We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sickness” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sickness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I came across this page as I was searching "Dominican Republic and cholera Dominican Palace". I feel obligated to write that both my wife and I got sick. A few other Americans that we met also reported being sick. Also, I met others of several nationalities that reported similar sickness.

Mostly people said that they had a few unpleasant bathroom experiences and were then able to return to their vacations. My wife lasted two days before she was seriously ill. There was a doctor available and the treatment was caring and fairly thorough. We didn't bring our insurance card as I have traveled a fair amount and never had issues. On reflection it would have been wise to get traveler's insurance. That said, my wife had an office visit, a nurse's charge, an IV for rehydration, pills for her diarrhea and nausea, and antibiotics; the total charge was only $180 US!! I had to sign a statement that I would pay before I knew the total. I'm generally a trusting person and she needed the help. I was extremely happy to have not been taken advantage of in a time of need. I didn't expect to but it was a leap of faith. They're good people.

We speak very little spanish and appreciated that employees were very patient with trading spanish/english phrases to get what we needed. Plus, whenever communication was critical, there was always some one near to speak to us and help.

Always remember, you're a guest in another country. Yes, you've paid for your trip but be patient and humble. You are there for the experience. All in all, the Dominicans were good hosts and did their best to please us. Thanks for being good hosts. I'm sorry that I have to report that, no apparent fault of yours, my wife got very sick. Travelers: Be cautious but not so cautious that it ruins your trip.

Our room was clean and the food was above average. Maid service daily and eclectic feasts several times a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didymusts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    1,291
    448
    203
    162
See reviews for
1,100
1,234
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed there the last week of April this year. The lobby and reception is the first impression you get from any property and the Lobby for a "Palace" is below average, small, few old and flattened cushioned seats and a tiny bar on the side. The Reception people were rude, it doesn't matter if you speak the language they are just as rude and makes no difference. They made us feel like an incovenience, it was crowded at check - in with only 2 people working the front desk. We didn't get our room until after 4:00 pm, took about an hour and a half to get checked in. The room was in building 64, backs to a public parking lot and the septic stink in the evenings will literally turn your stomach, not exagerating it is really bad!!!!
We asked for a king size bed, got two queens. The room is very average, minimum toiletries 2 soaps and 2 shampoo/conditioners, there is a shortage of hand towels, this was a daily ocurrence. If you have been in any of the RIU, Iberostar or Barcelo properties this one is definitely a big step down. We upgraded to the Palace thinking it would be better but its not.
If you are staying at the Palace prepare yourself to feel out of place because this Hotel caters to Italians. They even have an entire Entretainment team that only speaks Italian, they hardly speak any English or Spanish and sadly don't know the difference between a "Bachata, Salsa or Merenge song" Serioulsly? This is the Dominican Republic!!!!!
This was proven by the DJ's in charge of playing the music by the pool at dance lesson time.
The shows at the Palace are 100% in Italian so you have to go to the sister Hotel's Theater.
There is No beach Service, No swim up bar for those who appreciate this.
The food at the buffet is average, I'm pretty sure anyone can find something they'll like but dont expect great food here. If you like bacon, the only way to get it is from the omelet station, its an omelete ingredient and has to be heated up for you. They also will serve left overs, I got chicken strir fry at the Mexican Restaurant instead of Chicken Fajitas. The theme at the "Beach Buffette" was Chinese the night before. Come on!!! chicken fajitas should not taste like soy sauce!!! I have a very discriminating palate and this was an insult!!!!
The night shows are good, I give them props for their efforts, these people work very hard. The theatre could use a facelift. The majority of the seating is coliseum style so you will be seating on concrete, there are some ugly red cushions on some of the tiers and few chairs close to the stage.
The main issue is lack of Service and concern for their customers. The beach is beautiful, the water is clear and calm, plenty of beach chairs and coconut palm trees for shade.
They need to fix leaky faucets and toilets everywhere including the beach showers, you can see them running non-stop, there is zero concern for wasting this precious commodity! They also need to do something about the septic stink, its unbeareable and news flash...toxic!!!!
The safe is not free, $2/day. Drinks were watered down, not good.
We loved the beach and would come back to this area but won't be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lili8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Corners, NY
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Service was very good - the "superior garden room view" had ocean views from the balcony and overlooking lush beautiful gardens. The room was very clean, spacious. and the maid service was great...we got whatever we asked for (mostly extra waters) within minutes (tip the maid). Very little English spoken but that was not a problem, we communicated just fine. The food there was eh, but I am a very picky eater. Husband was just thrilled with all of the choices. The beach was phenomenal...we went early every day to get one of the several grass huts. Spent seven leisurely, relaxed days here. Brought our own plastic cups w/ tops and straw for drinks-theirs are tiny.

Room Tip: Superior garden view room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very bad service everywhere especially at front desk, very rude, do not speak English. Stolen perfume from our room, $90. Food was OK, not bad. Don't go to Atlantic restaurant, waste of money, no lobster even though they advertise it. Hotel is very nice, beautiful beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chraleston, sc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a truly wonderful vacation, I have to say that many of the people that gave this resort (and the sister property, Dominicus Beach) bad reviews are either really picky or simply didn't do their homework prior to picking a resort. This is a European resort, if you need everything to be super "American" then this isn't the place for you, however if you are open to new experiences it is a great pick! While Spanish and Italian are the predominant languages spoken, just about everyone that works here does speak some English. In addition to this, there are staff members that are fluent that have 'I Speak English' buttons on their shirts if you need to have a more in-depth conversation.

The food ranged from amazing (Mexican Restaurant & late night Pizzeria) to so so at the buffet some days. Keep in mind that there are a TON of options, you will always be able to find something you like unless you have a very specific or restrictive diet.

There are tons of chairs both on the beach and by the multitude of pools, we never had a problem finding a chair is a spot that we wanted. This is definitely not the case with most all-inclusive resorts! Saona is an absolute must do excursion, it is an absolutly beautiful island. The buggys were very fun as well.

Room Tip: It is worth the money to upgrade to the Palace side of the resort, tons more food options and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachgirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabius, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were at the Beach first then moved over to the Palace. We learned to sail, kayaked the ocean, set up a trip to Santo Domingo through the hotel which was a great trip, value, and experience. We loved seating on the beach relaxing reading, enjoying the drinks, I even tried the trapizee which was excellent. Check off the bucket list. The only issue was the language but it didn't bother us. We enjoyed listening to the different languages. We will defiantly go back again!

Room Tip: The beds were much more comfortable here. Again had a safe and a refrigerator, they brought is fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveVacations252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel shares the beach with it's "sister" hotel and the grounds on both are well kept, though the water along the nice, sandy beach is a bit too wavy for snorkeling while being just OK for swimming. The food ranged from excellent (breads, desserts, pastas) to just OK. The downside for us was the lack of (good or any) service at the front desk and through customer service. The Wi-Fi is not free and functions either very slowly or not at all. When this happened to us, we could not get a refund and the management was unavailable. On arriving at 4 pm, our room was not ready for almost an hour, even though check-in is advertised as 3 pm. We received no orientation or introduction to the hotel other than being handed a small, illustrative pamplet with a map (which actually turned out to be for the wronf hotel. we later found out) and because we were very hungry aftyer our flight and the long, 1 3/4 hr. ride from the airport, we requested information about available restaurants and we received no help at all. We are both active "senior citizens" who are well-traveled throughout much of Latin America and the Caribbean, at places both rough and lavish, and we are not particularly difficult to please. Yet, the apparent lack of caring or interest in customer service (but for lip-service) at this place managed to annoy us considerably. We stayed in one of the "oceanfront rooms" and had a relaxing week, despite the poor service, enjoying the pools, a couple of the specialty restaurants (waterfront and Mexican,) reading, and just "poking around," but it was in spite of the "service" staff (with a handful of individual exceptions at the restaurant buffet service stations and room service.) As to our recommendations, we suggest you keep looking around a bit before "jumping in" here ..............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniornomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
1.5 mi away
Cadaques Bayahibe
Cadaques Bayahibe
#4 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.6 mi away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 12 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
2.4 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Property: Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Address: | Playa Dominicus, Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#4 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Palace
Bayahibe Wyndham
Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing