We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this resort ,staff was friendly ,rooms clean. The food was excellent . The buffet was so good there was no need to go the resuraunts ! But when we did ,they were excellent as well .Lots of things to do and lots of places to relax .I will definately go back !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank randybacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Beach for your vacations.

It is fantastic to know that your experience was amazing, and to read your remarks on the great service provided by our Staff, the food at the main buffets and the specialty restaurants. Our Staff would be more than glad to know that their efforts and hard work contributed to making this vacation a great experience.

We truly hope to welcome you back again for your next vacations and allow us to pamper you with our excellent service and high quality standards.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,454
    1,578
    533
    173
    112
See reviews for
2,005
1,555
97
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. It was really fun and relaxing.

A few minor incidents made the experience a little odd at first (Room neighbors were loud, lack of service by the staff), but it came up good in no time.

We went during the off season so some parts of the pool were closed for renovations. But we could still swim in other parts of the pool and in the ocean as well so it wasn't much of a problem for us.

Food was great, the activities offered on site and off site were also great.
But most of our good memories belong to the entertainment staff. The were everywhere, at any time, always smiling and dancing. It didn't feel like they were forcing it on us like it does on some resorts. It felt like they were our friends and just wanted to have fun with us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa_v1ncent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us since provides us important information for our improvement and an amazing tool for our Staff.

We are glad to know that the general experience was very good and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to know that the service and the facilities were up to your expectations and made your vacation an unforgettable memory.

We regret to know that you experienced some issues during your stay, but it is nice to know that this did not diminish the quality of your experience. We have already forwarded your comments to the Star Friends since it is important to give them motivation, and the recognition of our clients is one of the most important ones.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future so that you can enjoy again our facilities, pools and our paradisiacal beach.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my 5th time to the Mayan Riviera, first time to this resort. I also viewed many of the TripAdvisor ratings before booking my stay.

Location:
This resort is on the north coast; in the past I have stayed on the south coast. The major difference was that the water is a lot rougher on the north coast. Every day there was a red flag on the beach, thus not able to go out very far in the water - the under current was very strong.
Room:
We stayed in a regular standard room which was very nice, including a mini bar and balcony on the top/third floor. The air conditioning worked great which kept us cool during the hot/humid weather. The staff kept this room in mint clean condition.
Restaurants:
The Japanese and Brazilian restaurants were excellent ... great food and great staff.
The Mediterranean and Steak House restaurants were very disappointing: all of our dinner (ribs, potatoes, vegetables) at the Steak House were served cold; our meat at the Mediterranean restaurant was also served cold. As a result of the cold food, we left and went to the buffet restaurant for dinner. What a great surprise - had roast duck for dinner one night at the buffet restaurant which was excellent. The Mexican restaurant was also very good.
Staff:
Typical of Mexico, all of the staff were great, friendly and very customer service oriented.
Monica Galvan in Public Relations was by far the great person that I dealt with at the resort. Monica booked all of our a la carte reservations on-line before arriving and when I went to meet her she was the same - Ms. Customer Service and truly an employee that the Iberostar should be proud of.
Other:
Another plus was the shuttle that you can take from the resort into Playa del Carmen - only $5 each way. This is definitely a real benefit, and getting service door to door.
We also visited the disco which was actually a much better disco than what most resorts offer.
The nightly entertainment shows are pretty much what you would see at any other Mexican resort.
Overall a great vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3500 room block which was half way between the beach/pool area and the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diorkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Paraiso Beach, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor how your vacations went at our resort.

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering the same high standard of service to all our guests.

Please know that the management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele therefore, we have shared your feedback with the Chef and his staff regarding the Mediterranean and Steakhouse restaurants and take them into consideration for their service.

We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to Monica that makes our hotel stand out. Your comments have been sent to her; we are sure she will be thrilled to receive them. She really is a great asset to Iberostar.

We genuinely hope that if ever returning to Mexico, you will not hesitate to visit us again since we earnestly look forward to hosting you once more.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived just after major rains so while the first day was cloudy, the rest of the vacation was great.

Food
--we had no trouble getting the restaurants we wanted, but we were in the off season and they were all good.
--no freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, why can only Cuba give you this?
--better food than Cuba and on par with Dominican Republic - not much was Mexican in the Buffet.
--House sparkling wine was disappointing even after the bottle was just opened, it was flat. The sparkling wines were fabulous(Made in Spain) in DR and Cuba and were a great alternative to the house wines(blah)
- Fish is not fresh. Is Barbados is on the only place to get fresh fish at an all inclusive?

Rooms/Complex
--1 of 4 rooms smelled of sour milk
--beer fridge restocked every 2 days
--floors around building, EXTREMELY slippery, we all slipped many times (when floor was wet), very dangerous
--Overall layout is confusing, took several days to get used to it
--maids insisted on coming in to clean when we were still in the room (communication?)
--no internet, unless you pay for it, but you can get free wifi in the shopping centre area
--maids didn’t replenish toilet paper each day, 3 times we had to find someone to get more
--no towel cards in our packages when we checked in.
--for 1 of 4 rooms, one room key didn’t work when we got to the room
--resort is very dark at night
--3 times maid didn’t lock our patio door after cleaning our room….use the safe
--safes were free
--toilets plugged often
--workers working on closed pool right across from our room started at 7:30am
--beds are hard
-- Air conditioning was good.
Beach
--lines extremely long for drinks at the beach even with bartenders who worked extremely hard and were very efficient. bottom line: Iberostar you need more bartenders at the beach
--chairs were in good shape, typical canvas loungers
--beautiful beach, the whole time we were there the red flag was up and we really enjoyed playing in the waves. Waves were too large for seniors & toddlers if the red flag is up.

Activities
--excellent entertainment team, always walking around engaging the guests in activities or just talking, very friendly/engaging.
--entertainment team even went to the disco at night
--disco is extremely strict for entry (over 18). They inspect all wrist bands of young adults, even calling in the serial numbers on the underside to the front desk to ensure guests are 18.
--Disco is very good. We were there on Halloween and they put on a special show at the disco and had a haunted house outside for all ages
--there are constant activities from 10am until 12:30 and then again from 3 until 5:30, something for everyone

AirCanada:
--general Rouge seats on aircraft are way too crammed.
--no entertainment on board so make sure you pack your ipad (with AC app downloaded)
--difficult to find AC rep on site, not always at his spot. Wasn't there to meet us when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loungelizardOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar. This type of comments is truly important to us since it provides great information and feedback.

We are sorry that you found all these issues during your stay. Please be sure that each of these has been reported to the specific Department Heads to take actions where necessary. We always take note of our guests’ feedback and use it to make the right changes.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future and give us the chance to offer you an amazing stay.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The good- resort is very clean and well maintained. The beach is great with plenty of room for everyone. The pool is very nice. The bathrooms in the rooms are solid.

The bad- the main issue with this resort is that it's not really all inclusive. We have stayed at the Valentine in RM and Now Amber in PV and got used to eating what we wanted, when we wanted and where we wanted. At this resort, you have to make reservations. The reservation process is a disaster. You can't call, you have to go stand in a hour long line in the lobby to reserve your dinners. Once you get through that, you realize that you only have a limited amount of reservations for your stay. 2-6 nights only nets you 2 dinner reservations. That means that on a 6 night stay, you will be eating at the buffet for dinner 4/6 nights. (Buffet was not great)Gets better- once you arrive to your restaurant, you are told that you can only order 1 appetizer, 1 entree and 1 desert. Compared to a true all inclusive this is a bit of a joke. The price for this hotel is comparable to most others in the RM so I can't figure out who is loving this place other than those who have not stayed elsewhere. Staff is pretty cold, especially at the front desk. Didn't bother me but if you are hoping to be treated like a king, not happening here. My advice is to eat the tacos and crepes in the mall everyday.

Again, well maintained resort but the food situation is the worst I have experienced out of the 3 all inclusives i have stayed at. If you like to only eat at buffets, this is the place for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Breen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Clients,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and for sharing your comments with us.

Thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of the resort, as well as the beach and pools.

We regret to know that you found the dinner reservations to be slow and inefficient; we guarantee a number of reservations depending on the number of nights staying, however we also offer the waiting list and when there are cancellations we can offer some extra dinner reservations for our guests.

Once again we apologize if we did not exceed your expectations, be sure that our Staff always work hard to offer the best vacations and experiences to our guests.

We hope we can welcome you back in the near future so that you can enjoy the great ambience we offer at our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This resort is one of the best ever. The accommodations are fabulous. The room we had was very nice and kept clean…. no bugs, no insects, and AC worked great.
The outside…well, the pool area is magnificent. I have never been to a place with better pools. Large, super, and very pleasant. There are several different pool areas for your liking and even though they all are in line with each other, they seem to have a feel of being set up for the mood you are in whether it is relaxing, activity, or a big area to swim to your heart’s content. This is the best place for choices in pool areas. The children’s area is really pretty cool and spacious in a fun way. Just to take a walk around the pool area in the resort is set up for a nice walk within the resort. The paths within the resort are really nice with a forest type feel in some areas. Mind you this is a large resort, and may be a walk for some to the beach, but they have it designed to be very pleasant walking around.
The beach is great, it is kept clean and orderly, and there is plenty of distance to take a nice stroll North or South along the beach. There are plenty of areas that the water is clear and the sand is nice and soft.
The lobby and entire structure is awe inspiring, grand and colorful. Everything is pleasing to the eye and relaxing.
The food is fabulous. Buffet is abundant and always fresh with many choices. This is one of those resorts that you never need to go to the specialty restos if you don’t feel like it as you will always be satisfied with the buffet areas. There is a large lunch/buffet area closer to the beach that was a super nice place to make a stop, get something to eat and chill out for a while as well.
The staff was super nice and very courteous.
This is a resort that is well known, has earned the reputation, and until you experience it you will never know how awesome it is!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aventurier2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management of the Hotel Iberostar Paraiso Beach we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacation.

Thank you so very much for the invaluable feedback you have shared with us and fellow travelers. We feel honored to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at our Hotel; we have forwarded your comments to the Staff and the people in charge of every department to keep them motivated to offer the same amazing service to all our clients.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was booked and paid for by my company. 300+ employees of mine were at the resort which made it even more fun. The food on the property was pretty good, but it can get old at times as they have the same things to eat every day at the buffet. My only complaint is that prices for activities (spa, golf, etc.) are higher than what is displayed. For example, a massage advertised as $99 turned out to be $146 after resort fees. $99 is a high price for a massage, which can be done for $30 just down the road.
The location is awesome as it is right on the beach. You won't be disappointed while booking here. Just be prepared for a few overpriced activities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Twilliams1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff and the management of Iberostar Paraiso Beach we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your recent experience with us since it gives us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities. It is great to know that you had a great time and enjoyed this stay with us.

We have already forwarded your comments to our Staff and the people in charge of every department, they would be more than happy to know their efforts have delivered a great stay.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,538 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
9.5 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing