We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Paradise...”
Reviewed July 9, 2004

First time to Mexico and it was fantastic. The beach, the staff, the grounds, the food, it all was great! No complaints at all. The only thing was the Americans. They are so rude and selfish....and they are puking all over the place because they can't control themselves when there is free alcohol. Sad people.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,488
    1,596
    542
    173
    112
See reviews for
2,031
1,581
98
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln, R.I.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2004

My husband and I just returned from the Iberostar Pariaso beach, and we loved it! We thought the place was fabulous!!!!
everything is marble- the Lobby is gorgous. The lobby at the next door Del Mar is even more spectacular. The grounds are lush, and you feel like you are in the jungle. There are peacocks, quails, turtles, swan, flamingo, fish, etc.... Men are always working on the grounds- constantly! The hotel is huge, which we found was good because there was always another path or route to explore.
We loved the pool, and preferred to sit there rather than the beach. The beach was gorgeous, but it was too hot to sit there all day (for us). We preferred to be by the pool. there are contests and dances and water aerobics, painting, ping pong, chess, water polo games, volleyball, etc at the pool. If you sit near the two swim up bars that are behind eachother, that is where the action is. There is also an ice cream bar and a guy making hot dogs and hamburgers right by the pool.
We loved the pool, despite other reviews that say it is shallow. there are varying degrees of depth, and we liked swimming, walking from one end to the other. We were there to relax and not to actually do laps.
The staff is great, always saying 'hola'. Some are more friendly to others, which I think is normal! The maid always cleaned the room perfectly. We were never dissatisfied.
We gave the pool bartender and a night bartender a few bucks every day, and tipped the maid a few bucks a day. The workers work very hard and for long hours, and they deserve it!
The food was great. we loved the buffet because there was always something to eat we liked- too much.
Breakfast was great, even though it was very much the same each day, but always sooooo good. they had cereals, yogurts, meats, eggs, omlettes, pancakes, waffles, sausage, bacon, everything! Lunch and dinner were also great. we loved going to see what we would find at the next meal! They have different grilled fish and fresh meats like a roast, pork loins, shrimp, turkey, etc. every day. They have tons of breads, cheeses, salad mixes, etc. Its also a place to try new things, and if you don't want it, its ok!
We went to the japaneese restuarant, and the Mediteranneo. They were both really really good. Otherwise, we were happy with the buffet.
The drinks were also good. some bartenders were better than others, which I also think is normal anywhere you go.
I would not ever go to playa del carmen again, as it was nothing to see, not worth it at all. They just hassle you.
WE did an excursion to Xel-Ha, and Tulum, all in one day. Make sure you check with your travel rep there, if you have one, to see that you get an inclusive package. our day included everything from food to towels, to snorkels. Xel ha is a great fun place on the water to snorkel and see some interesting things. Tulum is a great site to see ruins. It was amazing. Other than that, we did not want to leave the resort because its so nice there. We are planning to go back next year!
All in all, there is nothing we can complain about.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoney creek canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2004

Upon arrival, we were graciously greeted by the staff which proved to be representative of their conduct throughout our stay. The low-rise dwellings present more tranquillity for sleeping than that found in a busy high-rise building. The pool layout is unique. Those with children, shield their tender eyes from the beach nudity. Cat haters be prepared to be besieged by the famished, optimistic house felines at the open-air beach restaurant. Do book asap for the specialty restaurants. The Japanese variety, with panache, boasts an entertaining meal preparation right in front of the tables. The specialty restaurants are a worthy change for those "buffet-ed" to death by the otherwise decent buffet at IPB. Would return!

Helpful?
Thank bobbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2004

Grounds: really pretty and very well taken care of!the grounds are huge so lace up your walking shoes!! It actually works out well because you walk off all of the delicious food you eat.
Food: the buffets were really good especially breakfast. Lunch was good but we usually missed it and just ate from the nacho cart and ice cream bar. The drinks were really good at some bars and really weak at others. It all depended on the bar tender. The specialty restaurants were also very good.
Pool and Beach: the pool is absolutely spectacular! It is huge with swim up bars and a waterfall. THe beach was also very nice and you could do many activities there. I preferred hanging out by the pool though.
Nightlife: I am 18 so I looked forward to the nightclub. It was alot of fun and a great place to meet people. Sometimes the people got a little too drunk and you had to kind of push people away. The star friends were always there to keep everyone dancing and singing. They really worked hard. The shows weren't anything amazing but they were fun to go to and have a drink after dinner before the club opened.
Staff: Everyone there worked so hard to please you. If you needed a ride even at 3 AM someone would take you to your room in a golf cart. The staff worked so hard and even though you don't have to tip most people do. The maids do a great job of cleaning,and if you tip them they restock your minibar everyday. Some of the bartenders are really fun they play games and try and get everyone going. They also work really hard. But I think the Star Friends work the hardest. They are at the nightclub until it closes at 3AM and then at 8 AM you see them greeting people at breakfast and leading yoga classes and you see them all day and then they preform at the show. They all work very hard.
The only problem I had was the bugs. I got eaten alive. In my group, I was one of the only ones to get bit. No one else seemed to have a problem. I think it just depends. If you are looking for a great time I loved this resort and will be returning!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2004

This was my first trip down south and I was totally blown away! My parents and I went down April 24 and left May 2. A week is NOT long enough. There is so much to see and so much to do.
HOTEL: The hotel was unbelievable. Its all marble and its all open. The staff go so far out of their way to make you happy and they sure do a good job! There are fish, swans, flamingos, peacocks, and parrots all over this resort.
POOL: Well the pool.....we spent sooo much time down by the pool. Thats where all the exceitment goes on in the day. There are activities and entertainment all day long put on by the Star Friends. The pool is very big and very refreshing. The swim up bars are great too. I suggest the pool aerobics. The instructor is awsome, he will make you laugh so much its hard to actually do the aerobics!
BEACH: The beach was good times but we didn't spend too much time there because we would rather be up at the pool.
ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment was great. The Star Friends were awsome. They were so funny and the shows they put on were very enjoyable. The Star Friends work all day and all night long entertaining you. They were great, I loved them all!!!
So overall this trip was the literally the time of my life and I look forward to going back soon!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2004

Returned yesterday (June 24th, 2004) from a 6-night/7-day stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach.
Rooms: We arrived @ 1:30 PM, the rooms are not generally available until 4:00 PM. The reception staff was helpful and apologetic about the wait for the room; they upgraded us to a junior suite. We were assigned room 3144; a great location in building 31, 3rd floor, close to the beach (3 minute walk) and the morning/lunch buffet/evening "Steakhouse" (1 minute walk). Our friends were in room 3232, a good location as well, but anything other than the top floor will have the noises associated with marble floors, made the room less desirable. However there are no elevators, so the top floor may not be for everyone… The rooms were made up each morning by 10AM with a different towel figure in the room, chocolates and occasional flower petals sprinkled around; the refrigerator was restocked each day with whatever we had consumed the previous day; GREAT service! I left a note written in Spanish thanking the room staff, the note is as follows:
"Buen día,
Le agradeceríamos si mantienen nuestra nevera con bebidas todos los días. Apreciamos el servicio prestado y agradecemos mucho su ayuda."
Food/Restaurants: We ate @ 2 specialty restaurants, the "Tropical" (no a/c and less the "special" cuisine), and the "Japanese" (a/c and OK food). The rest of the meals were @ the buffets; the food was always fresh and available in copious amounts, you will NEVER go hungry; as in previous review gotta love the guacamole and avocados, large freshly grilled prawns and delicious fruit selections.
Drinks: Best selection of name brands in the lobby bar, incredible service at the pool bars, low alcohol content (a good thing given the quantity of drinks consumed and the 90+f/32+c degree temps).
Beach: Clean, plenty of chairs and available shade. Only 2 red flag days (no sailboat or kayak allowed in the water on "red flag" days), the rest were yellow. We used the Hobie Cats each day we could, one hour per day per family. The boats were in good shape and the wind was good...
The water is beautiful and clean. There were numerous topless women of all ages, shapes and sizes; we spoke about it with our 12 and 13 year old boys before we arrived. No big deal, just a cultural thing, the novelty of it was gone after the first few -----... One gripe, there are 2 bars on the beach, one near the North end and one near the South end, the one at the South end of the beach is reserved for "Lindo" guests and the it is a long HOT walk to the North bar (particularly if you used the boats, which are located at the far south of the beach).
Grounds/Landscaping: Beautifully maintained! A paradise, songbirds, peacocks, hens, parrots, iguanas, lizard’s one beautiful blue/green snake and LOTS and LOTS of crabs (particularly at night). Mosquitos were a constant distraction; bring spray repellant (we brought Cutter Deep Woods formula) you will need it around the pool, both day and night.
TIP the staff; they work tirelessly to serve you, always smiling regardless of the person they are serving. I brought a large number of $1 bills and generally left 2-3 dollars with each server.

Helpful?
4 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2004

Rooms: Beautifully decorated and spacious. We had a first level room right next to the outdoor restaurant (it became the steakhouse at night) We would have breakfast there in amongst the trees...like eating in the jungle. The rooms surround the amenitites (restaurants, pool etc...) Regardless of the rooms's location, everyone seemed to have a picture-perfect view. We never experienced any plumbing or electrical problems. The room was always well cleaned.
Restaurants: We had buffet breakfast and lunch and the Mercado was very good. Great variety. I heard some tourists complaining....but hey! you're in a foreign country! As tourists we can't expect all the food to be North-American.If it was, where's the fun in going to a different country?
Beach: My husband and kids (12, 8, 7) had a blast feeding the fish bread baguettes they would take from the restaurants at breakfast. Knee-deep in the water, the would drop chunks of bread only to have an enormous school of silvery-white fish swarm them. What an experience!
Entertainment: The shows were the only downfall only because we had experienced far-better quality shows at the Crown Paradise in Cancun last year. However, the musicians were great. The kids show left a little to be desired.
Overall, I'd certainly stay at another Iberostar resort. The service was impeccable. The hotel and grounds were lush and beautiful. Money well spent!

Helpful?
4 Thank Hottay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,589 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#97 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,184 reviews
9.5 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Visit Us Inc., Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing