We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best meal outside the resort in a while” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
1 Calle La Bahia, Bayahibe 12345, Dominican Republic
+1 809-833-0541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
winnipeg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best meal outside the resort in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

To start with great company the day we were there,good friends.
To start with the best Fries i have ever had on the Island 16 trips
mostly PC. The Fish, Chicken ect was beyond good next time will
try something Different so many options the Owners very friendly,
food could of come faster but well worth the wait.. If this was in
Punta Cana i would be there every day.. Great Food.. Cheers Tim
Also Compaired to PC ,prices very good.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IB_TIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Tim for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed the Saona cafe experience! We hope to see you again for your 17th trip in DR!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    101
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A STOP YOU MUST MAKE WHEN YOU GO TO BAYAHIBE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's the best "informal" restaurant in town with great employees and the owners are the perfect hosts. They make you feel your are friends not only a client. You can feel the warmth in their approach to the client and this is priceless...

Food is great - innovative and not expensive and with a lot of taste. Try the Lion Fish specialty -really good

One thing I liked is the diversity of wine - they let you taste before you buy if you are not sure but there is no way you will refuse the offer and continue.

Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Informal we are and that's the way we like it to be! Come as you are and as you like... T-shirt and shorts for a nice cold one or all dressed up for a wine & dine seaside lionfish experience! Thank you for your great review, makes us enjoy our continuous ways of serving clients!! Till next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had dinner here on a recommendation from one of the local tour guides and it was spectacular. I had a burger which I am always concerned about ordering here in the DR, but this was excellent. My wife had the chicken skewer and it was tasty as well. Both of my kids liked it as well. The service was good. The selection of food was good as well. The view of the bay is very nice to see while you are enjoying some great food. I would go back here to chow on some more delicious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Puts a smile on our faces everytime we receive great comments like these!! Thank you very much to have taken the time to do so! We are very glad you enjoyed your family meal with us. We do hope that you can come again and visit us! Regards to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to hang out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thanks to Sharkey's Dive shop, we found this great little café right across the street. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there over the course of a few days and felt like family when we left. The owners, the Kuehne's are a lovely couple from Canada and they not only offered some awesome food with a personal touch but a make you feel welcome and relaxed. Hat's off to them both for following there hearts and dreams to live in such an amazing place and offer such wonderful food to both locals and visitors from afar! I wish them much success and highly recommend this little spot to everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you David for your comment! Yes, we do breakfast, lunch and dinner... we even cater for excursions!! We aim to please!!! Wehope that you come and visit us again on your next scuba diving trip!! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really good freshly cooked food. Well worthy a visit. Free WiFi too. Situated in Bayhibe bay which is stunning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Yesss... FREE Wifi for all of Saona Café's clients! Be sure to ask for the password cuz it changes often!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing