We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$389
$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$367
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$391
$349
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$295
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$576
$457
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$714
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
582
142
41
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
142
41
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger custom madespa towernuevo vallartahavana moonplunge poolgrand blissriviera mayaburger restaurantresidence clubbedroom villamayan pooltwice daily maid servicesquare feetexclusive poolcirque de soleilshuttle into playa del carmenfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had previously visited the Nuevo Vallarta resort. Short story is Nuevo Vallarta location is much better for many reasons. While the template for the facility appears very similar the pools there are more picturesque compared to RM. the shuttle service for sure is worse at RM. I never felt like it was a hassle at NV. But here it is a constant wait. 15 minutes is routine. Added problem is the route frequently takes you around and around. A 15 minute walk is frequently a 10 min cart ride. It would be much better to walk as a rule but because we had the misfortune of rain that was not always practical. The rooms at the Grand Luxxe still are amazing. Be sure to buy some supplies/booze outside or at the Jade on site. Tequila prices are reasonable at the Jade with a bottle of Herradura silver costing about 550 pesos. Restaurants and food still decent but again I remember the food quality at NV being better. Service is still first class. Kudos to the management for the amazing task of giving consistent high level service across facilities.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Videnta, Grand Luxxe. Spent every day enjoying the Beach Club great weather and even better service. We were lucky to have Anselmo as our pool waiter at the Beach Club for most of the week. He was super attentive and went out of his way to make our time there truly unforgettable. We can't wait for our next trip!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidanta V, Manager at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We are grateful for taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the kind service of our staff, as we considered them one of our biggest assets and the facilities overall.

Come back soon, it will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Happily,

The Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Be aware that policies and procedures for guests at the Grand Luxxe are in constant flux. You will not know what you will encounter until you register. This being our fourth vacation at the resort, it was shocking to arrive and discover that guests were not allowed use of the Grand Luxxe pool, the Burger Restaurant, or the beach. These areas are within easy walking distance of the Grand Luxxe Residences and are quiet and refined.

The alternative is to use the other four pools, none of which have a soothing vibe. The Beach Club is a lovely facility but it is a far distance, not walkable, and has constant loud music playing. We were surprised to encounter a naked man sunbathing on the deck where our grandchildren were swimming. We have never been presented with a situation like this in the past.

If you exchange into the property, be aware that you will pay a daily usage fee that can range from $11/day to $30/day for those 12 and over. If you ask for a written policy, it cannot be provided.

The property continues to be beautifully maintained. The same excellent staff are on board. It was apparent, however, that many of those staff that we have come to know are overworked.

What a shame that this once delightful resort has undergone so many negative changes in just one year. Perhaps the management will read more reviews like this one, and realize that those of us who have exchanged many times into this resort, spend a significant amount of money on food and entertainment, tip generously, and should be valued and encouraged to return.

I look forward to receiving a reply from management that encourages not only members, but guests, to return again and again to enjoy this delightful oasis.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank travelluvr3808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidanta V, Manager at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your impression about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know your vacation has been an incredible experience and you enjoyed the kind service of our staff, as we considered them one of our biggest assets.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please you by making sure you receive all the benefits you are expecting to enjoy during your vacation.
When you like to return, you will always be welcome.


Kind regards,

The Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2018

I’ll begin by saying that the Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya is still a very special resort. The grounds are impeccable, the suites are fully appointed and the staff is fantastic. This year we stayed on the third floor of building 1. As always, no view of the beach but we were high enough to get a constant breeze and frequent visits from the local birds. Ximena and Cenobio at the main registration lobby were most helpful in getting us this room. We needed to be closer to the beach because of my recent heart attack. The biggest problems we encountered were the new fee for exchange people, $30 per person per day over 12 years of age, and the fact that only “members” were allowed to use the Grand Luxxe pool and beach. People on an “exchange” had to use one of the other many pools including the Beach Club which is restricted to Grand Luxxe and Bliss guests only. The Beach Club pool is elegant but all the way at the other end of the property from the Grand Luxxe. The music there is quite loud and also we went there one time with our son and his family and we were gone from our palapa on the beach for more than 30 minutes and when we got back from seeing our son, who was in a different area, our palapa had had the towels removed and another family was sitting there.
With my recent cardiac event we needed to be closer to the beach in any case. We finally agreed to go to the infamous sales presentation. We told them we would only go for the one hour they specified. After a very enjoyable breakfast with Dee, our sales rep, we sat down and our son started the timer on his phone. Dee also alerted her supervisor that we would only be there for one hour. Dee was most gracious, we learned some things and when the hour was up we left. All this to gain access to the Grand Luxxe pool and beach which we feel we had a right to use in any case.
The $30 per person per day fee was waived because we made our reservation 6 months before this went into effect in January of this year. So we only had to pay $11 per person per day, and really only half of this because we went to the sales pitch. One of the concierges thought that the $30 fee applied only to Mexican residents. The fee itself is outrageous and discriminates against those of us who exchange in. The fee has gone from $75 per week for all the occupants to $11 per person per day and then $30 per person per day.
When we left we asked them if we could get in writing what the policy would be for next year as I usually try and make our exchange for the following year as soon as I get home. They would/could not say what that might be. This is poor management. It is to their benefit to keep the place occupied and discriminating against those of us who exchange-in is not the way to do it.
The grounds are meticulously kept up and the miles of paths were just what I needed for my recovery. The stress and aggravation of the fee and beach/pool access were not.
Seaweed has been a problem all along the coast but the access into the water is so rocky most people do not go into the water anyway. There are separate, reserved areas at the beach and Beach Club for “platinum” members, whoever you may be. The beach was almost deserted most days and they would remove the reserved signs around 11 AM so the rest of us could use the cabanas and more comfortable lounges/chairs. A lot of the staff could not figure out why the area was reserved and when.
I can’t praise the staff enough. The housekeeping staff comes in twice a day and keeps the suite immaculate. The concierges, like Karina, are most helpful. At the pool and beach you are under the care of wonderful people like Gabriel, Luis, Karen, Carlos, Magaly (always there with a popsicle for you), and Charly and Diana who always had a ready smile, kind words and a cold drink at hand.

Room Tip: second or third floor
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MikeC1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidanta V, Manager at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Dear guest,

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your impression about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know your vacation has been an incredible experience and you enjoyed the kind service of our staff, as we considered them one of our biggest assets.

Also, we are happy to know you enjoyed yourself walking through the wooden pathways, and admired the nature around the resort.
It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas. If you would like to give us additional information about your experience, please feel free to contact us at customerservice@grandluxxe.com

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

First the positives:
The staff! Great service from a number of staff members:
Henry, Obed, Carlos & a couple of others at the Beach Club.
Fernando at Quinto.
Rafael at Azul.
And the sweet female concierge at Luxxe Jungle (sorry, her name escapes me).
The Luxxe rooms are large, comfortable and generally amazing.

The average:
Restaurant options, food and amenities were average. We've been to the Vidanta property in Nuevo Vallarta & this property is far below the standard the west coast location sets. Everything is better in NV.

The bad:
The location of the "jungle" buildings. They clearly discourage you from walking, promoting their shuttle service. However, the shuttles are not on a regular schedule. We could have walked more quickly than the shuttle routes took us, but again walking (except on the wooden walkways) was discouraged. The walkways, while charming, did not go to all buildings and were not clearly marked; the signs are confusing, circular, and often wrong. The resort is huge and getting anywhere on the resort took a long time.

We avoided the sales presentation this time because we've done it before and it's horrible - high pressure and takes up a large amount of a day (despite them saying it's "one hour"). They are relentless, however, and will call your room repeatedly.

Overall, it was ok. I would not go back to this property - any of the resorts on it. There are better resorts in the Mayan Riviera, and the Luxxe in Nuevo Vallarta is a much better choice. Again, the staff were great - this is all about the resort layout, convenience, and quality, not the individual service of staff members.



Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank JenSch49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidanta V, Manager at Grand Luxxe at Vidanta Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2018

Dear JenSch49 :
We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Grand Luxxe. We are happy to receive your kind comment about our staff, as they always look to exceed all our guests’ expectations. We are certain Henry, Obed, Carlos, Fernando and Rafael will gladly receive your feedback.

However, we are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Warm regards,

Grand Luxxe Riviera Maya Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews