We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The grounds were beautiful, but the place was too corporate.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton ON Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The grounds were beautiful, but the place was too corporate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

We've been to many all-inclusives and have come to the realization that everything starts to look the same after a while. This hotel was beautiful, but not warm and cozy like you want to feel when you're on a special vacation. It's just too darn big and is there to serve the masses rather than individual tastes. We would've liked the same waiters and the same bartenders to establish a relationship with those who you'll be seeing all week long.
We found it to be very corporate, which is a common feeling when you're dealing with thousands of guests (or so it seemed). Unfortunately, we had the experience of being surrounded by hundreds of spanish-speaking business people, who were there, not to relax on vacation, but were hustling to their next team-building exercize or meeting in the convention centre. It affected the overall ambience of the place.
Here now, is the definitive review of this resort by two people who know what they're talking about.
FOOD
Palatable and somewhat varied. If you're going to be there for a week, you will no doubt see many of the same dishes. Having said that, the ice cream, chocolate mousse, roast chicken and guacamole were standouts. Oh yes, and the donuts too. Also, the porridge at breakfast was pretty good along with the eggs. Try to order something fresh, as the food gets cold and stale if it's sitting in the trays for any more than 20 minutes.
ROOMS
No complaints here. Clean and beautiful. Great bed, nice balcony but as with anything else, it's all about location. Ask for a room that faces the pool, where it's quieter. Any room that faces the road is noisy, as the golf carts are constantly going by carrying all manner of items and people. We were unlucky enough to be caught in a complex that had all these conventioneers who couldn't have cared less about peace and quiet. We had to pay another 20 dollars a night to be upgraded to a junior suite (which is the same room but with a nicer TV and a quieter location). We moved after one night, and it was well worth it, but I think the front desk should've bumped us up with no charge considering the disruption caused by these people. Oh well, it was worth the money to get a nice, quiet room.
NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT
Since we're early risers, we never saw one show. They started too late for us.
BEACH
One of the highlights of the resort. Make sure you take a catamaran ride if you really want a joyous experience. The water is a bit rocky near the beach, so watch where you're walking. The Beach Grill offers good food from Noon until 5. Plenty of lounge chairs to be had.
POOL
It was darn cold for the first few days, but then got warmer as the week went on. A couple of swim-up bars, but no waiters to take your drink orders. You actually had to go to the bar yourself to get your drink. Bring your own mugs, because the cups they give you are chintzy.
RESTAURANTS
Don't bother with the a la carte restaurants as they are all very average and the service is so-so. We did Mediterranean (two stars) Japanese (two and a half stars) and Steakhouse (no stars, horrible table, terrible service, we walked out)
The Del Mar has the best buffet atmosphere, and their lobby is more welcoming than at the Beach. Also, the Del Mar's poolside buffet is great, and is right next to the pool (hence the name)
ACTIVITIES
Plenty to do, but nobody's going to come up to you to ask if you want to play volleyball or pool basketball. If you want to be involved, you've got to get up off your butt and go find the activity. The Star Friends are very nice, but pretty much hang out with the other youngsters at the resort.
We did play tennis every day and had fun, especially the free clinics offered by Peter, the tennis pro. The courts have a rubberized surface which are easy on the knees. You can also play at night.
EXCURSIONS
We went to Playa Del Carmen on one of the cloudy days. Just go out to the highway and take one of the air conditioned vans that drive from Cancun down to Playa. Two dollars U.S. per person each way. Don't take a cab, it's too expensive. PDC is a fun place and 5th avenue is a great shopping area. PDC is where you catch the ferry to Cozumel.
SPA
It's lovely, but expensive. When we were there, you could've shot a cannon through the place. Very few guests there, and the refreshments were flavorless colored water. Nothing to write home about.
SHOPPING CENTER
Well, they do have a bunch of shops, but it's in such an out-of-the-way place, there's nobody there. I swear, I don't know how these shops make money. Their prices are nothing special, and the atmosphere is quite blah.
AIRPORT TRANSFERS
We went with Air Canada vacations and the flights and ground transportation were first rate. The hotel is only 35 minutes from the airport, and a breeze to get in and out.
SUMMARY
It's very nice, but nothing spectacular. Meets the needs of most people who want an all-inclusive vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkHeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,431
    1,559
    529
    172
    111
See reviews for
1,977
1,540
96
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton,AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at the Iberostar Beach 14-21 Jan. I'll write about the Cons first as it is a very short list.. It is a large property so be prepared to do a little walking. What with all the food and drink the walk is a good thing.
Pros, Check in quick and simple, Food was good, there was something for everyone even the pickest eaters. There are 4 a la Carte restaurants, Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Meditranian, and a Steak House. The Japanese was the best. The grounds are beautiful and clean and well maintained. Beach was wonderful, fine white sand lots of chairs, beach bar and snack bar. The staff all over the resort were nice and friendly and always helpful and friendly. In the La Palaza the Buffet restaurant Sammy was the best waiter. The pool is huge with 2 swim up bars, a quite area, and a activity area.there was always lots of chairs.
In all it was a wonderful vacation and would go back again.
For the Scuba divers there is a dive shop on site Dressel Divers, dive boats leave right from the resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ttigerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We travelled from Jan 8th to 15th 2010 to this resort with Sunwing. We were very impressed with the service, both by Sunwing and the Iberostar resort. The lobbies and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. We particularly liked the roominess of the shower, and the view from our balcony. We also found that bed really comfortable.

The service was excellent. We had absolutely no trouble checking in, in fact they let us choose our room out of rooms that were ready early and sent our bags down to our room so we could get right out to the pool and into the sun. The towel art in the rooms is fun, and we had something different every day. We left little notes every day for the housekeeper asking for specific things we wanted -- like extra water bottles since you can't use the tap water at all, even to brush your teeth; and extra sugar for coffee each morning.

The lobby bartenders are really great, and we found that the Del Mar bar lobby was cozy and welcoming. Our bartender Demetrio was really fun, and gave us excellent service -- look for him and ask him for the napkin knot trick :)

The Star Friends staff (the entertainment/animators around the pool) worked so hard. The week we were there was really cold, and they mustered on, getting into the pool for games and volleyball, etc. always enthusiastic. Get involved...we won some t-shirts. Any Canadians should look for Mr. Vancouver around the pool - a really great young man who has just started in this new job - he is working hard and we hope he's enjoying his time there.

We met great people, everyone was really friendly. We went to a couple of the 'a la carte' restaurants- our favourite was the Japanese, so we went back three times. You can ask at guest services to be put on the waiting list each day for restaurants and they will confirm your reservation by mid day each day, and they do not count against your provided ala cartes. The buffets were good, and we found something we enjoyed every day. I would not expect to get gourmet or 5 star food, but it was tasty and fresh. We stayed away from sliced deli meats and fresh lettuce and lots of fruit -- they are out all day. I preferred to eat things that I could watch them cook, or things that were kept on ice. I really enjoyed the fish, and they make great guacamole. Breakfasts are also really good. There is a little place for tacos in the shopping centre, and by far, the #2 tacos are the best...the BEST! We ate a lot of them!

We went to the disco one night, which was fun. It's small, but plays good music, and was packed the night we went - all ages over 18 are welcome and will feel comfortable. We went into Playa del Carmen one day for some shopping. We got some touristy things, and then found an outdoor bar with swings as seats - that was really fun, great rock music and atmosphere. We also went to Coco Bongo, which was fun -- it is not what you expect -- it's not exactly a night club, but rather a spectacle or big show of impersonators and acrobatics - hard to describe. Lots of great music, but I'd recommend taking a cab back to the resort when the show finishes at 1:30, unless you are 20 years old and love the club scene. The shuttle back to the resort after Coco Bongo leaves at 3:30, so you are only back at your resort at about 4:15 a.m....yawwwnnn. But it was fun none the less...

Our trip back was ok, we had the later flight, so arrived back to Toronto at 2 a.m., back into the airport after baggage closer to 3 a.m., and I still had 3 hours to get back home...yawwwwn... And it is very hard to sleep on the plane, since the seats are small, so don't count on that!

Overall we had a great time. I'd recommend bringing something warm to throw on in case you had cold weather like we did. We had only a couple of really cold days, then nice warm weather and a day or two of sheer sun.

I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Just returned from the beach resort.
Check in was fast, we arrived around 3 so our room was ready.
Room was spacious and clean. Bed was fine but pillows were small. The safe worked fine. I asked the maid for extra beer and water, and we were well stocked every day. Never a shortage of towels. The bath gel wasn't great, bring bath gloves or a scrunchie or it will not lather. The view was of the main walkway and the buildings at the Lindo. we were in building 34, which was a good loaction. Equal distance to the beach or the lobby.
There are lots of activities if you so choose to participate. We just wanted to relax on the beach. There were plenty of loungers, but if you wanted a shade you have to get there early. The pool looked inviting with a swim up bar and a waterfall, but was very cold.
The weather was a little colder than it usually is in Mexico. I felt bad for the staff, some of them were very cold in the evenings.
The buffets were okay. Not as much variety as I have seen at other resorts, but not too bad. Lots of different places to eat.
We tried 4 ala cartes. Mexican and Mediteranean were just okay, the Japanese was a good show and good food. The steak house, much to my surprise, was really good. Tenderloin cooked rare, just as we had ordered. The wine, like at most all inclusives is not very good. They do have a wine list if you wish to purchase a bottle with your meal.
Can't really comment on the shows as we only went to one. There is always a kids show and then an adult one. The one night that we went it was a magician, which seemed like a kids/family show.
A few nights they had a sax player in the lobby, and I hear a piano player and singer one night at the plaza by the shopping complex. I enjoyed these much more than the show in the theatre,
Overall we enjoyed our time at Iberostar. But would only go back if the price was really good. I prefer a smaller resort, this is part of a 5 resort complex.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CdnMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I never feel so frustrate about the reception of an hotel in 6 trip. They try to rip us with everything adding charge with no reason. They don't event whant to take your clomplaint. If nothing happen to you a this hotel you probably just think that the buffet is really bad. With no diversity, all cold preheat meat.

For the breakfeast you take a cold pre heat egg with bacon and you hope to dont discover anything in it.

In a souper the man next to me break is teeth on a peace of glass in the guacamole nothing really rassuring.

Also you are lucky if you don't find mosquito in your drink.

Don't expect anything fromm the fitness center their only cardio machine if you want to train theire nothing there.

Otherwise the animation staff is really great is the only reason why this hotel is not terrible. They provide us a good show every night and with lot a beach activity.

Their is only one beach volley ball field for the complexe of four hotel so you need to be patiente if you want to play. Do not expec to play water polo because it in a isole pool where no one are there.

If you like archery or gun shooting the guys out their was awesome explain the technique of shooting in 3 language.

you will enjoys your trip at this hotel only if you don't have anything to ask to the reception and if you like cold meal

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjourBonjour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here Feb 2009. The weather was perfect, the beach was beautiful, and the staff was great. I can't say enough about this resort. The entire place was very clean, and our room was kept stocked.
The food at the buffets was good, not great but there was always something for everyone. Oh, try the oatmeal at breakfast...seriously! We especially like the grilled chicken that was at the beach buffet and the guacamole..mmm. Make a trip over to the shopping center, there is a taco joint that is fabulous! We had those everyday at some point. There is also a burger place and an ice cream/crepe shop in the shopping center. It is all included.
We would go back, but want to see other places, and resorts. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kousal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We vacationed at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach Dec 16th-24th with our 2 children - 9 and 11 (and we remember the Hula hoop contest and Barbie - LOL) and overall it was a great trip!! We are planning to return for Christmas 2010! Check in was quick and simple and our room was spacious enough and clean. As per advice from reviews on Trip Advisor, we brought money to tip good service as well and there is a difference in service and attention when you do. Booking dinners at the A la Carte restaurants was extremely long and we noticed that some would accept walk ins. We went to the Mexican which we did not like at all, the Mediterranean which was excellent - service was absolutely phenomenal and food was very good (surf and turf) and the Japanese which was very good and entertaining - the children loved it! The beach was beautiful and we learned quickly to get up early to reserve some beach chairs or you were out of luck for a good portion of the day - pool was the same. Pool games were fun and children were busy for a portion of the day running from activity to activity - ping pong tournies, bingo, pool games, darts, sumo wrestling, target shooting, etc. Shows were definately too late for us after spending day in the sun. We made it to one show and even though we were there at 8:30 for 9:45 show, we were stuck at the very back behind a pillar. The staff was very friendly and more than happy to provide us with a bottle of wine to bring to our room to enjoy on our balcony while the kids slept. I would suggest bringing your own boogie boards/air mattresses as they do not have any to use - you can buy them at the gift shop but are expensive for something that you are likely to not bring back. We booked an excursion to Ocean Runners through our Sunwing rep and it was fun but once we got there they informed us that we had to pay additional money for a snorkelling tax which we were not prepared for and thought that this should have been covered in our fee for the excursion - we didn't bring alot of cash with us as we didn't know about this and figured we were only going to be gone for 2 hours so there wouldn't be any other costs and were left with very little to tip our guide. He was fabulous and we had wanted to tip him well! The mall was a fun spot for Happy Hour and games for the children and the shopping was inexpensive. There is alot of walking but we were glad there was to burn off the food and the cocktails. Drinks were tasty enough - weak but fine when you're having alot of them, beer is all on tap which wasn't great all the time but you get bottles in your room so we enjoyed that. We also were served beer (Coronas) on the bus from the airport to the hotel which was nice!! Children loved the virgin banana daiquiris and the all day ice cream bar and the hot dog guy!

I had a massage on the beach which was nice and reasonable. My daughter had wanted to get her hair braided but we thought it was kind of expensive ($75). She had a henna tattoo done on the beach ($15).

We played a game of tennis but the mosquitos were bad that evening. We tried to play again but the courts were fully booked most of the time. Used the free snorkelling equipment provided at the beach but its just as much fun to grab some cereal from the buffet and toss it around you in the ocean and watch hundreds of fish jump around you to eat it. The pools were very pretty and spacious. The cold tub in the waterfall is fun but there are no hot tubs other than in spa and we would have liked to have gone in one on the cool rainy days.

Weather was great - 2 days of rain and yes the floors are extremely slippery when wet. There are lots of animals to see wandering around the property. There are also some photographers who roam around with a different animal daily and you can buy the pics at the photoshop. We bought a couple ($8 each) as they were nice memories.

We thought it was good value for the money. We really enjoyed it and have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cfamily5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,482 reviews
15.7 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#69 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,420 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing