We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$258
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Flamencos Aparthotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$61
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)
$60
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
$70
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Eden Hotel(Bayahibe)
$60
$49
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Royal La Romana(Bayahibe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,163)
Filter reviews
12,163 results
Traveler rating
7,663
2,957
1,050
312
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,663
2,957
1,050
312
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafepreferred clubpreferred poolmain pooleddie murphypablo picassofruit boatjungle restaurantinfinity poololio restaurantswim up barbutler serviceentertainment teamglass of champagnela romanacoffee shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,013 - 5,018 of 12,163 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Dreams La Romana was a fantastic resort and traveling with a family group of 8 I believe we all enjoyed it. Other than a few tummy issues it was excellent. We stayed Preferred Club in Building 5 overlooking the garden. The third top floor was lovely - while rain at night woke us up (others on lower floors never heard rain) - the raised slanted wooden roof was beautiful. However as said in previous reviews, yes, the walls are paper thin. Sometimes you weren't sure if someone was knocking on your door or the door next to you and you heard every time someone open/closed a door, had a hallway conversation or participated in loud adult activities in the room next to you.

Very few complaints/comments/suggestions which I'll mention because it seems management reads and responds to most Trip Advisor reviews:

1. The updated wifi advertised as "unlimited connectivity" will be a huge addition. I hate to be on wifi during internet, checking email, etc on vacation but the current system is worthless and a complete pain. Having to carry around a little slip of paper and type in a bunch of numbers just to post a picture to Facebook or download something on iTunes was more frustrating than just accepting no wifi at all. For preferred club members - just give us one code for the whole trip! None of this 15 hours limit log in/out. Makes more work for you!
2. The spa credit was kind of a joke as we never used any of them since it cost more money to use them. However the $50 massage options were a winner - we had two (one each, traveling as a couple) deep tissue massages and wish had done more than one. Waste of paper and kept trying to sell us more stuff when we went to pick them up.
3. GET MORE KINDS OF BEER! While "Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits" is nice its great to have options other than liquor, liquor and more liquor. Finding out the preferred club had Budweiser and some bars Corona IF YOU ASKED FOR IT saved my vacation. That El President beer and Bohemia beer was rubbish (no offense).
4. All restaurants were amazing no complaints other than at an all inclusive you always end up eating too much :) I had beef at most places (Bordeaux, Portofino and Seaside Grill), Mahi Mahi at Oceana, and Pork at Himitsu. Great service and food all around - I believe everyone was happy. Great three course meals at them all. Buffet was a buffet, not bad, not excellent because its, well, a buffet. The mexican El Patio was my favorite! I think El Patio was getting a lot of bad reviews so note to management: non-Americans generally hate Mexican food. I don't know why so don't trust their reviews. Kudos to Wilkins, our waiter, who did a fantastic job. Everything there was marvelous!! We did not try Jungle (Dominican). Might be nice to rotate a few to be open at lunch to try other dishes than the buffet at lunchtime.
5. Coco Cafe was a winner - very pleased to get real espresso and not just mass produced drip coffee on vacation.

The major comment on our trip was the Super Bowl party. Considering it was massively advertised on Facebook, twitter and the Dreams blog, it was so, hugely, incredibly disappointing. I'm assuming that if it rains the night before management has to assume it will rain partially the next day so this led to the decision to not show the Super Bowl on a screen over the beach (was so looking forward to it!), but instead inside at the convention center. After all that, the game was entirely and completely in Spanish. Considering everyone we talked to at the Super Bowl party was American and spoke ONLY English, this was a huge disappointment for everyone. Not only was the game entirely in Spanish, it didn't even show the commercials from America and instead repeated the same Spanish only beer commercials. Oh well, next time Dreams!

Room Tip: Room 5318 was great - beautiful roof, though light sleepers might not like hearing the rain. It got evening sunset sun which was nice as the sunset would have taken a while to come up over the other buildings. No elevators though - for those who dislike stairs. AC unit couldn't get the room below 71 and leaked condensation on the floor after being repaired - for those who like their room a bit cooler stay on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starlitdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and as always we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience

We are glad that your time here at our great resort met with your expectations, we are glad that you were satisfied with your allocated room and we are pleased that you enjoyed the use of our a'la carte restaurants and our Coco Café

Free Wi-Fi is something we are working towards, we have no date to announce as yet, but we recommend our future guests to check our website and social networking pages for updates,

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy our super bowl night, we decided to move this event inside as there was a chance of rain and unfortunately if it rained during the event on the beach, it would be incredibly difficult to move everything inside, which would have spoiled the entire event.

We understand your frustrations regarding the Spanish commentary, and of course we understand the importance of the commercials, however the only channel we could broadcast the game was through a Spanish channel, and had their of been anyway we could have avoided that, we most certainly would have.

Once again thank you so much for all of your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just returned from this hotel and apart from one minor problem we just couldn't fault it. The location, room, food were just perfect. The hotel staff were amazing and worked so hard. The buffet restaurant was fine, but the themed restaurants were some of the best we have ever experienced. We were very lazy and apart from walking into Bayahibe never left the hotel. The beach and sea were the best part, and really what we went for, but our gripe was that unless you were up at the crack of dawn you had great difficulty in finding a sunbed at the beach. The first couple of days we had to sit on the sand as not one bed was available. Each morning the beds were reserved with towels, but no one on them, sometimes for most of the day! We have never been the sort to bag sunbeds and are definitely against it, but we too had to resort to this to get a bed. There are notices about saying that if a bed is left for longer than an hour with no one on it the things will be removed, but there was no evidence of this being done. Surely if this is the hotel practice it should be upheld. Something should be done about this, as it caused a lot of resentment from people, a few getting quite angry.
Apart from this the holiday was fantastic, beautiful weather and a lovely hotel. We shall consider going again - perhaps taking our own sunbed with us!!!!

Room Tip: We were in Block 3. Handy for the buffet restaurant at one end and the infinity pool and the beach at the other. A short walk from all the other restaurants.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Susan,

It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay here at Dreams La Romana and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us all about your time here

We are so pleased to learn that your time with us exceeded your expectations, we are so happy that you enjoyed the use of our stunning a'la carte restaurants, and we are grateful for the comments about our staff.

We understand the frustrations regarding the reserving of sunbeds (which is forbidden) and we are working hard to clamp down on that.

We hope to welcome you back very soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked a week here over the Christmas period and, not surprisingly for Christmas, paid a LOT of money to First Choice/Thomson for an all-inclusive holiday with '4* accommodation' in a 'premium deluxe double' room with a walk-in shower and flat screen TV. However, when we arrived we were given a tired room with an uncomfortable bed, tatty bed linen, lumpy pillows, a roof that leaked when it rained and flooded the floor, an ancient tube TV and a shower over the bath with a plastic shower curtain. We complained but were only offered an equally poor room with the addition of an unpleasant smell. We know from others who have stayed here that there are rooms of a high standard in other parts of the resort, but we certainly didn't get put in one of those.
However, some things about the resort were very good. The all-inclusive package was excellent, the serving staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good with a choice of several themed a la carte restaurants as well as a huge buffet restaurant. The gardens, swimming pools and beach were lovely, but many of the sun beds were tatty and some of the beach towels supplied were also tatty.
Although there was much to recommend about the resort, because of our experience, mainly regarding the accommodation, I can only give 'Poor' ratings for 'Value', 'Rooms' and 'Sleep Quality'.
The journey home was pretty awful as we had to queue in the heat and humidity for 2.5 hours at the airport as they simply couldn't cope with the large numbers of people flying home. If you are planning a holiday at this resort my advice is to check very carefully with the tour company and ask specifically what type of accommodation you will be getting..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DeLaLe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience with us

We are very disappointed that you were not satisfied with your allocated room, all of the rooms here at our resort are maintained to a very high standard, we are very sorry that this was not your experience and we thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

We are pleased that you were happy with the service you received and we are pleased that you enjoyed the use of our delicious a'la carte restaurants

We hope you decide to visit us again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here but could be some improvements. The beach was the biggest let down much to small for the size of the hotel crammed full of sunbeds you could not move hardly move so we spent hardly any time at all there. The beach usually is our favourite haunt as that is what we go all the way to the Caribbean for sand and sea. The pools are very good, Jacuzzi nice but way to hot. Grounds are lovely they work very hard on them.
The price of the rum in the hotels shop is far to expensive bought ours in La Romana fraction of price.
Loved the coffee shop girls very good who serve you. The lobby bar was disappointing not enough seating for the amount of people there and the bar itself is very basic, service was good.
Found it very hard to change big peso notes for small ones to tip staff, reception staff hardly ever had small notes and the bank there would not change them. Maybe a change machine would be the answer?
The restaurant's are good we enjoyed the French, Italian and the seafood grill the best. Great to not have to book for them you just go along on the night and the most we had to wait was 20minutes. Don't know why all hotels do not this we hate that queing protocol to book your al la Carte restaurant's its a pain. Buffet restaurant good plenty to choose from for breakfast
Rooms very good large, walk in showers, mini bar filled frequently and maid kept it very clean. Pillows could be a little softer.
Little tip if you are travelling out of your hotel on your own take your passport. We planned a little trip on our own through the hotel and they forgot to inform us we needed a passport, and had to come back to hotel so wasted nearly one and hours sorting the passport problem out plus extra taxi fare.The hotel would not give us any money back, but did compensate us.
Overall we enjoyed our holiday the staff in general are very pleasant and helpful. The weather was good hardly saw any rain mainly sunny with cloudy periods. Overall enjoyed this hotel but will not go back unless the beach is improved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANNELeeds(england)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Anne,

Thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your stay with us,

We are pleased to hear that your time here at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are happy you enjoyed the use of our delicious Coco Café, and I am sure the girls there will be delighted with your feedback.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the use of our beach, but as always we appreciate all of your feedback.

Lets hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic place for those in need of R & R. Great check in, welcomed with champagne. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. You can join in the fun or rest quietly. Plenty of places to sit/lie and enjoy the surroundings or activities. Shade on beach with palm trees so no rush to get a parasol for the day! Food was great, 7 restaurants to choose from, no limit on number of times to visit but if they had no table you were provided with a pager and could have a cocktail and be paged when your table was ready. If you didn't want a more formal waited on service the World Buffet was available all day and into the night. International drinks ranked this hotel/resort higher than others we have stayed in in the Caribbean. Gardens beautifully kept, rooms clean and well serviced. Free digital safe in the room with well stocked fridge! All in all you couldn't feel stressed here and the staff make all the difference. I hope the staff don't need to compete against each other for job recognition though (message to management). If you want sun on your balcony in the morning request odd numbered room, even numbers for evening sun. Well done to all at Dreams! My only gripe would be the walls are very thin so if youre next door to someone who snores you may want to ask for a move, you can hear everything.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms for sun on balcony am, even numbers for evening sun. Block 3 is central. Overlooking pool could be noisy if you go to bed early as some entertainment is outside at night but shows finish 10.30pm. Garden rooms are lovely and quiet. The walkways between everything are covered so if there is a downpoor at night you wont get wet. Enjoy!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maazdamania55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an honor to be your hosts during your vacation and we are very happy that you have decided to share your thoughts of your time here at Dreams La Romana

We are delighted that you had a great relaxing holiday with you, and we are so grateful that you have recognized our wonderful staff, thank you so much for your amazing feedback!

It would be a pleasure to serve you again should you return in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews