We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Diving Dominican Republic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Family ran PADI certified dive boat operation in Bayahibe, on the Caribbean coast of Dominican Republic, specializing in private scuba diving, scuba lessons and trips. The schedule is done completely by the clients (weather / sea conditions apply). For about the same price you can enjoy scuba diving and trips only with your family or group of friends. You’ll choose the dive sites, make your own schedule, nobody will rush anywhere. We do not limit the dive times, the only limitation is the air, bottom time and the weather / the sea conditions.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our diving experience exceeded our expectations. The personal experience that we recieved from booking our diving with Denise to our diving with Vlad and Carol. We not only had great dives with a great history of the area, we made new friends! Looking forward to our return in the Spring! David and Cheryl Nichols

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post the review. We are glad you had a great time bellow and above water. It was fun to have you not as clients but as friends, we really enjoyed the dinners and chats with you guys :)
Looking forward to see you in the spring!
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly dive staff”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We did a trip to the DR over Thanksgiving last year, so this review is a little late. We spent part of the trip in Punta Cana at the Hard Rock Resort and part of the trip at the Dreams Resort in La Romana. We dove only on the southern side of the island and we weren't disappointed. We choose this dive shop based on the positive reviews written on this website. We were not disappointed. Denise was very helpful ahead of time in securing all our arrangements and was just as gracious in person. Vlad did all of our dives with us and was a great divemaster. Their boat was being fixed while we were there so we had to use a rental boat and captain but Vlad made the best of the situation. It was often just my husband and I on these dive trips so the first class attention was fantastic. We even did one of our longest dives at 75 minutes (this was before we were Nitrox certified). This is a first class dive shop run by a very friendly and accommodating Canadian couple. Definitely choose them when coming to this area.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It's never too late to post a review :) Thank you for taking your time to do so. It was fun to have you, hope to see you back in the near future!
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from diving with DDR, all we can say is that it was perfect in every way! Thank you sooooooooo much for everything!!!!!!!

The team provide such a high level of personal service from start to finish .....starting with the email booking & fab communication from Denise 3 months before our holiday to meeting the team when we arrived to actually diving with David. We can fully understand why you need to book in advance with them as they provide such a unique service - no other dive centre on the island provides private scuba diving.

We chose Diving Dominican Republic as it stated it was PRIVATE & that's what was exactly delivered. A FIRST CLASS service was delivered by some very welcoming, honest & professional people who treat you as a member of their family not just as a paying customer. They are very knowledgeable of the area, soooooooooooooo flexible to taper our dives to OUR own requirements rather than to what suited them.

More importantly they NEVER forget your safety at any time. Our hoilday period included diving after the after- effects of Hurricaine Sandy so the normal crystal clear Carribean had become very cloudy & visibility at times was very very poor. When we spoke to Vladi & Denise after the storm had passed (just to note THEY called our hotel at their expense) they immediately stated if conditions were not ideal for diving & they would refund our money without any hesitation.

We were not pressurised to dive & at no time was there any risk to anyone.
Thank you sooooooooooooooo much David for your patience & taking the time to talk both of us through the "unusual" conditions - it wouldn’t have happened with a bigger company.

We had an perfect time from start to finish with all at DDR and would not have to think twice in recommending them. As stated in the title of our review, the best way to sum it up is PERFECT!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Di_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you sooooooo much for a great review!!! Too bad we had to cut the diving a day shorter because of the storm conditions, but we cannot do anything about The Mother Nature :)
Hope to see you back for more diving and hopefully the weather will better!
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trust the reviews - Do NOT wait until you get to DR to book!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you're going to the DR to hang out on the beach and MIGHT dive while you are there, I am sure the resort dive companies will be fine for you (maybe not as safe, definitely not as fun, but if diving is not your top priority, you probably don't care). If, however, you are planning a dive vacation to the La Romana / Bayahibe area so you can dive, but also want to have fun on days you're above water, you really need to find out when Denise can get you on their schedule and then plan your trip around your diving. There really is no one else to dive with out of Bayahibe. When you dive with Diving Dominican Republic, you are chartering your own private dive boat. No cramped dive boat, no novice diving morons ruining your pictures (well, unless there's another boat at your dive site), no time limits unless you have an ASP among your group. All the reviews are true. Vlad is an entertaining smart aleck, Denise not only took care of everything as far as scheduling our dive days was concerned, but hooked us up with a ride to Santo Domino that saved us hundreds. Carol was a consummate professional as dive master (the fact that she has a lovely Scottish accent and is easy on the eyes didn't hurt either, LMAO) - safe, knowledgeable, somewhat of a sissy as far as water temperature is concerned, but she shivered quietly, HAHA). Gato is not much of a conversationalist, but he put the boat precisely on the dive locations and was always close by when we surfaced.

Sharky's crew does not take walk in customers. If they're not coming or going from a dive, the shop is closed. We were very, VERY lucky to run into one of their neighbors in town who could call Denise and even MORE lucky that they had a last minute cancellation. We nearly got stuck diving with the resort company (which I'm sure would have been marginally acceptable, but in no way comparable to the five days of diving we did with DDR). Reserve early, pack your sense of humor, and be ready to have a FANTASTIC time. We will definitely be reserving Sharky before booking our next vacation to Bayahibe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyroknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you soooooooo much for a great review, I don't know what to say :)
It was fun to have you guys, hope to see you back soon for more diving and more fun!
Thanks again
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH WALES
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing diving with amazing people.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just one word would sum up our experience: AMAZING.

The reason we chose Diving Dominican Republic was purely down to all the help and advice Denise provided while we were planning our holiday. Not once did we feel pressured into choosing our dive package and if one option didn’t work for us Denise always came back with other options which would provide us with the best experience. As always, we had a lot of questions and they were always answered and answered promptly which resulted in my husband and I doing our Advanced open water as part of a 9 dive package and it was amazing.

From the time you arrive your made to feel welcome it’s like visiting friends. Denise and Vlad just make you smile from the start and you can’t stop smiling all the time that you spend with them and the crew. We did 7 of our dives including our advance course and our day trip with David, but due to him going home to see his mum we had our final 2 dives with Carol. Both were very knowledgeable about the area, both above and below the water. We also had the pleasure of diving with Nick who was doing his training to become an instructor. All 3 were fun and we enjoyed our time spent with each of them and it’s very clear that even though they have fun with you they never forget your safety at any time. It's like diving with old friends.

It was really nice to dive just as the 2 of us and have all our dives tailored to our needs without having all the others diving with you in a large group, it meant that David and Carol were only ever concentrating on us which made our dives so much more pleasurable. Before each dive our briefings where detailed, from the dive site to the fish and corals that we could expect to see. Our day trip was a great day with a fabulous lunch provided which was eaten when we stopped at the shallow sandy bay where you saw the huge starfish. It was such a beautiful place to stop for lunch.

Our 15 year old daughter is a non-diver due to a bad experience, but David took time to talk to her about it and shared his own experiences with her which resulted in her doing a small dive with him. It was amazing to see her back under the water and a little of her confidence in diving returning. He didn’t have to do this and it wouldn’t have happened with a bigger company. So we must say a really big thank you to David for this.

We had an amazing experience from start to finish with all at Diving Dominican Republic and would highly recommend them for anyone wanting to dive here even if you have non-divers in your party. The best way to sum it up is amazing diving with amazing people.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirlSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for an Amazing review. It was fun to have your family with us, good to hear you had a great diving vacation and even that your daughter liked it. Congratulations to your Advance diver certification and hope to see you back one day.
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diving Dominican Republic also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Diving Dominican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing