We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb again !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb again !”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our second time at the IHD and we were not disappointed. Amazingly the food on offer in the main area had got even better. The speciality restaurants however still have room for improvement i.e the Mexican was disappointing as the food was bland and unexciting. Also the 'gourmet' fare was easily beaten by the main restaurant. The Japanese proves to be a good way of meeting other guests and La Goleta's appetisers are delightful.
The staff are the best asset of the hotel - hard working, always smiling (yes, you Gabriel) and willing to go that extra mile to please their guests.
As 'returnees' we were treated to a bottle of rum, flowers and fresh fruit delivered to our room. Later an invite to a buffet with champagne and caviar amongst titbits on offer. Then an invitation to a dinner with other returners.
There was no difficulty in finding sun loungers but that was maybe because of the high season finishing.
A word about the free wifi provided in the main lobby lounge but a fee if required in your room - this meant that everywhere you looked there were people with ipads, smart phones and lap tops in the lounge - not exactly a social activity. However overall the hotel is still on our 'best ever' list.

Room Tip: We were in block 1 which meant we could hear the rehearsals and shows from the the opposite building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bessima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,160
    1,997
    431
    146
    79
See reviews for
3,210
3,755
130
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent our vacation in Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus second time. Although last year everything was o'key we mentioned an improvement of the service in all areas, especially the food, which was excellent. All personal of the resort works hard to provide the best service.
This resort may be especially recommended to those people , who like sea swimming, which is excellent. There is very good snorkeling in the swimming area as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtraveller33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Iberostar in La Romano was amazing. The hotel was so clean and the employees so friendly! Shout out to Jonathan, Lenny, Hector, Gabrial and Marguarite? (waitress) for going above and beyond to make their guests feel special!! I would definitively return to this location!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank caldwell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we would like to thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus for your holiday and for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
We would like to express how glad we are to read that our friendly staff (especially Jonathan, Lenny, Hector, Gabriel and Margarita) and the cleanness o our premises have ensured you a “great vacation” as you stated in your publication. In IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts we aim to ensure unforgettable holidays to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our first time at Iberostar Hacienda in La Romana. We are very impressed with the resort, it's amenities and service. The grounds of the resort are immaculate and kept in tip-top shape. The rooms are spacious, but somewhat basic and luck decor. It's constantly maintained by an army of workers tending to the grounds, buildings, even beach. Food is adequate for the luck of better word. That's because our previous experiences at Dominican were either very good or less adequate then at Iberostar La Romana. Restaurants are useless. After one dinner at steak house, we have opted out to eat 3 times a day at the buffet. At least there we had a choice.

Two things that we weren't impressed: the beach - it difficult to get in and out of the water and rocks under the fit. In another words, the beach have eroded and no longer sandy as it used to be, according to people that we met there. Interestingly enough, just a few hundred fit from Iberostar is another resort and their beach is super sandy. Could it be that sand is imported? Another thing, I have picked up an intestinal bug that persisted for at least 5 of 9 days we were there. I think that the origin of the bug are the drinks on the beach. The glasses that they serve the drinks are washed is "questionable" water in the back of the Light house on the beach. My system is not tolerant to it and if you are concern about this issue then the best way is to avoid drinking from the beach drinking hole and either bring your own mug or take the bottled water from your room.

Other then that, we might return to the resort one day.

Room Tip: Building # 3 and # 4 are premium buildings and you might need to pay a little extra to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guests,
We thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus for your first holiday in the Dominican Republic and for taking time to post a review about your stay among us on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we want to express you how glad we are to read that the beauty of our hotel premises and our exquisite gastronomy made you feel as a “Star” as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
On the other hand, we would like to clarify though one point you stated in the review. We follow strict sanitary procedures and recommendations based on the Dominican Republic´s Regulations and by Saniconsult, our external Hygiene consulter to prevent and minimize any risk based on the HARPC. Likewise, we have shared your whole feedback to the corresponding departmental heads so we can deliver the level of service based on Iberostar standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact us before arriving.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just got back from 7 days in Bayahibe in the Dominican Republic staying at the Iberostar HD. The resort was very beautiful. The grounds were well kept and the beach was great also. The pool was very nice size and always kept clean. The staff was very friendly but not overly responsive especially with serving drinks around the pool or beach. This was the first time in the DR and others had said the majority of the guest are from Europe. They were right! I would say that only about 5 percent of the guest were from the US. I didn’t think this would bother me much, but after a few days, I sure missed hearing people speaking in English. I probably sound like a stupid American who should learn other languages and I probably should. I’m just don’t spend enough time in other countries to learn their languages and don’t see that changing. I like to talk to almost anyone, but it gets exhausting after while trying to explain yourself so they can understand you. Also most of the staff could speak some English, but not very well. I think I will stick to Mexico, Jamaica or other countries were more people speak English.
I did end up scuba diving 3 times (2 tanks each dive) with an offsite diving company call Coral Point Diving. They were half the price of the on site company (Dressel Divers) and they did an excellent job. The total cost for 6 dives including equipment was only $210. They also picked you up at the resort by taxi (5 minute ride) at no extra cost. The diving was very good.
The food at the resort was just okay. We did 3 specialty restaurants (Steak, Mexican, Japanese) and they were also just okay. I’m not a very picky person when it comes to food, but other resorts that we had been to where far better than this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,
We thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we also thank you for choosing our hotel for your family holidays.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our grounds and the excellent service of our friendly staff. In IBEROSTAR we are committed to provide the best service to our valuable costumers.
On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have encountered during your stay. We are open to our costumers’ suggestions and we value your feedback. I assure you that I have shared your concerns to the corresponding department’s heads to do our best and improve in our services.
We remain at your disposition for any assistance especially in case you decide to visit us once again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I just came back from two days in this hotel. It is a very nice hotel with lots of possibilities. I would definitively recommend it. Very good quality for the price.
However, I recommend to go there only if you are with your partner or your family. I went alone and I felt a little bit like a lost sock after laundry.
But I still did the best out of it.

I would like to highlight that it is the first time I go to a massage in a hotel where the massage lady knows how to massage. The lady who took me in is called Iris and was very professional.

Otherwise, the only thing I have to criticise is the fact that you have to pay for wifi. I think that it is stupid nowadays to have an all inclusive hotel where you can have anything included but not wifi. This is indeed a weakness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arantxa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we thank you for writing a comment on Tripadvisor about your experiences at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus and for choosing our premises for your holidays.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that the value for money ensured you an unforgettable experience as we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts. Our entire management team is thankful for your suggestions about how we can improve the vacation experience of our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Hacienda from March 1st to the 9th . We had a great enjoyable vacation and well deserved rest . The hotel is amazing in that it had excellent food , courteous and helpful staff and stunning grounds .
The feel of the place is beauty and comfort , add to that some spectacular features such as an inner waterworks and pond that has ducks , flamingos , a swan , peacocks and some other interesting birds . We had a family of woodpeckers outside our room that made for some nice observation time as we observed 5 star accommodations for birds as well .lol
The beach was beautiful and had a great layout with a lighthouse / bar and a snack buffet close by as well .
End of day sunset was beautiful also and the water was warm and clean , turquoise in colour the swimming was a pleasure .
A variety of great restaurants and amazing staff make for easy enjoyment of meals with a great selection .
We did a few day trips , ATV / dune buggy and Saona island trip with catamaran and speedboats . Both were great and enjoyable , the island trip had some spectacular beach stopovers and the water "turquoise blue "was absolutely stunning .
Rooms were really nice , maid service was spectacular and the Ac system and overhead fans worked great to keep us comfortable . We had a junior suite on building 4 which was close to the beach and pools and a short walk to the buffets and restaurants .
The Lobby is spectacular with lots of seating and lounging areas and the architecture is stunning .
Leonaldo who worked for the tour operating was most helpful and pleasant . He greatly assisted us above and beyond what would be required and is a great asset to guests .
Although we are from Canada we felt at home amidst the many various languages we heard spoken . Visitors from Europe and South America as well as North America all blended well into the beautiful natural settings .
The diverse food selection and hard working employees all made our trip really enjoyable .
The spa services were great also and we benefitted from the professional manner of the attendants .
We would love to return year after year because there are no surprises here that will disappoint .
I want to say Thank you to all the staff who made our vacation a great one !
Thanks so much .
R & G

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,
First at all, we thank you for posting a review about your experience at IBEROSTAR Hacienda Dominicus. On behalf of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we also thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination for your vacations.
It is a satisfaction for us to read that your experience at our hotel premises was great. In IBEROSTAR part of our commitments as hotel chain is to provide the best service to our beloved guests, an exquisite gastronomy and beautiful landscapes.
We will be happy to welcome you back and remain at your disposition for further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
9.7 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
35.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
35.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing