We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Caribbean”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I am very carefully choosing hotels to spend my three weeks holidays at. After
long consideration I chose Catalonia Gran Dominicus for our wonderful, well
deserved holiday in December. I am so glad I did. Thanks to First choice we
were safely delivered to paradise. Flight was good and transfer very
entertaining by Dominican boys.
We have stayed in Dominican Republic before and we knew what to expect. We
stayed in 5 star resort in Punta Cana previously and my husband loved it so
much, that I was afraid not to disappoint him with my new choice for this
time. We didn’t want to compare both hotels, but you kind of do it
automatically. Catalonia Gran Dominicus supposed to be 3 star rating from our
tour operator and our previous hotel-was 5 star, but believe me-
Catalonia easily has beaten the 5 star hotel!!!! Everything we experienced
before was nothing compare to this time. It exceeded my highest expectations.
Best was food. We met Sous Chef and he was a person who so much cared about recipes, preparation, quality. He was always present, checking buffet with his chef’s
thermometer. On many occasions I told him how fantastic the taste of
everything was and he seemed to be very happy. I felt that he was proud of
himself that his efforts are appreciated. Food was the absolute best part of our holiday. We love good food and drink. We have received it. You could find healthy food, lots of
fish and seafood, fruit, veggies. I expected fresh and high quality, tasteful and well seasoned food. I never have been disappointed. My husband on the other hand,, is
very, very difficult to please with taste. He likes best of the absolute best
and he was very happy with food, he thought It was all sooo delicious.
Buffet was an open air restaurant. We always requested from hostesses to be
seated on the terrace. We usually ordered beer, because wine was not good, felt
like diluted vermouth. I did take tip from someone about ordering wine from bar
and taking it over. It was much better as they served from bottle. Very good
Spanish wine. Buffet had themed nights. It was fantastic idea. My favorite was Dominican night. Loved the stew with long cooked oxtails. Dominican desserts were
favorite to my husband. Generally I picked grilled or steamed fish and massive choice of salads on dinner. Breakfast was very good too. I eat fruit on breakfast so had lots of tropical choices, like mango, papaya, pineapple, watermelon, coconut, guavas. Fruit were always fresh, cold as suppose to be. Very ripe bananas-organic delicious. Organic grapefruits –paradise.There was a one downside on breakfast. The Juice blending lady. She was absolutely the worst kitchen staff ever. First of all-rude, second of all-her juices were watery, too sweet. I had to suffer to drink them. could explain to
her to make me without sugar. The only time when she was off duty, the other
kitchen person was making proper juices, medium sweet, not watered down. I
complained on many occasions, but she was coming back every breakfast. One time
I think she refused to make juice at all. She said in Spanish that she has no
ice to prepare it. She never looked you in eyes when she talked to you. She was
correcting jugs after you pour juice to your glass and seemed to have very bad
attitude towards it, like she felt annoyed you are actually taking the juice.
It was all behavior only, she didn’t speak word of English. I think I will
write serious letter about her behavior to management. A la carte restaurants were great. Best one was without any doubt Italian-open air fantastic, romantic restaurant. Served best fish in the world-Grouper. Every time we went there we ate this grouper. It was so well prepared that tasted almost like giant scallops. Steamed right, full of flavor. I lived in USA and ate grouper very often, but never that good. We had favorite waited Pablo or Paolo, sorry I didn’t remember very well. He was fast and courteous.
We always tipped him good and we received very best service.
My husbands and mine second favorite was steak restaurant Rancho. Steaks were
very good. Apple pie dessert best of all apple pies I ate in USA. They had nice
sirloin, rib eye. Caesar salad was maybe little different in taste that we used
to but why not to discover some new tastes? Mexican restaurant wasn’t great. We have fajitas and meat was not very good. We didn’t go again, because Mexican buffet night was much better. My favorite was seafood ceviche and fish salad. Again-better than the one I ate in USA in Mexican restaurant. Generally food was mainly seafood in the hotel. Giant mussels with great sauce,octopus prepared in many ways, shrimp, crab, lobster-extra charge, grilled calamari and squid salads. Fish, fish and fish, but so good that I never got bored. Delicious species like, grouper, Dorado (mahi-mahi?), tuna, Merlin,
wreck fish(never ate before, one of best), tilapia, salmon(could be organic
cause very tasty), red snapper (only ate once in three weeks but so lucky to
get it), mero (I don’t know English name), sardines (unfortunately chef didn’t
grill them long enough and they were undercooked on many occasions, I tried to
ask him to keep them longer on grill but no result as ‘no comprende’)
For meat, they served generally pork. Pork was prepared well,
especially I was impressed with little piglet rotisserie on the beach. That
must have been very tasty. They did serve good beef with bones-like t-bone
steak. On Dominican station I could sometimes find very special stew prepared
from intestines, stomachs, which in Europe, where I come from is our
famous. I tried it little and it was lovely. There was always sandwich station on breakfast and lunch. Good choices even smoked salmon. Always fruit station, no matter is it breakfast or dinner. There was great snack bar right on the beach, also with fruit station.
We loved the creperie. We have some great tasty crepes and cappuccino in
afternoon. Their famous pizza on lunch was seriously best. Stone baked, great mozzarella, many choices. My hubby said he won’t eat pizza on holidays, but he changed his mind after tasting first bite. Very nice bar with central location, well maintained, many staff, but you need to find Tito if you want a good drink. I know cocktail tastes and only Tito could make it happen. Other bartenders did not have a clue how to make it or made it distasteful. We tipped Tito well so we got good drinks. When Tito was off, we did not drink at all it was that bad. You can ask Tito for any cocktail, but
obviously there are not many American travelers there, so you just need to let
him know how to make it and you got it. He is a good one. They have great popcorn machine in the bar. Loved it. Music in the bar needs improvement. It can’t be always salsa and meringue. I was little tired of music there. Only good one was coming when they had aerobic near pool. We both were very angry when French entertainer was on and we usually had to live the bar area. He was really annoying on the microphone. I understand he was fun for French but not for us. Also a joke was children entertainment at night in the middle of the bar. You had to bear watching couple kids at 8-9pm dancing around and had to listen to kids music while you were sipping on your
margarita. Oh what a shame!!!! Great thing about bar that they had self service liquor station, with fantastic coconut rum liquor, mamajuana, mango liquor. They all were highest quality. Better than many international exported brands.
They also served canapés in the bar.
The only thing for me was missing was live bad in the bar. Didn’t need to be
every day, but at least on weekends or something.
Little disappointed with that part. Because resort was mainly for French and
Italians we didn’t get much attention. I felt after while they were avoiding
us. I came to this hotel to dance but I did not do any dancing. I tried once
with my husband on the beach and lesson was too annoying. Clapping constantly
we didn’t learn anything. We did not give it another shot. We had better things
to do around there. I felt that animation team was very full of themselves. I
don’t like that attitude. You are there for us-guests not for your fun only. My
hubby was very disappointed with soccer which happened twice. He loves to play
and he prepared himself for that. Nobody seemed to care to organize that. Only
beach volley all the time and some European strange ball game on the sand.
My husband was promised bottle of rum after winning a match game-but never
received. We did mention to Sebastian on several occasions, but he always
forgot to get it for him. I don’t really care about rum, cause it was cheap
anyway and we bought lots. It is only the way how they cared about us –English
speaking- guests. Big area of improvement for this hotel.
I watched jealous how hotel next door-Canoa- had great beach entertainment,
some great competitions for guys. I wish my husband could participate in one of
those. We have not seen many night shows in amphitheater, but all of them were quite
good. Beach had very nice coconut grove, not many left in this area. Sand beige, almost
white. Perfect, absolute perfect color. Definitely better than yellowish in
Punta Cana. Way too many beach long chairs on the beach and huts, but at least
you didn’t have to fight at the morning for them. Lots of shadow from coconut. Like
I said, good snack places, so you are never hungry on the beach. Good soda
machines, clean ice. Photographers on the beach trying to take your photo. We
were polite to them and they were not pushy or something. Problem is there
weren’t that good. I am myself quite professional and found their skills to be
quite low. Problem was that to buy one photo you need to pay 18 Euros. Way too
much. We never bought any. There was a guy who was bringing some parrots and
iguana to the beach to have them photographed on peoples head etc.
Another problem on the beach were SELLERS. Oh my God, what a nightmare. If I
counted every minute spending on explaining that WE DO NOT WANT to BUY their
PAINTINGS, I think it would be half of a day altogether. I think hotel should
not allow them on the beach. It is not hotel’s fault they are so hungry for
customers. We were extremely annoyed with sellers. We were there for three
weeks and they didn’t learn we didn’t want any shopping. They attack you from
every side when you leave hotels beach and try to have relaxing walk along the
coast. You have to walk about 1.5 kilometers to get rid of them.
RECEPTION-excellent, good English knowledge, very efficient, problems resolved
fast. We have problem with bed and they send replacement bed immediately. We
were happy. We needed assistance with booking some trips outside hotel, they
gave me professional assistance. I was most impressed. Concierge wasn’t that
good, better use reception. Especially nice Dominican girl, forgot her name,
she was brilliant. Good porter service, very polite. Staff of the hotel
generally very polite, no one will pass near you not saying Hola! I was again
very impressed and felt welcome every time. Lady who exchanges money in CAMBIO
didn’t want to give my husband change for tips. Reception also didn’t have any
change. Bring lots of $1 or at least have good change of pesos at least 50’s
handy to tip everybody. They all deserve it as they work had for your
enjoyment. ROOMS-We didn’t have any problem with rooms. Clean, spacious, maybe a bit too dark,but you don’t spend time there anyway. Flat screen TV, nice new fridge full of water and drinks. Air conditioning was working all the time-waste of energy.
Room was always nice and cold, no problem. Nice balcony with chairs and view
for gorgeous gardens. I saw many birds at the morning, even Lizard Bill Cookoo
and hummingbird. We were quite lucky, we didn’t have noisy neighbors. Walls
are thin, like in many hotels and you can get some disturbance from neighbors.
Over weekend lots of noisy locals come to resort and it may be little problem
for people who enjoy quiet sleep in the room at night. But that is just for
one night, I could live with it. Housekeeping was working good. They did bring
flowers to room, decorated bed with swan towels, etc. Everything in room was
working in order. You are getting free safe. We liked our room. Good TV
channels with great movies. About room problems that I read from other
reviewers. I can see why people complain. This hotel has its style, old
colonial style-I loved. Many people doesn’t. They want modern buildings, modern
furniture. You are in Caribbean, musty smell is part of your holiday!!Loved the
villas, we walked every evening around all of them. I would want to pay for an
upgrade. I liked our ‘ordinary’ room which for me was ‘extraordinary’. Have a
positive attitude to your room and you will be fine. Relax-you are on holiday! POOL-
Gorgeous, not too busy, one part was really deep, 2.5 meters-my favorite. I
have good swim in that pool almost every day. Water was nice and cold, very
refreshing. I think families with kids enjoyed the pool a lot, but kids had
their separate section. There was not very polite person working on the pool area, giving pool towels. He had always problem with us giving him towel at the morning. I understand where he is coming from, towels need to be washed and dried overnight and we were bringing it another day, but we were staying late on the beach and his
services were closed before we finished. He made us feel bad all the time and
soon we were afraid to ask for towels. I feel that guest should just enjoy
holidays, not worry about pool towels to be returned on time. Anyway nothing,
even small negatives couldn’t spoil our holidays. I hope it gives some good, positive view on this unique hotel. I would love to
return fast and I am just hoping that everything will stay same, or maybe even
better. I will post some pictures soon.
Happy travels everyone. I recommend this hotel to everyone who loves nature and
likes healthy style holidays.

Happy to answer any questions you may have.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,525
    2,214
    628
    194
    127
See reviews for
1,832
2,617
110
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiarton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We traveled in November to this hotel in La Romana, we have been to Puerto Plata, and Punta Cana in the last few years also. We love the Dominican and this hotel did not let us down, the food ,rooms and staff were very good , our concierge Sufa was excellent. During the day there was alot of activities along with snorkeling with hundreds of fish 50 ft from the shore at man made coral reefs...it was awesome! ,at night the Animation crew kept you busy with shows , dance lessons , games. I highly recommend the steakhouse and pizzeria. also the Safari trip in the mountains and the day trip to Sona Isalnd aboard a catamaran. *BRING SNORKEL EQUIPMENT

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shank22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Travelled to this resort in November 2010 for one week. This was our 3rd trip to the Dominican, and this was the first time staying at what is normally rated a 4 Star Resort (the others were 4.5 or 5 stars). Clearly, a 4 star resort does not have all the nice touches of a more expensive resort, but that is to be expected. I have to say from a value point of view, we could have not done better. The package price from Toronto was incredible bargain, so bear that in mind when you read the review.

Checkin-was not good. They sent us to a room that was already occupied. It took over an hour to get us a new room, and when we checked into that one there was a further problem that took another hour to get resolved. After that, no more issues but not exactly what you want to have happen when you check in after a long flight. As for the rooms themselves, we had a normal room, 2nd floor. I have read several comments about mustiness of the rooms, but in our room on the 2nd floor, there was no such problem. The maid kept it clean and spotless and the bed was comfortable enough. Nice to get a balcony and during the entire week there were no noise issues. Safe was free, which was nice and the tv had many channels from around the world, again a better selection than other more upscale resorts. The free wifi in the room worked perfectly, but at slow speed. Good for sending e mails back home at least.

Bar-service was reasonably attentive and there were sufficient varieties of drinks. I did like the fact there was an Italian flair to the bar and once could get espressos, cappuccinos and the like.
Buffet-acceptable, but again at a 4 star rating. Some of the food was fairly institutional, but you could always have a reasonable selection. Desserts however were fairly poor quality, so if those are important to you or your children, keep that in mind. Service was good (e.g. wine, clearing of tables) and actually better and more efficient than other more expensive resorts.

The Beach-only ¼ of the beach is accessible for entering the water as the other ¾ has rocks as you enter the water. No waves at all during the week we were there which made it akin to sitting in a bathtub rather than an ocean. One good point was that there were always chairs, shade and plenty of seating areas on the beach so you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to find a reasonable spot to relax. Another good point is you are not harassed by beachside vendors as you can be at some other places. Food at the beach buffet is sufficient only for a snack-do yourself a favour and go to the regular of pizza buffet for something better.

A la carte restaurants-tried the steakhouse (good) and the Mexican (terrible with the slowest service known to man). Surprised in the variation between the 2 considering they share the same building and presumably the same kitchen.

Pizza Buffet-good, but in my opinion not great. I live in an area of Canada with a predominantly Italian population, and while I appreciate other posters even from Italy said the pizza was “even better than in the motherland”, I respectively disagree. I can have pizza locally from many a true Italian source and they are better here. A little more basil and other ingredients would have been nice.


Other-we travelled via Noli Tours. Free bottle of rum in the room, a nice beachside buffet one evening for their guests and no extra fees for departure or taxes. No complaints at all about Noli Tours although the bus bringing us to the resort did not really announce legibly what resort we were approaching so you had to pay a lot of attention to make sure you got at the right hotel

As for comments about the multinational aspect of the resort and the languages , no problems at all. We had good service in English, although I can get by in French if I really have to. One pet peeve I definitely have is that some people at these resorts seem to have no clue how to behave at an all you can eat buffet. They dart in and out while people are making their food selection and bump you out of the way. Hey folks, they are not going to run out of food and a little courtesy and politeness goes a long way.

Overall-would I go back? No, but primarily because I do not enjoy going to the same resort twice. Was it great value for the money? Absolutely. You could have paid 2x as much as we did and had a less satisfactory vacation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I seriously do not understand why people have so many negative things to say about this hotel! I think some people expect to pay a relatively cheap(ish) price for a hotel in this country and still expect 5 star plus standards! If you want a luxury holiday worth thousands of pounds then that is what you should pay for.
We had a FANTASTIC holiday at this hotel and would definitely rate it at 4 stars!

The staff were brilliant and worked tirelessly night and day to ensure we had the best stay possible! We are English and did not in any way feel ignored by the staff because of this, they were all more than friendly and made every effort possible to hold a conversation with us and include us in activities and were always very friendly!
We stayed in a standard room which more than sufficiently met our needs. I don't think the rooms are old or dated and are comfortably decorated with a large comfortable bed and more than enough room. The air-conditioning and safe in the room are FREE of charge, which is practically unheard of in a lot of places. The bathroom also more than met our needs. I must admit there was a slight musty smell when we first entered the rooms but this soon went and did not continue beyond the first night!
We only wanted a comfortable room for a siesta and to sleep in at night and our room was perfect for this! If you go on holiday and want a room that you can sit in all day, you may as well stay at home!

The food was AMAZING and again I don't understand the complaints in some of the other reviews in this respect! There was always plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner time and the food was always of a very good standard. In a lot of respects it was better than the food you would get in a restaurant at home. My mother in law is a vegetarian and always found enough to eat, although obviously there is a limited choice. The little italian restaurant opens at lunch time which we did not realize until towards the end of our holiday, but if you want to go somewhere a bit different at lunchtime then this is a perfect option.
Sometimes we found the choice at evening meals could be a bit hit and miss, but there are three themed restaurants (although our advice would be to check at lunchtime if they are open that evening as they were not always open every night) and the pizzeria so we were never really short of choice!
We loved the fact that there was a theme at the main buffet restaurant every evening as it gave you the chance to sample lots of different foods and the staff dressed up in costume every night, allowing for some great photo opportunities which we will look back on for years to come.

The grounds of the hotel were immaculately kept and very clean, there was evidence on a daily basis of how hard everyone worked to keep the hotel and its surroundings clean and well maintained! The beach was beautiful and just the right size, we never struggled to find a sun-bed and did not find it over-cramped at all! The pool and Jacuzzi were a really good size and never overcrowded. You could see someone checking the chlorine levels everyday which reassured us that the hotel had our welfare in mind all the time!
The bars again were great with a wide choice of drinks on offer, we particularly enjoyed the cocktail bar, which could be busy at times, but you were never left waiting long before being served. It is also worth noting that there is a snack bar on the beach which has a variety of light options if you do not feel like going to the buffet restaurant at lunchtimes.

There were a wide variety of activities on offer all day every day, ranging from yoga to aqua aerobics to tennis and table tennis and dancing in the evening and volley ball on the beach (one evening) . The evening entertainment was GREAT and we would definitely advise you to see the Notre Dame show which we did not understand as it was in Spanish but you could follow the story through the acting and we thought it was AMAZING! They got a standing ovation at the end!
There was also a wide variety of water sports activities on the beach and I would highly recommend trying the parasailing! I had never done this before and was naturally nervous about it but the guys were took me out were really reassuring and looked after me well!

We had a problem with one of the safes in the room while we were there and when we went to reception they were very good and sent someone out to deal with it straight away!
We were also asked on several occasions whilst there by members of staff about what they could do to improve our stay which really pleased us as it showed that they are constantly striving to make it a better holiday experience for people!

As reported yes the hotel does open up to the Dominicans at the hotel but we thought this was a nice touch and it was nice to think that the hotel gave something back to the locals and the country! On these days it was much busier but not unbearable and if you really did not want to stay on the resort on these days there were trips you could go on, but again we do not understand why you would visit the country if you do not want to interact with the people who live there.


I cannot stress enough how hard the staff at this hotel work! It was our first trip to the Dominican Republic and we would definitely visit again and use this same hotel and will have no qualms about recommending it to our friends in the future! It really was a great holiday in a beautiful country, made all the more pleasant by the friendly and untiring staff at this hotel!
Please don't be put off by the reviews on here just go and give it a chance! You won't regret it! I know we didn't!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma_R1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwater
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just arrived home from a family wedding at this resort. As we all spoke english, it was difficult to understand most of the staff. They have their own way of doing things down there and you are not going to change them. If you have high expectations of a perfect wedding don't even consider it. No matter how much planning is done, things still change at the last minute. Flowers were late. Wedding music wouldn't turn off. Interpreter took the day off. J.P. couldn't pronounce bride and grooms names. Reception was badly run. No bar tenders. Tons of people "gawking" at all of us. Nothing that was supposed to happen did. There is no excuse for all those problems. It was so pathetic we all had to laugh. Despite everything, we all managed to have a good time. From a disappointed Grandmother.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coldwaterbroomhida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandominicus, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

First at all we would like to thank you for your comments, as the opinion of our Guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We do appologized for not having been able to fulfill your expectations in the planning of the wedding. We regret for all inconveniences you experienced.
We are improving this part with a new weeding coordinator.

We really hope that you decide to visit us again thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

THE GOOD: SERVICE& FOOD IS INLINE WITH 3 TO 4 STAR.

THE BAD: beach & area in the middle of nowhere.this is a french italian resort,americans gonna feel out of place.no seating areas and saloons in the lobby and no bar,thats the first 4 star all inclusive hotel ive been in that lacks seating areas

THE UGLY:the rooms .the low level dominicans invading on the weekend,basicly you can scrap sat/sun you would feel like staying in your room until they leave sunday afternoon.hotel becomes a gypsy camp.

bottom line: if you are french or italian rookie/value chasing all inclusive 3,4* hotel traveller,your gonna have a ball in this resort,enjoy.
if you dont fit this category AVOID THIS HOTEL .PERIOD

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestargringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2010

it was the best vacation i had nice room real clean nice beach and good food the service was real nice everything was good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.7 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
25.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
36.0 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
35.6 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
0.1 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Dominicus

Property: Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Address: Bayahibe Playa, Bayahibe 10501, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Gran Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Gran Dominicus is an all-inclusive resort located on the south-east coast of the Dominican Republic and overlooks the white sandy beach of Bayahibe; 25 km. from the famous Caribbean art centre Altos de Chavon and 4.5 km. from the tiny fishing of Bayahibe, close to the Natural Park of the East, home of the biggest remains from the Island's first inhabitants, the Taino Indians; only 30 minutes by boat from Saona and Catalina both wonderful virgin islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Groupon, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Gran Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Catalonia Gran Dominicus La Romana
Gran Dominicus
Catalonia Gran Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing