We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to have the best diving experience on the island, then dive with Vladi and the gang aboard Sharky”

Diving Dominican Republic
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Family ran PADI certified dive boat operation in Bayahibe, on the Caribbean coast of Dominican Republic, specializing in private scuba diving, scuba lessons and trips. The schedule is done completely by the clients (weather / sea conditions apply). For about the same price you can enjoy scuba diving and trips only with your family or group of friends. You’ll choose the dive sites, make your own schedule, nobody will rush anywhere. We do not limit the dive times, the only limitation is the air, bottom time and the weather / the sea conditions.
Tiverton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“If you want to have the best diving experience on the island, then dive with Vladi and the gang aboard Sharky”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Book as early as possible. Dives are in small groups so the best dives can be attained. All levels catered for.Excellente

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TimSTiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for posting, it was pleasure to have you, hope to see you back :)
Thanks again for booking with us
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great people, great diving”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My daughters and I completed our advanced PADI certification earlier this month as well as fun diving around Bayahibe with Sharkie's crew. AS well as making teh dives and traiing fun they are obviously a professional organisation who take their diving seriously. Teh qualification was definitely not a tick box as I have experienced with some other schools; we all felt totally safe with Vlad and David whether we were down deep or inside a wreck. They were also very understanding of my daughter's 'Mal de Mer' (not that the sees were rough she unfortunately can feel sea sick in a bath tub) and her athritis and did what they could to help and make the experience the best it could be for her, their great sense of humour helps.

Vlad's wife Denise was also very helpful suggesting trips, shopping and providing local knowledge. She also helps run an animal sanctuary and is involved in charitable support for schools, so if you do decide to dive with DDR then any donations would be gratefully received pens pencils craft items etc etc.

If you are looking for a personal service focussed on you then I would thoroughly reccomend DDR/Sharky.

A happy customer who will definitely dive with DDR again if we go back to La Romana.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank npc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for a great review,
it was a pleasure to have you and your girls diving with us. We are trying to make our clients experience safe (number one) and fun (rule number two:) and we are glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes people go through some obstacles in their lives but with some fun they can get through a bit easier :) Keep diving safely and when you plan your next trip, you know where to find us

Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the dives”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Well run, professionally done, safety was not an issue when diving, very satisfied with the dives I did, thank you.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Glad to hear you had a good time diving with us, thanks for posting the review
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dive Time!”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Just spent 4 days diving with a group of friends in the watchcare of Vlad, David, and Denise, Vlad and David are the most safety conscious dive crew I've encountered. Our group included newly-certified divers, 50+ dives, 200 dives and 20+ year instructor. They took the time to observe our skill levels on the initial dives to make sure they took all of us on dives that would be enjoyable yet safe...BUT they also made sure we all had a good time. They entertained both on the surface and under water. They catered to our needs.

will I dive with 'em again...you bet!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 007Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for the review. It was great to meet all members of your group, it was fun under water and above as well.
Now we have 8 new friends :)
Thanks again for booking with us and see you back soon
Denise and the Sharky's Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, personal diving experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I spent a week diving with Superior Diving in Sosua (can check my review there), and then came to Bayahibe to do a few more dives and relax with my girlfriend. After flirting with Gri Gri Divers and Scuba Fun, we ended up going with DDR after they had a cancellation. The other shops have pretty clear weekly itineraries and not much room for improvisation. Plus, one of them kept trying to get us to by a trip to Catalina island which is a booze cruise mixed with a bunch of divers (that was going to cost $300 for 2 people).

To be clear, DDR is not cheap. The price of a two-tank dive is around $120 versus $90 for some of the other shops. What that $30 is buying you is an intimate dive experience (just you and your party) on a top-flight boat and the experience. Some of the other shops looked like cattle trailers with many people on them - whereas DDR it was just my girlfriend, myself and the divemaster. We paid a little extra to go to Penon on the first day (worth it) and then dived Aquarium. As far as sea life goes, these were my two favorite dives as we saw barracuda, a nurse shark (hiding under an overhand mostly out of sight), and lots of eels and coral fish.

The next day we dove the St. George wreck and then Parque. St. George was incredible. A massive wreck with lots of swim-throughs and places to explore. There were a LOT of people from other shops diving as it's the most popular dive in the area, but still worth it. Then we did Parque (skip this one if you can as there was little other than an eagle ray).

Denise, Vladi, and David were great hosts and were generally interested in our experience and our time there. They loaded/unloaded all the gear. While we only dove on two days I would have gone out with them again if we had the time. Great people, an awesome boat (Sharky), and personal service. Vladi and David double as a comic duo as well. Also, the Cuban restaurant next door is great (as many have mentioned), but a bit pricey. Two meals, two beers and two juices set us back $26 USD but a nice break from the all-inclusive fare. If we're back in Bayahibe, we'll definitely dive with DDR.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank MarvelleMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demi56, Manager at Diving Dominican Republic, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking your time and posting a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed the private diving with us. Unfortunately the Parque dive wasn't too great that day, normally you would see much more then you did. And also, you saw the best dive site first, so it's hard to compare anything after :)
Thanks again, and when you come to our area next time, you know where you find us. Just remember to book earlier
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diving Dominican Republic also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Diving Dominican Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing