We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$204
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Gran Dominicus(Bayahibe)
$272
$149
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Eden Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$60
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
$70
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Royal La Romana(Bayahibe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,346)
Filter reviews
12,346 results
Traveler rating
7,801
2,989
1,057
315
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,801
2,989
1,057
315
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafepreferred clubpreferred poolmain pooleddie murphypablo picassofruit boatjungle restaurantinfinity poololio restaurantswim up barbutler serviceentertainment teamglass of champagnela romanacoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
5,540 - 5,545 of 12,346 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Dreams La Romana with our 2 sons ( 12&14 yrs) in mid- July . Having visited The Dominican Republic in the past , we had set our expectations based on our previous holiday (okay , but not exceptional ) On arrival at Dreams La Romana our first impressions was WOW. The hotel is exceptional, and the staff friendly and helpful ( without being patronising ) Our room matched the photos shown on line and was more than adequate. The facilities at the hotel where impressive, and the pool areas clean,well presented as well as the beach.The restaurants are in a totally different league to any other hotels we have stayed in. The quality of the food was truly exceptional, and the variety left nothing to be desired ( The World Cafe excelled )
If there is one negative it is the wi-fi, in a hotel of this quality it should be included in the price, but it is $25 for a 6 day(26hr) package and one device only. If you are looking for the "perfect family holiday" this is the resort for you. We will visit again

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room, they have a bigger patio area. Also leave the air con on low in the day
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Lee F

Date of review - 3rd August 2013

Dear Lee,

On behalf of the entire management and staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are delighted that your time at our beautiful hotel met with your expectations, here at Dreams La Romana we pride ourselves on the excellent service we provide to our much valued guests, we are so honoured that you have recognized that.

We do hope you return to our resort once more as it would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second trip to Dreams La Romana. We stayed last August, and thought it was so good we went back. This time it was even better!

The facilities and the resort and really good, but what makes it for me is the level of service being so high everywhere you go. The staff really go out of their way to help you, to make you feel welcome and you feel that nothing is too much trouble.

We upgraded to the Preferred Club, and I would recommend anyone to do that. The pool dedicated to the Preferred Club is the best one for us, and the service from the Preferred Club team is second to none. Special mention to Julissa and Eryck who lead the way there.

There has been a couple of improvements since we went last year. The gym has been improved, which was pleasing as we used it most days, and the addition of being able to have breakfast at the Seaside Grill was an absolute highlight for us. We went there every day, and it is just the best way to start the day. William the host and Fabien the waiter were first class.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort to anyone - there are quiet areas to easily find, and plenty to do when you want it. The Entertainments team put plenty on, and we found ourselves in the sea doing aqua aerobics. Not something I would have ever of thought of doing before we left, but it was great fun to join in when we were there.

All in all, an amazing holiday, we've arrived home relaxed, rested, with loads of good memories and I'm sure we will end up back there again!

Room Tip: Go for preferred club. Block 7 is the quietest
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thereal8dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - thereal8dog

Date of review - 3rd August 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire management and staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

As a repeat guest at our wonderful resort we are delighted that once again we have exceeded your expectations, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the benefits of our luxurious preferred club,

We are very grateful that you would recommend our resort to others and we do hope that you return to visit us again, as it would be our pleasure to be your hosts once more.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of November 2012. This is the 3rd AM resort we have stayed at. The other two were Dreams Nuevo Vallarta and Now Jade. This was the largest resort we have stayed at with something like 700 rooms.

Food
All was good. Our favorite was the Mexican food place.

Drinks
great stuff. be careful with the mamajuana its a strong strange tasting drink

Beach
the beach area was a little crowded but we had access to the preferred beach which gave us some peace and quite. The water was nice and calm and beatiful. Snorkeling was great right by the pier. Lots of fish to see!

Pools were great, 1 had a swim up bar. Preffered pool was nice and quite!

Overall I would return to this resort. But try and fly into La Romana because the transfer from Santo Domingo is long and interesting.

Room Tip: buildings 5 and 7 are great!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tx_proud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - tx_proud

Date of review - 2nd August 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire management and staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are very pleased to hear that your time with us met with your expectations, and it is a great honour for us that you would return.

We do hope that happens as it would be our pleasure to be your hosts once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This resort is one of the best resorts i have been to. We had an amazing room in building 7, and the staff were lovely very pleasant and attentive...however the girls at the pool bar weren't too fond of me and seemed to love my boyfriend...he got much better service! the resort is soooooo clean and there are always cleaners about doing your rooms and around the resort!

The food is brill.... portofino is nice just small portions, seaside grill is only really good for lunch its a bit limited at night, oceana is the best...so fresh but you can wait a while for food however, they just kept topping up our drinks. we also opted to have a lobster dinner and it was beautiful definitely worth the extra 29 dollars. The buffet was good for breakfast and lunch and himitisu is also gorgeous and the staff are so lovely!

Drinks.....strong! which we loved and they will do any drink even if it's not on the menu. Jonathan in the lobby bar was a great bar man and could mix a really good cocktail. At night
we stayed mainly in the lobby bar and there was entertainment every night, not amazingly to our liking but was fun all the same.

Don't listen to all these comments about getting ill! you just have to watch what you eat and be sensible i.e. i didn't eat the salad or anything i wasn't familliar with. People were getting ill because you have to down the water to stay hydrated and don't cook your stomach in the heat.
This resort is gorgeous and the food/drink is brill!

Pool was great very clean and pool side waitress service which was great! we also went on three trips one with 'beni' from the beach towel hut! He's fab and trust worthy! Saona island trip...cubre libre's and dancing!!Loved it! Crazy wheels...we did one with beni and then went on another one with our tour provider. The first one was really within the local setting...quads were a bit dodgey and there were a few shady moments but the staff were great! The second one through thompson.... the quads and buggies were so much faster but the atmosphere wasn't as good.

We had so much fun here and felt so so welcome....we got moved on our last night as there was a storm coming and our flight got canceled so they moved us to a hotel nr the airport. At first glance it was beautiful. However, our rep at this hotel was HORRIFIC! We just kind of got dumped there with this horifific rep that wouldn't tell us anything about our new flight which stressed me out so ended up calling thompson. However, Dreams was a dream I would go back there anyday and even know there were families there we as a couple, weren't ever bothered by kids etc. We didn't bothered with the preferred club we felt like we had enough luxury but i suppose it's personal preference. A great couples place it was our first holiday and was made so special by the amazing service here!

Room Tip: Building 7 the rooms seem to be more updated and the third floor has really tall rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Laura G

Date of review - 2nd August 2013

Dear Laura,

On behalf of the entire management and staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are delighted to hear your time at our beautiful resort exceeded your expectations, we are very happy that you enjoyed our vast food selection and that your were happy with your room allocation, we appreciate all of your wonderful feedback.

We do hope you return in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Pros-
Location (closer to Santo Domingo if you plan on taking a tour, great beach)
Staff (most of them are very nice, all of them say the generic "Es un placer" after you say "Gracias)
Food Taste (probably best taste at French and Asian restaurant)
Cleanliness of rooms and overall resort
A/C in the rooms works well
Entertainment was multilingual and mostly interesting.
Coffee shop is a great feature that we used daily.

Cons-
Buffet is disgusting (food that should be kept cool is warm despite coolers and ice underneath, this is probably due to the fact that the buffet is not air conditioned, also the food there is gross)
Lack of air conditioning in most places (the lobby and all but 2 restaurants lack air conditioning, you start sweating instantly especially in 87 degrees and 70%+ humidity)
Food Temperature (as said earlier this is a major flaw in this resort, 3 of 4 of us got the stomach flu towards the end of the resort, our flight back almost had to make an emergency landing due to this issue)
Some staff (very few) are a little bit dishonest, it seems that they will just tell you what you want to here you just leave them alone. Make sure you understand Spanish as some staff do not understand English.
Walls are so thin that you here everything from the neighbors, their TV , phone, conversations, etc. Make sure you bring ear plugs. Called the front desk to complain in the middle of the night and responsiveness was good, we could hear the phone ringing next door seconds after.
Try to avoid the lobby because they nag you to try to sell you some vacation/spa packages.
We traveled with a 13 old who was considered an adult in terms of cost, but could not utilize adult amenities such as eating at the french restaurant, however they remedied this situation by sitting us in a different restaurant but letting us order off of the French restaurant menu.


On a side note, we took 3 excursions
Santo Domingo tour was beautiful, we bought it from Amstar tour desk in the lobby, it was really hot but we saw most of the highlights of the colonial city.
We went motor boating with GriGri Divers (the resort dive shop), it was really fun. We were drove our own motor boat along the cost, to the Chavon river, and Caso de Campo where the celebrities live.
Also we went ATV/Bugging with Alphi Tours Ranch( also a resort approved vendor located on premises) it was pretty bad. Our buggy broke down 4 times and got a flat tire. Did not seem very safe.


Overall we will not visit this Dreams property again. Iberostar is much higher quality, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 700jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire management and staff I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your time with us.

We are very disappointed to learn your time with us did not reach your expectations, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the vast selection of food in our buffet, this is a very busy place morning, noon and night and we usually get very positive feedback, however we are sorry this did not reach out to you as expected.

We are sorry to learn you have been poorly, and certainly hope you are feeling better now, there are a variety of reasons why people can become ill when visiting a different country such as over indulgence of rich foods and alcohol, drinking coconut based drinks which are known to be a natural laxative, over exposure to the heat and sun and differences in the oils in which the food is cooked in, once again we genuinely hope you are feeling better now.

We thank you for pointing out any issues you had with us, we appreciate all feedback our much valued guests leave with us as this can only help us to improve in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews