We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Bliss Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,520)
Filter reviews
5,520 results
Traveler rating
2,798
1,782
613
197
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,798
1,782
613
197
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparaiso beachspecialty restaurantsstar friendsplaya del carmenjapanese restaurantice creamother resortsmain buffettacoslobby bara la cartesquiet areabuffet foodcrepescloser to the beachtaco shoprecommend this resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,832 - 1,837 of 5,520 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

As soon as we got outside the airport Lomas Travel was waiting for our arrival, very friendly and professional, smooth transition for airport to hotel. Upon arrival to the Iberostar Beach Resort the staff were extremely friendly and wanted to make our vacation a memorable one. Check in was very easy, our room was not ready however we were given the option of another room that was ready or upgrade to a king, beachfront room for a nominal fee (about $28 extra per day) We chose the upgrade on the 2nd floor with no regrets (3025). The room although a bit dated was very bright with vibrant colors, clean and large. Noticed that there were not a lot of outlets and my husband needed one close to the bed for his cpap, called the front desk and an extension cord was delivered almost immediately. Refrigerator was not stocked with beer but again another phone call and on the 2nd day it was stocked. Bell boy brought our luggage and immediately we went to check out the beach and pool. Grounds very clean, always saw staff cleaning and making sure everything was perfect. Beach was beautiful although everyday we were at the resort the red flags were out indicating extreme caution to swim undertow was rough, and one day they had a black flag waving. Pool was huge, several areas to relax, concrete loungers in the water were the best, end of the pool was a quiet area with waterfalls and a Jacuzzi which bubbled like one but it was cooler than the pool, still relaxing though! Very nice childrens area, 3 swim up bars, best bartenders Eduardo and Omar!!! Always smiling no matter how hot it was or rude some of the patrons were. Drinks were fantastic, banana mama the best, we gave tips daily (not required) I would recommend bringing your own tumbler otherwise you will be walking frequently to the bar for more drinks. Plenty of chairs with umbrellas but if you wanted to reserve a cabana I would recommend getting up very early (05:00) to place a towel otherwise space is plentiful at the pool and the beach. Several food choices, beach grill was just that hot dogs, hamburgers. Ate at the pool buffet only a few times for breakfast, decent choices with an omelete station. Main buffet had more food to choose from. Staff were always there to assist with whatever we needed. Lunch we always made our way to the shopping area for the tacos , AMAZING TACOS and then for dessert the crepe/ice cream shop!! Dinner buffet had many choices. Be sure to stop at the concierges desk early upon arrival to make dinner reservations, we chose the Japanese restaurant which was plentiful and tasty and the Mediterranean where we had steak and lobster and the Steak restaurant. All 3 were good. The resort is huge, lots of walking not horrible though and after eating and drinking good food it was nice to walk it off before heading to bed, but they did have shuttles that ran frequently and if needed they were available. Remember to bring sun screen, the gift shop on site sold it however it was $35 a bottle (ouch), and if needed there is a pharmacy at the shopping area which sells everything. If you want to leave the resort for a day to Playa Del Carmen, they have shuttles that run every hour or take a cab which is what we did. I loved this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed at 3025, right on the beach, very close to the pool. Steak restaurant close as well as breakfast buffet. Long walk for hotel lobby, other restaurants and main buffet, gym and tennis courts.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuftxnswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Beach for your vacations.

We are more than glad to know that your stay was fantastic and truly enjoyable. It is gratifying to know that our Staff always delivered you a great service with great friendliness.

We appreciate your compliments on the great variety of tasteful food offered in our different locations, our buffets, a la carte restaurant and at the shopping center.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future for you to enjoy once again our service and facilities!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. Not sure what the few complaints we read about were. Bugs? Yeah we saw a couple. Everything is open air setting so thats expected. Noisy birds in the am? Yup. Thats what birds do. People reserving chairs on the beach? Yup. Some do. But we never had any trouble finding chairs at the beach or pool and we were there spring break week. The food was good, the staff bent over backwards for your every need, and the star friends team was awesome. The magic show tops the Las Vegas magic shows! It was awesome! It was quiet on the grounds after 10 pm and you can walk from the beach to the front lobby in about 15 minutes or less. My guess is all the complaints written on this site involve people with deeper issues as we couldnt find anything to complain about. We loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Red M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations.

We truly appreciate you nice comments regarding your stay at our Resort. It is great to know that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable at all times. We will share your comments with our Staff whom will be really happy to know their work has been recognized by our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with another fantastic stay in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

my husband and I and another couple stayed here earlier this month. we had a beautiful time. the hotel was just lovely and the staff were so friendly and polite every single time we encountered them. our room was clean and spacious. the bathrooms were very modern and well equipt. The food at this hotel was outstanding. I cannot say a bad thing about this trip except it ended too soon. The plants and animals around the hotel were amazing. We were celebrating our 41 wedding anniversary and the staff surprised us by making a sweet swan and heart sculpture with rose petals on our bed, while were out having a very nice dinner.. I have a friend who told me that after staying at this hotel, it would spoil me for many other hotels in the future.. I'm afraid he was correct! We are already talking about next years trip back to the very same place..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank DJMSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations.

It is great to know that everything was perfect and that you enjoyed an amazing time celebrating your anniversary at our Hotel. We are proud to read that our Staff made your stay unforgettable and that their service was always attentive and excellent.

We are thrilled to know you are already planning to come back next year; we sincerely look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a great place to spend 2 weeks !!
Having emailed the hotel beforehand and arranged for a cake as it was one of our parties birthday, it was all arranged for us and we had the room on 3rd floor (block 35) that we requested.

The rooms are good and very spacious, beds comfortable and excellent air conditioning, the staff in all the restaurants, bars and Star friends were great. The grounds of the hotel are so well kept with a variety of birds and animals, if you have a pair of legs is is NOT difficult to go from place to place, all our walking for two weeks probably added up to one days dog walk that I do back in Sussex!! if you don't have two legs there is a constant stream of buggies going by.
The food is good with plenty of choice plus the a la carte restaurants are good for a change.
The pool and beach are wonderful, but if you want the shade you need to reserve your place very early!! but who wants to sit in the shade when you go to Mexico!! you might just as well stay at home.
All in all a great place and we will all return there asap !! One good thing there were no middle aged Englishmen with earings and football shirts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Stuart696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your amazing comments regarding our service, grounds, food and the overall experience we offered you during these 2 weeks. It is a pleasure to know that our Front Desk staff were able to fulfill your requests and that everything was ready at your arrival.

We hope to have the change to welcome you back so you can enjoy another incredible stay with us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a beautifu resort!! Be prepared to do a lot of walking-from the beach, to the rooms, to the buffets and bars, to the plaza. It is a very large resort, and a bit confusing to find your way around at first. Also confusing is figuring out what resort areas are available to use, depending on which of the hotels you have booked at, ex.-getting a towel at the beach towel exchange is not for Beach or Del Mar patrons-you have to wind your way around and find the towel exchange at the pool. The staff were accomodating and friendly, the rooms very nice, and very clean, some of the night shows were so so, but when they had the staff dancers-amazing!! The food was good, but our stay was 10 days, so was repetative at the 7 day mark. The Japanese restaurant was the best ala carte-a must have!!! Also the snack places around the resort were amazing, especially the tacos in the plaza!!! Seeing the wild life roam around was also great, but the peacocks hooting and night sounded like a cat in heat.
The beach was nice, but not enough cabanas to go around. Don't get caught up in "saving the cabana game". We didn't consider having a towel on chairs , or a sock with rocks in it saving a place under the cabana! If it was unoccupied for 1 hour after we arrived, we chucked that stuff on an open chair somewhere and took that spot! There are signs posted everywhere "you are unable to reserve sunbeds"! So if you want to sleep in and come to the beach at 10 or 11 o'clock, too bad, you lose your spot!
There was free wifi in the plaza, but would like to see all guests have free wifi on the resort, not just the Lindo and Grand resorts.
Over all a great stay, and would return again. Thanks for a great relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and also for taking the time to share your nice comments with us.

It is great to know that your stay was great and you enjoyed our rooms, food, grounds, dancers and the service provided by our friendly Staff. We are honored to read that our daily efforts made your vacations unforgettable.

We thank you for your feedback and positive critics, we take all of our guests comments very seriously since they provide us the best source of information for our constant improvements.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with another amazing stay.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews