We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sprawling Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were part of a destination wedding and didn't really know what to expect from Iberostar properties. When we arrived we discovered that there are actually 5 properties together. It is a massive resort! However, we soon discovered that some of the properties were exclusive to only those guests. Overall we enjoyed our stay, however, be prepared to walk! The grounds are so large, and depending on where your room is, you could walk up to a quarter of a mile just to go to dinner. The hotel offers "trolley" service, but the trollies seem to come few and far between. Our room was close to the beach and pool, so we were at the back of the property. The rooms were nice, the furniture was a little dated and worn and we had trouble with the toilet and sink draining, but it was fixed upon notification. The grounds were amazingly beautiful complete with local birds and wildlife, the food at the specialty restaurants was very good, (especially the Brazilian) but the buffet was a little boring. Had a wonderful time, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcindy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at our Iberostar.

We appreciate you took the time to share your feedback since it provides us with an amazing tool for improvement. We are more than glad to know that basically everything went great during your vacation, and that maintenance issues were solved in a timely manner. We will take all your comments into consideration to work on the schedule of the transportation services and the updating of some of the furniture.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy another incredible stay in our beautiful property, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 5,237 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I were staying at a different hotel but we visited this beautiful beach as it is a public beach. You have to pay for a sunbed but small price to pay for the pleasure of visiting this gorgeous stretch of powder white beach with warm aquamarine coloured water . There is a beach bar that serves food and the staff were friendly and the food passable. If you have time visit this lovely beach it is truly unspoilt and a seriously relaxing spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnaynsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent a very nice week in this hotel.
The facilities are incredible with wild animals roaming around and well kept gardens. The pools and the beach are excellent and we always found a shadow easily (in spite of people still "reserving" the chairs). The food was good, we clearly prefered the buffet for its variety to the a la carte restaurants, and the bars were very efficient (gracias Miguel @disco and Roger @pool for your excellent mojitos!). We were near the reception but the walk to the beach was not that long.
The staff were very nice and worked hard but often seemed poorly organised; no problems with the cleanliness. The congierge office were also very helpfull, thank you Luciana!

What made this trip really special was tacking the scuba diving course at Dressels Divers in Paraiso beach. Very efficiently organised (thanks Elisabeth!) we had the basic certification and two dives in the sea with our instructors (thanks a lot Niki and Carlo!). It's lovely, being under the sea, the fish, a sea turtle we met... if you've never made it, you should try it with them.

On the downside:
it was very noisy, day and night. Incredibly loud noise from the two shows until 23h30 (d-grade impressionations of Michael and Freddy anyone?), zumzum noise from AC or the kitchen fans or some machine, noise from neighbours and people coming from the disco to the nearby all night buffet...
The division between "Beach" and "Lindo + Maya" can be anoying, especially at the beach. Be aware "they" can come to the Paraiso Beach area but "we", as Beach guests, can't go to their side...
The third bed in our room, which was supposed to be an adult bed, as we payed for three adults (couple + 16 yo), was a narow uncomfortable sofa (maybe this was Thomas Cook's fault)...
All in all it was quite pleasant, but it has some flaws for an expensive five star.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pentadragao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach.

We are more than glad to know that you had a good time during your stay. The Chef and Maitre would be pleased to hear than you found the buffet and bars to be really good and the fact that you found a wide variety of options in food and beverage gives us satisfaction. We will send all your nice and generous comments to the people that you mention, your compliments are the best reward for all their hard work.

The guests at Paraiso Del Mar and Paraiso Beach can share the same property and services between them, we will take your comments into consideration to work on having our 5 stars property flawless.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our group departed April 4, Moncton, NB, via CanJet, direct to Mexico. The flight was delayed as a result of a technical issue with the airline's website and departure time. We stayed at BEROSTAR Paraíso Beach for one week. Anyway, DON'T GO TO THIS RESORT!!!, if you don't want good service, a friendly atmosphere, lots to do and choose from, and a unique experience. Our expectations were for the WORST SERVICE EVER!!!, only to discover we got the creme-de-la-creme service at every aspect. Yes on a few experiences OUR SHOWERS FAILED!!!, and yes OUR TOILETS CLOGGED!!!, but front desk was advised of our ISSUES!!!, and were resolved within a matter of minutes. Our room was building 37, 3rd level. The resort has lots of foiliage, shrubs, palm trees, and as a result got me disoriented at first but then managed to make my way around. The service and staff is very eager to please. The check-in was smooth. Good times were had by our posse of 6. Sorry to the quiet pool side for the noise the last day prior to our departure. We couldn't resist summing up our good time at this resort throughout the whole week. There are lots of small animals scattered throughout, birds, peacocks, agouti, coatis, turtles, just to name a few. Beach and pool, lots of places to lounge, but don't expect to find any places underneath a palapa unless you're up at 5:00 AM. otherwise, whip out that sunblock and expect to soak under the sun. Fun activities on the beach or at the pool. People from everywhere. The lobby is quiet during the day, but becomes somewhat lively in the evening, population wise, not much entertainment in lobby, but go to the entertainment centre - not the superb one, the other one. The one looking like a bingoplex hall. You'll see, the color of your bracelet will dictate where where you can and cannot eat a meal or sit for a drink. And the staff will politely remind you. And, yeah, that's it. I was there. I had a good time. We all had a good time. On our return flight, our plane was redirected to Boston as a result of a health issue with one of the passengers on board. Kudos to the people that were there to help someone in need. Bravo! And our posse hope things turned out well. Any questions, concerns, comments, please send me an email and I will respond as I see it.

Room Tip: If you can get a room above first level, on the 2nd or 3rd, that be great or find yourself waking up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we all would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your experience.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed every moment of your stay. The management team would be honored to know that everything worked smoothly and that the issues in your room were fixed promptly. We believe our main asset is our Staff and the unbelievable surroundings we have created, be sure that these two assets will be well taken care of.

We look forward to your return! if you visit us again please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival

Kind Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just got back from seven nights at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach. Check in is at three but we were told the room would be ready at two. So we ate lunch and hung around the lobby area until two, then were told room would be ready in 15 minutes. Checked back in 15 min and was told very sternly by a different person that check in is at three and that is when our room would be ready. That is about the only complaint i have for the whole seven days. Some of the meals were excellent, and some were Ok. The golf course is incredible. The greens were fast and well maintained. Wind plays a big factor on this course. Golf channel just filmed big break Mexico here, and they picked this beautiful course for a reason. The staff at the resort were the biggest asset Iberostar has. Mario from maintance happily raplaced our refrigerator on the first night. Enrique from the dinner Buffet was a very good waiter we requested to sit in his area our last two nights because he was so friendly. We ate breakfast with Gama from star friends and he was so helpful with information and getting us involved in some activities. He is perfect for his job which he said he loved, and you could tell he loved his job. We were in building 38 and i have to say I AM SO IMPRESSED BY THE JOB OUR MAID Olga did. Everyday everything was cleaned and organized and restocked. Awesome towel sculptures with flowers. We had left a pile of about a dozen pairs of shoes by the wall, and when we returned they were all matched and lined up perfectly. All of our junk on the batroom sink was organized neatly on washcloths. This was definately beyond our expactations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshInStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent Stay at Iberostar Paraiso Beach and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

It is amazing to know that everything was nice during your stay (except for the incident during your check in which we apologize profusely for!!) and you enjoyed your vacations with us.

We have already forwarded your comments to the management team so they can take good note on the job of their staff and inform them about how our guests feel. We will send all your nice and generous comments to the people that you mention; the fact that we exceeded your expectations is the best reward for our hard work.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two nights and what a terrible experience. We had read the reviews and were looking forward to our two day get-away, but we were totally disappointed when we got there. Everything was cheap, the infrastructure, the service, the food, the drinks, the rooms, the maintenance, the transportation.
On top of everything else even though the personnel was kind, they were severely understaffed, even while the hotel was operating at their capacity. So much so that there was trash all over the beach (even dirty diapers, sanitary pads and tons of cigarette butts), with no one there to pick it up. The trams or golf carts to move people around through out the property rarely ran, which meant you had to walk for kilometers to get from one place to another in the sun and heat to get around. And good luck getting anything done without having to wait in line or wait for long periods of time.
It is obvious that the business model of this chain consists not in treating the client as a client, but packing them in as if they were cattle, paying for very little staff to attend to their needs and keep them drunk on cheap alcohol so that they barely notice, and if they notice, then enough so that they don't care.
On the positive side, the spa was good and the landscaping well kept.

Will NEVER EVER go back and would definitely NOT recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay, we truly regret your negative experience of your stay and we are very sorry to read that we were not able fulfill your expectations.

Our hotel is committed to providing first class services, facilities and ambiance so that our guests’ requirements are taken care of, so therefore we extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort. Please be sure that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department manager.

We hope you can give us another opportunity in the future to restore your confidence on our business, is that is the case please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Saludos
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just came back from the iberostar a couple of days ago and all I have to say is wow. This resort is simply amazing. The staff is wonderful and is willing to help you with any of your needs. The waiters and waitresses are supper nice. The food was overall very good . I felt like they had something for all types of picky eaters. Even though some of the reviews say that the food wasnt good I dont believe that everything was fresh. The italian a la carte restaurent was beyond delicious you have to go there if you visit this resort. The pools were huge. They even had a quiet area for people who liked it that way. The star friends were all so nice and entertaining. Thanksa lot to havier, benito, christian and many more for making this an unforgetable stay. I will deffintly be back again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yalinalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you found everything amazing during your stay and that you enjoyed every single moment; we believe that our main asset is the Staff and the service they all provide. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed the food at the Buffets and the a la carte restaurants; we can assure you that your perception is right, everything is fresh. The Chef of the Italian restaurant would be more than happy to know your feedback.

We would like to thank you for your acknowledgment to all these single employees that make our hotel service stand out among the all inclusive resorts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to the Riviera Maya, if this is the case do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,066 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
6,713 reviews
15.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#70 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
13,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Beach

Address: Carrt. Chetumal - Pto. Juarez km. 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $198 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Paraiso Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraiso." Imaginatively designed lake – pool. Convention centre. The holiday complex is perfectly integrated into the tropical landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar
Iberostar Paraiso Beach Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing