We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,718)
Filter reviews
8,718 results
Traveler rating
3,874
3,259
968
359
258
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,874
3,259
968
359
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privileged room main bar animation team beautiful beach la romana dominican republic other resorts saona island ala carte recommend this resort beach area breakfast and lunch steakhouse rodeo buffet vacation shows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
855 - 860 of 8,718 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Hi, we are a couple in the mid 30`s.
We stayed there from dec 28th 2009 to jan 4th 2010.

I want to say from the start that we are far from picky people and we travelled 5 times to dominican republique and never we tasted bad food like this ( bottom of review).

Let me start by saying that the rooms are awfull. They are really outdated...Shower as mold and a weird smell. The bed is outdated. No decoration at all and no alarm clock, old tv and safe was not working properly.

As far as the grounds go, it is beautyfull with lot`s of vegetation, well maintained and clean !

Amazing Beach, clear water and lots of fish ! Plenty of chairs at the beach, so you dont need to wake up early!

Nice big pool and clean.

Now the worst part is the food. We are from montreal and we dont expect 5 star food, we are aware of taht. But serving us the left overs from the day before, exemple beef from fajitas served at breakfast... OH yukky ! Food was really really bad. Nothing good to say about it. same food every night, they just presented it in different ways ! Let me say we did not eat much, so it was good for our waist line !!!

I rate this hotel as follow

2 stars for the rooms
4 stars for the grounds
4 stars for the beach and pool
1 star (generous) for the food
3 stars for the staff

so globally this is nowhere near a 4 star hotel as mentionned in the catlogue...This is a 3 star MAX.

Hope my review helped.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I have stayed at many all inclusives in the Carribbean and Mexico and this is by far the worst. As an American tourist, the hotel staff knows very limited English and guests smoke all over the resort.

Rooms - NO FRILLS. There is no dresser for your clothes, no pictures on walls, no alarm clock, no iron, & limited lights. Some rooms have a safe, some do not. Some rooms have flat screen TV, some have a 25 year old 20" tv's. My room (1 KING Bed) had three pillows which were flat and smelled. Some rooms have a small table on balcony/porch some do not. There are no key cards to enter your room, only an antiquated key which includes your room # on it. Hence if you lose your key, makes theft very easy. There is not lock on door either, just a small chain.

The rooms are very dated and upon inspection you can see where they are falling apart. Patchwork galore, nothing has been replaced. All mismatched/miscolored lightbulbs. Shower took 10 minutes to heat up.

Bathroom - not seperated from room via a door. Simply a section of room with stand-up shower only and sink. The toilet has a door that shuts. Hence if you shower you wake up your companion and must exit into your cold A/C room.

Grounds - beautiful and well maintained, many trees, plants, and vegatation.

Beach - Beautiful water, nice sand, fish, plenty of chairs. There is no drink service at beach or pool, you must get up and get it each time and its far walk to beach bar.

Pool - big, fairly clean, not used too much, very limited in # of chairs at pool. Hottub, did not work when I was there.

Food - hit and miss. not too much variety, hotel does a poor job of reusing food from prior night (fajitas for breakfast), unusual cuisine if your from USA. Hotel does not refill empty items right away as certain foods remain empty for 30 minutes plus. Service is medicore, as they are quick to clean your dirty plate but do not refill your drinks, water, or coffee. Beach snack bar has same 3 items everyday - burgers, hot dogs, and chicken. All of which are never ready and you must wait. Pizza/Italian restaurant was good. Late at night Pizza is never ready. A La Carte Restaurants were good.

Activities / Alcohol - Activities from 10am to 2pm, then the entire staff dissappears to reherse for shows. The shows were very good. Gym was gross, tennis & basketball were nice. All alcohol is Classico, a cheap Dominican brand that is very watered down, you cannot purchase premium alcohol if you wanted to. House wines were terrible.

Nightlife - non existant. Only one bar open at night, no tv's no music. If you enjoy sitting in silence drinking watered down drinks and smoking cigarettes then this is the place for you. Shows were from 10 - 11pm, no drink service in theatre, all bench seating, no tables.

Overall, I was very displeased with resort. As the #1 hotel in La Romana and at $275 a night I expected much better quality.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEinerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The rooms are very out dated. The Hotel needs a make over BADLY! but the beach is unbelievable. Very clean and clear blue water, if you are spending your time on the beach and do not care about the rooms then this is the place for you. The food was good, but very limited if you are a vegetarian. You will have to ask the Chef to help out in this area, as we did. Only 1 swimming pool and very small, plenty of food and drinks on the beach, limited tanning/relaxing beds on the beach be sure to reserve early! Overall very enjoyable vacation would visit again only if renovations are done.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Domic_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed at the Catalonia Gran Dominicus from November 30 to Dec 7. Nice flight on Transat from Montreal with a short stop at La Samana. Easy check-in, we asked for a room in the Catalina or Saona Villa, and ended up in #3237 in the Catalina. Very happy with the room: close to the bar, buffet, beach....Nice big balcony with 2 Adirondack chairs. New flat panel TV! Although this was not one of the renovated rooms (you'll know if you've got a newer room if get a card key at check-in) we loved it. The bed was great, and the tiled sink was one of a kind. The plumbing worked perfectly.

Outside, the grounds are full of lush mature trees and vegatation creating a very cozy feeling, with many small paths to explore. We had a full moon during our stay, and enjoyed strolling around with a glass of wine at night, and then chilling at the bar.

Speaking of the bar, get to know Dagoroberto, he's great, and will treat you like family!

Our favorite part of this trip was the ocean. Warm, clear water with hardly any waves. My wife usually doesn't stay in the ocean for long, but we were in it for hours at a time, plus you can watch the sunset while you're bobbing around.

Lots of places to sit, sun or not.

The snack bar at the beach is fantastic. Rotisserie chicken, nachos, fries, fruit, and best of all, you can pour your own Presidente!!

At lunch, the pizzas at El Patio are amazing, couldn't get enough!!! Plus various pastas, yummm.

In general, we enjoyed all the food at this resort. buffets and a la cartes. Plenty of choice, well prepared and presented. Time to hit the treadmill once we got home!!!

If you prefer being by the pool, it is great also. Very large with varying depths, and a walk -in at one end, plus, you are closer to the bar!!!

We have travelled around the Dominican, Mexico, and Cuba, and this will probably become our "go to" destination.

Our friends just came back from Catalonia Playa Maroma in Mexico, and loved it too. We will probably try it out next year and then decide.

All in all, it seems that the Catalonia chain of resorts is a winner. Enjoy!!!

Rick and Judie from Montreal

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rickandjudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

This is a wonderful resort, great service, great staff, entertainment crew lots of fun, food good, clean, nice rooms, beautiful beach, snorkling with man made coral reef on beach. It's small, out of the way, a good place to just stay on the resort and chill out. For the money, excellent value! You won't be disappointed. Long ride from Santo Domingo Airport, perhaps should fly into La Romana.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews