We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel For The Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Hotel For The Price!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It wasn't too far from the airport but once we got there it was worth it. The lobby it beautiful with artwork and fountains- it just took my breath away. The rooms were average. They can use some updating but it was okay. My room didn't have too much of an ocean view but I had a great view of the pool. The pools were beautiful along with the beach. They have great entertainment and the staff is the nicest. I didn't bring my son but my friend brought her son and the foods were a bit to 'exotic' for him so we would ask the staff a cook a leftover hotdog from lunch but the bacon from breakfast was AMAZING! It was a super nice hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,149
    1,992
    431
    145
    79
See reviews for
3,200
3,749
130
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for 6 nights starting June 22, 2014 with the family (wife and I and two kids 9 and 12) . The first impression was fantastic: beautiful location, perfectly maintained grounds and very nicely designed Hacienda type architecture that blends in perfect balance with the lush surroundings. The beauty, diversity and sounds from the fauna making its home on this property (birds, turtles, etc.) adds a perfect touch to the overall feel of the place.

Check-in was a breeze and the front desk staff set the tone for the extremely courteous and attentive treatment that was consistent throughout our stay. We were very impressed with how nice and welcoming the staff, and people in general in the DR, are at all times. We only had an isolated incident with a maintenance person that came to check our room's A/C that had stopped working in the middle of one night. It turned out that their A/C system is designed to not work when the room doors aren't perfectly closed. Apparently our balcony door wasn't, and the guy seemed put off by the fact that we had to bother him in the middle of the night for something he probably thought was an obvious problem. He fixed the problem and started to leave without saying a word to us. I asked him how he fixed it so we knew next time and not have to bother him, and he somewhat curtly said our balcony door was open. Again, this was a small isolated incident and I really want to emphasize that it did not detract from the overall service spirit of this resort's staff and would like to congratulate all of them for that.

The rooms were quite comfortable and very clean. They were typical in comfort and decor for an AI resort of this price range. We asked for an extra bed for the kids and our request was fulfilled immediately. My young daughter really loved the cleaning staff for leaving animal figures made with the towels. She left thank you notes for them and as a result the number and complexity of the figures increased. She really looked forward to returning to the room every day to see what the cleaning staff had left for her. I really want to thank them for that (my daughter made a point of leaving well-earned tips for them too!).

The food was just OK in my opinion. The buffet restaurant food was not exceptional but we always found something that we could eat. Just a recommendation to the resort: you should have more ingredients available to make omelets. I always enjoy an omelet for breakfast with many and varied fixings at this type of resort. Your variety of fixings was just too small (cheese, ham and onions). As with everything else, however, the staff really made the experience more enjoyable. Special kudos to Jose and especially Altagracia who was always just a real sweetheart at the buffet restaurant that opened early; note here: this restaurant closed at 10:00 AM every morning and another buffet restaurant opened for breakfast for late risers, which was nice; however, the variety of food between one and the other was dramatic, with the later one being very basic. This was OK with us though as it served as an incentive to get up early and enjoy a full day!

The specialty by-reservation only restaurants were kind of hit and miss. The Geisha Japanese food restaurant put on a good show (our preparer was Luis and he was a total blast!) but the tepanyaki food could have been better. The Steakhouse restaurant was good and the Mexican food restaurant was a total flop for us. Living in Norther Baja / Southern Cal region we really know and love great Mexican food. Unfortunately this restaurant really missed the mark and the food wasn't even close to genuine Mexican food; while there, I was told that the head Chef for the resort is Mexican! (puedes mejorar mi amigo!!). Since kids were not allowed at the "Colonial" gourmet restaurant we did not get to eat there but I heard good things about it from other guests.

The beach is gorgeous and their set up of chairs and palapas were plentiful and nice. If you go in the ocean (water is beautiful) consider wearing water shoes as the floor is rocky and some of those rocks can be sharp for bare feet. The Beach bar was great and would like to give special thanks to Marcelino the barman whose great attitude and friendliness made our time there truly great!!

The pool area is large and nice. The pool is cleaned at all times during the day but we found some maintenance problems. Some of the tiles are broken and have sharp edges that when stepped on can cut into your bare feet (it happened to my son). Here, as in the beach area, the palapas and chairs are plentiful and you can always find one at any time of the day. The swim-up bar was nice and very nicely staffed by "Mr. baseball", Manny Morla who was a great guy who really made the place enjoyable, especially in the afternoons when people congregated there and made for great conversations. The pool area could have more activities, especially for kids, but we realize that a lot of people prefer peace and quiet which is nice and had plenty of.

The nightly entertainment could be better. Most people congregate at night in the main lobby bar and they have entertainment acts in the theater area, which were a little cheesy for our taste and so we mostly hung out in the lobby. A great touch there is the employees that are dressed as characters (batman, Kiss, Elvis) and roam around having fun with guests. The lobby area is the only place in the resort where you had free wi-fi and so that was an added attraction for people to gather there at night.

One small negative about the resort is the extra charges (wi-fi, room safes, local telephone calls, there are probably others...). It would be nice to visit an AI resort where these small things could be included. I believe it probably wouldn't break their bank and would be a big hit.

All in all it was a great vacation for my family in a great resort where people really try hard but has some important areas where improvements could be made. I do, however, highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Building 5 was great. Very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al-in-Baja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We holidayed at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus first 2 weeks of May 2014. We often holiday in Mexico, Cuba, but this was the first time to the Dominican Republic. We often go with friends, and did this time so we had 4 adults. They had been to the DM before, but weren’t overly impressed with their hotel, which was in the North of the Island, and a bit down on coming back to the DM, but came home from this one loving the place, and really glad they decided to come back. We loved every minute of our stay here, and it surpassed what we expected, and I’d put this on a par with anything we have had in Mexico before. The arrival at the airport was somewhat of surprise. Expect to cue for a while when you get there, as it seems every plane coming to the island arrives at the same time. There is a $20 tax each to get into the country, and a $10 out, ie $30 tax, so make sure you have or keep enough to get in and leave the country. Once through the airport though that was the last of the hassle, if you can call being on holiday and cueing for 40 minutes a hassle. But it is one of the nicest looking airports you will come across, as its built just like the hotel lobbies all with thatched roofs and open spaces.
On arrival the first thing we noticed was how clean and tidy the place was. We were taken to our room, and walked through the beautiful gardens. The grounds really are well thought out and manicured. From the duck pond, where we did get to handle the new born ducklings, also turtles, herons, flamingos etc. The seating area laid out amongst the gardens are great, and just nice to sit and relax, with some really gorgeous palm trees.
The site isn’t a huge site, just the main area of the hotel, where everything is close. And then about 8 blocks, 4 each side all interlinked. We were in block 3, which over looked the main pool. We asked for a second floor room, and the hotel were good enough to sort that out for us, and our rooms looked out over the pool. Pools are so clean as well, and also a nice touch for kids is a shallow sloped area for them to get in without the risk of a deep drop. The beach is fantastic, with the Lighthouse bar. This closed at 6pm, which was a little early as the sun didn’t go down till 7.30, so we did have to get a few at a time, so would have been nice if it stayed open a bit longer, but that is a minor issue. But there are some nice jetty’s just to sit on and watch the sun go down. You can snorkel off the beach as there are some concrete wave breaks some 20 meters off shore, where all the fish congregate. There are plenty of sun loungers, never didn’t have one either at the pool or beach, so no need to get up at 5am to book your lounger, unless you want that special one a meter from the pool!!!!
The staff are fantastic, and we spent many a night at the main bar. Ramos and Eduardo really looked after us, and made sure we were always topped up with Cuba Libra’s. Do try the Mamajuana, the speciality drink of the DM. It tastes different at every bar, but beware, it is potent!!! But really worth having one or two. The staff at the pool, main buffet were so good, and as its not a huge site we did get to know staff, and added to the holiday.
The restaurants are so good as well. The quality in the main buffet is as good as anywhere else we have been, and so tasty and well presented. For the al a cartes, we went to them all. Can’t fault any of them, but we really loved the Mexican, yes Mexican in the DM, but the Mexican one here, is better than the ones you get in Mexico, food was so good and tasty. The Colonial so nice for a special meal, with lobster to die for, good Japanese, and the Steak restaurant, I’ve never been given a steak the size we had there, they were huge, and took my wife half the night to eat. Can’t knock the food at all here, was very very good.
We went on couple of trips while there. We went to Saona Island. We didn’t book through Thomas Cook, but we went to Bennie on the beach. Get to the beach, turn left past the light house, and walk along the beach to the beach huts some 200 meters along. Go to Bennies shack, don’t allow the guys walking the beach to con you into their shack, and he will sort you out. The guys down there all have numbered shacks, and each has a T Shirt with the shack number they run on it, so you know they are genuine traders. We got the trip for $50 each, when the Thomas Cook rep wanted £90. Far cheaper, and we were on the same boats as people who had booked through TC. They picked us up on our beach, took us to Bayahibe, where we sailed down the coast on a catamaran takes about 2 hours, again plenty of rum. All inclusive day for the money. On the island, they gave us food (BBQ, rice etc) and as much as you can drink, soft and alcohol. It’s the one where the Bounty Coconut advert was shot, so you can swim, enjoy the sand etc. And then a speed boat trip back to our hotel at the end of the day, with a stop half way back to see giant starfish in the shallows. Well worth it and a really good day.
We also went scuba diving. Again we didn’t use the hotel facilities as we found these really expensive. We used Coral Diving in Bayahibe (PADI registered school). Was far cheaper, and they were really good and professional. We aren’t PADI qualified, but our friends are, so we always do try dives when we go away, gives us dives, without doing the whole course, as we don’t dive enough to do a whole PADI open water course. We did a wreck dive, and another on the reef, with our dive master Fabritzio who was such a nice guy, and a very good dive master, and put us so at ease. In doing it this way our friends could dive as well inside the wreck, though we weren’t allowed inside but did get to dive around and on top of the wreck, knowing we had our dive master with us. They also picked us up in a taxi from the hotel, and dropped us back after, all in the costs. We paid approx. $100 for our 2 dives. There is also a nice bar there, so when we finished our dives, we stayed and had a couple of drinks with the instructors, sat on swing chairs looking out over Bayahibe bay, wish we were back there now.
I think we have been really lucky in the holidays we have gone on, and I always use Trip Advisor to research the holidays, so feel that each review I do, I’ve loved the place, and then love the next place more. However I would go back to the DM tomorrow, and especially the Iberostar Hacienda Dominucus. The standard of hotel certainly makes the holiday, and this hotel has to be commended for everything about it, and really deserves the highest marks, and status as the best hotel in the area, because simply putting it, it is the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 3 on second floor, which over looked the pool, but you need to ask for a pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank almartin812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at the Hacienda in June 2014. From arrival to departure 2 weeks later its almost impossible to find anything negative to say about this beautiful resort. The staff and i mean all of them are nicest i have seen at any hotel i've been to. A special mention must go out for Lenny, from batman to a chicken he he was great fun and typical of the hard working staff. We stayed in a superior room 4015 in block 4 overlooking the great beach and a stones throw from the the huge pool, the room was a good standard. The maid service was excellent, working tirelessly to keep everything immaculate. The hotel grounds are another stunning area full of water, wildlife and a whole lot more. The a la carte restaurants dont fall short either the japanese and colonial are both places where you would happily pay well if it wasn't all inclusive, the general buffet restaurant offers great selection of high quality food. There is not much outside the resort locally but to be honest if you want to chill out in beautiful surroundings next to a beautiful beach and surrounded by fantastic staff then this is the place for you. If you are considering the Hacienda look no further you will not be dissapointed

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are lovely, Block 4 ideal location but all others are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and they kept the grounds very clean. Food was very good. Loved the wildlife and the overall atmosphere. The only negative was the one night the table vendors came onto the property. They were a bit aggressive. The only other area to improve is air conditioning in the room and dining areas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here in Spetember 2013 for 2 weeks with my husband and my in laws. First of all Thomas Cook messed us around with our booking 3 times before we went, a week before we were due to fly out!

However to the hotel.....

On first impressions its amazing and clean and service at check in was with a smile, we went to our room- after requesting not to be put on a bottom floor or in ajoining rooms with the in l;aws.... you guessed it thats what we got!

The room was clean, but what you would expect in maybe a 3 star hotel. Later in the holiday 1 of our phone chargers went missing never to return......

The food was good but no great, the drinks are very good and the pool bar staff were brilliant.

On our first night we couldnt get away from locals INSIDE the hotel selling crap! I cant believe I have paid all this money and I ahve to put up with this! And it was THE HARD sell, following you and all sorts!

On our last night we were woken up by a large group of people at the pool side drunk.... cheers for that maybe you should handle your drink better! there is no security here!

They have nothing in palce for the inspects- other hotels spray but nothing here so prepare to get bit.... alot!

We were not valued as customers at all....

This was my first experience in the Domincan- AND MY LAST
This was my first experience staying in an Iberostar hotel..... AND MY LAST

Awful stay, hated it, wished I was home whilst there. All members of our party thought the same thing too. Also 2 out of the 4 of us got ill ending in being in bed for numberous days with a tummy bug

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank halestones84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our second time to Dominican Republic. First time was in January 2010 and stayed at Iberostar Bavaro All Suite Resort. So this time we tried Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. May 15 to May 25, 2014. We had a great room #3207 - third building, third floor overlooking the pool. Note - there are no elevators!

The food was excellence. I highly recommend the El Colonial (gourmet) and the La Goleta (steak house). The buffet was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Note - mostly Europeans stay at this resort, very few Americans.

Room Tip: Room 3207 - building 3, third floor, overlooking the pool. Note - no elevators....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamashcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
9.7 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
35.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
35.4 mi away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing