We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Diving Experience”

Diving Dominican Republic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Family run PADI certified dive boat operation in Bayahibe, on the Caribbean coast of Dominican Republic, specializing in private scuba diving, scuba lessons and trips. The schedule is done completely by the clients (weather / sea conditions apply). For about the same price you can enjoy scuba diving and trips only with your family or group of friends. You’ll choose the dive sites, make your own schedule, nobody will rush anywhere. We do not limit the dive times, the only limitation is the air, bottom time and the weather / the sea conditions.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My dad and I dived with Diving Dominican Republic in July, whilst staying at Dreams La Romana, for three days. It was a brilliant experience and really great fun. Our instructor, David, was fantastic – he was a great guide and very good at spotting interesting creatures. He looked after us very well, and always made sure we were safe and happy.
‘Sharky’ the boat was lovely – very clean, very comfortable, and very fast! On our last day the whole family went diving, and even with a total of six (including David and the Captain) in the boat it was spacious and easy to get our kit on. The Captain was very helpful when preparing to go into the water, always holding the BCD out so you could get it on easily, and doing all the lifting.
In the water, diving was great, and the amount of wildlife to see was surprising! There were fish everywhere, as well as rays, lobsters, eels and lots of coral. We had two dives a day. On the first day we did a reef dive and then went on to the wreck of the Atlantic Princess, a boat which was sunk only about 12m down – my first wreck, and also a good place to spot barracuda.
The second day we went diving on the St. George, a huge cargo ship which was a 30m dive (my deepest ever!). Wreck diving was great, and David always made sure that we were happy and comfortable before moving on. He pointed out the interesting wildlife populating the wreck, including a tiny juvenile black and white fish with long trailing fins swimming in the ship’s funnel. We then finished off with another reef dive.
The third day was a family day, and everyone did a bit of diving. My brother who was unable to dive due to ear problems, had his first proper dive with David’s guidance, and he was very patient in getting him down and making sure he was equalised and comfortable. My brother can now dive perfectly well and loved every moment, and was so happy that he could finally do it!
We also visited a shallow sandy bay, filled with huge starfish, where we had our lunch. It was a stunning place and it was lovely to snorkel and explore it. The whole area was picturesque, and it was good that it was timed so we would not arrive at the same time as the packed tourist boats. The meal that we had on the boat was brilliant, very well prepared and very tasty.
David is passionate about the wildlife, and was able to answer all our questions about the local sea creatures. Diving Dominican Republic certainly cares about the environment and wildlife.
The quality of the diving with Diving Domincan Republic was superb – you had to feel sorry for the divers all bunched up in a group, hardly able to swim without kicking someone with their fins, and with little direction over what they wanted to go and see. Group diving came nowhere near the experience of an individual dive trip – with Sharky, you hire the boat and the instructor and then dive with only your family and the guide, something you really can’t beat.
Denise and Vlad looked after us really well on the shore, organising and getting kit and air ready. We were “treated” to lots of Vlad’s jokes as well!  Briefings told us all about the dive spots, and they made sure we were aware of the dangers, but also what you could spot (I’m quite glad we didn’t meet any of the tiger sharks though!). This company really cares about their clients.
We had a fantastic experience with Diving Dominican Republic, and are looking forward to diving with them again sometime. Thank you to Denise, Vlad, the Captain and David for a brilliant time.

1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

WOW, thank you sooooooo much for this very detailed review. It was a great pleasure to have clients like you guys. I am really happy you had a great vacation and enjoyed the scuba diving in Bayahibe. We will be more then happy to see you back again diving with us in the future, hopefully it won't be too distant future :)
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

We don't really do excursions, but do enjoy a day trip on a boat to have a look at the local area.
Denise posts regularly on the TA forums offering wonderful advice for visitors which is how we found out about Sharkys.

We don't dive, we will do a little bit of snorkelling. So don't think that you need to be divers to make the most of the day out.

The day was planned exactly to what we were looking for, some quiet places away from the big organised trips and hords of people, a little snorkelling, a little bit of exploring on deserted beaches, of course we went to see the star fish.
Lunch and refreshments were provided and were greatly appreciated, Vlad knows the area well and can tell you lots of information, he is funny and entertaining and really makes the day more fun.

We were two families with kids, the kids had a ball too.

We stayed at Dreams La Romana, and would book DLR over DPC again just so that we could take a couple of days out with Sharky. It was great, one of the best ever.

Denise also writes regularly on Facebook for Diving Dominican Republic, she is really helpful with information of the local area and I would certainly recommend a like if you are visiting this lovely part of the Island.

2  Thank Duncan0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to post this great review.
I am glad you had a fun day, enjoyed the trip and also the area. Our clients do not have to be scuba divers to go for a trip with us :)
Our clients plan the day, we just suggest the areas to see, we are always trying to stay away from the crowded locations, so the whole experience is relaxed and fun. Dreams La Romana is a great resort and only 5 minute beach walk from Sharky's shop.
Looking forward to see you back one day!!!
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having dived from Sharky I can write first hand how relaxed but efficient Diving Dominican Republic is.
Denise at front of shop is brilliant and Vlad is unsurpassed with not just diving experience but with all aspects of diving, Snorkling, boat handling and Underwater Photography.
Nothing is a problem, they are more flexible to requests than water! A brilliantly run company and one to which I return to dive with next week on a two week holiday to Dreams La Romana with my wife.
Picture Postcard Photos and memories.
Sandy Bottoms!

Thank D1v3ma5t3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

WOW, what a review!!!
Thank you so much for taking your time to post it and really looking forward to see you again for more diving. Have a great flight and see you soon:)
Thanks again for booking with us Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I re-qualified and qualified for diving with Sharky's. We were a little nervous because we had not done any diving or spent any time in the water for a couple of decades. We had excellent instruction. We had an instructor each until we were qualified. We continued diving with one instructor and a boat and captain for just the two of us. It was an enjoyable two weeks. As beginning divers it was a great experience and at the end of the two weeks we felt very comfortable diving and being in the water. Vlad, David and Carol are all well-qualified and excellent instructors. Denise is very helpful with any other questions. This was a great way to get some experience diving.

2  Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to write the review. It was really great to have you guys and we are very happy you completed the course so well. We believe that the first scuba diving experience is the most important, so we make sure our students/ clients enjoy it as much as they can and became great divers. Hope to see you back for more diving soon:)
Thanks again for diving with us
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in Dreams La Romana and if you turn left along the beach you will come to Sharkys Dive shop alongside a Cuban restaurant that does a particularly fine lunch if you fancy a change from the AI food of the hotel – Anyway, let me first say that we are not Divers. We are a family of three and a family of four – four adults and kids who really are good swimmers.(you get life jackets anyway for snorkelling) We hired Sharky and his boat for the day requesting a nice day out visiting nice beaches and with some great snorkelling – we were not disappointed. A really nice packed lunch (with rice and chicken etc.) was provided and the Rum we had really hit the spot.(soft drinks and water for the kids) We were laughing all day and it really was great value. The snorkelling was superb and the fish were attracted to the left overs from lunch and virtually ate from our hands. We saw all sorts of things but the highlight was a Tiger Shark, brilliant.
Only disappointment was seeing some photos after we’d come home and someone was sitting in my seat on OUR boat - cheek!
I would recommend this day out to anyone even if you don’t dive – thanks to Denise and Vlad for a day to remember.

Thank Dixies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was fun to have your group on Sharky.
Of course we cannot guarantee seeing a shark every time, the only things we can guarantee are good food, drinks and lots of fun :)
Hope to see you back one day for more fun
Thanks again Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diving Dominican Republic also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Diving Dominican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing