We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant vacation in this location. Although we had the worse vacation start ever due to the American Airlines incompetence, all that was wiped out during the 10 days stay in this hotel. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but we stayed most of the time outside. The bathroom is not so great. But, the beach is clean and the palm trees are awesome, the sea fantastic, without rocks only smooth sand. A true corner of paradise. The food was plenty and very good especially at the Italian restaurant. But the best thing in this resort is the entertainment / animation. The animation crew is fantastic all the girls and boys are very good especially Beba, Joan, Yuly etc. Their shows we're really good and also the animation during the day and their friendly way to approach the tourists. Also the people at the bar we're good and from the reception, they we're all very helpful. The gardens are very well kept and they are full of spectacular tropical plants and trees, really beautiful. So I strongly recommend this place, but don't expect to much from the rooms but from the outdoor.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are better in terms of view and safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turista2011054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 6,404 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really really loved the hotel. Considering the price (the lowest I've found), I was surprised to discover how much the hotel has to offer - different restaurants, sport activities all day long (water aerobics, step aerobics, beach football & volley, and many other), great animation until 2am... Just wonderful! The only thing I didn't like is the bathroom - very old and cleaned with tons of bleach. Don't get me wrong - it's clean, just not friendly. But who cares - at an amazing beach on the Caribbean and facility full with tons of entertainment, I easily let go. Would go back there with pleasure :) Ah, yes, and the stuff - super funny & friendly!

Room Tip: The animation, meaning dancing goes on until 2 am so the closest the room to the reception, the less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandominicus, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

we appreciate your nice comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are going to send your greetings to our entertainment department.

On the other hand, we are glad to inform you that nowadays we are in the process of remodeling several rooms (including the bathroom) in our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to be welcoming again in a near future.

Best regards,
Iván Cunillera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all the environment was beautiful. The beach was amazing. Everyone working there were very polite and nice saying hi with a smile every time they saw us. The people who put on the dance shows and all that worked very hard and were very lovely. I cant remember names but al of the animation and entertainment team were very nice and awesome. Id like to thank them all and thank you for this beautiful experience. I love it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaynmalikhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all the environment was beautiful. The beach was amazing. Everyone working there were very polite and nice saying hi with a smile every time they saw us. The people who put on the dance shows and all that worked very hard and were very lovely. I cant remember names but al of the animation and entertainment team were very nice and awesome. Id like to thank them all and thank you for this beautiful experience. I love it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zaynmalikhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Privilege a must! Terrace restaurant at lunch on the beach priceless! Food normal but well presented, Crepes near the beach with a coco loco incredible! Going to snorkel with my kid has no price! The Beach beautiful...the worst: Pool need diamond bright, its broken in a lot of areas and weekend to much people, people can come with no room, they pay for a one day pass and make a mess in all areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandominicus, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

we appreciate your comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I will share with my teammates your positive opinion about our crepes, coco-loco cocktail and the beach.

We are glad to know that you and your family enjoy our Privileged Service and the launch at Terrace Restaurant near the beach.

Thanks for your tips that will help us to improve our service.

We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Ivan Cunillera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is an International family destination hotel with vacationers from all over the world speaking every language (France, Italy, Germany, Spain, etc.) with lots of diversity. We booked this 7 day trip through Living Social and Apple Vacations, so we got a lot of vacation for the money: nonstop round-trip AirTran flight, free transportation from airport to hotel, all-inclusive with upgrade to privileged everything including a renovated room near the pool. The concierge was always helpful and had several things fixed in our room after we arrived and expressed our concerns. The pool got very crowded on Saturday when many locals got day passes. Very friendly entertainment staff with lots of music, dancing and aerobics!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking as their are plenty of smokers, hot water can go off when you least expect it du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandominicus, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your positive opinion about our Concierge and Entertainment department.

We hope to have another chance to serve you.

Best regards,
Ivan Cunillera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

extremely dirt. I was in a "privileged" room giving privileged access to the best spots of the village. Well I had the privilege to sit on birds poop , to have birds eat at the main buffet inside the buffet platters and poop in them.My kids were disgusted to have a lot of birds poop on the chairs, we asked the servants to clean and they just smiled at us and left the dirt where it was
glasses are NOT washed. Sometimes they never rinse a glass with somebody else' s juice, they throw away juice and fill it with the coke you ordered. They do not hide, the village is dirt. I got sick as well as my kids. My body is covered by erythema and boils and a lot of people have diarrhea in the village. food is disgusting and compared to other structures of the area very poor quality. I have a lot of ants in the room , unless we never had any food or drink in the room. Fire ants bite us during the night. After 10 days of nightmare I decided to make my vacation shorter and go home. Beach is beautiful, however the same birds eating at the buffet have their nest in the umbrellas at the beach and my kids had poop on their head while playing under the umbrella. Unless the structure could be really nice , the management is a complete failure. It is not my first time in Santo Domingo which I believe is a paradise. but is the first time I am so sick and disgusted on this island! pick another hotel you deserve better in your vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathyuk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
#8 of 16 in Bayahibe
906 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
0.6 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
0.1 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Dominicus

Address: Bayahibe Playa, Bayahibe 10501, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $140 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Gran Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Gran Dominicus is an all-inclusive resort located on the south-east coast of the Dominican Republic and overlooks the white sandy beach of Bayahibe; 25 km. from the famous Caribbean art centre Altos de Chavon and 4.5 km. from the tiny fishing of Bayahibe, close to the Natural Park of the East, home of the biggest remains from the Island's first inhabitants, the Taino Indians; only 30 minutes by boat from Saona and Catalina both wonderful virgin islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Gran Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Catalonia Gran Dominicus La Romana
Gran Dominicus
Catalonia Gran Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing