We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saona Island trip with Seavis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SeavisTours

SeavisTours
Ranked #1 of 38 Tours in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeavisTours (Bayahibe, Dominican Republic) is a small independent tour operator and specializes in Eco Adventures: small groups, remote places, no crowds, no "booze cruises" and a lot of attention to nature.... The Parque Nacional del Este includes 3 Islands: Saona, Catalinita and Catalina. We have an Eco-Adventure to each of the three islands. All our tours are guided by a multi-lingual and knowledgeable guide. Quality and personal attention are guaranteed. Have a nice holiday!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Saona Island trip with Seavis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved our day with Seavis tours! Saona Island was truely beautiful and our tour guide was fantastic. We had Carlos. We also had the photographer take pictures for us. For $40 we got a CD with all of her shots (there were many) and I thought it was a great deal and great pictures! Loved it! I saw an octopus while snorkeling in the bay off of the island. Highlight of my trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,987
    261
    51
    25
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed this excursion! Our guide, Kirsten, was friendly and knowledgeable. The boat ride to Isla Saona was lovely. There was decent snorkeling just off the beach, Kirsten was quite thorough in explaining the basics of snorkeling to those that had never tried it before. Lunch was delicious! I would have gladly spent all day floating in the 'natural pool'. I did not want to leave this beautiful place! I highly recommend this tour for a low key, relaxing tour in paradise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Speedboat Trip to Saona Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

There were sixteen of us in our group who took the Seavis excursion trip to Saona Island. Carlos, our tour guide was very knowlegeable and entertaining. We even had drinks, cake and pineapple chunks while standing in the natural swimming pool touching and looking at the starfish. Just before we ended the excursion, some of us had a chance to place a boa constrictor around our necks. This was our favourite experience during our cruise.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great excursion from a Carnival ship passenger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family & I (a group of 16 of us) went on an 8-day trip with Carnival Freedom just after Hurricane Isaac wreaked havoc on Dominican Republic during the last week of August. We visited 4 beautiful ports - Grand Turk, Dominican Republic, Curacao & Aruba. The common most favourite port of everyone in our group (from ages 10 to 65) was La Romana, Dominican Republic because of the Saona Island excursion we took with Seavis Tours. It was great! The tour was educational, FUN and exciting! Considering this poor country had just experienced the effects & destruction caused by the hurricane when we had our tour, everything went smoothly and we were well-looked after by the educated & friendly staff. Our tour operator, Carlos was amazing! He was polite, friendly, and his knowledge of everything about Saona is impressive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dire_Docks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“NOT A VIP ANYTHING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The tour sounds good at first but they jammed 32 of us on a boat with coolers, so you became tuna fish and can't sit comfortable. If your an American or Canadian then you sit at the back of the boat. The guide spent all her time speaking German or something and then gave the English readers digest version. The meal so so nothing great. There is only limited alcohol and water, which we ran out of before lunch. The group is split up of Europeans and English. The timetable is strict. The snorkel equipment is used yes the mouthpieces are USED and older, yuck. Nothing to use to clean them with since they sit inside a tupperware bin, double yuck. The Turtle portion was awesome got to hold a baby turtle but we were on timlens so not much time spent to ask questions. The landscape and ocean are beautiful. I did find better cruises with smaller groups that had more time and not rushed. Bayahibe is 40 mins from Punta Cana and there are lots of cruise companies that will do the same thing same price but not rushed and comfortable as friends used a different compnay and we exchanged notes. Not really worth the money, same old, see a school, see a town, see harrassing sales on the island. BETTER TO SHOP AROUND unless you are of European descent. Oh bring your OWN snorkel for hygenie reasons.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex4499, Owner at SeavisTours, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We value any review we get and we thank you for placing this one. We strive to improve our services continuously. The reviewer joined the tour just after tropical storm Isaac had passed. We had been closed for 5 days and needed to shift clients, who booked on those days, to the available tours. This lead to full boats (btw. our boats take max. 30 persons, we'll never will book more..). Furthermore our whole team had been working throughout the night to clean up and to repair the damages due to the storm (we did lose our restaurant on Catuano Beach) and that might have caused a hick up in our normal services... Our excuses...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeavisTours also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to SeavisTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing