We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation with wonderful friends and family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quispamsis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great vacation with wonderful friends and family”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

One week at Dreams LaRomana and enjoyed our stay. We had a wonderful time with friends and family. Pools were awesome, ocean was great. Cannot ask for better staff, Picasso on the beach with water aerobics and his high energy. French restaurant with Juan waiter was excellent. Wilkins Castillo in the Mexican restaurant was exceptional, returned for the second evening because of Wilkins and Emiliano who trained Wilkins. Not mentioning the food was superb. Then visit the lobby every evening following the night entertainment to visit Diomedy De Los Santo who is wonderful. We offered her to come to Canada. Cannot mention all the names of everyone who gave great service. to Jacqueline who cleaned our room daily and prepare towel designs and tied our curtains into butterfly, thank you, we love coming back to our room daily to see what she did for us. To the manager or person hiring at this resort, congrats on job well done. We travel every year and this staff stood out from some of our prior vacation locations. Last years we stayed 1week at Dreams Adventures in Mexico and I can rate that resort top notch, 5 all across, the reason we chose Dreams again this year. The only place that we cannot praise is the Asian restaurant, the staff did not make us feel welcome and was not friendly. Overall I would go back to this resort.

Room Tip: We were in building 2, close to infinity pool and ocean. Room were very quiet and sunrise in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMonty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so proud that you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us of your experience.,

We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at our wonderful resort, we are very honored that you have highlighted all of the staff members who helped make your stay even more enjoyable. and we will certainly pass on your great feedback.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,676
    2,667
    940
    277
    157
See reviews for
3,735
4,726
124
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,232)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
N Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Dreams La Romana

Spectacular! We have just returned from our most pleasurable all inclusive vacation ever.

Our accommodations were impeccable. The beds were soft and the linens were crisp. Our rooms were professionally cared for each day by a thorough and caring lady named Christina.

The beach and pool staff were energetic, fun loving and genuinely concerned about our crew having fun. From the charming young lady in the towel hut, to Picasso parading down the beach rounding up a class of students for his "aaaquaroeeebeeks", to Lookie ensuring we all learned how to meringue, a good time was had by all.

The Dreams Resort must be a good place to work for because in most occurrences the staff were always smiling, joking, and laughing with each other. The bar staff were typical of this. Manuel at the main pool bar, Christina at the reef, and Antonio at the swim up bar provided excellent service throughout the week. It did not seem to matter to them how many people were piled up at the bar, they worked steadily and efficiently providing libations to grateful tourists. Maria did an excellent job scampering drinks to us in our lawn chairs.

Eating in the ala carte restaurants was simple and painless. There was no need for reservations or booking ahead because the seating and multiple restaurant choices were plentiful. Our group of 16 was welcomed and served efficiently and professionally. Lisa or Lisii in the Italian and French restaurants provided perfect service and made excellent dinner recommendations. She is an exemplary hostess and Maître'd. We really enjoyed our service and the meals in the Japanese restaurant as well.

The buffet was impressive! The selection was varied and the quality of the food - excellent! We often mocked and joked through the week about critical comments posted on TA about the Continental Buffet. Continental implies that there are at least 7 continents therefore at least 7 luncheon choices! "...Ruined my whole week...."! That is much better than the "take it or leave it" choice provided in my kitchen!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Stew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to serve you during your vacation here at Dreams La Romana and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to tell us of your experience.

We are thrilled that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, and we thank you for all of your amazing feedback, we are happy you were satisfied with your allocated room and that our entertainment team helped make your stay even more enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from end of February to beginning of March. This was our 3rd time in Dominican Republic but the first time in Dreams La Romana. It did not get off to a good start as our room was not ready when we arrived at nearly 5pm even though check in is from 3pm and we had to wait almost an hour until it was available. This is not good after a long flight and an hour coach journey.
Our room was on the top floor of block 7. I had sent an email asking for a quiet room on a high floor and it was exactly what I wanted! Thank you to Louise Coley.
Our chambermaid, Mariana did a wonderful job and our room was kept beautifully clean. After I told the housekeeper that I would prefer to have our room done in the morning, so that I could have an afternoon nap if I needed to, Mariana came in at about 10am every day. She was still working quite late in the afternoons so they work really hard. The only day this did not happen was on Mariana's day off when I had to ask for our room to be done quite late in the afternoon.
The air con in our room was great. It was very easy to control and we could hardly hear it.
We arrived at Dreams on Friday 21st February and I was ill on Sunday night with a bad stomach upset... I spent the whole of Monday in our room! The Thomson rep. could not have been more helpful and arranged for the local pharmacy to deliver some medicines for me - they arrived after only 15 minutes. (The rep also obtained medicines for my husband who was ill 2 days later!!) Other than not feeling totally well for most of our 2 weeks holiday, the hotel was good. We did not eat many meals in the buffet as I do not think the food was kept hot enough on the counters. We only ate breakfast there and I had the same breakfast each day (a freshly cooked omelette as I did not trust the buffet). The coffee in the buffet was awful. The only place to get a good cup of coffee is in the Coffee shop. For lunch, I recommend the Seaside Grill as the food there is excellent and you can sit and look out over the sea. We went there most days for lunch and also 4 times in the evenings.(Waiter Jonathan was particularly good). We also really liked the Italian restaurant. Make sure you remember that men need to wear long trousers for the Italian and the French restaurants!!
The pool was beautiful and all the staff were brilliant. The bars were well run with a good selection of spirits including international brands but the beer is not good.
We did not see any of the evening entertainment so cannot comment on that but the daytime activities were varied and interesting. The entertainment staff worked very hard to get people involved in the activities (especially Lookey Lookey who made us feel very welcome).
We did archery most days and it was great fun although some of the entertainments staff did not seem to take archery seriously and allowed quite small children to take part who were only about 5 years old and were much smaller than the bow! (Most hotels have an age restriction on archery/shooting activities. Also they did not have any arm-guards which should be made available.)
In spite of being ill, we did enjoy our holiday but we will probably not go back to Dominican Republic. It is not the hotel's fault but Punta Cana airport, both on arrival and when leaving, was the worst we have ever encountered. Queues and Conga lines everywhere and no-one knew where they were supposed to be going!

Room Tip: Send an email to the hotel if you have any requests - they won't guarantee it but they will do t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retiredcouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

We are extremely thankful for the time you have taken to post a review of your experience and we thank you kindly for all of your feedback

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the stunning setting of our Seaside Grill restaurant, and it is an honor for us that you have mentioned the staff to be one of your highlights, we very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have been to Dreams La Romana 4 of the last 5 years and it is perfect every time. Although the infinity pool is TOO COLD everyday, everything else is great. Ask for Cynthia in the spa! Pablo Picasso made our trip great with his humor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treyphish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased your time here met with your expectations, and we are very thankful that you chose our resort to be your holiday destination and of course for the time you have taken to tell us about your experience here at Dreams La Romana

We thank you for your feedback, and we very much hope we have the opportunity to be your hosts once more, and of course we will send your kind comments to Picasso and Cynthia.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Went last year with my boyfriend and we paid for the upgrade to preffered. ( VIP). And it was woth it. Great food and they have a great staff. Service was great! To reach there was a bit of a challenge, because a long road they were fixing but it was worth it. They receive us with champagne and help us right away. Its a allinclusive but they have like 6 diffrent type of restaurants. Just great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie231757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Angie,

A big thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your much anticipated vacation and we are thankful for the time you have taken to post a review of your stay here with us

We are very grateful for all of your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the benefits of our wonderful preferred club

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

To start with some excellent things e.g. a letter under the door apologising for them cutting the grass the next morning. Stephenie the drinks waitress was absolutely superb, always smiling and checking whether you wanted another drink in the Preferred Club. I ended up there by accident as when I booked there was only one room available and I didn't realise it was in the upgraded part! However I am really glad I did as the beach is crowded, with loungers on top of each other on the beach, I wouldn't stay here on the "normal" basis - not a derogatory comment about the people there as I would normally be one of them! The rooms were very well maintained by the maid, whenever a towel was used after a shower then it was replaced either after breakfast or when the beds were turned down. Beni a drinks waiter in the World buffet cafe was probably the best we had, you get moved around so you ended up having a different waiter most times. With lots of other restaurants to eat in during the evening it is perhaps a bit pedantic to say that there wasn't much choice in the buffet food but that is where we prefer to eat. Chilli nearly every night, pizza and noodles every night, quite disappointing although the breakfasts were good and up to the normal Dom Rep standard although there weren't any milk shakes. The entertainment team were better in the evening shows than I have seen elsewhere. On balance I enjoyed the 2 week holiday but I wouldn't go back again as the thing I really enjoy on Dom Rep holidays is a good long walk along the beach which you can do elsewhere, I guess that it only takes about 10 minutes here. I also enjoy sitting on the beach so that I can go for a quick dip, go sailing etc but by staying at the preferred club you are out of the way which has the benefit of being quieter and having more room but away from the sandy beach. We didn't know of any "upset stomachs" and there weren't any insects apart from a 3 foot snake that I spotted near the pool - I know a snake isn't an insect but you know what I mean!
A final comment, could some people from a certain nation not talk loudly when standing next to each other so that everyone hears their business and whilst at it could they not smoke cigars and stink the place out!

Room Tip: Block 7 in th preferred club on the ground floor that overlooks the sea and the pool were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time out to post a review of your experience here at Dreams La Romana, it was our pleasure to be your hosts.

We thank you very much for all of your feedback, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we always take on board all comments left to us by our much valued guests as this is an excellent way of moving forward in the future

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent 10 days at La Romana and we find that rare are the hotels that compares to this one. it is a great place for family, the kids really enjoyed it.
If you go for the Lobster dinner make sure the lobsters are well grilled

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGenuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay here at Dreams La Romana and we thank you for the time you have taken to write your 5 star review about your stay with us.

We are very grateful for your comments, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back again in the future.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#14 of 111 in Punta Cana
10,966 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
23.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing