We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband, two kids (8 & 12) and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Dreams La Romana. We stayed in the non-preferred section, in Building 3. There were mostly Canadians and Europeans at the resort, lots of families and multi-generation families.

Pros:
- The entertainment team made our stay so much fun, they were full of energy and put on great shows and activities
- The staff – everyone was very friendly and helpful
- Lots of activities – aerobics on the beach, aerobics in the ocean, games (Olympic events, paella cooking contest, super bingo, archery, etc…) and when you participate, you earn “Dreams dollars” that you can use at auctions in the evenings to get t-shirts, hats, rum or coffee
- good layout – 8 buildings run perpendicular to the beach and the size is perfect so you don’t have to walk too far for anything
- a la carte restaurants do not need reservations and since we have kids, we usually eat around 6:30/7pm so there was never any line ups for us. We would walk around, read the menus outside of the restaurants and if something catches our eye, we just walk in
- overall the food ranged from average to good, enjoyed the Dominican restaurant “Jungle” the most (outdoor set up on the beach), as well as Dominican night at the buffet
- coffee shop just off the main lobby is wonderful – good coffee, cappuccino, espresso, hot chocolate, ice coffees, sandwiches and pastries/dessert, all included
- beautiful grounds – lots of people working to keep it clean and neat
- the beach, albeit a little small, hardly had any waves and was gently sloped, so it was perfect for our kids… they could snorkel or got out quite far without any worries of large waves or undertows. The water was very warm.
- only a 5 minutes walk down the beach to Seavis Tours in Bayahibe where we joined a Saona Crusoe VIP Tour
- our room was basic (which was fine since we were only there for sleeping) but clean, we were in Building 3 which is close to the buffet and one of the pools. We were on the third floor and it was nice because the ceiling was very high with a ceiling fan which made the room feel bigger.

Cons:
- not sure why but our sheets felt quite damp, even with the air conditioning going at full blast
- husband and I both had stomach problems on Day 4 but our kids were fine (I don’t drink at all so can’t blame too much alcohol!)
- very aggressive sales reps that hunts you down to get you to go to their sales presentation
- not enough loungers by the pool so had to wake up at 7am to get a spot (the beach had more loungers but all taken by 9am)
- rooms were not very sound proof, can hear everything in the hallway and the people next to us. There was no sleeping-in!
- had to pay to use WiFi (may not be a con as we went without electronics for a week which was great!). They were installing wifi hardware in the rooms the day before we left so I think free wifi is coming very soon

If we were to go again:
- We would bring more snacks like chips, chocolate and candy… very expensive in the gift shop

Things I am glad we brought:
- bug spray (we all got a few mosquito bites even with the spray)
- lots of sunscreen (very expensive at the gift shop)
- a club size bottle of Pepto and packets of electrolyte powder
- an inflatable floatie for the kids (expensive at gift shop)
- water shoes (for excursions)

Overall, we had a wonderful time. The resort was beautiful, great staff and it was nice to get away from the cold winter.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a high, slant ceiling which makes the room feel bigger
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Jade,

Thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation, and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to share your experience.

We are very pleased that your time here at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, and we thank you for your kind comments regarding our entertainment team and our staff here, we always take on board comments left to us by our much valued guests, both positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,126)
There are newer reviews for Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,337 - 4,343 of 11,126 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was mine and my husband's honeymoon vacation and we loved every bit of it! The resort was beautiful and the staff accommodated to all of our needs and went above and beyond!! Our room was cleaned every day by our lovely Maid Clara- she was so sweet and always was there to check with us if we needed anything. She also decorated our room with flowers, made sure our mini fridge was stocked, left us lil chocolates, etc. The beach, entertainment, pools, bars, and restaurants were all amazing! The staff at the restaurants were always so friendly also and they always acknowledged that it was our honeymoon which made us feel special :) Now- the food- OMG delicious!! We tried the Asian Restaurant (Himitsu), The Italian Restaurant, American Restaurant (Seaside Grill), The Buffet, the Pizzeria, and Seafood Restaurant (Oceana). We loved them ALL but our absolute favorite was The Oceana which we had our last night there. The bars were all wonderful as well along with the bartenders; our favorite- since it was close to our room ;) was The Baracuda and we LOVED the staff there which included Reynaldo (can't remember his last name), Miguel Limenez, Evelyn Garcia, Necaury Cruz, etc. They were amazing and so friendly. We loved seeing their smiles every day there and how good they made our drinks!! ;) The entertainment was also wonderful- we loved Eddy Murphy and he always made us laugh. He was so informative and always let us know about the shows that would be occurring every night. One of the days there, Saturday, we did the trip to Saona Island and that was neat also. The staff on the Catamaran were very entertaining and friendly. The food at Saona Island was also very good. Lastly, we went through Apple Vacations so our Apple people were amazing also! They checked with us to see where we wanted to eat at and make reservations at, wanted to know what we wanted to do, etc. They were also very informative and we appreciate that! We loved everything about our recent trip/vacation/honeymoon. We were so sad that we had to leave and that we are home now as we absolutely loved EVERYTHING about it there and miss it so much. We def will be back and hope to see all the same staff! We are going to start saving now so that we can make another trip there in the near future ;) Thank you Dreams La Ramona!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the lower (main floor) and loved it. We were very close to the main pool, Pizzeria, and...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely hotel. Stayed with my wife in February for 10 days. Everything was fine. The staff, especially Belkis helped us a lot and made our stay very comfortable and relaxing! The hotel features a nice beach, fine dining. For the kids there are a lot of attractions like flamingos for example)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Alexander

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your experience.,

We are so pleased that your time here at our wonderful hotel exceeded your expectations and we are so thankful for your great feedback, we hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

OMG ! This was the best vacation ever!!! The resort is modern , the food is delicious , the people are amazing and the staff are very very nice! in especial The adorable girl Altagracia who is the bar manager and also she knows how to make her job; I mean she is so professional always looking around to make sure everything is under control for make the costumers comfortable and happy... For sure We will go back to Dreams Resort in La Romana ,RD for many good reasons one of then is because is perfect resort with the best beach in the world and the airport is so close to the resort you just arrive and relax... I love Dominican Republic!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay here at our wonderful resort, and we very much appreciate all of your feedback

We are delighted that your time here met with your expectations, it was great to read your brilliant review, and we will certainly thank Altagracia for helping make your stay even more enjoyable

We would love to welcome you back again very soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This place is wonderful! The beach is flawless, people warm ...always smiling and dancing. Food is great, the animation team is fantastic. People complain that there is a language barrier, but I always found ways to explain myself and basic English is understood by most. I actually found it endearing that you barely heard English on the hotel grounds, making the vacation that much more exotic. I've stayed at many all inclusive hotels around the world, but I believe this one was one of the best value hotels. I fell in love with Dominican culture being out there!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diankasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving your 5 star review of your stay here at Dreams La Romana, it was our pleasure to serve you during your vacation.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are very happy you enjoyed the use of our beautiful beach, we appreciate all of your feedback!

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our first trip to a Dreams Resort, and hopefully not the last! This resort was the perfect size...big enough to not get bored and small enough that everything seemed very close and convenient. Most of the staff very very friendly, happy, and enthusiastic. The Entertainment Crew were especially fun. Special acknowledments go out to Eddy Murphy...this guy was great, funny, chatty, and seemed genuinely to love his job......also "Spider Man" ( forgot his real name! lol)...he was soooo full of energy and loved to joke around....and to sing Michael Jackson songs!!. Manuel at the Barracuda Bar could make any drink you wanted and was very personable. Our kids spent time with the Explorer's Club...these ladies are terrific! Especially Genesis...she was very fun my kids really enjoyed her. I really recommend the Movie Camp Out on the Beach...they loved it.
The Food is great......though we didn't try many of the restaurants, we mainly did the World Cafe Buffet as we had 5 kids in our group and thought they might get too restless at the restaurants. The Buffet always had lots of great choices and the wait service was fantastic...as soon as your glass was empty there was someone there to fill it right up. Danny D was our server a few times and he was amazing. He had the nicest smile and did whatever he could to make your meal the best one yet. This guy exemplifes customer service!! He overheard us saying it was my husband's birthday, he showed up to the table with Champagne for us all. It was very nice...even though we were at a Buffet...they really make it feel like a restaurant atmosphere.
The resport is extremely clean, the grounds are beautiful...there are never empty glasses laying around, there are so much staff around to pick them all up.
The Beach grill was fantastic, they had burgers, chicken and all the fixin's. there was always activities, and lots going on.....though not a 'party resort', it certainly has its own energy. It is a great place for families.
I did, however, find the rooms a bit small for a family of four, but that was minor, we didn't spend much time in our room anyway....there is way too much to do and see there! One more minor thing I didn't like was the towel system...you got a ticket for one towel and had to return your used towel to get a clean one, if you left your towel anywhere you couldnt get a new one...last year in Mexico you could get clean towels whenever you wanted...like I said that's minor. I just don't like to always be counting towels.
I had the pleasure of enjoying Dreams Facial in the Spa.....this was fantastic!! The Spa is a little gem...a very relaxing place to spend some time.
All in all Dreams LaRomana was a great place for our families and friends to vacation. I hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: We were in building # 3....close to everything, the Buffet is on one side and the Infinity Pool is o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cher_yar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

No need for preferred The place is very nice. Room and food were very good. Entertainment was weak they should of just had good live Latin music. Water was excellent beach a little small. It is crazy that you have to go out at seven am to secure a good chair on beach. Employees are friendly and helpful. Good place to bring kids.

Room Tip: We enjoyed building four
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#12 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,492 reviews
35.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $210 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing