We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break with great memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one week from 26 feb to 5 march 2013.

Quiet resort with access to larger resort. Everyone soooo friendly, made lots of friends as the resort is small. We loved coming back after visiting larger resort for the intimacy of our own little oasis. Wonderful food but only the one restaurant area, although we could use another restaurant and snack bar at the adjoining resort.

Large clean rooms with very comfortable beds. An added bonus was we were not far from the airport, so no long journey on the bus. A wonderful restful time with activities only if you want them! Would certainly go back it was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadiansKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just completed a week stay mid Feb. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. There is no fridge for even a cold drink. The pool near the hotel is warm, private and while we were there, not used too much so we had the place to ourselves at times. The wifi was spotty at best even in the lobby. Best place to sit to get a connection (maybe) were the desks across from the check in desk. The front desk is poorly staffed. Hard to get a pool towel when the line is 3 deep just to check in or out. The restaurant was delicious but expensive and if you have no car you can only eat there or take a shuttle to another part of the resort. I would stay there again due to the price and it was not all inclusive. Want to eat local and not resort food when I travel. We were out exploring every day so the room was great to sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Breeze in February, 2013. Ocean Breeze has comfortable and clean rooms, a good restaurant overlooking the pool, and they mix good drinks. It was about a 25 minute walk to the beach, but you can go in a golf cart if you don't want to walk. I liked the staff very much. Another thing I really liked was that there wasn't a snob factor here at all. Everyone was very nice.

Three drawbacks: no Jacuzzi (spoiled, huh?), no wifi except in the lobby or pool area, and there wasn't a refrigerator or microwave in the room. If you paid for the all-inclusive, then no problem with that, but if you didn't, it would have been nice to have these amenities. The hotel did bring us a refrigerator to the room, so that worked really well, as we arrived with tons of groceries.

Thanks, Ocean Breeze for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divingbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at the Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya. We knew not to expect much because it was the almost only place available for the peak season weekend. We stayed 8 nights at different resort, but decided to extend our stay and for the last 2 nights ended up at Ocean Breeze.If we had to spend all our vacation time in Ocean Breeze/Mayan Palace, it would be a major disappointment.
There are few positives. It is clean, well-maintained, with beautiful pools
and nice jungle-like setting. Food choice was very poor, but at least very tasty.
After the longest check in- process ,in the human history ( almost 1.5 hr) they upgraded our room (our suggestion, not a managment idea!) to recompensate our lost time.
Sadly is more bad than good: There is NO BEACH to swim in because it's full of rocks and coral!!! Even walking there isn't nice.
It is not ALL INCLUSIVE, you can only use 1 small restaurant ( same menu every day ) and beach bar with extremly poor quality watery drinks. Anything else does not apply in all-inclusive package!
The worst is the feeling of "unwelcome guest". Don't expect friendly "Hola" or welcoming ambiance at this resort.
We definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was stunned by how happy we were here! We stayed here on a priceline bid during high season and when I read the reviews and saw the photo's I thought we were in trouble. For $90/night during the peak of high season we stayed in this LOVELY hotel with large oversized rooms, oversized bathrooms, fantastic food, etc. Every 5 minutes a little trolley comes and takes you to other area's of the resort and you have access to the Mayan Palace, their 3+ large pools, swim up bars, beds on the beach etc. The Beach IS rocky, but if you're looking to *really* relax resort style with access to everything you'd want (shopping center, several restaurants on grounds, tour guides) for a ridiculously affordable price this is the way to go. We stayed here our last 3 nights of a two week honeymoon, we had low expectations and were totally surprised at the absolute lovliness of this place. I would give it 5 stars if the beach was nicer and their wifi connection was more stable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joonietoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I staid here in December 2012 and we enjoyed every minute. The staff are fantastic. They were friendly and helpful all the time ,from the front desk to the restaurant staff, the servers and the pool staff all made our stay so enjoyable that we will return for sure. The food and drinks were excellent, the building was well kept , clean and neat. We loved the beach, it is close to the hotel and was kept very clean, the waves were perfect for a sun starved Canadian to relax in while my wife enjoyed the activities around the pools. Wow I just can't say enough about how well run this hotel is, and we have stayed in many around the world.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view , they have a fantastic view and the waves can be clearly heard if you leave y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrpolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ocean Breeze - not your usual resort experience. I am going to review this for what it was. It is not a hotel on the beach, so if you are ok with just the pool, you would do well here. The hotel itself resembles a boutique type that you would find in New York. It is small and quiet, but along with that comes peace and quiet. There is no gift shop and no indoor buffet restaurant to have your morning breakfast.
However, there is a fantastic restaurant outside by the pool, so you have your breakfast outside as the sun comes up. Very pleasant. The food on the menu is all very well presented and very, very tasty (esp. the steak). The staff here could not do enough for us, refilling our drinks when they were near to empty, always asking if there was something else they could do or get for us.
The room was very basic, but fresh white towels every day, adequate water pressure and turn down service is really, all you need. There is a balcony off your room, but no view to speak of and you cannot fit a chair out there, it's purely for standing or drying your towels.
The pool area is very pretty - round shaped with blue lights at night. Oh yeah, you can swim at night here which is a real blessing and rarity. Normally the pools down South are closed by 6 p.m., and because it's
right beside the restaurant/bar, you have full service at night while you're
swimming. We often had the whole pool for ourselves.
Ocean Breeze does offer a beach area which you have to take a shuttle to, (must have water shoes for the rocky floor), however getting service on the beach (in the blue area) is hard to get. Also, you do not have access to many of the restaurants by the beach.
Il Lago, open for buffet dinner every night except Thursday, is well worth it as they have a night show from 8 - 8:40 p.m. and the restaurant Il Lago is right on the water with Loon type birds perching in the adjoining trees. Great view with a great sunset.
This would be a great place to have a wedding - because all your guests would completly take up the whole resort. You would have the whole pool area with just your wedding guests.
All in all, if you just want to relax and are ok with just the pool, this place is very, very nice. Food at restaurant excellent.
They have these great yellow and orange birds that are always cherping something that sounds like they're saying ''eat your food, eat your food''.

Room Tip: Request the third floor, the bed is an upgrade and very comfortable, it has make up mirror in bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank ncavalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
11.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,107 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
#3 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
10,493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel

Address: Calle Carretera Federal Km 48, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true paradise awaits you in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Ocean Breeze Golf Hotel offers you and your family complete relaxation in an unforgettable vacation experience. The beautiful white sand beaches and our kind staff will make you feel like royalty.Enjoy absolute comfort and first class service in an enormous complex shared between three hotels, where you will find a spa, a golf course, a swimming pool, a beach club and much more. You won't want to leave this amazing place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing