We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovers Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband and I went down for my brother-inlaws wedding, it was unbelievable, we had the time of our lives, The resort was amazing, the food was spectacular, and the staff were some of the friendliest people we have ever met, we will definatley be returning

Belinda from Ontario Canada...

  • Liked — The large , clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Boe216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,417
    2,596
    913
    274
    155
See reviews for
3,606
4,567
118
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Had a long drive from Punta Cana airport but an interesting ride. The beach was just beautiful and no one bothered you, water was crystal clear and warm. Resort was very nice and service had it's ups and downs, but over all a great place.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel was more than I expected - the grounds were beautiful and well-kept, the help were all terrific, the selection and quality of food and restaurants was excellent. I would go back. EVERYthing was included - we just needed dollars for tips, and some money for souvenirs. We participated in water aerobics, dance classes on the beach, and even danced at the disco and played at the casino. Wish I had taken in the spa - next time!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank northwildwood-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I just returned yesterday from a 7 day stay at Dreams - La Romana. This was our second trip to this resort and fourth time in the Dominican. We traveled with Apple Vacations. We had a fabulous time both times that we have visited this resort. We stayed in a deluxe room in the Preferred Club area. We feel that the Preferred Club area is best for us as we do not travel with cell phones or laptops - therefore the free Internet access that the Preferred Club offers is well worth it to us. The Preferred Club guests also have their own designated beach area separated from the "main" beach area. It was nice and not crowded any of the days that we were there.

We arrrived on resort to a "Welcome Home" greeting and a cold towel and glass of champagne.

Preferred Club - check in was very smooth. Ada and Romy took good care of us. Both of us recognized us from the past year, which was impressive since we're really not at all "stand out" people. The Preferred Club lounge, as I said above, has 3 computers for free Internet use. The lounge also has drinks and appetizers available at all times. We are not heavy drinkers, but the liquor bottles that we saw in the lounge were name brand liquors (Absolut, Jack Daniels, Tanquerey, etc). They also have 2 lounge areas with couches and TV's with reading material and board games.

Room - VERY clean and nice decor. Had no problems with bugs or any other mechanical problems. AC worked nicely. Electrical outlets are just like US outlets. Room had iron/board and hair dryer. Room also had TV, DVD player, alarm with Ipod docking station, coffee pot, mini-fridge and electronic safe. We had maid service every day, along with turndown service for all nights as well. Mini-fridge was stocked any time it was needed. We didn't drink alot of what was in there, but what we did, it was always stocked back to full the next day. We left the maid a tip every day and got little treats (roses in the bathroom, artsy folded blankets, etc). We also enjoyed a complimentary bottle of champagne on our last night.

Beach - very well-kept and excellent views. Ocean is beautiful!! They discourage the "reserving" of lounge chairs, but everyone does it. On the side that we were on, there were lounge chairs every day that weren't used. We laid under a palapa every single day, almost all day each day - and saw several empty lounge chairs each day. Not sure if it was the same on the "main" beach area or not. It is a smoking beach - so for us non-smokers, to smell the cigarette smoke was a little bit of a nuisance--but it passed quickly. We also know that it's a smoking beach, so we expect it. Not a big deal.

Food - we typically eat only lunch and dinner while we're there. We ate at the World Buffet and Seaside Grill each meal. We ate Seaside Grill every day for lunch and either the same for dinner or the World Buffet for dinner. We have been here before and know that we like the food at both places, so we stuck with what we knew we liked. We had the following dishes at Seaside and all were good: for dinner; Beef Ribeye, Skirt Steak with Garlic, Filet with Fried Onions - all served with vegetable tempura, bread, mashed potatoes. For lunch; Mexico Panini, Fried Fish Filet, Tuna Deli Sandwich, and cheeseburger - all served with french fries. For desserts; brownie ala mode, coffee flan, and mudpie. All very delicious and cooked properly. At the World Buffet - we visited on "Gala Night", Dominican Night, and Italian Night. They give you a squirt of hand sanitizer as you walk in the buffet area. All the nights we ate there, we found plenty of good food to choose from. We had THE most delicious grouper filet, sauteed in garlic butter, that we've ever eaten. The guy cooking them to order had it down perfectly! We made sure to give him a tip. =) All of the a la carte restaurants do not require reservations. They do have their busy times, so get there a little earlier and you'll be fine. Most open at 6:30 and I believe around 8 is their busy times. One of the a la cartes closes one night per week. Just read your Sun Dial newsletter (usually under your door) each morning to find out which one.

Drinks - we enjoyed the Roundevouz lounge by the Seaside Grill. I only tried a few drinks, since we aren't big drinkers. Santos at the bar made a very good "Banana Mama". I also had the Coco Loco, Dirty Banana, and Mai Tai. All had a decent amount of alcohol in them. They will ask you when you order if you want alcohol or not - they won't assume until they get to know you. By the end of the week, Santos knew what we were going to order and just started making them as he saw us walking up. And of course, we tried the excellent Dominican coffee!

Spa - we both enjoyed a "2 for $120" 50-minute relaxation massage. It was good - not the best we've had, but still good.

Transportation to and from Punta Cana - Apple Vacations provides round trip ground transfer to the resort from the Punta Cana airport. The drive is about an hour, or a little more - depending on your driver. The drive to the resort was ok. The drive back from the resort to the airport was a different story. My husband and I are not prone to motion sickness, but our taxi driver was driving so aggressively and so fast that both of us got sick. He was driving 120 km/h (75 miles per hour) on less than perfect, bumpy roads, stopping suddenly when he ran upon someone going the speed limit, swerving around passing people, etc. It was NOT pleasant, which led to a less than pleasant airplance ride. This would be our ONLY complaint and it's no fault of the resort. We've been to the Dominican before and have experienced the aggressive driving, but this was something more than what we've experienced in the past.

We did not use the pool, nor did we go on any excursions. We did make use of the snorkeling equipment from Gri Gri Divers at the edge of the resort. It's "free" to use - but you do pay a $20.00 cash deposit to get the equipment for 1-hour and you get that back when you return the epuipment. That policy was not in place last year, so they must have had some not bring the equipment back.

They do have local vendors allowed on the property two nights per week. They set up around the main pool. We bought a canvas painting from one of them. We purchased the rest of the items we bought at the resort gift shop. The vendors can get a little pushy, but that's their job and they're there to make money. A simple "no graciás" works just fine. Also, never settle on the first price they give you. I bought a painting that started out as $165.00 for $30.00. They had the same size painting at the resort gift shop, so I knew what they should be selling for.

We have loads of pictures that I will upload at another time. If you wish to email me with further questions, please feel free to do so.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank set76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I traveled with friends to Dreams La Romana early February 2010. It was about an hour and 45 minutes from Santo Domingo airport to the resort. Much closer is La Romana airport, but it apparently handles very limited flights. We were greated at Dreams by friendliness and sparkling wine and warm cookies. Check in was very easy.
We were very pleased with our room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, (a huge improvement over a previous trip to the Dominican). We were on the third (top) floor of the building and had a nice peekabo view of the pool and ocean. The bathroom was large, and very nice, good water pressure. Our maid service was okay, but not outstanding, a little hit and miss with restocking. Our friends, however, had impeccable service.
There is a very large main pool, a beautiful infinity pool with swim up bar, and a secluded pool for those paying an extra $300 for an upgrade. The pools were very nice, but as usual there weren't really enough lounge chairs. We opted to lounge on the lovely, soft white sand beach that had ample lounge chairs. Families beware that tops are optional. The water usually tended to be a little cloudy, but there are some reefs just off the beach that provided some nice snorkeling.
The small casino at the resort was not very impressive. The table dealers looked bored, and overall the workers there were not friendly. One of our friends felt certain they used a magnet on the roulette wheel.
None of us used the spa services, so I can't comment. The gym had a few cardio machines and some free weights. It was clean and functional.
The only excursion we took was to Catalina Island for snorkeling. None of us would recommend this one. They first took us on an amphibious vehicle into the Chavon River. It was okay, but very brief. We were then taken to a souvenir shop, and eventually onto Catalina Island, a brief trip in a speedboat. It was pretty, and the buffet was good. But the snorkeling was really no better than what we had right off the beach at Dreams.
Now the food and drinks. Sometimes bar service was a little slow, but overall pretty good. We found service on the beach to be good, especially if we tipped a couple of dollars.
The main buffet restaurant always had a huge selection. Mostly, we all found the food to be quite good, and nicely displayed. Reservations are not required at the ala carte restaurants. Their dress codes were not uniformly enforced. We ate at the seafood, Italian, French, Mexican, Asian, and Dominican restaurants. Hard to pick a favorite, but probably the Asian. The Dominican restaurant (Jungle) was very rustic, on the beach. It was more of an experience than a culinary delight. My husband had goat.
The entertainment staff was very active, but not too pushy if you just want to relax. The evening shows lacked artistic sets, but they have lots of talent.
Overall, we all very much enjoyed this resort and location, and are definitely planning a return trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luvcarib60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

Dreams, La Romana is a perfect getaway! The resort has everything, no need to leave! The highlight of this trip was the entertainment staff. They do a great job of offering activities and entertainment throughout the whole day. Other reviews lead me to believe that the casino and disco were cheesy, but they were great. The casino is small, but they have tables and slots. Our friends loved playing and most of them came out ahead! The disco is more like a dance club! They have a great set up w/ lots of places to sit indoors and out. It felt like a night out in Miami, Dominican style!

My brother got married here and there was a group of 40 of us. Having someone you know everywhere you go was a PLUS. Great way to travel. The wedding itself was a little unorganized, so I suggest if you are a Type A personality bride, do not get married here... if you are free spirited like our bride was, than this is your place!

The spa is wonderful. I had a signature treatment which was great. Wait to book until you arrive as they offer specials each day and you can get services at half price. Plan to spend and hour or so relaxing in their spa area afterward. There is a hot tub and small pool area outside with lots of plush foliage and fish ponds to enjoy. I do NOT recommend the manicures or pedicures. They are given in small footbaths, not large pedicure chairs and are too expensive for the value. Get your toes and nails done before you arrive.

The walls are paperthin here, so you will hear everything. Just bring some tylenol or advil PM and you'll sleep through it. Don't expect to sleep in as you will hear every person walk by or small child crying.

Room Service at this hotel is great. We ordered coffee for two every morning and enjoyed sipping it on the balcony while waking up.

I would definitely return here. It did take an hour and half to get here from the Punta Cana airport, but it was worth it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank In7105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Absolutly fantastic!

I would def return, everything there was perfect. We didn't have to book to eat in the restuarants, we didnt have to wear bands, the weather was so hot and didnt rain, the entertainment was brilliant.

I really can't fault it.

It was 98% full when we stayed there and we never qued for a thing and always got a sunbed.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#11 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#19 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,425 reviews
35.0 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,702 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing