We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“need to speak english” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bayahibe
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“need to speak english”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. Thats about the only good thing. The people do not speak enough english to get buy. They are rude and act as if we are doing them a favor by being there. Check in and check out was slow. The food is only fair. We willnot go back, Mexico is much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

thanks for bringing to our attention you comments regarding your recent stay in our property, we want to apologize for any problem you may have experienced with the language barrier.
Know that we are already working with an English intensive program for each one of our staff, in order to avoid situation like this may happen again.

We hope that you could give us the chance to serve you once again, so you could appreciate that your comments were very helpful and taken seriously to improve our services.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    2,430
    947
    461
    370
See reviews for
1,421
2,761
176
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Overall this hotel is a great value for your money. The grounds are beautiful; the pool & beach areas are great. The location is also great because it is not as far from Santo Domingo as Bavaro or Punta Cana. My only concerns were regarding the room, the drinks, and the food. I say concerns because I really didn't have "complaints". For once, the standard rooms were... Just that. Nothing special. They didn't even have a mini refrigerator which was inconvenient when traveling with an infant that required refrigerated formula. The drinks were generic brands & all tasted watered down, but that is to be expected at an all inclusive resort for this price. Lastly, the food wasn't terrible but it also wasn't great. It was just average. However, overall, I would stay here again. The atmosphere was welcoming and the employees were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiorys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking your time to let us know your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel, it is good to know that you had a great time in our facilities and at same we would like to apologize for any concern you experienced with our service, especially with the food & beverage.
Each one of your constructive remarks have been seriously taken into account in order to get day by day our continuous improvement.

We hope to have the opportunity to receive you once again as our guest and offer you our best attentions.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall great weekend getaway, especially if you are 20-40 years old and like to party. The bathrooms were a 2 out of 5, which was troubling for me but the grounds, pools and beach were absolutely beautiful! I would definitely return and recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a an upgraded room or bungalow! There are only 1/4 of them available so try to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thanks for taking the time on posting your comments, which are important for us in order to improve all of our services. We are happy to know that our services and entertainment met all of your expectations and at same time we also want to apologize for not meeting at all your expectation with the room.
We want to let you know that your constructive remark have been seriously taken as a great opportunity to improve day by day our visitors experience.

We hope you could give us the chance to serve you again in the near future and offer you our best attentions, so you could appreciate that your comments were very helpful to our improvement.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We just got back from the Dominicus Beach Resortt. We stayed in one of the duplex bungalows close to the beach.
The room was nice had space for a refrigerator but they said thy had no more. You have to pay $2.00 per day for the safe. Probably a good investment. When you arrive at the resort you have to pass through a guarded gate. A good choice would to not wander too far from the resort. The
food was good different choices at the buffet each night. You could also make reservations at a couple of the restaurants for an additional $10.00 per person. They were also cleaning, sweeping,raking. They really keep the property very clean. The language barrier was a little hard, very few people spoke English. Bar service was kind of slow only two bartenders at a time at the bar. They really should have some kind of orientation to show you around, they did have someone who offered to take you around, but they were also trying to sell you a "timeshare" although they did not call it that. There should be more than one towel hut. Long walk to get towels if you were staying on the other side of the resort. Extremely large resort, we really did have a great time. Very relaxing, great place to hang a the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishamary_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thanks for bringing to our attention your comments and constructive remarks regarding your recent stay with us.
It is really a pleasure for us to know that you spent a great time in our facilities, we also want to let you know that the necessary measure have already been take in order to improve our service and offer to each one of our visitors the best of the experiences.

We hope that you give us the chance to serve you again in the near future and offer once again our best attentions.

Best regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I went to this all inclusive resort with two of my female friends and had a blast. Despite all of us being females there was always a sense of safety in this villa setting. The entertainment works really hard, they play just as hard, and their performances show great quality. The buffet was delicious and the rooms were never noisy. The beach parties were full of exciting people and friendly staff. The only downside of this place is that it is so far away from Santo Domingo that we almost got lost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebekah718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor

We are very happy to know that you and your friends spent a great time in our facilities. Also we are even happier to know that we managed to fulfill your expectations about our given services concerning to our villages, staff, food and the service in general.
In Viva we are eagerly expecting your return to once again give you our best attentions and services.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Dominicus Beach sisters with the Dominicus Palace, which gives you extra choices for places to eat for dinner. This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic so we did not know what to expect at all. The grounds of both places are beautiful and daily maintained. The food is so-so and if you're not picky you wont starve to death. The buffets get a little monotonous after the first two days. Pretty much the same thing morning, noon and night. Evening entertainment was provided in the theater each evening with a different show each night. A little lame after the first two nights. Amazing how the young staff can speak English, Spanish, Italian and more! Mostly Spanish spoken here, but you can usually find someone who speaks at least a little English. The beach was beautiful and you could walk for miles. All kinds of "sights" on the beach so prepare your little ones before you go!! Our room was a basic two double bed hotel room. Nothing special, not very clean, we had a garden view. It seemed to me that the only rooms that would have had an ocean view were the bungalows, which I plan on going back to try out. In the bungalows you walk right off of your patio and onto the beach. I felt the grounds were very safe and felt comfortable walking around late at night by myself. They have walking paths to all buildings and all restaurants and pools. We did not attempt to leave the resort other than one day on which we were bombarded by people trying to drag us to their stores. My son didn't feel comfortable so we went back inside the resort. The pool did not seem to be used at all during the day, actually I think it was not in working condition when we were there, but they had music and dancing in the evening before the main shows started around the pool area. Once the main show was over the entire resort was pretty quiet. There is no room service, but they did have a pizza place open where beer and pizza were served all night long. I do intend to go back just to stay in one of the bungalows!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow. It costs more but they are right on the ocean and not too far from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor,

Thanks for taking the time on posting your comments, which are very important for us in order to improve all of our services. We are happy to know that you spent a good vacation in our facilities and at same time we apologize for not meeting your expectation regarding the food service.

We hope you could give us in the near future another chance to show how important were your comments and so you could appreciate that it helped us a lot in our goal which is the total satisfaction of all our visitors.

Best Regards

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavaltrie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We did go there 10days in february 2012 and we enjoy every second of are trip.The room for the prce was perfect,the view from are room was great,the garden,the flowers,thye birds was beautiful.To go t th beach you can walk it s no to far,The staff recive ou with a big smile ll te time and you can see there happy to work there soverythingf was fine.

Room Tip: first floor just front of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank france c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Visitor

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your impressions regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, we are very glad to read your comments.
Here we are eagerly expecting your return once again to offer you our best attentions and services in our Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Best Regards


Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.9 mi away
Cadaques Bayahibe
Cadaques Bayahibe
#8 of 14 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
1.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
2.2 mi away
Dreams La Romana
Dreams La Romana
#2 of 14 in Bayahibe
4.5 of 5 stars 8,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing