We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activities A+++, Food just average....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Activities A+++, Food just average....”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you're looking for a fun resort with tons of activities for both adults and kids of all ages, this is your place. The fun is never-ending and the "Star Friends" are super friendly and everywhere you turn -- Jeanette and Daniel were two of our favorites! Just a few of the many activities -- water polo, water basketball, lazy river, wave pool, darts, archery, air gun, bingo, ping pong, dance lessons, kayaks, sail boats, scuba classes, water aerobics, bike tours, pool games, I could literally go on and on...always something fun to do!!

The variety of food is also never-ending...so many different options, I can't even begin to name everything -- the only thing lacking, for me personally, were healthy options. With the exception of the fresh fruits/salad, a lot of stuff at the buffets and in the restaurants is fried and greasy -- apparently what most people prefer. That would be my only complaint about this amazing resort -- I found myself eating salad, bread and cheese at many meals, because I couldn't find entrees prepared without oil/butter.

That said, we seriously loved this place -- the pool service is great -- always someone coming around at the pool to take drink orders -- for kids, the banana milkshakes are insanely delicious -- as are the Coco Loco drinks for adults. Also, the rooms are stocked with plenty of water bottles, beer and canned soft drinks (all complementary) so you won't ever go thirsty.

Bring bug spray and plenty of sunscreen, definitely needed. And, men are required to wear pants to the restaurants at night. This is strictly enforced, for real.

Kids club, we only used one evening, while we went to the adults-only restaurant, but Letti was super nice and our kids had fun during the two-hours there.

We loved the shows at night -- especially the magic show and Miss Iberostar -- what a hoot! Also, volunteer to be in the pre-show because not only are they fun, the winners walk away with a free massage!

The work-out gym is ok -- air conditioned and several of each machine, when they are working.

The computers are often not working, so if you have an urgent need to check email or whatever, you may be out of luck.

Feel free to message me with any questions.

Room Tip: building 55 is perfect for families -- very close to kids club, sports pool, theater and buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,485
    1,631
    527
    188
    96
See reviews for
2,990
1,419
52
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo June 28, 2011 - July 2, 2011 with my 2 girls.
The staff was wonderful (Star Friends) The Service was Great!
We had dinner at the Gourmet (our favorite), the Italian was just okay and the Steak House over at the Maya was awesome.
The Wave pool was fun and the Lazy River was just that Lazy!
They do not have elevators so remember this when you find out what floor you are on.
If you have small children may want to request lower level room. We didn't mind the 3rd floor because of all the food we ate, it was great exercise. We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tc7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The buildings and grounds exceeded our expectations times two. Other than 4 or 5 minor issues with our rooms, this was a great vacation. It was disapointing to order a virgin dacari and get cheap syrup like a 7-eleven store. The food was good, but very far from being excellent. The watersports on the beach were just OK. Some of the shows in the big open air theatre were excellent.
DO NOT believe a word the vendors say in Playa Del Carmen. They are all liars. Sorry to be so mean, but they are. DO NOT buy a trip or jewelry in Playa Del Carmen. The trip will have problems such as 5 or 6 stops before you get to your destination. The jewelry.....FAKE! All of it. Don't waste your time unless you buy it for $15 or $20 dollars. Again....liars. The Alexandrite is completely fake. Also, most everyone pushes the time shares and tries to sneak the promotion into a day trip somewhere. Watch out!
Took a day trip to Tulum Maya ruins and XEL-Ha, it was OK but extremely hot.
Overall, a very nice trip, but we most likely will never go back to Cancun/Riviera Maya area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inspector141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Lindo was a excellent resort. From the minute you walk in you can tell it is great. I was a bit nervous knowing that it is not a new resort, or recently remodeled, but it was clearly built to hold up. Thinking of that. Apple ratings are way off. I would rate this resort a golden apple higher than any of the Now Resorts, or Dreams PA. In fact I would go back and rate Dreams PA a 3 star resort after staying here as this place was almost twice as nice. Here is a quick breakdown:

Negatives:
1) Towel game is in full effect. Actually it might be worse than anywhere else I have stayed, but I am used to this. Towel game is just a part of Mexico.
2) This place is crowded, and some people are pretty rude. We came with another couple and just found some of the attitudes to be funny after awhile.
3) There is a lot of walking, but maybe it is not all necessary. I have blisters on my feet and I am an active 31 year old male. I am just not used to wearing beach sandals and walking miles everyday. I stayed in room 55, closer to the lobby, which I actually thought was better for the nighttime activities. It is closer to most all of the restaurants. The buffet for breakfast and lunch is better by the lobby. I will touch on the food in a bit. From the beach, to the room, to the taco bar and tapas (both very cool and a very nice touch), to the room, x2 times a day, your feet will hurt.

Positives:
1) Variety and quality of food. I don't know what people are talking about. I had the best food I have ever had in Mexico here. Make reservations, and do not eat at the buffet for all your meals. There is a concierge in every room block and it is easy to make reservations. French was great. Mexican was maybe not as good, but I have chili rellenos which was excellent. Also ate at the seafood, and that was a little freaky as those prawns are little monsters. I would rather someone pull them apart for me. The steak and veal was better at the Lindo than any other I have had, or at least on par with Palace Resorts.
3) I really thought the taco bar, tapas, and hamburger bar on the other side of the lobby was a nice and enjoyable touch. I ate over here for lunch and found it was great break from the madness at the lunch buffets.

I think I will stop here, but even though there are some negatives the positives by far out weigh the bad. To dispel a couple myths: I have no bug bites. None. My wife has 3, but she did not wear bug spray to the nightly shows, and I had on pants. The food is good, maybe not 5 star, but say overall a 7.5/10 which by Mexico standards is excellent. Rooms are comfortable. Hugo at the beach bar was excellent, Alex at the lobby bar was excellent, and I can remember her name but the girl at the Tapas Bar was also excellent.
Tip- It is what you do in Mexico, and you will get much better service.

Feel free to email me with any questions. Go here, and have fun!

Room Tip: Ask at check-in. They will try and work with you. I am not sure there is anyway to avoid all the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itravelsome715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Paraiso Lindo 9 nights with an extended family. Being at Iberostar before (Dominicana) I have to admit that this one was a better experience overall. Although, my brother stayed at Paraiso Maya before and liked Maya better. Lindo and Maya are almost identical, but being at Maya gives you some perks - like free WiFi in the lobby, access to more restaurants and, which I found disappointing, use of the Spa facilities ( we didn't know about all of these differences, just assumed the two resorts were the same, our agent never mentioned it). Other than that - it's a great place. Rooms and all areas are very clean (they literally wash all sidewalks and stairs around the buildings). Service was very quick - great convinience: having conceirge for every building, no need to go to a lobby, response is fast and with the smile. We used tennis courts - need to reserve with the same concierge, never was a problem (they also have tennis clinics in the morning). As always with Iberostar - lots of things to do, participate, shows to watch, disco, shopping. There are few buffet restaurants (near the lobby and by the pool). Both are excellent, with wide variety and great quality (lobby has more choices, more attentive service and A/C). Beach area depends on location (less rocky to the right, we noticed), but overall very comfortable, with enough umbrellas, chases, etc. Pool area is huge and has everything for everybody - wave pool, lazy river, swim bar, shallow, deep,...
We went on a tour - Xel-ha and Tulum. Was misinformed by Apple Vacation rep. about distance and timeframe. Even though they say it's close (30 min.away), it took almost 2 hours to get to the park with all the stops and traffic, which left us with much less time to spend there, and then we were 'running' to Tulum and back. Both places were interesting and worth visiting, but overall we were left feeling rushed and not completely satisfied. Needs better planning and honest explanation.
Check-in at Lindo needs some improvement. First, it took longer than it should, we were all standing by the counter, it was crowded; then, it took a while to get all rooms ready. (In Maya check-in is more civilized, people actually can sit down to fill out forms, there are more clerks to keep things moving)
Very nice gym - cool, large, with all the necessary machines, water, steam room and showers. A little far, though, to walk in the heat. Tried to wait for the resort 'train', but it never came. Unpredictable schedule.
Room bathrooms are large and clean too. Shower didn't have enough pressure, maybe because we were on the 3d floor. Room A/C worked perfectly - very comfortable and quiet, with no smells common in high humidity. Our room was a corner one and I loved wrap around balcony. One small improvement they need to make - TVs are so old that they barely have a color picture.
I would go back again, but probably choose Maya next time.

Room Tip: liked buildings closer to the beach but not overlooking pool (too busy and humid higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank muziklv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Just returned from a seven night stay at the Lindo. The resort is beautiful, everything positive. It reminds me of Disney where all the employees are constantly smiling, working, and maintaining.
I would like to leave a few suggestions:
- Bring your own coffee and powdered creamer (for your in room coffee maker). The coffee is awful!
- Family of 4 went through 4 cans of sunscreen
- Make dinner reservations, dinner buffet isn't much different than lunch
- Kids shows start at 8pm adult 9:30
- bring bug spray for nighttime shows 1 can should be fine
- bring ones and five dollar bills, it was hard to make change from the bigger bills
- Bring tubes 1.99 at Target
- Pick up activities brochure at towel hut on your first day
- I hate to say this but you will have to play the towel game, after 4 days of being nice and polite we also played the game (7am).
- Brush up on your spanish (if your first visit ) you will need to ask for directions
- If staying at Lindo choose building 53 , it is the center of everyhting, facing the main pool where the swim up bar and activities are located.
- Hamburger place open till 3am at the Plaza
Hope you have as much fun as we did!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rudygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Really gross food a health hazard and the Mosquitos will eat you up. They spray the rooms with chemicals even when people are in them.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jao1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,867 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,768 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,918 reviews
18.1 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing