We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our third stay at an Iberostar resort and we continue to be most impressed with how the chain approaches the entire concept of the all-inclusive resort. While you know intuitively that there are a large number of guests at the resort, you never seem to see them all. There are never waiting lines for anything and the facilities never appear crowded. As always, the staff is their greatest asset. Everyone, without exception, was pleasant, friendly and always willing to help with any request or question. Just to mention a few folks by name, Astencio at the front desk seems to keep the whole place running by himself (thanks for everything, Hermano) and apparently never sleeps! Riordan at the concierge desk is one of the warmest, most friendly people we have ever met and Yan, Apparito and all the other bartenders were great and always ready with a smile, a laugh and a bit of a flourish as they prepared people's drinks. The wait staff at the buffet is also super and very hard-working, as are the folks who present the nightly shows. The staff at the a la carte restaurants is also outstanding. Everyone at the resort makes it clear that they take their job seriously and go out of their way to do their best. Finally as to staff, all of the folks at Dressel Dive Center, the on-site water sports facility, were great. These people are thoroughly professional in every way and at the same time are kind, warm and friendly. I cannot recall ever feeling more welcome in a place.

As is the case at all Iberostar resorts we have seen, the grounds and physical plant are always kept in tip-top condition, and the maintenance staff is always at work tidying up and caring for the plants, trees and resident animals. Speaking of the resident animals, they are always a wonder and really enhance the feeling that one is in paradise! Also, one of my favorite features of this particular resort is the lighthouse bar on the ocean. Sitting on the deck, sipping a cool drink and gazing out at the ocean...it don't get much better than that! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we extended our stay for four additional days!

The Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus comes with our highest recommendation, and we will absolutely be returning there on a future vacation. Try it for yourself-you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 9,121 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

We loved our stay. The beach was amazing and exactly what the photos of the Caribbean would look like. We've stayed at other all-inclusive resorts and this one is best as far as great food, beach, pools, and grounds. Large Resort! So nice that you don't feel like there are a ton of people there. Free wi-fi in lobby, ask at desk for user name and password. One suggestion would be that the nightly entertainment started around 8:30-9 instead of 9:45. Stayed in building 7, which was great. Now that I've been there, I would only stay in 7 or request building 4 with an ocean view. Next time! Loved this place, would go back. The guy who helped with at excursion desk with hotel was much better than the 3rd party guys selling their excursions (wouldn't recommend).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The ambiance is pleasant, the landscape is very well maintained ;) the rooms are cheaply built with very uncomfortable beds/mattresses. The food is okay (buffet), the restaurants are not worth the reservation and effort.
They have plenty of room for improvement but since they are fully booked all the time, it is not going to happen :(

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DianNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went here in 2007 for our honeymoon & it was amazing. Spotlessly clean, we even came out of the nightclub at 2am & a lady was sweeping the walkways.
The pool area was excellent & clean, right on the beach were they did a massive paella which was out of this world.
All the restaurants were fantastic & you could get something to eat or drink 24hrs a day, proper all inclusive.
The rooms were cleaned daily & were very spacious.
All in all my best hotel/holiday..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbles1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

That is the place you want to come more and more. We were staying in hotel April 19 - April 26, 2014. Beutiful weather, nice beach. Owesome service. Staff, managers, everybody are friendly. No problem at all. We did not go to restaurants with reservar\tions this time, but from last years visiting hotel we do not have any complains. Hope to be in this hotel more and more.

Mark, Brooklyn, NY

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty when choosing IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays. In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, hotel Manager, we also thank you for posting a review about your experience.
We are very pleased to acknowledge your positive valuation about the beauty of our premises and the excellent service of our friendly staff. In IBEROSTAR we aim to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Iberostar is a beautiful hotel located minutes from the airport. The food is much better than you would expect from an all inclusive. The buffet is very good and the service is impeccable. As for the specialty restaurants, the only one we ate at was El Colonial, where we all thought our meals were excellent. Surprisingly, the steak here is much different than any other places we have eaten in the DR, so good that it could compare with any steak house in the US. I have to throw a shout out to our terrific waitress in the buffet area, Novarius! She made everyone feel at home and her service was impeccable!
The lobby is quite elegant with the huge statues of horses and bulls, a reminder that the resort is of Spanish origin.
Another great feature is the canal and nature islands that run down the center of the resort to the pool area. What a novel idea! The birds, ducks, geese, flamingos, native fowl and peacocks provide a multitude of sounds and howls that make you feel as though you are in the jungle, while still by the shore!
The pool area was less crowded than I would have expected, it seems most people prefer the ocean. The pool is spectacular and also has an area that allows you to wade into it as though you were at the beach....what a wonderful feature!
The beach is the jewel of the resort, my only complaint is the drop off as you enter the water. It's not bad getting in the water, but trying to get out can sometimes be quite challenging. More than once I've seen older individuals struggle and fall trying to navigate the step up and out on to the beach. If the resort can only remedy this problem, they would be 5 stars in my opinion!
The drinks are good, the staff is pleasant and attentive and most do speak English contrary to what you might think. The clientele is mostly European, with very few North Americans. Tipping doesn't seem to be the norm here, so when you do tip, the people are most appreciative!
The night life could use some work, maybe by bringing in the circus as other resorts have, but then again, after spending all day at the beach in that warm Caribbean water, most of us are too tired to stay up past 10pm! All in all, Ibersostar is an excellent choice for everyone!

Room Tip: There are three floors to each building and no elevators. The property is set up with two rows of bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alnello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus for your vacations and for taking the time to write a review about your stay among us.
We are very pleased to read that you had experienced an unforgettable holiday due to the friendliness of our staff and our exquisite cuisine. In IBEROSTAR two of our guiding principles are to provide the best service and the best gastronomical experience to our valuable costumers. We have congratulated Novarius for making your feel as a “Star” at the buffet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again; please contact us before as usual to help you to enjoy your next vacation with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was my first time staying in Santo Domingo. I have stayed previously at an Iberostar in Punta Cana. LOVE these resorts! From when you are greeted with a slushy drink until you leave, the staff is so friendly and will bend over backwards to best accommodate you. The grounds are kept immaculate--staff is always visible cleaning, trimming, and sweeping. I also like that there was security who patroled the grounds at nighttime after dark--not to the point that you felt unsafe, just a comforting watchful eye. Rooms were very nice, AC worked well (I have had experience on islands in general that the AC in the rooms did not work well), and kept clean.

The staff was very upbeat when trying to get vacationers to participate in their daily activities--dancing, beach & pool games, bingo, and water aerobics. We went to the Japanese restaurant and Mexican restaurant. We actually went to the Mexican twice since we liked it so much. Japanese was OK, took a long time. Not that I was in a rush, but it did seem to take awhile. Again, staff at the restaurants were great. Did not get to experience the steakhouse or French, which I would have liked to. We were unaware that based on how many nights you are staying at the resort, determines how many nights you get to make reservations. For example, we were staying 5 nights, which gave us 2 nights to make a restaurant reservation (we got a 3rd by chance luckily). The lunch and dinner buffets offer a lot of food, but are just OK. Breakfast buffet is very good.

Pool bar bartenders were awesome, especially Nino and Mauro (spelling?). Pool was beautiful, water the right temperature. Also loved walking the beach and going to the Lighthouse bar for a drink.

I would definitely recommend this resort. I love all-inclusive, so if you do also, you will be happy here at Iberostar Hacienda!

Room Tip: Buildings 3 & 4 are right next to the pool and they are quieter since they are farther away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
Hotel Weare Bayahibe
#6 of 16 in Bayahibe
874 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $189 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus Hotel offers 5-star All Inclusive accommodations in Bayahibe, a picturesque village on the Dominican Republic's southeast coast. This is the perfect beachfront locale for indulging in a comfortable, luxurious Caribbean vacation. Designed with both couples and families with children in mind, our top hotel's entertainment program includes activities for young and older alike as well as a modern spa for serene relaxation and high quality dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing