We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$258
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Flamencos Aparthotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$61
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Eden Hotel(Bayahibe)
$60
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whala!Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
$69
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
$70
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,171)
Filter reviews
12,171 results
Traveler rating
7,670
2,958
1,050
312
181
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,670
2,958
1,050
312
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafepreferred clubpreferred poolmain pooleddie murphypablo picassofruit boatjungle restaurantinfinity poololio restaurantswim up barbutler serviceentertainment teamglass of champagnela romanacoffee shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,461 - 5,466 of 12,171 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had such a wonderful time here. They thought of everything to make you feel relaxed and at home. Food and drinks were great and the pools were amazing. I loved the selection of resturants to choose from. And I have never seen such a beautiful beach. The rooms were great with great housekeeping, but you may want to bring some extra hangers for the closet. In the basic gardenview room, there wasn't a ton of places for your clothes. But that's minor. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't bother to get the ocean view room. The view isn't that great. Get out of your room and go for a drink instead!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Ashley A

Date of review - 16th July 2013

Dear Ashley,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are so happy that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are glad that you were happy with your allocated room and we are very grateful for your positive feedback about our immaculate grounds

we do hope you return once again as it would be our pleasure to serve you in the future.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful week at this lovely resort. We were extremely impressed by the hospitality of the entire staff. Of particular mention is the entertainment team who put such effort into making everyone enjoy their stay. Pablo is a gem. Jacob is a terrific aerobics instructor. Love those beach aerobics!!! Every single employee from the waitstaff in each restaurant to the housekeeping staff, grounds crew to concierge and reception, coffee shop to the "fruit lady" on the beach with the grand smile and the bartenders and towel hut fellows greeted us cordially and with such sincerity that it made our day. They are a model for others in the hospitality business. The landscaping is quite pretty and the beach kept well groomed. The restrooms are cleaned constantly as is the entire property. We enjoyed all the restaurant options. The Jungle is a special treat so watch for its open nights. Food quality is really very good with a great variety offered. Fresh fruit is plentiful. Cocktails and wine are all also nice. We appreciated the consideration given by the concierge and front desk folks who assisted in an issue that required a room change and made us very happy. Treat yourself to the Spa it is amazing! We would highly recommend Dreams La Romana to all!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Lorraine S

Date of review - 16th July 2013

Dear Lorraine,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear your time at our wonderful resort exceeded your expectations, we are so pleased that you were happy with the service you received from our staff, here at Dreams La Romana we pride ourselves on the excellent service we give to our much valued guests.

we do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our second trip to a Dreams Resort and we were not disappointed. Last spring we enjoyed Dreams Tulum and thought we'd try a different property. Like Tulum, it is not the most convenient resort to the airport but the solitude and quiet of the property was a priority.

(Note that there is a public beach next to the resort but even during the busy Easter week this was not an issue in any way. It is actually a nice opportunity to step off the resort without having to get in a car.)

The only reason we ranked this as "Very Good" instead of "Excellent" in this case was that the food was less fabulous than it was at their Mexican resort. But, as it compares to other all-inclusives in the Caribbean, the food was quite good. The fresh juice bar at the breakfast was fabulous surprise. It took the edge of the heat and set you up for a great day.

The staff was wonderful and entertainment staff was enthusiastic without being overwhelming. The watersports were great as well and the chairs by the pool and beach were adequately available without running out at the crack of dawn to throw down towels. One way they guarantee chair availability is that they restrict the number of towels that you can take at one time -- a definite improvement over the situation we encountered in Tulum.

I would recommend if you are traveling with children to get the Family Room if you can afford the up-charge. I'm not sure that the Preferred Club up-charge is worthwhile for a single room since the preferred beach doesn't actually lead down to the water even if the it comes with free wifi and paper. The extra toiletries and snacks might not the cash that you could spend elsewhere.

The extra room in the Family roomwhen traveling with a tween and young teen was definitely worth the extra money. A single room would have been large enough for us if my boys shared a bed. (In Tulum there was a wide couch that did not require for them to bunk together.) They adored having their own beds, and we adored having a separate room. There was a deck connecting the two rooms so that we could also let our room partners sleep but still hang out with a family member in our "space" in the morning. It is also right across from a pool so when my husband and I left the beach, we could let the boys hang at the pool (with a pool bar for re-hydrating) and still keep an eye on them. It was also centrally located to the breakfast buffet, a pool bar, the beach bar/cafe, and the dominican restaurant.

The room was clean and comfortable. When we first arrived there were a few small ants in the bathroom but the staff came with a rather pleasantly scented fumigants the next day. We had no additional pests after that.

The spa was wonderful. After getting massages, we were welcome to use the whirlpools in the spas garden. Even when it started raining, it was a relaxing oasis.

Finally, we enjoyed and utilized the teen center. The younger boy was allowed in there until late at night. They met a number of kids their age to hang out with during the day. It was also convenient when we went to the more upscale restaurants for dinner that have fewer seats and longer wait times. We would put our names on the list and the boys would go to the teen center around the corner. We could then grab a drink and some alone time on the patio while waiting for the buzzer to announce our table.

Room Tip: Avoid a bottom floor room. As the building have long hallways connecting the pool with the restaurant and such, on a higher floor you will have less foot traffic getting to dinner rather than their room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worstmomintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - worstmomintheworld

Date of review - 15th July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are very pleased you were happy with your allocated room and that your family enjoyed our core zone area.

We appreciate your feedback and should you return to our resort it would be our pleasure to serve you once more.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the resort from 25th June-9th July and got married there as well.

WEDDING....dream!!!
Firstly ,we would like to say big THANK YOU to Jenny, our wedding coordinator, she did a great job and exceeded our expectations. Everything was very well organised to the smallest details just as we asked for even better than I imagined it. Our wedding was stress free. We were enjoying the days at the resort prior to our wedding day as jenny took care of everything. we had one meeting and job was done. Couldn't fault anything from cake, which was very tasty (much bigger than we needed), decorations, photographers, DJ, flowers, camera man, service during reception and cocktail hour to food, which was delicious. And the surroundings very ideal.

We used the TROPICAL STUDIOS for our wedding photos and the guys were great as well as the camera man! We are glad we had chosen The Ultimate wedding package. Kenny took the most amazing photos around the resort. we got lots of compliments for the pictures on how good they are, and Jean Carlo done excellent photo-shoot with us outside the resort, if it's available it's well recommended also!

We were party of 17 and we were all allocated the rooms in the same block as we requested.
Each block had a security guard. Our rooms were cleaned everyday before 11am. great always had cleans towels and bedding. Room could do with a bit of updating but it was very clean as well as the resort.. The time in the room was only minimum as there was so much to do. Minibar always refilled.

ENTERTAINMENT
So far the best we have experienced.
We received sundial every evening which listed all the activities for the following day. Entertainment team was very good too, lots of exercise with Pablo Picasso and Jacob and the evening shows were also good. We were party of different ages 2-70 and everyone was happy to watch what was going on. Our children went to kids club most of the time, which had its own daily activities.

BARS
Plenty and all had good service but at the weekends they did get a bit busy, would be nice if you could help yourself to juice or beer so you wouldn't have to queue up until they make all the cocktails.

RESTAURANTS
We ate in all the restaurants apart from Portofino.

Buffet was good would happily eat there everyday, but we wanted to try the other restaurants too. There was plenty of choice, every day different menu (Chinese night, Italian, gala night, American, Dominican...) and always tables available even though we were a big group.

Grill probably best one, we loved the steak there and eating on the seaside deck very romantic.

Bordeaux French rest. the best decorated and nice food, adults only.

pizza snack bar was a bit disappointing, the chef was always busy and making pizzas but what let it down were greedy people who took sometimes the whole pizza and left you waiting in the queue again for a slice. When someone just skipped in and took the whole pizza again. Not good when you have a child with you. gave up waiting there and didn't return.

BBQ on the beach and burger bar very good

Himitsu Chinese rest. very good.

Oceana loved it, nice setting and great food had lobster and steak at no extra charge.

Jungle rest Dominican food we didn't have a good experience, waited for a table which didn't bother us, but as we sat down we were given menu, and the waiter haven't returned to us for 25 min even that we attempted to get at least the drinks. so we walked out.
Otherwise everywhere else we got a great service so maybe just a bad night.

We didn't experienced any waiting time for the restaurants (only in Jungle). we usually ate around 7pm mostly as a party of 8.

CAFE Excellent, lots of coffee choices from hot or cold plus cakes

GARDENS
always looking beautiful

BEACH
Nice, plenty of sunbeds anytime, nice that you can order drinks from your sunbed. Plenty of shade too. Loved the fruit boat.

Pools good, nice when they had the bouncy castles to slide from into the pool for the children.

Overall we loved everything about our wedding and our holiday, there were only few bad things I mentioned, but they didn't spoiled our time there and we would love to go back anytime.

Thank you

Room Tip: block 2 was quiet and near to the infinity pool with bar and close to buffet and 3 other restaurants. near kids club too. Interconnecting rooms and see view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andrea-OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Andrea-OB

Date of review -13th July 2013

Dear Andrea,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are very grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted that you chose to host your wedding here and are so pleased that your big day went smoothly and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to Jenny.

We thank you for your feedback regarding our entertainment team and we are very pleased they helped make your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We hope you return again in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our whole family had a fabulous time, the people were so friendly, helpful, caring, happy and just plain wonderful every day. We all loved one guy in particular who called himself Pablo Picasso and he even joined us several times for our dinners. He was so entertaining and lovable and he sure seemed to love our whole family. All the people working at the hotel were so helpful and pleasant to talk to about everything. It was always fun to see what they left in our hotel rooms.

Room Tip: We all had rooms close together and they were all wonderful, cool and comfortable on the lower level.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Karen Ann C

Date of review - 13th July 2013

Dear Karen,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are very grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time at our resort, and we will certainly pass on your wonderful comments about Pablo Picasso who made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We hope you return to our hotel again as it would be our pleasure to serve you once more

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews