We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be spoiled”

Diving Dominican Republic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Family run PADI certified dive boat operation in Bayahibe, on the Caribbean coast of Dominican Republic, specializing in private scuba diving, scuba lessons and trips. The schedule is done completely by the clients (weather / sea conditions apply). For about the same price you can enjoy scuba diving and trips only with your family or group of friends. You’ll choose the dive sites, make your own schedule, nobody will rush anywhere. We do not limit the dive times, the only limitation is the air, bottom time and the weather / the sea conditions.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My husband and I could not have been more happy with our decision to book four days of diving with Diving DR. The dive shop was located just a 5 minute walk down the beach from our resort (Dreams La Romana). The owners, Denise & Vlad, are so nice & fun to talk with. We had a great time spending several hours one day at the Cuban restaurant next door just chatting with them! Vlad is such a joker and Denise knows how to put him right in his place! ;) You must eat at least once at the Cuban restaurant, it is so good (order the Ropa Vieja!)

Inside the shop they have a great painted mural on the wall pointing out all the dive sites along with beautiful photos taken by Vlad to get you excited for diving. Vlad had been suffering from some sinus problems and a cold so unfortunately we didn't get the chance to dive with him. However, Bruno, our Brazilian divemaster was excellent. I'm not exaggerating when I say he is one of the best we have ever been diving with! Despite the conditions being very good and pretty easy, he was still very thorough in his dive briefings & safety oriented. We were fortunate enough to have the boat completely to ourselves ( I think the max people they take out is 5) for our four days and we were "the boss". Bruno was kind enough to switch out our tanks for us lazy divers and they rinsed our gear at their shop each day and stored it for us during our 4 days. Denise drove us and our gear back to our hotel so we didn't have to lug it back on our last dive day. Every step of the way, they take care of you.

The condition of the coral on almost all of our dives was in excellent shape. It was better than other Caribbean destinations we've been to that are more known for diving. Beautiful and plentiful sea fans among lots of other coral types, a good amount of fish life (mostly smaller fish life). We saw eels, huge puffers, stingrays, one very large eagle ray swimming away from us, a large nurse shark, sleeping octopus, two wrecks, a pair of pelagic fish and more. I was really pleasantly surprised by how good the diving was and very happy we took our dive gear.

Diving DR is especially worthwhile if you are a more experienced diver looking for a better experience than what you will have with "resort diving". The resort dive shop might be a little less expensive but you are NOT going to have the same experience as you would with these guys. They were worth every penny and I would absolutely consider coming back to the Dominican Republic just because of the service and experience we had with Diving DR. It will be hard to not expect that type of service when we travel to other destinations. Book with Diving DR, you won't be disappointed!

Thank lenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2010

Thank you for a great review!
It was a pleasure to have clients like you. Great divers, fun people to talk to and have a great lunch with. Hope to see you back soon
Thanks again for diving with us
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 44 reviews
"dive master"
in 46 reviews
"day trip"
in 21 reviews
"dominican republic"
in 35 reviews
"dive spots"
in 9 reviews
"personal service"
in 8 reviews
"punta cana"
in 18 reviews
"private service"
in 3 reviews
"bayahibe area"
in 10 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 3 reviews
"dive package"
in 7 reviews
"amazing week"
in 3 reviews
"the reefs"
in 11 reviews
"puffer fish"
in 5 reviews
"open water"
in 10 reviews
"boat driver"
in 4 reviews
"private dives"
in 3 reviews
Filter

229 - 233 of 264 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

Vlad & Denise are the best! We had a great time diving with them all week. We hated to leave them and come back to reality. They made us feel very welcome from Day 1. It was like having a private charter the whole week. They were friendly and were eager to show us the best dive spots.

The service and diving were the best and we would not consider diving with anyone else on the island! Rikki, the boat's captain was also great!

We will definitely recommend them to anyone traveling to the DR and can't wait to return to the island to visit them again!

1  Thank thejustices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

Thank you guys, it was fun to have you. Too bad the weather wasn't the greatest. Hopefully next time it will be better and we can also show you some nice places around Bayahibe.
Looking forward to see you back soon
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We just did 4 dives on May 22 and 23 with Vlad and Denise's dive operation in Bayahibe, Dominican Republic. We have been diving for the past 25 years and found diving with Vlad and Denise to be exemplary. It is refreshing to find people that love what they do! They strive to make you feel welcome and give you the best diving experience possible. The nearby 240 foot St. George would delight anyone with an interest in wreck diving. The school of 16 squid we saw would put a smile on any diver's face. Thanks again - it was great diving with you. Brad and Diane

Thank bgehrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2010

Brad, Diane,
It was a pleasure to meet you both, Vlad had lots of fun diving with you guys. You and people like you are the reason why we love what we do :)
Thank you and see you back next year
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My wife and I had a short 2 dive trip back in March of 2010 with Vladi and Denise. Amazing service. We were well cared for and taken to 2 very good sites for our dives. The 2nd was on the wreck Atlantic Princess.
Vladi is a great dive master and took good care of our friends who were snorklers and led us on a couple of great dives. We are relatively new divers and me being an "air sucker" ensured that both of us had great attention and enjoyable dives.

When we had finished the dives on very nice seas, we stopped at the little Cuban cafe next to the dive shop for some eats and drinks and wonderful conversation!! We are still talking about this brief encounter with 2 very wonderful people.

If you want personal attention for your diving experience, attention to safety, great equipment and the beginning of friendship, CHOOSE Sharky's!! We are already planning a repeat trip back to the DR and Bayahibe for early 2011.

Rick & Katie (see you on Facebook!!)

Thank SalmonFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Rick and Katie,
It was great meeting you, even for a very short time. I sure hope we will see you back soon and show you more dive sites we have around Bayahibe.
Thank you for diving with us
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

It's been a month since our trip to the D.R. and we are finally settling back into the mind-numbing weather of Ohio in March. How we miss the sun & fun of the DR.

I wanted to take a moment to thank Denise and Vladi at Diving Dominican Republic via this web site as this is how we located their business. We stayed at the Dreams Resort/La Romana - which is actually closer to Bayahibe (a 10 minute walk along the beach from the Resort) than the city of La Romana. Vladi took us out on his boat for a day of snorkeling and sightseeing and we had a wonderful time. He is knowledgeable about the area and history of the attractions. Denise made sure we had fresh snacks and Sharkey's rum! I could tell they both love their work and care deeply about the environment and aquatic wildlife. On a separate day my brother spent the morning on a scuba trip with Diving DR; he is not scuba certified so his trip was more of a lesson trip towards earning his certification.

Vladi and Denise also introduced us to a fantastic little Cuban restaurant in Bayahibe - the food there was better than anything the Resort served! I strongly recommend anyone visiting the area check out this restaurant, unfortunately I don't know the name of the place, but it's next door to Diving DRs shop.

Thank you Denise & Vladi, we hope to visit again soon! Salud!!

Vicki & Tim

1  Thank VicTimOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2010

Vicki, Tim,
thank you for a great review.
That was probably the longest dinner we ever had, and we sure had lots of fun with you guys.
Thanks for choosing us for your snorkeling trip, we should do more next time or maybe you can try scuba diving too:).
Looking forward to see you back soon!
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diving Dominican Republic also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Diving Dominican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing