We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 8, 2013

One beautiful beach unforgettable experience great service the best excursions are very friendly people the bartender carlos gil lobby bar made the best cocktails i behaved very kind to me and my husband treated us like as if our family always had a smile very beautiful he was very cute they recommend us to their cocktails carlos gil love you all promise to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - John L

Date of review - 8th September 2013

Dear John,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted your time at our resort exceeded your expectations and we will certainly pass on your comments to those who made your stay even more enjoyable.

we do hope you return to our resort in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,864 - 4,870 of 11,321 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This year was my 4th Time in the Hotel.
Planned the whole trip so my parents and neighbours went a week before us for 2 weeks, and we arrived a week after for 3 weeks, so we had a week overlap.
Hotel was just as rmembered, a few new faces with staff, however a few familiar faces.

There was an issue with my booking, but that was down to an error by the travel company, and at no fault to the hotel. Id like to point out the amazing service i recieved from Louise the E-Concierge Manager! What makes it better, she was british, it was like being back home talking to her!

Seconly, the entertainment team, what an amazing bunch, have such a laugh with them all, and they really made us feel back at home. Especially Jacob, Yary, Andy, Aviator, and of course, the one and only Picasco, that man is an absoloute legend! Hes been there since our first time in the hotel, and is one of the main reasons for going back!

Then, there's Darling from Block 4, now where do i start...
She looks after all the american guests, and even though we're not American, she was always there, sat at her desk, and gave me a huge hug in the mornings, and the look on her face when she saw that i was back, was unreal, she really did make us feel back at home, and practically mothered us after my parents and neighbours left the hotel to come back to England. She really is amazing.

Also our maid was amazing, leaving us little towel figures, and flowers in the room, and even giving us chocolate everyday!! She really did look after us, and when we asked for some towels on the day of our departure so we could shower in the morning before we left, she stopped what she was doing and found then within minutes!

In summary, I can't fault any of the staff that we met there, and got along with, they're all fantastic, and have such a nice nature, and culture in the country, ill be going back there for many years to come.

However, on the other hand:
During our stay, there is apparently, a private pool which you can hire, near the preffered club. One night during our stay, this was vandalised, quite badly from what I heard from staff.
The Higher management, and the head of security and his team at the hotel, decided to blame myself, my 2 friends I had travelled with, and the group of friends we had made when we we're there. When we explained to them, that the time they said we had supposidly done this act, that we were in bed, and before that, we were in the lobby, they refused to believe us, and from that point onwards, the security team were ordered to follow us, everywhere. No matter where we went, the security team were there. We ate in one of the resturantes; There were 3 security guards stood watching us eat.
We'd go to the toilet, and the security team would wait outside, we'd go to bed, the security team would follow us and wait outside. It was very un-nerving considering they threatened to call the police on us, and that we could be faced with a $2000 bill.

Now, my logic to this, is as a repeat guest of 4 times to this hotel, why would I pay, to go back to a hotel I obviously love, and enjoy visiting to destroy? In addition to that, as a guest whos spent well over $10,000 dollars to the hotel, over several years, that they'd give us the benefit of the doubt, and accept we hadn't caused the damage. But no.

Upon check-out of the hotel, i asked to speak to the manager i charge that day, so sit down and chat to him simply about how this hadnt impressed me, and that i expect better. Not to complain, or to kick up a massive fuss, but just to say, it wasnt appreciated. However, after waiting 45 minutes, the manager in charge refussed to come and talk to me. VERY unimpressed by that.

Apart from that, i cant physically fault anything with this hotel.

Room Tip: Block 4 is the best in my eyes, right in the middle of everything, very central in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Matt G

Date of review - 8th September 2013

Dear Matt,

Thank you once again for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we extend our gratitude to you for the loyalty you have shown to our resort.

As a repeat guest we are delighted to hear that once more our beautiful resort has exceeded your expectations, we are very pleased to hear that our hard working staff from various departments helped make your stay with us even more enjoyable.

However we are sorry to hear that you felt as if you were being accused of something, that certainly was not our intention, we were merely carrying out an investigation, we are very sorry if this was an inconvenience to you, but this was a procedure we had to carry out, we understand your frustration regarding this, and once this was brought to our attention by our e-concierge we spoke with our security team who then made sure they give you and your friends the space and privacy you needed to enjoy the rest of your vacation.

We are also very sorry that you were not able to speak to our Manager in charge the day you left our resort, we always value speaking with our guests but unfortunately we were not informed that you wanted to speak with anyone. Perhaps this was just an oversight, however we are very sorry that you were not able to express your opinion as you would have wished.

We thank you for all of your wonderful feedback and we also thank you for bringing any issues that you experienced to our attention, this is a great way of helping us improve in the future should we feel it necessary.

We hope you visit our resort again in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and having read many of the positive reviews prior to our holiday feel that there is a slight discrepancy between the reviews and the actual reality of the hotel. There are many positive aspects to the resort, but these are equally countered by a wealth of issues that I would not expect from a motorway travel-lodge, let alone a self heralded 'luxury' resort in the Caribbean. I have compiled a list of pros and cons below regarding the resort which should allow those considering staying here the ability to make an informed choice:

Positives:

- The Hotel and its amenities are immaculate, with staff clearly spending a lot of time and effort on keeping it this way.

- The beach is both beautiful and spotlessly clean. There is no shortage of sun loungers and the entertainment staff organise activities throughout the day, such as beach aerobics, volleyball etc.

- The Corezone for the kids was very well run, with particular thanks to Benjamin for all his hard work there.

- The food, by and large, was of a very good standard. The world buffet offered some excellent food on occasion and both the Portofino and Seaside Grill provided some very good meals and service.

Negatives:

- The service at the hotel was at best average, at worst abysmal. The lack of consistency regarding the service was the most irritating factor as it could be done to a very good standard as we saw at the Portofino and Seaside Grill, but seemed to be poor everywhere else. The staff at the World Buffet were the worst offenders and at times appeared to be there under duress, not a single smile was ever seen on their faces, they were completely inattentive to the needs of the diners and their exceptionally slender grasp of the english language made ordering even a tea or an orange juice almost impossible. While I do not expect hotel staff to be fully fluent, a workable knowledge of english should be a priority in a resort such as this.

- The evening entertainment at the hotel was frankly diabolical, with it being at a standard you would expect from Benidorm. Having travelled extensively throughout the Caribbean I can state pretty objectively that this hotel is far behind the rest of the pack in this particular area, but if karaoke evenings and arm-wrestling contests are your thing then good luck.

- At weekends the locals descend upon the hotel like a pack of locusts and generally behave in a raucous manner with little regard to the rest of the guests. This is a massively misjudged move by the hotel management as it disenfranchised all the other guests we spoke to who had all paid significant amounts of money for their holiday.

- The lack of free wifi, while not a deal breaker, is pretty medieval in this day and age and should be addressed by the hotel as it is a relatively quick fix and would be more befitting for a hotel that considers itself 'unlimited luxury', especially as they have free wifi in most motorway service stations.

- Standards of behaviour in the World Buffet from other guests could be a little variable and it should be down to the staff to ensure compliance with hotel policy rather than turn a blind eye. If the hotel is going to bother to have a dining dress code then they should at least enforce it, if not, then don't bother having one as it will make life easier for all concerned. The same applies to guests who regularly picked up food from the buffet with their bare hands rather than using the utensils provided, the hotel goes to great lengths to make all diners gel their hands before entering but then fails to enforce basic food hygiene once diners are inside.

In general this was an enjoyable family holiday in a beautiful location at a good hotel, nothing more, nothing less. The hotel is doing a lot of things well but repeatedly lets itself down by its lack of attention to detail. This is a good hotel...but nowhere near as good as it perceives itself.

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2 offer the quietest areas of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigNorris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - BigNorris2013

Date of review - 8th September 2013

Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear certain aspects of your time with us met with your expectations we are glad you enjoyed the use of our beach area and corezone, and we are also very grateful for your comments regarding our immaculate grounds.

However we are disappointed to learn that other aspects of your time with us did not meet with your expectations, please allow me to clarify some points, the staff who work at our hotel try their very best to communicate with our much valued guests and the vast majority of our staff speak English, and a lot of them speak it fluently. We are surprised to hear you were not happy with the service levels at our resort, this is something we are very often praised about, however we are sorry if this did not reach out to you as expected.

We are sorry you did not appreciate our evening entertainment, we endeavor to keep our much valued guests as entertained as possible, our shows vary from Karaoke to Las Vegas style shows, to audience participation shows. We try to cater to each guest, it is disappointing to us that this did not impress you.

Here at Dreams La Romana we welcome guests from all over the world including local Dominican people, we do apologize if their presence at weekends was an inconvenience to you, however we very much appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Our resort is currently working towards having free Wi-Fi throughout our resort and we do hope this will be in place very soon.

Once again we appreciate you bringing your issues to our attention, we appreciate and respect all feedback our guests leave with us, this can only help us to make improvements in the future should we need to.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have just returned from a great stay in the Dominican Republic with the Dreams La Romana. The resort was spotlessly clean, the staff very helpful and friendly and the food good ( apart from their Asian restaurant where it was bland).

Loungers were plentiful and it wasn't too stressful to get a decent set at a reasonable time in the morning. Parents beware that the main pool, which is huge, does not have a shallow part anywhere so small children will need to be able to swim if they want to use it.

Like the Mexican Riviera Dreams, our kids loved the kids club and often asked us if we could take them which gave us some valuable time alone.

We did a great excursion with SeaVis to see Saona Island. It included snorkelling, starfish, a tour of the village and a visit to a turtle sanctuary that they sponsor. You can find them ten minutes walk along the beach at Bayahibe.

If you want any coffee or rum to bring home there is a little supermarket at Bayahibe which is way cheaper than the resort shop. It's also great if you want to get some extra sun lotion.

The only real negative was that the bicycles could do with a refurb as most of them are death traps. :-(

Room Tip: Block 7 is a nice, quiet block. All the blocks' top floor' rooms have vaulted ceilings whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caveman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Caveman18

Date of review - 8th September 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you chose Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us,

We are very grateful for all of your feedback, we are so pleased that you were happy with the service you received whilst here at our wonderful resort.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Explorers Club.

We do hope we get the opportunity to be your hosts in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and had an excellent time. The property is immaculate, the grounds are beautiful, ocean blue as blue can be. The food was OK, we ate at the Seaside Grill and the food was amazing. Then we at at Oceana and the food was also very good. They have fresh hand carved fruit available all day on the beaches. The only downfall we found for the trip was the staff didn't speak much English and was at time a little rude and unfriendly. Also they have staff that tries to get you to purchase further vacations and such that are quite pushy. Overall, the trip was relaxing and very enjoyable and would recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Take excursions to pass time unless your content with sitting on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Kurt B

Date of review - 8th September 2013

Dear Kurt.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very happy you enjoyed your time at our resort, and we are very grateful that you would recommend our resort to others.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My first time in Dominican Republic and will return all very beautiful. Beautiful city i felt a huge peace first room always had a person to clean hotel entretaniment very beautiful very well all realy liked that service i got at the lobby bar in the morning the guys made me feel very good Carlos gil and behaved very well boty us the best drinks in the hotel are the best bartender of that complex boty Carlos gil and we love you for everything

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - jonathanPuertoRico

Date of review - 7th September 2013

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that your time with us exceeded your expectations and we appreciate all of the wonderful feedback you have given us, I will certainly pass on your comments to Carlos who made your stay with us even more enjoyable

We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again in the future

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic an island which we found surprisingly different in culture to the other islands we have visited. We selected the hotel because of the apparent high standards and in some respects were not disappointed. However there were various aspects which fell short of our expectations. The public areas of the hotel and grounds are indeed immaculate but the cleanliness of the rooms could have been better. Don't look under the beds or behind the doors.
The staff were amazing during the first week but, during the course of the second, we felt that they had lost interest particularly so in the World Cafe. The food there was rarely piping hot and typically lukewarm which may account for the stomach problems the 6 in the party experienced in the second week.
The opening of the hotel to the locals at the weekend was not publicised and forced us to upgrade to the preferred club. If I had wanted to go to Benidorm I would have done so.
Aside from that generally a very pleasant experience but be warned at the weekends

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Graham G

Date of review - 7th September 2013

Dear Graham,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are very disappointed that your time at our wonderful resort did not meet with your expectations, we take cleanliness at our resort extremely seriously and we pride ourselves on our immaculate conditions which is something we receive excellent feedback about, our housekeeping team would have been more than happy to assist you if you experienced any type of issue in your room, but in order to do this, this matter would have needed to be brought to their attention

We apologize that you thought service levels had dropped during your 2nd week, this is surprising to us as our staff do everything possible to make sure our much valued guests receive excellent service during their full stay with us, we are sorry if this did not reach out to you as expected,

We are sorry that some of your party fell sick during your time with us, however please allow me to clarify that there are many reasons as to why this may have happened, over exposure to the heat and sun, over indulgence of rich foods and alcohol, differences in the oils food is cooked in and drinking coconut based drinks which are known to be a natural laxative. We sincerely hope they are feeling better now.

Finally, when you say that we "open up the hotel at weekends" this statement is slightly misleading, we welcome guests from all over the world, including local Dominican people, and we treat all of our guests as equals, we do have more Dominican guests visit us during weekends but they are paying guests also. However we do apologize if this was an inconvenience to you, and we do appreciate all of your feedback.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
199 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
35.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
6,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $225 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing