We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Full of day tripping locals that descend on every restaurant and bar like a plague of locusts. It's impossible to get a plate or glass let alone anywhere to sit. Same problem continues around the pool with all the sun loungers occupied from dawn. They are all very drunk by mid morning and very rude. Don't even think about getting service unless you are local as the staff will make out that you don't even exist.
You have been warned!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank drbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - drbennet

Date of review - 28th September 2013

Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very disappointed to learn that your time at our beautiful resort did not exceed your expectations, however your review could be construed as quite misleading, at our hotel we welcome clientele from all over the world, including local Dominican people. To suggest that we will only concentrate on local guests rather than our other guests is incorrect. Here at Dreams La Romana we treat each end every guest with respect and courtesy and we endeavor to tend to their every need, regardless of their nationality.

We do apologize that this was an inconvenience to you and it is regrettable that as a result you would not return, however we are very grateful for all of your feedback, we value all comments left by our much valued guests this is an excellent way of helping us make improvements in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,966 - 4,972 of 11,561 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was my first visit to Dreams La Romana and it will not be my last as it was more than I expected
First the rooms was clean and comfortable and the maids was always very pleasant and friendly
The food and drink we went to the restaurants every night and I must say everyone was first class and you could have as much as you wanted and would even change the menu for you and your drinks was always full. You got the same service whether you tipped them or not but we always did as the service was great
The bars had all the top brands and they would ask you what you wanted nothing was to much bother for them and they work very hard but keep on smiling
The entertainment staff was amazing as I don#t think there was anything they couldn't do Sing, dance, acrobatics and most other things you could think of the best team I have ever seen
Even in the day they was down by the beach and the pool doing some sort of entertainment

All the pools look great even though we only went in them once as most of the time we was on the beach . The beach was soft white sand and Cristal clear water My only concern was one or two people was taking bear bottles down to the beach

We are already booking for next year as it tops all the other places we have been

Well done Dreams

Room Tip: The complex is not to big so anywhere you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Stan D

Date of review - 28th September 2013

Dear Stan

We are delighted you chose Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are so pleased your time at our wonderful hotel met with your expectations, and we are even more pleased to hear you are thinking of returning!

Thank you for all of your great feedback, and it would be a genuine pleasure to serve you again in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at Dreams La Romana September 18th-22nd for a girls getaway. The resorts grounds were beautiful and the staff was very friendly. We were in the Preffered section and our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food at the resort would rate a solid 4 out of 5 and comparable to chain restarants in the US. You could always find something to eat and the fruit was amazing. The Snorkeling off the beach at this resort was Excellent. We spent many hours to the left of the beach looking at the beauty under water. The small down fall of the resort are that the preffered beach does not have an entry into the ocean. Go and enjoy you will not be dissapointed!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the preffered section but it is a little far from the main part of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Rosemary G

Date of review - 27th September 2013

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your time at our wonderful resort, and we are thankful for your feedback about our Preferred Club and our vast food selection.

We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Enjoyed a great stay, room air conditioning was great, very clean. Carlos Gil is the man at the bar. Always working and helping people, providing great service with a greeting and a smile, thanks buddy. Food is good, staff is friendly and very accomidating. Housekeeping is even friendly and does a great job. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Brent M

Date of review - 27th September 2013

Dear Brent,

We are delighted you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased that your time at our beautiful hotel met with your expectations, and we very much appreciate all of your great feedback.

We do hope you return in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just arrived back from Dreams La Romana. another great Holiday. First thing to report the weather was fantastic 31-34 deg. everyday, don't be fooled by the internet weather reports! they was reporting thunderstorms for the full 11 days we where there!. A few changes to the resort from the last time, I didn't thing the entertainment team on the beach did the same amount of activities has they did 3 yrs ago? but what they did do again was brilliant! The staff again can't do enough for you and are all very friendly, The food again was excellent, although the room service was very poor? Rooms again was spotless cleaned daily! the Full resort is spotless! If you're looking for a relaxing holiday with a choice of activities then this is the place to be! We will be Back!!

Room Tip: There isn,t much difference between the rooms with part/ sea view and just standard, both same size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Dave R

Date of review - 27th September 2013

Dear Dave,

As a repeat guest to our wonderful resort we would like to express our gratitude to the loyalty you have shown to Dreams La Romana and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very pleased that once again we exceeded your expectation, and we are even more pleased that you are planning on returning!

We do hope that happens as it will be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from Dreams and had a good time but unfortunately we will not be returning. At ours welcome meeting we were told that the hotel was quiet as it was low season and indeed there were lots of available sun beds, and staff waiting to serve you in the bar and restaurants. Unfortunately once the weekend came lots of local people were offered the empty hotel rooms as a reasonable rate and therefore between Friday evening and Monday the hotel was heaving. We were queuing 4 deep all along the bars to get drinks, the queues for the breakfast buffet was unbelievable and they had to open a second restaurant to attempt to seat all the people. The worst of all for us was the Infiniti pool! Prior to the weekend and indeed after the weekend the pool was peaceful, adults only at the bar and you could sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. During the weekends once again 4 deep most of the time at the bar, lots of children jumping in, splashing and many allowed by their parents to sit at the bar, which we felt to be totally inappropriate. We also found that some of these visitors were well known by some of the staff and they occasionally got served or pushed in front of people who had been quietly queuing. This meant that our once tranquil setting became a screaming, shouting and far from inviting place to be. Ourselves and many other English guests avoided the Infiniti pool after this time, albeit it
enjoying the beach but we believe this should have been by choice and not due to avoidance.

This was all mentioned to our reps several times by several very unhappy guests but unfortunately there was nothing they could do to address this matter as it was totally down to the hotel what they did to fill their empty rooms. We enjoyed our holiday but believe this should be mentioned in the brochure to warn people that this is likely to be the situation at weekends.

The staff were polite, very willing to help and always smiling but unfortunately they will not be seeing our smiling faces again. We will never return to this hotel and have spoken to several other people who have said the same.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floors as you are unlikely to get passing traffic when the disco closes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carriem_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Carriem_56

Date of review - 26th September 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your time at our wonderful resort did not meet with your expectations. Here at our resort we are lucky enough to welcome guests from all over the world, including local Dominican people who do tend to visit us more over the weekend.

We apologize sincerely for any inconvenience this caused to you and the party you were travelling with, and we certainly thank you for bringing the issues you encountered to our attention, we take on board all comments our much valued guests leave with us, this is an excellent way of us making improvements in the future.,

We do hope you reconsider your decision and give us the opportunity to be your hosts again in the future, it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

On arrival at the hotel ,we were greeted with champagne and given 2 rooms in block 2.Lovely rooms next door to each other .Our room had a partial sea view and was kept very clean.We celebrated our 30th pearl wedding anniversary whilst we were there and there was a 'Happy Anniversary' banner on the door as we got to the room on arrival.
The hairdryer was powerful and a flyer was put under the door every night with the next days entertainment on and which restaurants were open.

Unfortunately, every morning we were woken at about 7am with the cleaner bashing her brush against the steps which sounded like someone in the room in stillettos!!
We had asked for the top floor and given the middle floor which was fine until 3 days before we were leaving when 2 couples above us were extremely noisy, this is why I had asked to be on a top floor.
There needs to be some attention to detail in the rooms ,on first entering we thought 'Wow' but then realised that we didn't have a working clock radio ,no ironing board, no dvd player ,2 lights weren't working and to change the sheets you have to put a sign on the pillow. We didn't have one and only knew about this by the other couple having one in their room and told us ,so we had to tear it in half and each of us put one on the pillow .I would have thought that the sheets would automatically be changed . There was no book to tell us about the complex so told reception who immediately sent one up. We twice requested a plug for the sink as we had to wash bikins and shorts daily and never got one.
The coffee and milk were not replenished for 3 days and as I loved a coffee in the morning to drink on the balcony we had to use the other couples coffee from their room.
I feel we were expected to use the 2 rooms as one.

.
Now the positives:
The beds were the comfiest I have ever had.
The sunbeds were easy to get and the pools were beautiful and clean.
There was a towel exchange on the beach. and waitress service poolside .
The beach was beautiful and seaweed was cleared away regularly.
We used the fruit boat on the beach which had delicious melon, mangoes etc .Very refreshing on a hot day.
One lunchtime there was a B.B.Q party and music and one night there was a romantic beach party with champagne, just for couples. This fell on our anniversary so was lovely to finish off a wonderful day.
There was great entertainment during the day ,special mention to Yari who was really friendly and worked hard. The night entertainment was spectacular especially the amazing show acted out in the pool !!
The food and service in the restaurants was great, our favourite was the seaside grill restaurant ,must mention Zacheriah and Alberto for their outstanding service.
The drinks were wonderful and we were able to get lots of branded drinks .Also the cocktails were different every day.
We did find the French restaurant was very cold so take a cardigan with you .We saw lots of people shivering due to the air con.
There is no need to make reservations as we usually got a table immediately at all the restaurants.
We found the coffee bar useful with it's lovely snacks and different coffees.
The outback safari trip was really enjoyable, well worth the money which we booked with our rep.
The view from the mountain where we had our meal was beautiful and the food was really good.
The only downsides were that the trip to the beach should have included the use of boogie boards as was advertised but the driver didn't put them in the boot, but the beach was beautiful and also as we went on a Saturday, the advertised trip to the school was cancelled because the children are off at the weekends.
On our last day there was an announcement that there was a massage near the pool if you wanted one. Three of us tried it and it was lovely ,just 5 minutes each but that was plenty.
There was no queue and I saw only one other person trying it, I don't know why.
A lot of people have mentioned being hassled by the traders but one day my husband and I went onto the beach for a Dominican party at about 5pm taking all our belongings,we thought !! After about 40 mins.my husband realised he had left a bumbag tied to the back of a sunbed. .When he got back to the sunbeds the traders told him they had alerted security and he collected it from reception with his money etc so thanks to everyone involved.
We also tried the free kayaks and pedalos which we thoroughly enjoyed,
All in all I can recommend this hotel. The staff are brilliant and are always happy and smiling and very hard-working and polite.
Just one suggestion about the clients coming back to their rooms to be a little quieter maybe signs up to remind them would help.
Thank-you for a memorable holiday and anniversary.

Room Tip: We had block 2 which was near enough to everything but also quiet. Request a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Angela n

Date of review - 25th September 2013

Dear Angela,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are very pleased that despite some issues that you have brought to our attention in this review, that our hotel met with your expectations, we are pleased you enjoyed our food and drinks selection and we are happy you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations, and we thank you kindly for recommending our resort to others.

We do hope we get the chance to be your hosts again in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
291 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
3 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
7,020 reviews
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $222 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing