' waist your money on upgrade.As for the beach it is nice BUT,be warned there is lots,&lots of ROCKS.I READ reviews before and took it with a grain of salt,but it is TRUE I cut both my feet on the rock and my daughter cut her knee.No,water shoes will not help.Food Cuban food is way better enough said.As for the good!! Night shows ,If it wasn't for them are holiday would have been ruined...I am not a picky person but if you want a good Holiday I would suggest somewhere else.Will not be going to anymore Iberostars AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent stay in Mexico.
With respect to your comments, we would like to express our sincere apologies for the incidents that you had during your stay.
For the room request, we cannot guarantee any room, location, building or type of bed in advance because is subject to availability, we always try to do the best for our guest. For the smell that you perceived in the room, we have a special program with maintenance staff in order to avoid the humidity in the rooms, as we are in the Caribbean . This type of feedback helps in order to improve our service in the areas you mentioned before. We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your last stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future so we can change your point of view in regards to these issues.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was our first vacation experience in Mexico. A day before the trip, I was reading customers' reviews about this particular resort - Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. And I started with the worst ones... Looks like people complain about things that we should just not allow to interfere with having fun. Seriously, - "annoying" little animals, coaties: as much as I'm not fond of animals, they never bothered me but actually those who approached them with food in hands. Access to dry towels is only in the pool area, not on the beach: right, because the road to the beach does go through the towel spot anyway, just grab one and go! Cold water in the pool: well, if you use it at 9 am, then may be, simply try to go there at noon, feels much better. Uncooked food: salmon and tuna, if they are fresh (I tasted myself: very fresh!) have to be cooked up to medium only. Other than that, well, things happen, everywhere, not only in Mexico. And if you are worried, have a vegetarian week: there are tons of vegetarian dishes there. One man was complaining about the rudeness of staff members. Gosh: how mean you have to be yourself in order to get those people speaking rudely to you?!! We have travelled all over Europe and Middle East, and there is one thing I have to say: we have never, nowhere come across with such sincere friendliness and hospitality as in Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, Cancun, Mexico!!! Thank you, guys! We will miss that place! And we are coming back!

Room Tip: First floor accumulates too much of humidity. Building 53 is right in the middle. However, the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anastassia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like yours, and on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude, for choosing our resort for your family vacation. We appreciate the fact that you took such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

It is a cause of satisfaction to know that as a team we were able to meet your expectations during your vacation in Mexico.

We will give the comments to the staff so that they can know that they were able to have another guest leave satisfied so much so they plan to return.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for another great vacation.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family of 10 spent a wonderful week here. The resort is big and beautiful, the rooms large and very clean, the service excellent, and the food good. The concierge was unfailingly helpful and cheerful, as was the entire staff. The children had a wonderful time on the sandy beach, and loved ordering drinks (sans alcohol of course) at the beach bars. We were not impressed with the dinner buffet, but otherwise the food was very good. We recommend having dinner at specialty restaurants. We enjoyed being able to go to other Iberostar resorts for dinner.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the beach, try building 53 or 54. Be aware that on the ground floor bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXTraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your vacation destination and for taking the time to post a review on “Trip Advisor”. We are delighted to hear that you had and enjoyable experience with us during your stay. We will forward your comments to the appropriate department manager so that your suggestions may be taken under advisement. We look forward to the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deroche
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

very nice hotel, lots of food and places to eat ,very nice beach with waves , if you wanted a palapa you had to get up a little earlier but we've had this experience at every hotel where the beach is nice and the water is beautiful . We found there wasn't enough activities after supper to keep us awake till the evening show.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank hansDeroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your vacation and for taking the time to post such a kind review of your stay with us on “Trip Advisor” as we are sure travelers and possible future guests will find it helpful.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel and staff. We hope to see you soon and serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We came to Mexico with another couple and had highly recommended this resort - as we had been here two years previously. We stayed at the Lindo the first two weeks of November and our rooms were in the 51 block. Our concierge, Nicholas, put the customer in customer service. He was extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The overall staff and grounds were all wonderful. The bartenders and pool servers were diligent and remembered us and our orders. We all had alot of fun. The only thing that was perplexing to all 4 of us was that we suffered from heart burn/indigestion almost every day. Never had this happen before in Mexico or at this resort. Only thing I can think of is that there was some base cooking ingredient that disagreed with us. A couple of TUMS solved the problem. My husband and I enjoyed the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Our friends loved the a la cartes. The Jambalya and Seafood restaurants were exceptional, but the other restaurants were good too. Would not hesitate to go back to this resort or any of the group of Iberostar resorts in this location..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarens727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo staff and managers, I would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to the managers of the staff that you mentioned in your review so that they know of your impression and experience of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post such a pleasant review of our resort for the online community and possible future guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer and we look forward to having the opportunity to host your vacation again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Everyone should experience this beautiful and exotic resort. Everything about our stay here was above and beyond our expectations! We have been to many other resorts and this is our very favorite. The grounds are beautiful and meticulously kept, the staff is very friendly, and the dining is fabulous! Whether you are a couple or a family with children, the Iberostar offers the perfect setting for everyone! I recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank Dts1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the staff and particularly the General Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort to spend your vacation. Moreover, we are deeply grateful for the time you have taken to send us your comments on your opinion of your holiday with us.
It undoubtedly motivates us to continue improving hearing that you have not only had an enjoyable vacation, but also intend to recommend our beautiful resort. We thank you for your kind recommendation of our property and we look forward to seeing you again at Iberostar.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,364 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,006 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing