We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved It!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is a bit older but extremely well maintained and beautifully lanscaped.. Check-in was a breeze. Staff very helpful and polite. We were not happy with our room selection on the first day( too close to the pool, Too noisey for us), although the room was very nice, we requested something in a quieter location. Without hesitation our request was met and we were very satified. The beach is beautiful and very clean. No matter where you look someone is cleaning something. This is not a high end resort so dont expect champagne and caviar. What you do get is a nice selection of fresh foods at the buffets each day that should satisfy most people. We enjoyed the Japanese and Steakhouse restaurants. No top shelf liquor at the pool or beach bars but they do have it at the lobby bar, night club and the theater where nightly show are put on. I found the staff to be very polite and friendly. Yes the language barrier can be dificult at times but we always managed. If you go, there are 2 standout people you will come across. Nicholas, aka ESO S BlahBlahBlah!! ( you will soon know what I mean), and Super Lady Gaga, who happens to be a young man. These 2 gentlemen along with a cast of others help keep the party going from morning to night. Extremely relaxing week with no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Buildings 7 & 3 are close to the pool. Building 4 is closest to the beach with some rooms having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience in our hotel.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that the beauty of our premises, the excellent service of our friendly staff and the variety of our gastronomy ensured you a memorable stay. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service and to offer a varied gastronomy as well as to upkeep our grounds so our guests “enjoy being a Star”. We will congratulate Nicolas and Lady Gaga for helping us to make your holidays special.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,906
    1,923
    409
    142
    76
See reviews for
3,043
3,619
127
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I flew into LaRomano airport which was 20 minutes away. We were greeted with tropical drinks (which were so welcoming) while we checked in. Our room was in building 7 (beautiful building) which is directly in front of the pool, but since we were looking for a little bit more of quite time we asked to be relocated which Henry at the front desk did. Henry moved us into building 4 which is near the beach. Our room was beautiful and spotless. We were in room 4015 a junior suite. Our housekeeper was amazing leaving us beautiful flowers and towel creations every day, she knew we we here for our 25th wedding anniversary and made a wedding dress from a sheet decorated with little purple flowers. The food at the buffet was very good, every nite was a little different. The Geisha Restaurant was very good as well as the Steakhouse. I love coffee so I have to tell you the coffee was awesome. From capachino, espresso to cafe con letche.
The beach was beautiful and clean. There are plenty of thatched umbrellas and chairs. The pool was also refreshing. The staff are amazing; polite, helpful and humorous. Nicholas S.O.S blah, blah, blah was my favorite staff member. Nicholas would sit with us and explain many things as well as crack us up. There is a few shopping huts right next to the beach as soon as you start to venture in that direction watch out, cause you will be asked to go into their shop and no one else's. also on Saturday night some local vendors came into the hotel lobby to sell stuff. Very nice but beware I was looking at a necklace and was told the price was $140 US dollars I handed it back to the guy, he asked how much I was willing to pay I told him $20 we went back and fourth I paid $30 which it was def. worth. I asked Edward one of the guys working there and he said when they says price go to 10% of that so they know your no fool.
We would def. come back here no doubt about it.

Room Tip: All the buildings are close to everything. Building 3 & 7 are very close to the pool with childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as the destination for your vacations and also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we would like to express how glad we are to read that you had a beautiful experience whilst your stay. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved “Stars” in vacation. We will congratulate Henry at the Front Desk and Lady Gaga for their contribution to your happiness.
We are already willing to welcome you back again, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just got back from IHD. There was our 2nd visit.
Huge thanks to reception people and guest service staff.
Jonathan, Miguel, Andreas and Johnny ( please, forgive me if I spelled any name incorrectly )
Always helpful, friendly, polite and attentive.

Kids club is great! they have done some renovations and repairs so everything is safe and clean. Once again, Naty - is the main reason we will be back. My 3 y.o. son was absolutely in love with her. Even, now after we returned , he asked , when Naty comes to play with him.

Japanese restaurant made a huge improvement in compare to our last visit. Waiting time was pretty reasonable and food was ok.
Mexican went down the way big time! Horrible salad bar and we were waiting for the order about 2 hours. When it arrived , it was not hot enough.
Buffet is good. There is always something to eat for everyone and we never felt sick.
Beach is gorgeous! Clear, turquoise water, waves from very little to none. Room is big and nicely cleaned. We had just one day problem with made service. As a suggestion if you need your room to be cleaned by certain time, notify guest services to make sure housekeeping knows about your preference. Cleaning girls do no speak English AT ALL ! Be ready for that.
And, there is still NO CLOCK in the room :) Make sure you have either watch or you will need to use cell phone in order to know the time. I just wonder is it too expensive to put the clock or hang it on the wall in each room ?
Wi-Fi works in the room in building 7. Otherwise, you have to go to lobby with your lap-top or go to internet center and use their computers. Last time we stayed in building 3 ( which is definitely better location than building 7 ) and internet did not work. You have to make a choice between Wi-Fi in the room and preferred location.
Also, there is some construction here and there. You may be bothered with noise during the day. Take that into consideration if you or your child likes to nap after lunch in the room.
Overall, very nice place, strong 4* hotel, reasonably priced, great choice for families with small kids.

Room Tip: Building 3 is preferred location Close to everything. Building 7 has Wi-Fi working in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dearguest,
First at all we would like to thank you for your loyalty when choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family holidays and for taking the time to write your comments about your second experience.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you and your dear family had another wonderful stay at our premises. We appreciate your positive valuation about the quality and variety of food served in our buffets and snacks bars; and the excellent service provided by the staff members of hotel, among them Johnny, Miguel, Jonathan and Andres, and the Star Friends, especially Naty. In Iberostar we are all committed to ensure our guests to “enjoy being a Star”.
I have shared your suggestion about the service provided by our staff and variety of the dishes served at La Hacienda restaurant with our Executive chef and our Maitre so they can work to improve our standards.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please contact us before your next visit.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. We had our wedding there and it was fantastic. We opted for the gazebo and was very pleased with all the effort of the staff to ensure we had a day to remember.The majority of the hotel staff are so friendly and helpful, with special mentions of: Robenson and Jhonny from reception and Lady Gaga, Nicholas SOS and Ronald from the entertainment team. The staff all work extremely hard to ensure the comfort of the guests. We travelled with 18 other friends and family and all of our group had a great time. The food was very good and there was always different choices in the buffet restaurant so you could always find something nice to eat. We tried all the a la carte restaurants and all were very good too. The beach was lovely and sandy but a little bit rocky as you walk in to the sea. The pool area is huge and we always managed to get sun lounges either by the pool or on the beach. The only slight negative is that there is no air conditioning in some of the restaurants and none in the bars so it can get a little hot but this is often the case in the caribbean due to the nature of the open plan buildings. This was only a small thing as everything else was amazing. The hotel grounds are so beautiful and the hotel staff are continuously working hard to maintain the gardens. I would definately recommend this hotel and we would definately return, maybe next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSteve103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest debsteve103,
We thank you for choosing our Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your wedding celebration and for posting your review in Tripadvisor about your experience among us. Once again congratulation for this special occasion and the whole team wishes you well.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we want to express you how honored we feel to read that the friendliness of our staff, our varied gastronomy and the beauty of our premises ensured you an unforgettable stay. In Iberostar we want our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during their holidays. We have congratulated Robenson, Johnny, Nicolas, Ronald and Lady Gaga for contributing to the achievement of our goal.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and celebrate together your first anniversary. Do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 14 days. What a wonderful hotel, the food was great especially in the colonial, Japanese, and Steak House restaurants. The staff was helpful in every area nothing was to much trouble for them. The evening entertainment was very good. The animation team was great especially Lady Gaga. My son who is 10 would like to feed the many ducks, flamingos and Birds in the morning in the pond that runs through the centre of the hotel. The room was lovely a comfortable big bed, mini bar, tv. Excellent large shower. Maid done a fantastic job every day and would leave beautiful towel sculptures in the room. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and their lovely staff. We went on the dolphin trip which was a once in a lifetime experience. The trips are rather expensive I thought so we only done the one. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, nearest town 20 mins away and taxis quite expensive. So the holiday was really hotel based. That aside We would love to return. Thank you Iberostar for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all we would like to thank you choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family holidays and for posting a review about your experience.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we are very pleased to read that you and your dear family enjoyed a wonderful holiday according to the lines in your review. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure an unforgettable experience to our beloved guests through the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy. We are glad to hear that we could accomplish our goal with you.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

after a traumatic journey of 36hrs thanks to Thomas Cook, who I would like to add could learn a lot from the iberostar staff regarding customer care, the staff at iberostar were amazing. chesk in and room keys were waiting for us on our arrival and check in was made easy thanks to Johnathan, along with a well needed drink. we had been upgraded to a gorgeous junior suite and the wedding co ordinator was on the phone 5 mins after arrival. we were taken direct to the buffet retaraunt to ensure they stayed open for us. and then shown to our rooms by the wonderfully helpful Manuel. cases were delivered promptly to our rooms .
food as normal was fantastic with a massive variety of choice & the fresh friut was delicious, we werre nornally looked after by Johnny and a lovely young girl who I think was called Reina ?, the same as last year always there to help.& service with a beautiful smile. (this is our 3rd visit to this hotel) buffet, steak house, japenese, mexican and colonial, ( colonial isnt my sort of food but service and presentation was exceptional). mini bar in room was stocked well and rooms cleaned to a high standard. the ground staff work so hard to keep this hotel immaculate cleaning the pool nightly and in the mornings, and constantly sweeping the grounds and maintaining the beautiful gardens. They always had a smile and a Ola when you saw them & this was the same for all the hotel staff, nothing was too much trouble.
after arriving a day and a half late we only had2 days until our marriage renewal date, we met with the wedding co ordinator, Evelyn, on the sunday who was amazing and she had everything all arranged taking all the stress of our journey away, we thank you evelyn so much for all your help and care dedication to your job it made our special day the most memorable. to anyone who is considering a marriage here, all i can say is dont think twice, do it.It was the most idyllic setting. we had the gazzebo in the lake and to see the effort that had gone into the decoration and flowers and the organisation that had gone into it was overwhelming. the service was conducted by the wonderful Manuell who made it so special and there were also other staff there watching it was lovely. the trio played music for the whole service and it was just magical.
thanks to the photo shop whos photographer made us relaxed and got some amazing photos of our special day.
special thanks to the Star Friends who daily took the time to say hi and involve you in activities, however id like to add that even if you didnt want to partake you never felt pressured and they truly made it a fun filled holiday and by the end felt like good friends, so a huge thanks to them all espeshially, Lady Gaga (Angel) you are the funniest man ive ever met and you areamazing at your job and obviously love your job. Nicholas SoS what a fun filled guy who entertainaied us with shooting and other things and always had a smile on his face. also big thanks to Alexandra, Wendy, Dimas, and Ronal, your truly are all stars.
Id also like to say Morla at the pool bar was so attentive and always ensured ya glass was never empty and all i can say is those strawberry milkshakes with rum, wow!. its hard to name everyone but, they are all truly fab.

some people moan on here about a bit of bird poo in the pool or a tile missing in the pool but please ingnore these comments think they need to open their eyes at how hard these guys work to ensure you have a great holiday and if there is a problem they will sort it immediately. I was getting bitten my mosquitos, and immediately our room was sprayed with repellant, and I was advised to use the reppelant called "off" no more mossy bites after that. we did 3 tours saona island, jungle eco tour and deep sea fishing all arranged by seavis in Bayahibe but i will review these separately. we also did the dolphin explorer and this was arranged by the hotel.
during the time we went which was sept 28th to oct 12th there was always plently of sunbeds so no need to get up at silly oclock to ensure you could have one therefore ensuring that you are always relaxed and rested.
many water sports are available free of charge we enjoyed the kayaking on a few days.
all I can say is we will be returning again to the Hacienda Dominicus as will my daughter and her boyfriend so they loved every min of this holiday. its like returning to visit family.
thank each and everone one of you for a fantastic wonderful holiday.
if you want to know anything please do not hesitate to ask.

Room Tip: id say blocks 4, 7 & 3 are the best as they are further from the entertainment theatre so a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanyaliepins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and marriage renewal. We thank you also for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.
We are much honored to acknowledge that you enjoyed your holiday with us and such as romantic occasion due to the excellent service provided by our staff at the different areas of our premises. Your excellent valuation about the attentiveness, friendliness and service of our staff will motivate us to continue ensuring our dear guests "enjoy being a Star" while on vacation. We have communicated to Jonathan, Manuel, Johnny, Reina, Morla, and the Star Friends: Lady Gaga, Nicolas, Alexandra, Wendy, Dimas y Ronald, and especially Evelyn your wedding coordinator who have contributed to make your holidays and marriage renewal an unforgettable experience, as it is our goal to Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel. We remain at your disposition for further assistance before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. I want to talk about the staff. Nickolas "SOS" was cheerful and welcoming and called us "his family". He led many fun activities. We won rifle shooting awards.
I especially want to talk about Tiago Bruno Estefanio. He was the kindest, most patient and caring person/instructor that I have ever met on a trip and I have traveled extensively. He is the diving instructor. My grandson and I loved the experience, but my grand-daughter was reluctant to try it. Tiago patiently, kindly, gently talked to her several times over a two day period. He genuinely cared and he was determined to keep encouraging her until she did try it. Finally, after two days, he did get her to do it. I am so grateful to him. His gentle coaching did the trick. His expertise was apparent from the first minute of his instruction. I trust him completely and I would love to go on a dive with him. Thanks to this wonderful experience with Tiago, I plan to get certified and hopefully go on a dive with him in the future. Marsha Tarih NY

Room Tip: We always greet the desk staff with a smile and a warm hello. We were given a great room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StarFeather2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you received an excellent service in all areas of our premises and especially by Tiago from Dressel Divers and Nicolas from our Star Friends. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved “stars”.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
35.8 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#11 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
35.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing