We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Saona Cafe

Saona Cafe
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the fisherman village Bayahibe you will find our ''Quebecois'' roots bistro. Located in a paradise seaside restaurant, our terrace faces the splendors of the caribbean sea and becomes a central meeting place for tourists, locals and workers of the tourism industry. We offer a dynamic atmosphere in all its simplicity and service is available to you in French, English, Italian & Spanish. We do have Wi-Fi and it is available to all our customers. From breakfasts to burgers or a several service bistronomy dinner, international flavors are combined with the freshest local produce and are available at all hours of the day. The house specialty is lionfish and is prepared in variety of ways for you to savour. Ask us how this fish ended up on our menu... A true story of love and hate! You want an incentive to get out of your hotel? We pay your taxi transport from nearby hotels with any bistronomy package reservation! Not to forget, Saona Cafe is also great for Happy Hours and our seaside bar area is often open late! Here you will find the most extensive cocktail list in the region! Our musical ambiance is stylish & fresh and we are always open to special requests. Our music lists (and videos too) are uncomparable... Try us!
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I went to this place everyday fro a week. They have friendly service, great food, low prices, wifi and a view. You can't beat that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
That you for your review, always a pleasure to see the locals giving their approval of our little piece of paradise... Well, at least we think so!! Come back and see us soon! Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    136
    33
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BestCafeInBayahibe”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The best food & view in Bayahibe...The staff are fantastic and the atmosphere is fun...We would eat here 7 days a week if they were open every day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review!! It would in fact be a great idea to stay open 7 days a week but we do enjoy our Mondays off... Sort of a guilty pleasure!! Hope to see you amongst us again very soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool little beach cafe”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fun little cafe right on the beach. Price is right for everything, great music, only wish we would have made it for happy hour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nfeuerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
And we thought it was Happy Hour all the time here at Saona Café! ;-) We'll have to correct that!!! Thanks for the review, always appreciated! Come back see us again soon for a mojito by the beach!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
“I love this place!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I live in Bayahibe, and treat myself to a meal from Saona Café as much as possible! I absolutely love it, Not only does it do great food, the staff are very attentive and friendly, and Sebastian and MJ who run the place are such nice people!
They have just updated the menu so it is EVEN better now! But my firm favorite is the henhouse burger (fried chicken) and the fries are to die for, I am sure they use a secret ingredient to make them taste so good!
I took some friends who were visiting me from my native England and one of my friends said the Saona burger (hamburger) was the best burger he had ever had! (and people from England eat a lot of burgers!)
If you are visiting Bayahibe, Saona Café has got to be on your wish list - you wont regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseDLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks Louise for your great review, it's always nice to see that we also please the locals!! See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply superb!!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow, Saona Cafe! What a great find in Bayahibe, the little fisherman town at a walking distance from Dreams our hotel. Yes, we did take a stoll without any problems, safe and fun! When we got to the village, we stopped to get drinks & burgers at this small joint and we where greeted by the frendliest staff! My wife says the mojitos are fa-bu-lous and as for me, an ice cold Presidente was the way to go! You have to try the ''bacon-pear'' burger OMG! We met Mary the owner and recommeded that we come back for dinner to taste the lionfish platter. Lionfish??? What a treat!! We enjoyed it so much we headed back for lobster and filet mignon the next evening! Service was excellent & it's right on the beach. They are open late and it's a great place for cocktails! We hope to be back very soon... Brianda, Francy-Italia, Mary and chefs, all the best to you all and thanks for all the helpfull tips on making our trip all that much better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaonaCafe, Owner at Saona Cafe, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you Gerry for your great review!! It always us smile when we read about clients that have tried many different things from our menu. Indeed Lionfish is great and definitely our favorite thing on our menu!! Our doors (well... panels!!!) are always open to you!! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saona Cafe also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Saona Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing