We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest great time I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheapest great time I've ever had”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just got back from a trip here with five friends, and had a fantastic time. Did we get sick of (not from) the middling food? Were the drinks watered down? Was our bungalow a bit close to the loud shows that would go well into the night? Yes. But hey, you can't expect five-star everything when you're paying next to nothing. If you want a good, cheap, relaxing trip, I'd recommend this place.

The highlights include:
The beach - a lot of shade for the sunburned, a lot of sunny sand for the suntanned. The water was nice, do your best to avoid the coral and rocks.
The pizzeria - great brick oven pizza at 3am.
The drinks - Unlimited? Yes please. I recommend getting two at a time, and sticking to the rum/whiskey and coke.
The room - pretty roomy bungalow (#1320) with great proximity to the bar, buffet, and pool. Yeah, some nights we heard the show going at midnight, but that's what happens when you're so close to everything.

The drawbacks:
If you're an American who only likes to be around other Americans, go somewhere else. The clientele was predominately Italian, with some French and South American sprinkled in there. Personally, I enjoyed the cultural mix - and don't mind cigarette smoke or topless sunbathers - but that might not be your cup of tea.

Before the trip I was apprehensive, but was impressed. It wasn't the Ritz, but it was certainly enjoyable. I saw a few Americans complaining to staff about this or that (and in one case, cussing staff out), but come on people, manage your expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 881MattJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,444
    2,992
    1,128
    541
    436
See reviews for
1,858
3,453
220
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our trip started with a few minor flubs, such as not knowing the airport is so far away from the resort. You have to drive through extreme poverty to get there. Our room was not correct so when we tried to fix it we had to wait and wait more. These people are nice but take their sweet time with everything. Customer service can be improved here, but overall they are very friendly. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. Our room was nothing luxurious but it had everything we needed and it was great for what we paid.

The main restaurant la Terraza was mediocre to pretty bad. Go there for breakfast and that's it.. Try the flan!! ( best thing there!) La Roca grill has a much better lunch buffet. There is a wonderful little pizza place near the Mexican restaurant. The guy at the pasta station there is amazing! Definitely pay the extra $20 for Atlantis. Well worth it. The Creme brûlée and the risotto were incredible.

Beaches were the real star of the show here, sparkling clean water and the sand was nice and soft. What I loved about this resort was, although the place seemed to have hundreds of guests the resort is quite massive. I was never in search of a beach or pool
chair, there were always plenty open.
The resort is populated mostly by Europeans which is fun if you speak French or Italian. The shows here are all in Italian or Spanish, but they were really entertaining regardless!

Overall, I truly loved this place and I cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazybeachbum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a great time at this hotel, I was sceptical due to the mixed reviews but we had a great time. We were in bungalow 1305 (gardenview) but had a view of the ocean from the front porch. The food was mediocre, but it is a third world country so what do you expect. Beaches were beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StepOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In the past I had rated this resort very, very good but, after my most recent attempt at staying there I have changed my view .......
After (7) hours flying, two flights and a two hour car ride in a bad storm, we arrived and were looking forward to a hot shower and dinner .... However, we were taken to the side and told that they overbooked and did not have our room (that we had prepaid two months in advance) available to us ... Yendry proceeded to tell us that they had caught there mistake two weeks prior ... Why didn't they call or e-mail us !?!?!?! ...... From here on out it was one lie after another ... The customer service at this resort was always a little lacking but, because I liked the physical property and the location I had over-looked their lack of customer service ... This most recent event brought their lack of professionalism and customer sevice to the forefront ........
Based on my most recent attempt at staying at Viva Wyndham Dominicus I would recommend staying somewhere else !! What was to be a vacation/holiday turned into a nightmare !!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdy2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabius, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a little nervous but we had an excellent time. They worked with my food allergies; several of the wait staff were excellent. The restaurants were excellent. We were able to extra water from the maid every day. The beach was clean. Water was clear very little seaweed. Only problem was we only speak English and most people spoke Spanish, French, Italian but that didn't bother us. The wait staff had buttons that said they spoke English so that was a great help.

Room Tip: The room was spacious, very clean, but the bed was a little hard. Had a safe in the room and refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveVacations252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort,beach,no entertainment for children 11-18years,food good,very nice trip with pirates ship to Saona island,Catalina,Monster Truck safari,I have been with my family there,but no more fly with Air France

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiri1Blahout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As the title says, my opinion on this resort is not excellent due to some flaws we encountered during our stay, but luckily they didn't turn our mood down, and the animation team is one of the things worth paying for in this resort.
Would probably come back.

ROOM
We booked for a standard room to find out the hotel was overbooked and thus lead us to an upgrade, we got a Bungalow instead (though after the holiday I saw that in the hotel website all rooms cost the same, so not such a big deal except for having a place where we could put towels and bathsuits to dry).
The room was big, with two queen-size beds, TV - the remote control is tied to the wall, though, and that is upsetting for not being able to change the channels in a comfortable position -, unfortunately no fridge. Bathroom ok, with shower area isolated from the rest of the room by a
small step so water does not flow through.
Cleaners came every day to tidy up and make the bed, but not to clean, though: we found a dead bee on the bathroom floor the second day and it stayed there until wednesday, together with hair and sand we brought from the beach. Quite a no-no for the management, I would expect them to pay the cleaners to at least do their jobs. I personally don't get mad for certain things (so I didn't complain to the reception for this), but it is a disadvantage when you compare the structure to others and think about coming back.
Another negative aspect is having had to ask for new soap and shampoo, usually when one starts using them the cleaners replace them with a second piece but in this place that doesn't happen. I understand the purpose: having free soap and shampoo people tend to bring them home causing an economical damage, but that doesn't allow the hotel to leave honest guests without this comfort (honestly, I don't ask for 10 extra boxes, just 1... A 100ml dose is not enough for 2 people in one week)
Overall opinion quite low.

COMMON AREAS (RECEPTION, MAIN POOL, PLACITA, BEACH)
Reception is big and comfortable, some of the sofa cushions would do with some dying or cleaning due to tree leaves and flowers on them, but being at the open air that is impossible to prevent.
In the All Inclusive there is the possibility to book 3 dinners in other restaurants than the usual one (La Terraza), and it has to be done through the Guest service. People there were very friendly to us, and we booked our dinners in no time (but had already decided where to go).
The Main Pool and Placita are the place of the evening and night entertainment, just before and after the animation show. These places are kept clean and tidy for what we saw having stayed at the beach all the time.
The beach is clean except for some unpolite guests who throw cigarette butts away without worrying to go to the nearest bin (they are everywhere, honestly!). The lay-down chairs would need a refurbishment, especially the ones nearest to where the animation team works (one sits down and gets swollen by the loosy textile.
There is also a gym and a sauna which can be used by guests at NO additional cost, though especially the sauna is quite unreliable: the panel says it opens at 5pm, but if you get there at that time you will meet gym/spa staff telling you they just switched on the heating, and that means having to wait an extra hour for the room to be ready and for you to enjoy your sauna. Can be improved.

RESTAURANTS
The main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner is La Terraza. Very good food, variety of the menù and courtesy of the staff. We also had lunch at La Roca, much less crowded and with a better chance of sea view (La Roca has also the possibility to eat grilled meat and fish cooked at the moment, which is a tasty alternative to stews and salads - no complaints about the food here but it's nice to have an extra option). Here the meals are organized as a buffet, no table service for food or drinks.
The All Inclusive treatment works 24/7, for once a real all inclusive, with the pizza hut working all night long (and very good pizza!). There is also fruit on the beach twice a day, although you have to stay close to the where the animation works to get a piece of fruit: the beach is very
big and guests are many, so it ends soon.
There are many bars located in various positions along the beach, although only the central one opens at 8AM: the others open at 11 and that means no possibility of fruit juices or mixed drinks until then. You can serve yourself with water, but of course a piña colada is better :D!
All Inclusive also means 3 dinners at different restaurants than La Terraza, with a wide variety: La Roca (mediterranean food), Viva Mexico (mexican), 25 (fusion) - all for free with just the booking needed - and Il Patio (Italian food), Viva Café, Atlantis and another one I can't remember the name of, ranging from 10 to 20$/€ extra. These evening choices have à la carte menu and table service. In these occasions there is also the possibility to eat lobster, again for an extra payment (the price changes from one restaurant to another) with booking needed at least 24 hours in advance. This allows you to eat all you choose from the menu PLUS the lobster. The Guest Service was so kind to inform us that the cheapest place to get lobster there was the Atlantis, with "just" 15$ extra to be added on top of the 20$ of reservation, but we had decided to book the free restaurants anyway (by the way, the price for lobster at La Roca is 25$ extra).

SHOPS
Inside the resort there are many shops, ranging from the photo/video service - following you during the trips - to clothing, sunscreen or gifts and postcards.
Very comfortable, but quite expensive. Try going just outside the resort door instead: there is a Bazar where you will find all such articles at half price, and the courtesy of the staff remains pretty much the same.

RESORT STAFF
Courtesy is a privilege not all people are capable of giving, and Dominican people are in the minority here, always with a smile on their face when talking to you and greeting as you pass by (e.g. gardeners, maids, receptionists, etc).
Unfortunately bureaucracy doesn't make people seem so friendly after a while, due to the strictness of some of the resort rules. In our case, the problem was the All Inclusive bracelet one has to wear inside the resort: my partner has some skin allergies which make it impossible to wear rings/watches/necklaces/bracelets, so everytime we go on holiday we ask the staff to make an exception, write down the arrangement, and that's it. After a couple of days the staff gets to know the people who stay in the hotel so they stop asking for the bracelet.
In case of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, we had to spend 2 hours waiting at the reception the morning after our arrival to solve out this problem, because it seemed impossible to avoid the normal procedure (we unfortunately didn't have any certificates from a doctor saying my partner couldn't wear objects due to his allergies), and the hotel staff changed their mind three times: first it seemed ok to carry the bracelet on a belt or tied to our sea-bag, then that was unacceptable and the bracelet was to be worn, at least on an ankle, then again the ankle was not sufficient because some of the staff might not see the bracelet so it was compulsory to wear it on the wrist.
Luckily our tour operator, Condor viaggi, and its local representative Debora were much more understanding and made all the effort to talk with the resort staff and solve out the problem (not much luck but at the end we got around the procedure by keeping the bracelet tied around the wrist but large enough to be pulled away - which we obviously did right away).
A bit more of flexibility and seriousness from the hotel staff would have made all much easier, but thankfully our tour operator was there so a lot less stress for us.

ANIMATION TEAM
Here we come to the true value of this resort: the animation team.
Soft animation during the day (no one comes to pull you up from your chair just to get you to do the bachata class), the range of activities can entertain you for the whole week: the program of aquagym/zumba/bachata classes goes together with Bingo time and sports tournaments, but the real All Inclusive treatment of this resort is developed through the free sports classes: archery, sailing (on catamaran), windsurf, but also trapeze!
The best entertainment is at night, though, with circus shows and well-organized dances/comical sketches/musicals, plus themed parties after the show in the theater. Worth all the money spent to get there and the time to evaluate opinions on Tripadvisor.
Really, really, really capable staff. Animation still exists, somewhere in the world. Gratefult to have discovered it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asorairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
1.5 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
9.3 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
0.3 mi away
El Eden Hotel
El Eden Hotel
#14 of 16 in Bayahibe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
2.2 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing