We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been to iberostar hacienda dominicus twice in 2011 and 2012 this year I am going for three weeks! The staff was amazingly kind. The shows were funny and very exallent! Best performances I have ever seen! The food was to die for! In my opinion the jappenesne restaurant was best. The pools very good it also has a cold tub in the middle. The beach was also good but after hurricance Irene in 2011 the beach had rocks. But also in 2012 there were some rocks. My and my family had stayed in building 7 both years. We hope to stay in that building again. We are definitely booked already for this hotel this summer! Thank you, Iberostar for making this past years the ones at your hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polina1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for posting a review about your experiences at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus and for your loyalty when choosing our hotel for your family holidays.
In Iberostar we aim to ensure memorable stays to our beloved guests with the help of a friendly staff and an exquisite gastronomy. We are satisfied to read that we have been able to achieve our goal twice during your visits and we are looking forward to achieve it once again in this opportunity.
We are waiting for your arrival. Do not forget to contact us prior your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,006)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 9,006 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was our 8th time at the Hacienda, with a 2 year break since the last time, and it was simply BRILLIANT to be back again, Almost all the staff remembered us from the last time, and the Service,Food,Rooms, and Hotel, were as impeccable as ever, We met some lovely people,

Hello to Tim & June, Andy & Kirstin in particular, Not forgetting the too many to mention Americans,
I'm not going to go rabbiting on about the hotel and its facilities, as you can find that out elsewhere on other reviews, This is just a plain thank you to the Hotel management, and all the wonderful staff that made our holiday so good, Rodolpho,Luis, Max, Emperito,Yan,Keny,Brenda,Morla & Nino,just to name a few, Snr Pozo is to be proud of you all.

One slight Dissapointment was the Pool Bar closing too early at 6pm the lobby bar in swim wear is not going to happen !

Room Tip: Block 3 overlooking the pool or block 4 overlooking the beach are my choice
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChesterRedHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Amando Pozo, hotel Manager, we thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus and for your loyalty when choosing our hotel as your holiday’s destination.
It is motivating for the whole staff to acknowledge that after eight years our hotel premises, varied gastronomy and excellent service is at the height of your expectations and keep ensuring you memorable holidays as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We have congratulated all those staff members whom you named in the review.
We are waiting for your next visit. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was our 2nd vacation in this resort. Great climate and excellent beaches of La Romana make this resort a great choice. As always, there are pros:
- perfect highway brought transportation time from Punta Cana airport to 45 min.
- check in was perfect
- big property, excellent landscaping
- amazing beach, with water quiet like in the pool, a lot of shade.
- big and good pools
- perfect maid service in the room
..and cons:
- rooms pretty outdated
- food is fresh, but absolutely no delicatessens
- checkout was absolutely horrible. One bellboy for whole hotel that morning. No way to get help with luggage. Long line to check out and pay the fees.
- just one restaurant we like– Colonial (French style).
You may see general manager of the hotel all around the property, day and night, paying great attention on everything, but, probably, trying to keep budget low.
Entertainment is OK and on usual level.
Best located buildings: 3, 4, 7.

Room Tip: Best located buildings: 3, 4, 7, first (but not ground) floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leozxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus once again for your holidays and for posting a review on Tripadvisor about your second experience among us.
We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty and cleanness of our hotel premises including our beach. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises. We have congratulated our Housekeeping crew and gardeners for leaving such as nice impression with their work.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for the inconveniences upon your check out. We have shared your feedback with our Front Desk Manager to prevent this uncomfortable situation for our valuable customers. We also welcome your feedback about our gastronomy and have shared it with our Executive Chef.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had been to this hotel before and stayed for 3 weeks so thought we would stay again this year and again for 3 weeks. The Hotel was clean, majority of the staff very helpful,location wonderful ,food fantastic just as we had remebered from 7 years ago.
But we had not been told of works being completed around the pool, or that thomsons had removed this hotel from the brochure and during our 3 week stay only spoke to 3 englisg holiday makers although this is not a major issue for us it made some of the excursions very difficult as interpretations were focused on the non english tourists.
Also it is nice to socialise with others during the day and evening but due to language barriers this was very difficult so did not live up to our previous visit which is such a shame

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus once again for your holidays and for your publication on Tripadvisor.
On the one hand, we are very pleased to read your positive valuation about our varied gastronomy, the beauty and cleanness of our premises, and the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. All those aspects are part of our commitments in Iberostar so our guests can “enjoy being a Star”.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for the inconveniences related to the repairing we were doing to our swimming pool which in fact was a result of our valuable costumer’s reviews on Tripadvisor. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
In case you decide to visit us again we remain at your entire disposition for any assistance prior your arrival.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from a wonderful five night stay at Iberostar La Romana Bayahibe. Having been to Iberostar Bavaro in Punta Cana, we were expecting a luxurious, relaxing vacation and we got it! The beach was wonderful, the grounds were impeccably manicured, and the staff were gracious and accommodating. Many thanks to Marcellino, Yan, and Cesar for making our stay truly amazing.

Our typical stay at iberostar began bright and early heading to the beach to find a good spot. Other reviews had mentioned a lack of enforcement with guests reserving prime beach spots with towels at the crack of dawn and then leaving. The hotel definitely has stepped it up since then: we happened to benefit from the new policy on many mornings, but still needed to get down before 8. We would then eat at the breakfast buffet which has almost anything you could want. The hotel also has Purell stands at the eateries, which was a nice touch. We would then head back to the beach and enjoy a day of sun, sand, and pool time. The staff were always ready to entertain and offering activities. One of our favorites was renting snorkel masks from the hotel (free) and snorkeling along the perimeter of the swim area. Some of the best snorkeling I have seen and literally less than 100 yards from the beach.

Our two favorite restaurants were the steak house and la gourmet. The dinner buffet was also exquisite. Iberostar really does give you a nice vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajmiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts once again as your holiday’s destination and for posting a review about your recent experience at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus on Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to acknowledge that our hotel premises, exquisite gastronomy and excellent services could meet your expectations based on your previous visit to Iberostar Bavaro. In Iberostar, as you have experienced twice, we aim to ensure memorable holidays to our valuable costumers. We have congratulated Marcelino, Yan and Cesar for making your holidays especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and remain at your entire disposition for any request and further assistance.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having spent almost twenty holidays in the Caribbean over the last fifteen years, I do believe that this latest holiday has been the best value for money. The grounds are quite beautiful and, the large reception/bar area is a little gem. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed each meal in the buffet restaurant. It has quite a pleasant atmosphere, and it is good to see the chefs cooking the food in front of your eyes. For an all inclusive hotel, the food and most of the the drinks are of a very good quality. The table wines are quite drinkable.
An unexpected attraction was on the balcony of our third floor room (1228). The railings were about eight feet from a woodpeckers' nest in a coconut tree. With the aid of binoculars, we followed the activities of the pair of birds each day, seeing the fledgelings as they flew away. Amazing!
The only slight downside for my wife and I was that there was no Sunday Mass in the hotel, unlike in the other three hotels we had stayed in previously in the DR. When I enquired at Customer Service, they told me that a free shuttle service operated to the nearby Catholic Church and we did use it the two Sundays we were on holiday. The numbers attending from the hotel were four and six respectively, and the two services were very joyful and full of love. On our three previous visits, the Masses were well publicised and the numbers attending were thirty to forty in the first two and nearly a hundred in the outdoor Masses in the third. I'm sure that the numbers would be similar if a similar service was held in the IHD, and if it was well publicised (important).
That's a challenge for the management.
This was a most enjoyable holiday. What more can we say ? Thank uou very much.
.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms provide the best garden views. You might even get to see the local woodpeckers.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerryStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your vacations. On behalf of Mr. Amando Pozo, hotel Manager, we thank you again for writing a review about your experience among us.
We are very pleased to read that your holiday at our hotel premises was memorable as we aim in Iberostar Hotels and Resorts. We appreciate your positive valuation about the beauty of our grounds, the friendliness and excellent service of our staff and the variety of our cuisine.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for the lack of information regarding the Mass. We have communicated your suggestions about this matter to our Guest Service department.
We are looking forward to welcome you back; please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ok, that title may be a bit severe only some guests let themselves down the majority were fine, but let me explain why i wrote it.
The hotel consists of three blocks on one side and four on another running parallel down to the beach. The gardens and pool area are in the center. This means the hotel is large for the size of the beach area it has, one third is rocky and the rest has manageable access. you still have to be careful as there is still some rocks. It is in this area that the sunbeds get reserved well before 7 am. The Hotel has a policy of not reserving sunbeds but does not enforce it. I understand it may be difficult to enforce during the day but in the morning when most of the sunbeds have been reserved but the beach is nearly deserted, then the towels should be removed. Even the prime spots around the pool are reserved early so if you like a long lie in the morning be aware you may have to wait until the afternoon to get a good sunbed. If you do get one on the beach you can always look out for the sunbed wars that breakout, they shout and bicker with one another just like a colony of nesting sea birds.
Another thing to be aware of is that other guest steal your beach towels, when this happens you have to go to guest services and fill in a small form and then go to the towel hut to get them replaced, it took me about forty minutes to complete. The girl was pleasant enough and told me not to worry as it happens all the time.
The pool is nice and large but has a few broken tiles, so if you have young kids you would need to be careful

The hotel has four specialty restaurants, El Colonial being the best, although the maitre d can be cheeky and the service is slow. Jazmine a waitress in the main buffet restaurant could show them how to be efficient and friendly she was fantastic.
The food was very good and previous reviews have mentioned food poisoning, however i have no doubt that it is not the hotels fault but the fault of other guests. You will see them walking around eating food from their plates with their fingers, then picking up more food, again with their fingers. One woman even licked her fingers and stuck them in the grated cheese and then licked the cheese of them, yuk. I would encourage the hotel to let the staff in the food areas reprimand the guests who do not seem to understand basic food hygiene. Also enforce your dress code particularly in the snack restaurant, ladies were mostly ok but men wandering around wearing only trunks is not acceptable.
One good thing is that you can book three of the four specialty restaurants in a week and if you want to plan ahead you can book them all at once from guest services in block four. The service in the bars was mostly good although if you don't tip Yan in the beach bar you may become invisible. Morfan and Antipanito were both excellent and very good at teaching me Spanish.

The entertainment team work hard throughout the day and know to leave you alone if you are just wanting a lazy day. The entertainment at night is very hit or miss, the lead female singer is very good but some of the shows are bad. I appreciate that they have to cater for all tastes but when people leave early this should be a indication that all is not well with that particular show.

The safe in the rooms will cost two dollars per day and you have to pay for internet access. The hotel has a few shops but if you want to buy anything i would encourage you to take a walk into the small built up area to the left of the hotel. It is only a couple of streets but at least your money would be going into the local economy and not to a big hotel chain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eoireitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for taking time to post a review about the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
On the one hand, we appreciate your positive lines referring the friendliness of our staff, the beauty of our premises, the variety of our gastronomy and the live music played by the Star Band. We have congratulated Morla, Amparito and Jazmine for delivering you the best service.
On the other hand, we extend our apologies for any and all inconveniences that you might have experienced during your stay. We welcome your feedback especially in those aspects we need to work on as the service at the Colonial Restaurant and the reservation of sunbeds at the beach. We have delivered these and all suggestions from your publication to our departmental heads so we can work together and offer the best experience to our valuable costumers.
We kindly invite you to visit us once again and to contact us before your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
9.8 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
35.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
35.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $181 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing