We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in Many Ways”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lacking in Many Ways”
Reviewed August 15, 2006

This resort has poor front desk service. Some amenities just don't exist: The pool jacuzzi, one major bar, and the 24 hour "bar" is a corner of the pool bar open far enough to serve coffees and cordials--hidden location, as well. The quality of alcohol is poor and the selection is very limited at the 2 bars. One bar doesn't even open until 11 am. The bar people are so nice and we tipped them well.
Highly recommend joining Wydham By Request to get any extras you can squeeze reception for. They only gave us upgrade from "premium" garden view bungalow to oceanfront one.

Bungalow is charming, but room is not large enough for 2 adults/2 children to be comfortable--just 2 queen beds and tiny table/chair and small TV armoire with 6" drawers. Only place for suitcases was floor or on small shelf in closet. We travel light--only 4 backpacks and it was far too crowded. Bathroom was in poor condition--cracked, dirty tiles, yucky shower and floor. Manager aprroved moving us next day to some sort of "time share" type room--very spacious w/king bed and terrible sofa bed for kids. Nice bath and fridge (as promised in bungalow, but not there). Never once did we have more than 3 towels for 4 persons; frequently calling for towel/bed linen service. Finally got sofa bed sheets around 11 pm that night. We gave our maid $4 day and still had to call to get beer and water and towels.

Restaurant service started great--really nice people and so accomodating--we tipped them well at the buffet and they seemed very pleased. Third day, they stopped all water service--no ice, just self-serve dispenser you had to find in the dining room. Buffets were a cross between shark feeding frenzy and free-for-all. So many Europeans--mostly Italians, who just run into you and cut in front to get meat at the grill, or drinks. I finally had to tell some to get in line and pushed them away. It was not a pretty sight. The ala carte restaurants are quite good--La Roca Grill is great--best place to eat lunch, which we found out later. Reception does not explain much about the restaurants, except that you can't eat at some if your'e wearing a reghular wristband. We had the Wyndham By Request ones so we got some upgraded liquor sometimes and could eat at all restaurants. We weren't given those until the second day, but they were better to have. than regular.

They are supposed to give free internet use and that took more than an hour to settle. Guest services did good job getting reservations for 4 of 5 nights for us. The shows might have been good, but they were all in Itlalian until later in the week so didn't go back to check them out. The pools are small and most are not cleaned well. I would not recommend this resort, nor it's sister/connected property, the Palace, to any Americans. It's just not the standard of most all-inclusive resorts I've stayed in. The grounds were okay, well-maintained but not in the way of plantings, etc. The buildings varied from worn to fancy Italianate balconies (time shares?) Club Viva salespeople hound you constantly--kinda reminded me of the Krishnas at the airports...way back when...

The beach was nice, but not much clear area to swim in--nice snorkling reefs but they rope off section for boats to come and go for excursions. The little town of Bayahibe is cute and has better prices on souveniers, etc, but not a big deal. Unless you fly into La Romana airport, it is a long trip from either Punta Cana or Santo Domingo to get there. Not worth the drive.

I would rate both 2.5 stars out of 5.--maybe 3 for the Palace) Both were sadly lacking facilities and service. We complained at great length to Wyndham Hotels and they refunded one night of our stay. I guess it was better than nothing. I have no reason to go back there, even if they offered a free stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,444
    2,992
    1,128
    541
    436
See reviews for
1,858
3,453
220
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

I have just returned from Viva Dominicus Beach after two fantastic weeks holiday and all I can say is what is there to moan about!! Admitttedley the resort is predominately Italian holidaymakers, but why is that such a problem.
I travelled with my wife and two 16 year old girls, my daughter and her friend, who incidentley swooned over some the lads in the Animation team!!
The food is great, the entertainment is great and all the staff are cheerful,friendly and extremely hard working.
If you take the time to speak to them, they will bend over backwards to serve you.
What people should remember is that the Dominican Republic is a third world country and you are not visiting a 5 star resort as we all know it. This resort is listed as a 3 star, but I would say its more a 4.The rooms are basic, but very clean.I could personally not find the faults that other reviews have mentioned.
If you are prepared to join in, then you will have a great time as we did.
With regard to the language problem, I think we are the lazy ones by not learning to speak the language. Don't forget, Italians and Spanish and French, all learn English as a second language in school!!
If you do go to this resort, try some of the trips. We went on three:
Monster Truck Safari, Fun Boats and the catermeran trip to Saona Island and all were well worth the money.
Hey your on holiday! Enjoy after all its only what you make it.
If you want any more info, please feel free to e-mail me: kevin.hill437@virgin.net

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — just try it
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank burnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We went to the wyndham dominicus beach from July 3-10 and had a great time. We arranged ahead od time to be picked up at the airport and the driver was great telling us about the things around us even if his english was so so and our spanish was worse we got along fine. Upon arrival at the resort the staff was A+ friendly smiling and VERY helpful. Our room was Small but neat and clean all the time. We had a supply of water bottles and all we had to do was ask the housekeeper for more and we got it. The food was pretty good also. La Terreza which is the buffet had good food all the time with a great variety. They always had fresh bread at every meal. The American dishes needed a little help but they were fairly good. La Roca had great food and friendly staff we went there twice and each enjoyed our meals both times. The pizza wasnt exactly what we were used to but I think it was more like an Italian style than American, but it was good.
The beach was fantastic, clean with nice palm trees on one side and nice cabanas on the other. The water was crystal clear and warm with a nice reef to snorkel by. There were some women going topless but they werent brazenly flashing themselves about so it didnt bother us at all. The animation staff that was on the beach could get a bit pushy at times and one got mad we couldnt speak Italian or Spanish, but they are trying to do there job I guess.We didnt mind the shows they did at night but we didnt go in with great expectations so we couldnt really judge.
The dive staff was one of the best I've ever dealt with Very proffesional first class Extremely helpful with your equipment both on and off the boats and extremely friendly and fluent in many languages.
Overall I would highly recommend the resort and would return again if I had the chance.

Helpful?
17 Thank Seawolf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2006

Just came back from the viva wynd. beach 2 days ago and realize how I prefer traffic to get a pina colada at the bar over traffic in the dc area!!!
After reading the reviews I was nervous too! I am a diver and have traveled the caribbean a decent amount, including a trip to punta cana (for way more $$)....I must say that I was very happily surprised (when flying in, try to get the la romana airport, b/c santo domingo was a good 1hr 45 min drive, which we didn't realize:(
Check in- no problem, but wish we could've gotten a list of activities for the day/week. We hung by the beach til our room was ready and it was gorgeous!!!
The grounds- FULL of beatiful palms w/tons of chairs and the beautiful beach and sea were the cherry on top!!! (this is the reason we came, right?!)
The room- very nice, a/c was great, but a little on the humid side (then again, june in the d.r. is HOT!) Oh, and if you want a more quiet stay, stay on the 'palace' side!
The pools- great on the palace side; the main one was a bit cloudy, probably due to the amt of kids (but there are tons of pools to choose from on either side!).
The food- very good for the caribbean- you must make reservations for the various restaraunts the day before (pref. in the morning, but worth doing it!); the buffet was good (and I am a sorta picky eater!) w/lots of fresh fruit and lots of choices....(the pizzaria on the palace side is not 24 hours! :(
The people- super nice, and yes, while we were amongst the few americans, who cares?? better than obnoxious americans on their cell phones while driving and beeping their horns! (I speak pretty ok espanol, but it may be advisable to get a lil dictionary and have fun w/it, the locals like it too!)
The diving- can't say enough about the dive masters/ dives! Despite a small boat, the dives were great, and we saw lots of fish, rays, crabs, shrimp and of course, huge corals!
Overall- a great resort, definately would come back and please, folks, tip those whom you like- a few extra dollars makes all the difference in the world! :D So, go, relax and have fun!
(the 3/15 review is also worth the read!)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kag7324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2006

hotel; having stayed in a few places around the world the hotel was great, ok the room we got wasn't brilliant but who stays in their room that much, the hotel was georgeous the bars were good and not too congested at peak hours there isn't that pressure to tip neither

food; very impressed by this as there was great variety in terms of local cuisine, dont expect chips and burgers though, pizza served till 7 am

entertainment; the animation team are absolutely fabulous and the shows are not to be missed, the productions are very good and well worth watching, amongst the highlights of the stay, you can join in the entertainment during the day as well

nightlife; well not so good the nightclub was hot and the music played was mostly dominican music more hip hop r and b stuff would have been nice

other guests; yes, it felt like italy but they are a very sociable, nice and civilised people all gucci and d and g very glamourous, great fun

excursions; did the saona island trip, word of warning the speed boats are great fun but are hard on your back, if your not used to boats you may want to give this a miss

beach; good thing is you can have a quiet sunbathe by the sea further up the beach on a nice clean sunbed or you can sit by the pool and hear load music and feel the lively atmosphere, this is a world class beach possibly one of the best in the country white sands clear blue water impressive indeed, best thing is your not confined to your bit of the beach you can walk up past the iberostar the canoa hilton etc there are a few local markets in between, the beaches here are perhaps superior to the viva's but the other hotels did appear less lively and more tatty

overall; we were very very impressed with this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2006

Firstly the Animation team were far from weak!! ok their english was not that good but we always got a friendly hand shake, smile and greeting at least once a day.

I had an excellent holiday, and other guests must not of tried hard enough to get involved because we were there at the same time and got up to join in most things - and we had a good laugh doing so (especially the Lady Boys)!!

The food in the beach was good, both the main restuarnt and the grill served a good variety to all tastes internationally it was not greasy and always tasted fresh. so much so we didnt even bother to reserve the Palace eats.

Our room was fine we had constant hot water, electricity etc no view but hey, we were close to everything. i know some people had complaints about the maintaince going on (which i did to) but apart from that it was fine.

The shows on a night were entertaining and fun and there were some nights with themes bikini party etc the games during the day could be translated you just have to ask (hey if we all made assumptions on othere peoples nationality im sure overweight people would soon be offended) The guys there worked really hard and yea they liked the ladies but if you turn up with typical british ignorance then they arent going to socialise much with you. If you want to get up then get up dont wait to be asked.

|Apart from the block of maintanance the resort is big and beautiful, if you like snorkelling then see the Rep (if you can find him to Book the Shark Excursion) it was brilliant!!! the beach is picture perfect, the gardens are very well maintained and there are plentiful activities both day and night and still the quiet bits if you want to get away.

As for who would enjoy it hmmmmmm im 19, and the group i met were between 30 - 50 and we all had a ball

If you want a bar crawl go to Benidorm, if you want tranquility go to Alpujarras if you want sports head for a sporting cam if you want a mixture of good food good company and good facilities,varied resort based entertainment and youve got a little bit of a get up and go attitude go to Viva Dominicus Beach.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
1.5 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
9.3 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
0.3 mi away
El Eden Hotel
El Eden Hotel
#14 of 16 in Bayahibe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
2.2 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing