We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best n the Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Just book ur vacation at one of the five hotels at this wonderful complex and u will have fun.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,766 - 2,772 of 5,237 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

we travel 3 times a year,we never thought how service is important, but this time horrible. we stayed at RIU,PALACES, never had a problems but this time. we played beach voleyball, but lady her name is Crystal, she was rude argue to us , she was always against all players, another one came to play beach soccer with guest, we played for ten minutes,she said i be back tommorrow, she never did, she took a ball and left,. I went to swim in the ocean, a guy came he screamed on me becouse of the wedding, we came for the ocean , not to look on their weddings everyday, in the center of the beach,la carte restourante food is good , but buffet worse then other all-inclusive,i read other review i was thinking people exaragurate,trust me thats true,we never had drinks that watered down, plus it's a lot of walking!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Just got back on the 1st. First, I'll give the pros - The pool is enourmous! Cement 'lounge chairs' to relax on, plenty of covered seating, waterfalls, jacuzzis, and water spray's all along the sides. Six different 'swim up' bars to get any kind of drink you could think of - frozen drinks, mixed drinks, beer, soft drinks. Their service was excellent. A beautiful teak wood boardwalk all along the beach. Really didn't need any shoes to walk on it. Several bars on the beach to get the same drinks at the pool. Between 12 noon and 4 PM, there was a snack bar on the beach where you could get nachos, hot dogs, and made-to-order hamburgers. There was also massage tables for a FREE massage on the beach. Plenty of covered lounge chairs, or even hammocks to lay in and take a nap. Too many activities to mention - volleyball, ping pong, water polo, archery, air guns, boche ball, catamarans, kayaks, dancing games. They keep you entertained the entire time of your stay. I never pulled out a credit card. Everything was covered. Even full room service from 11AM to 11PM. Full free mini-bar in the room. The food was excellent in the breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets. Any type of food you could imagine. By the pool, there was food service with sandwiches, hamburgers, pizza, salads, and all kinds of desserts. Also by the pool was a 'ice cream shoppe' where you could get all the ice cream and shakes you wanted. There was a disco on-site where the kids could dance and play from 10PM to Midnight. It then changed to the adults from Midnight to 3AM. There was a Late Night Snackbar that made hamburgers until 3AM. The nightly shows were excellent. Better than I've seen on a cruise ship. The hotel is very family oriented, but caters to adults as well.

Now the cons (if you call them that) - they shut the pool down at 7PM. This is a good thing if your room is near the pool area, but in the summertime when the sun goes down at 8:30, it would be nice if it stayed open later. Also would be nice to take an evening swim. All the service by the pool stops at 5PM. No food, no drinks. This hotel complex is huge! If your room is in the back by the pool, it's at least a 1/4 mile to the front where all the food service, shows, and dancing are at. There's no internet service in any of the rooms (either hard-wired or WiFi). Internet is actually next door at one of the 'sister' hotels. Didn't try to get online, but I saw where they charged $3.75 for 15 minutes of service. There's four different Iberostar hotels in the same area. You can use the facilities at any of the hotels, but you can only get food and drinks at YOUR hotel. So if you are staying at Paraiso Beach and walk WAY OVER (at least 1/2 mile) to Mayan of Lindo, you can't get any free food or drinks. They have 5 different 'al-la-carte' restaurants (Japanese, Mediterranean, Brazilian, Mexican, and Steak). You get one 'guaranteed reservation' for each 2 days you stay there. The reservations are only taken at 9AM to 11AM, and 4PM and 7PM. If you aren't there first thing in the morning, you either don't get a reservation, or you eat at 8:30PM - 9:30PM. The Japanese is always the first to go. The worst part of our stay were the beds. We had two adults and two teens. The beds were only doubles, and were as hard as the floor. I never got a good nights sleep. I would go right back to this resort if it weren't for the lousy beds. So if you don't care for a good night's rest, or like sleeping on hard uncomfortable beds, I would highly recommend the place for it's food, service, and hospitality. They really do treat you like royalty here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bionicarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Our trip was June 21st - 28th. Me, my husband and 14 year old daughter had been there in 2007. This time we also brought my niece. Sunday through Wednesday it seemed a little slow (They had just reopened on the 18th). Thursday it picked up and was back to normal.

We got our room request, 2 rooms on the third floor by the pool. I can't remember from our last trip but, the thermostat was digital and it was too bright. That would be the closest thing to a complaint for the room. Last time we were by the theater which was too loud at night for us early birds.

We like the buffets and always find something interesting. Even my niece (who is very picky) had no problems. At the Brazilian restaraunt I was surprised that everyone enjoyed it so much. We did the Japanese again and lastly chose La Dorada, the Mediterranean restaraunt. It was all seafood and the waiter brought my niece grilled chicken.

This year we tried the snack shack on the beach. That was really nice for a quick bite.

This time we tried the kayaks and some of the organized games like water basketball. Just watching the wacky pool games was fun.

We went to a few of the evening shows and they were very entertaining. We brought books and ipods and just relaxed in the hammocks. We also played cards in the lobby bar. We had a good laugh when a peacock strolled in to eat the popcorn off the floor.

Once again we had a very nice vacation at Paraiso Beach.We usually try new places but, we liked it here so much, we were happy to return. We would even go again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OHbrightskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Great room, great service. Very clean the room, pool, garden and nice restaurant. Nice people.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

My husband was injured at the Resort. He stepped on a loose tile in the pool which cut his foot. It took a piece of his foot out. Our vacation was cut short. He went home in a wheel chair. It's been 4 years and he recently had his fourth surgery. The resort never acknowledged how serious the injury was when we were there. I wrote a letter to them advising how serious his injury was. They never responded. They never took responsibility or even apologized. The staff was good but the management was horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank injury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

After reading many reviews and referred by a friend we booked our trip last minute through Itravel 2000 (Jennifer Ext 2239) was awesome!! . The Iberostar Paraiso Beach Resort was the best vacation we ever had. We should have stayed two weeks, next time we will.!! We are regretting that we didn't.
We recommend this resort and this is why. As two professional people it was nice to get away from the land of the blackberry and cold Canadian weather. The weather was perfect, sunny everyday. At this resort there is so much to do or if you want to be left alone and relax by the pool it was your choice. Our room was large with a balcony, nice garden view, comfortable, airconditionned, fridge, extremely clean. The whole resort everywhere including the pool bathrooms were extremely clean. The pool was large and gorgeous. No problems finding a chair by the pool or at the amazing beach. Staff was very friendly, great service. The food was great! The food was so good at the buffet that we did not eat at the restaurants because we had such a good time in the pool or at the beach we did not want to be bother with reservations. We are extremely health consciencous people who enjoyed the variety at the buffet at all meals. We saw the nightly entertainment "wow" as you can see by our photo that we took. Very impressive! Every day we did a workout at the gym to burn off extra calories we may take in for that day. The gym is large and has lots of Life Fitness treadmills. You are able to get a complete workout that will target every muscle group. The gym is not like a gym in Canada but better than most resorts. If your workouts are important to you than you will be happy with this resort. The resort is large, the grounds, beautiful, as a postcard! At the beach, swimming is possible, very clean, no garbage, beautiful white soft sand! We found it very romantic to stroll on the beach either at dusk or dawn! The Paraiso Beach was the perfect resort for us because we recently engaged and wanted a stress free, romantic environment to relax and enjoy time together. You will not be dissappointed with this resort, remember our tip, book two weeks!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RobertaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,066 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
6,713 reviews
15.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $198 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing