We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday in Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab holiday in Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for 14 days. What a wonderful hotel, the food was great especially in the colonial, Japanese, and Steak House restaurants. The staff was helpful in every area nothing was to much trouble for them. The evening entertainment was very good. The animation team was great especially Lady Gaga. My son who is 10 would like to feed the many ducks, flamingos and Birds in the morning in the pond that runs through the centre of the hotel. The room was lovely a comfortable big bed, mini bar, tv. Excellent large shower. Maid done a fantastic job every day and would leave beautiful towel sculptures in the room. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and their lovely staff. We went on the dolphin trip which was a once in a lifetime experience. The trips are rather expensive I thought so we only done the one. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, nearest town 20 mins away and taxis quite expensive. So the holiday was really hotel based. That aside We would love to return. Thank you Iberostar for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,
First at all we would like to thank you choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family holidays and for posting a review about your experience.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we are very pleased to read that you and your dear family enjoyed a wonderful holiday according to the lines in your review. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure an unforgettable experience to our beloved guests through the friendliness of our staff members and the variety of our gastronomy. We are glad to hear that we could accomplish our goal with you.
We kindly ask you to write us before your next visit; it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,215
    2,026
    438
    147
    80
See reviews for
3,265
3,778
131
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

after a traumatic journey of 36hrs thanks to Thomas Cook, who I would like to add could learn a lot from the iberostar staff regarding customer care, the staff at iberostar were amazing. chesk in and room keys were waiting for us on our arrival and check in was made easy thanks to Johnathan, along with a well needed drink. we had been upgraded to a gorgeous junior suite and the wedding co ordinator was on the phone 5 mins after arrival. we were taken direct to the buffet retaraunt to ensure they stayed open for us. and then shown to our rooms by the wonderfully helpful Manuel. cases were delivered promptly to our rooms .
food as normal was fantastic with a massive variety of choice & the fresh friut was delicious, we werre nornally looked after by Johnny and a lovely young girl who I think was called Reina ?, the same as last year always there to help.& service with a beautiful smile. (this is our 3rd visit to this hotel) buffet, steak house, japenese, mexican and colonial, ( colonial isnt my sort of food but service and presentation was exceptional). mini bar in room was stocked well and rooms cleaned to a high standard. the ground staff work so hard to keep this hotel immaculate cleaning the pool nightly and in the mornings, and constantly sweeping the grounds and maintaining the beautiful gardens. They always had a smile and a Ola when you saw them & this was the same for all the hotel staff, nothing was too much trouble.
after arriving a day and a half late we only had2 days until our marriage renewal date, we met with the wedding co ordinator, Evelyn, on the sunday who was amazing and she had everything all arranged taking all the stress of our journey away, we thank you evelyn so much for all your help and care dedication to your job it made our special day the most memorable. to anyone who is considering a marriage here, all i can say is dont think twice, do it.It was the most idyllic setting. we had the gazzebo in the lake and to see the effort that had gone into the decoration and flowers and the organisation that had gone into it was overwhelming. the service was conducted by the wonderful Manuell who made it so special and there were also other staff there watching it was lovely. the trio played music for the whole service and it was just magical.
thanks to the photo shop whos photographer made us relaxed and got some amazing photos of our special day.
special thanks to the Star Friends who daily took the time to say hi and involve you in activities, however id like to add that even if you didnt want to partake you never felt pressured and they truly made it a fun filled holiday and by the end felt like good friends, so a huge thanks to them all espeshially, Lady Gaga (Angel) you are the funniest man ive ever met and you areamazing at your job and obviously love your job. Nicholas SoS what a fun filled guy who entertainaied us with shooting and other things and always had a smile on his face. also big thanks to Alexandra, Wendy, Dimas, and Ronal, your truly are all stars.
Id also like to say Morla at the pool bar was so attentive and always ensured ya glass was never empty and all i can say is those strawberry milkshakes with rum, wow!. its hard to name everyone but, they are all truly fab.

some people moan on here about a bit of bird poo in the pool or a tile missing in the pool but please ingnore these comments think they need to open their eyes at how hard these guys work to ensure you have a great holiday and if there is a problem they will sort it immediately. I was getting bitten my mosquitos, and immediately our room was sprayed with repellant, and I was advised to use the reppelant called "off" no more mossy bites after that. we did 3 tours saona island, jungle eco tour and deep sea fishing all arranged by seavis in Bayahibe but i will review these separately. we also did the dolphin explorer and this was arranged by the hotel.
during the time we went which was sept 28th to oct 12th there was always plently of sunbeds so no need to get up at silly oclock to ensure you could have one therefore ensuring that you are always relaxed and rested.
many water sports are available free of charge we enjoyed the kayaking on a few days.
all I can say is we will be returning again to the Hacienda Dominicus as will my daughter and her boyfriend so they loved every min of this holiday. its like returning to visit family.
thank each and everone one of you for a fantastic wonderful holiday.
if you want to know anything please do not hesitate to ask.

Room Tip: id say blocks 4, 7 & 3 are the best as they are further from the entertainment theatre so a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanyaliepins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of the hotel manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and marriage renewal. We thank you also for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.
We are much honored to acknowledge that you enjoyed your holiday with us and such as romantic occasion due to the excellent service provided by our staff at the different areas of our premises. Your excellent valuation about the attentiveness, friendliness and service of our staff will motivate us to continue ensuring our dear guests "enjoy being a Star" while on vacation. We have communicated to Jonathan, Manuel, Johnny, Reina, Morla, and the Star Friends: Lady Gaga, Nicolas, Alexandra, Wendy, Dimas y Ronald, and especially Evelyn your wedding coordinator who have contributed to make your holidays and marriage renewal an unforgettable experience, as it is our goal to Iberostar Hotels & Resorts.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel. We remain at your disposition for further assistance before your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. I want to talk about the staff. Nickolas "SOS" was cheerful and welcoming and called us "his family". He led many fun activities. We won rifle shooting awards.
I especially want to talk about Tiago Bruno Estefanio. He was the kindest, most patient and caring person/instructor that I have ever met on a trip and I have traveled extensively. He is the diving instructor. My grandson and I loved the experience, but my grand-daughter was reluctant to try it. Tiago patiently, kindly, gently talked to her several times over a two day period. He genuinely cared and he was determined to keep encouraging her until she did try it. Finally, after two days, he did get her to do it. I am so grateful to him. His gentle coaching did the trick. His expertise was apparent from the first minute of his instruction. I trust him completely and I would love to go on a dive with him. Thanks to this wonderful experience with Tiago, I plan to get certified and hopefully go on a dive with him in the future. Marsha Tarih NY

Room Tip: We always greet the desk staff with a smile and a warm hello. We were given a great room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StarFeather2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience at our hotel.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you received an excellent service in all areas of our premises and especially by Tiago from Dressel Divers and Nicolas from our Star Friends. In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service to our beloved “stars”.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from iberostar and we had a great time...There were a few negatives but overall, it was a nice trip...the drive from santo domingo airport was an hour and a half, we got to see the city but it still took up a lot of time...but when we arrived, we forgot all about the long drive...The place was beautiful, they took our bags right away and gave us fruity drinks to cool us off and showed us to our room..we were in building 7 which was close to the pools and beach...the rooms were a good size and the bathroom was always tidy...housekeeping cleaned the room immaculately everyday...there were a few ants in our room and they had to spray it twice...but we dealt with it...also the ac made a loud noise in the night, which wasn't too pleasant..however, it worked in cooling the room just fine...take some kind of extension cord because the way the circuits were designed, it was hard to plug our things in..we were lucky to eat at all four restaurants...the steakhouse wasn't that great and the food portion was small, the Mexican had good food, the French was the fanciest and the food presentation was amazing, however we ordered the lobster and it was way overlooked, the Japanese restaurant was our favorite, the food was wonderful and they served the largest portion of food than the other restaurants...the buffet was pretty good too, they had a large selection of items...if ever you are hungry after 11pm, the mexican restaurant serves snacks late night until 6 am..the beach was so pretty but it had a lot of rocks so be careful not to cut your foot...the pools were nice and not too crowded...we never had trouble getting lounge chairs...there were flamingos and peacocks all over the resort which were nice to take pictures of...the shows were a bit cheesy but funny and the music was nice...lady gaga is unforgettable and made the shows entertaining...sometimes the disco was good and sometimes it was empty but if u go with a crowd, u can make it fun...the entertainment staff tried to make it as enjoyable as possible...there is a casino like 2 mins away and a club there too...the casino was ok but watch out cuz the dealers move way too fast and can gip you if you don't pay attention...just be careful once you leave the resort... You have to pay for wifi which sucks, but the prices weren't that bad...and u have to pay for the safe, but they were nice enough to throw it in for free...we did two excursions, zip-lining and a boat ride to saona island...zip-lining was so much fun, I would definitely recommend it but make sure u spray lots of bug spray...the saona island trip was nice too, u took a speedboat to a natural pool and saw starfishes and then you hung out on the island and had lunch and then a party boat back...we went for a bday but they were a bit unreliable when it came to the planning, we arranged for a cake, balloons and a bottle of champagne, we had to remind them about the cake, the balloons never came and they sent a cheaper bottle of champagne to the room instead of having it at the restaurant that we requested...they tried to make up for it though when they saw us upset...the guests were mostly older Europeans so it was rather quiet during the night because most people went to bed after the show...overall, it was an enjoyable trip...I don't know If I would return but we did have a great time and I'm sure you will too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meena923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for your time to write a review about your experience at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we would like to thank you for choosing our premises for your holiday vacations.
We are very pleased to know that you had enjoyed “a great trip” thanks to the friendliness and nice service provided by our staff members, our varied gastronomy and the beauty of our premises. In Iberostar we aim to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”. We will congratulate Lady Gaga for being part of your happiness during your visit.
On the other hand, we have taken good notes from your feedback regarding the service provided by our Guest Service team on the birthday celebration for which we extend our apologies.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again; please contact us before your arrival,
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in late September at Iberoster, Bayahibe, DR and everything was excellent. We were especially happy with the service. The staff there was wonderful. They did all they could to make our time there enjoyable. Many thanks to Jose (at the swim up bar), Nickolas "SOS" was a delight, Victor was excellent waiter for us at the Japenese restaurant, Jhonny was awesome at the Lighthouse bar....really everybody that worked at the resort was 1st Class. The food was very good & the drinks too. The weather was excelelent !! Still hot in late September ! The rooms were very clean, we had a great view of the pool. We would definately stay at a Iberstar resort again. It was a great experience. THANK YOU

Room Tip: Excellent Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
First at all, we thank you for taking time to write some comments about your experience at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel and for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we are thankful for your kind comments about the excellent service provided by our staff members. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure our beloved guests to “enjoy being a Star”. We will congratulate Jose, Johnny, Victor and Nicolas for contributing to make your holidays especial.
We are looking forward to welcome you. Please feel free to contact us before your visit.
With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Holiday between 11/09 to 25/09 this was our second time to the Hacienda first time 6 years ago glad to find the standard had not dropped.

Wonder full time. Staff very friendly couldn’t do enough for you with excellent services. Food excellent in the main restaurant great choice of food caters for all but even better in the specialist restaurants stake house give this try. Pool well looked after. Beach well kept. Plenty of sun beds in both locations. Bars excellent.

No longer a 2 hour transfer from the airport a new dual carriageway from Punta Cana transfer time 45 minutes.

Will go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LodgerReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for your loyalty when you chose once again Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your second stay among us.
We want to express you how glad we are to hear that our hotel services and facilities as well as our varied gastronomy and excellent service from our friendly staff ensured you another unforgettable experience as you experienced six years ago. In Iberostar we aim to make feel our guests as “Stars” during their holidays.
We will be honored to welcome you back, please find free to contact us in advanced.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Overall, this is a good, solid 4 star resort with a nice beach, great diving, good food, and beautiful grounds. We also had great weather for our visit in September of 2012. We were a little upset with the resort upon arrival, as we e-mailed ahead to request a room on a higher floor, but were given a ground floor room. We requested and were given a room on the 2nd floor, which makes me question why we weren't allocated that room in the first place. Besides this slight oversight, the staff were very good and always willing to help and no one requested any tips.

The rooms were comfortable, but are showing a little wear and tear. They definitely need an updating, with the biggest thing being the need for some new furniture. The bathroom was spotless, and the maids did a great job cleaning. I liked having the minibar stocked with sodas, water, and beer. A nice touch!

The food was generally good, but they seemed intent on overcooking all the fresh fish. It was very, very dry every single time. There was a good selection of food in the buffet, but the themed nights were very hit and miss. The restaurants were a mixed bag as well. The mexican was great, the steak house decent, but the Japanese was poor, and the gourmet restaurant pretty much inedible. I would avoid the gourmet as all the dishes were horrible.

The pool area was very comfortable, with a good number of sun loungers, and the beach was very well maintained and had a good, shallow swimming area. The swim up bar was great, and we especially liked the bar at the lighthouse on the beach. The constant techno music as part of the animation programme was annoying at times, but you could generally shut it out. There was a bit of sun lounger reserving, but it wasn't too bad.

All the bars were generally very good, although the lobby bar needs a bit of modernization. The lobby bar, being the main bar, feels a bit too much what it is: a bar in the lobby of the hotel. This made it feel a bit impersonal. We visited the disco once, and it was pretty much as we expected it... Cheesy! We spent the majority of our activity time scuba diving. The diving was very good, and Dressel Divers, the in resort dive shop, were very good. We did 11 dives, including the visit to Saona Island, the Divers Day, and the Mangrove Safari. I would recommend each one.

They may advertise this as a 5 star resort, but it is not. It is a solid 4 star, with some room for improvements needed. What was 5 star was how relaxing it was, especially since it was not very busy when we went. I would recommend this as a good option, especially now that it is only 50 minutes from Punta Cana with the new motorway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guests,
We want to thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as your holiday’s destination and also thank you for taking time to write some comments about your stay among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we want to express you how glad we are to read that you had a relaxing experience during your visit to our premises. In Iberostar we are committed to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests.
On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences related to your room preferences. Our Front Desk Manager is now aware of the uncomfortable situation and is working harder to prevent the reoccurrence. I have shared your suggestion with the correspondent departmental heads for which we are thankful.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please feel free to contact us before coming.
With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
9.8 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
35.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
35.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing