We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a view”
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the fisherman village Bayahibe you will find our ''Quebecois'' roots bistro. Located in a paradise seaside restaurant, our terrace faces the splendors of the caribbean sea and becomes a central meeting place for tourists, locals and workers of the tourism industry. We offer a dynamic atmosphere in all its simplicity and service is available to you in French, English, Italian & Spanish. We do have Wi-Fi and it is available to all our customers. From breakfasts to burgers or a several service bistronomy dinner, international flavors are combined with the freshest local produce and are available at all hours of the day. The house specialty is lionfish and is prepared in variety of ways for you to savour. Ask us how this fish ended up on our menu... A true story of love and hate! You want an incentive to get out of your hotel? We pay your taxi transport from nearby hotels with any bistronomy package reservation! Not to forget, Saona Cafe is also great for Happy Hours and our seaside bar area is often open late! Here you will find the most extensive cocktail list in the region! Our musical ambiance is stylish & fresh and we are always open to special requests. Our music lists (and videos too) are uncomparable... Try us!
Deinze, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place with a view”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Saona café is a nice place to take a stop.
The crew is friendly.
You should eat one of there hamburgers served with fresh made French fries if you are short in time. The other menu's are of a great quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    136
    33
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good chicken wings”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We went here for bar food. Burgers and chicken wings. Both were good but a little bit too much sauces provided. Located in the middle of all the action. Good atmosphere and set up.

Helpful?
Thank kapitan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lion fish is only thing special.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm not sure how this place got only $$, everything here was super expensive. The '3 course meal'-- which only included 2 courses for some reason, cost almost $50 USD, two small probably 4 oz fillets of lion fish cost $25. The place was very loud for a friday night, and it was too dark to see the ocean, so the scenery wasn't even worth it. Really not worth going out of your way for, probably good for some beers and dancing but definitely not for their food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvcamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We wanted to experience the Dominican Republic outside of our resort so we decided to venture to Bayahibe to get a feel for this fishing village. We speak very little Spanish and began to feel a little uncomfortable when we arrived. We had planned to spend the day at the beach, eat lunch, explore the town, and return to our resort in the afternoon. Feeling uneasy with the beach plan we decided to check out some diving excursions. The Saona Cafe was next door so after making dive plans we decided to have lunch. After being seated and ordering some drinks, we were approaced by the owner, Sebastian. He spoke perfect English and talked with us extensively answering many of our questions and made us feel very comfortable. We ordered lunch and were delighted. All 6 of us rated it the best meal of our 7 day stay. The lion fish was spectacular, as was the lobster and fist dishes. The beer is ice cold, and the cocktails were fantastic. The rum drink with muddled limes and simple syrup was the best-we returned two days later to imbibe again. A great experience that I would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonac, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We were looking for just a place to eat and found this awesome restaurant”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

When we first arrived in Bayahibe we walked around town to get a feel for where things were and maybe have a Presidente! When we got to the Saona Cafe there where a bunch of people at the bar and a few sitting for meals. It had this great vibe, people having fun and a great view of the harbor. We ended up having dinner here 2 nights and breakfast on our way out of town. Friendly service and did I mention the view?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing