We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Dreams La Romana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our stay at Dreams La Romana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our whole family had a fabulous time, the people were so friendly, helpful, caring, happy and just plain wonderful every day. We all loved one guy in particular who called himself Pablo Picasso and he even joined us several times for our dinners. He was so entertaining and lovable and he sure seemed to love our whole family. All the people working at the hotel were so helpful and pleasant to talk to about everything. It was always fun to see what they left in our hotel rooms.

Room Tip: We all had rooms close together and they were all wonderful, cool and comfortable on the lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Karen Ann C

Date of review - 13th July 2013

Dear Karen,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are very grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear you had a fabulous time at our resort, and we will certainly pass on your wonderful comments about Pablo Picasso who made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We hope you return to our hotel again as it would be our pleasure to serve you once more

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,416
    2,595
    913
    274
    155
See reviews for
3,605
4,566
118
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel grounds are beautiful...rooms nice..clean..small terraces.. restaurants attractive and food good...the biggest con is there are no elevators. We requested 3rd floor which we got. It was near the pool and the noise from outside very loud. We asked for a room change and on a lower floor. There was nothing available except a 3rd floor room. When the temperature is in the 90's and very humid out climbing those stairs is exhausting. They also have a dress code of long pants for men in the restaurants. We packed casual and my husband only had one pair of long pants and they do reinforce this. A few of the restaurants are outdoor and it remains warm and humid in the early evening so this was a little uncomfortable. They do not allow people selling items on the beach but before we even got checked in they had someone trying to give us "free money saving coupons" to be used during our stay. He would not take no for an answer even waiting for us outside the restaurant. Long story short he wanted to sell us a time share....ok to try but they don't take no for an answer. After a long trip to get there the last thing you want to deal with is someone who won't leave you alone.

Room Tip: No elevators...so if you are elderly ..handicapped...over-weight....not in good health or just plain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nana91942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - nana91942

Date of review - 13th July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we are very grateful for the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all of the comments our guests leave with us, this Is a fantastic way of us making improvements in the future should we feel it necessary,

We hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be a pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hi all,

We originally didn't book this hotel as we wanted to try some where different but the closer we got to the holiday we realised that we loved the hotel so much the previous year we decided to swap, as we didn't want to be disappointed by going some where else and it not being as good. I am still glad we made the decision to swap however there were small problems that have lowered our views of the hotel.

The main problem for us was the staff at the pool bar, my fiance waited 15 minutes without even being acknowledged everyone else who came got served straight away. We did complain to the concierge about this and they were extremely helpful and said they would look in to the problem straight away.

The other thing that disappointed me was the lack of branded alcohol at the bars around the hotel last year near enough all bars had Malibu and Smirnoff vodka at least but this year only the lobby bar did. They also need to have more cocktail menus as we didn't see one any where (we did mention this to Louise the E-concierge and she said she will ask about it)

At the weekend the hotel gets really busy when all the locals pour in to the hotel so if you are looking for a relaxing time then you will be disappointed, during the week however it was lovely and quiet at both the pools.

Now on to the more positive parts of the holiday:-

The room - We requested a renovated room in block 4 with a pool view which is exactly what we asked for which we were very pleased about, the beds were really comfy everything was clean the maid could of been a bit more consistent with her time schedule as sometimes the room was clean by 10 then other days when we returned at 4 it still hadn't been done which resulted in us not having our room cleaned that day but its no big deal not the end of the world!

Food - We got to try all the restaurants the food was lovely there is a large variety in the buffet which was all very nice, I am not sure how people can say it is all horrible and they can't find anything to eat I think they need to lower their expectation a little bit. We had room service a few times which was nice they never got the order wrong and it usually always arrived within 30-40 minutes as they state when ordering.

Pools - Lovely and clean I am not sure what they use to clean the pools but both mine and my fiance's swim wear turned out yellow, and I am not sure if it will wash out as i haven't tried it yet.

The beach - gorgeous Caribbean sea very calm, lots of sun beds so you wont struggle finding some where to lie.

Entertainment staff - All very friendly especially Pablo Picasso who never fails to make me laugh, the entertainment staff all work very hard.

Dreams corner - We booked this private pool for our anniversary it is lovely and quiet, the pool is lovely as long as the filter is working to suck in the little bits of the trees, it is right on the sea so lovely views.

Concierge - Very helpful if you have any problems don't hesitate to ask them they will do their best to help you with whatever your needs.

Louise - Thanks to Louise for organising everything for us before we arrived and whilst at the hotel, if you want any information about the hotel or want to request a room just give her a email she is brilliant.

We did have a enjoyable holiday and came home really relaxed we maybe will return one day but we have other parts of the world we need to visit first.

Room Tip: Block 4 has renovated rooms but can have some noise from by the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Sophie L

Date of review - 12th July 2013

Dear Sophie,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear that as a repeat guest we have met with your expectations, and despite a few issues you had another great time at our resort.

We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned who made your time with us even more enjoyable, and we are very pleased to hear that you would return again,

We do hope that happens as it would be our pleasure to serve you once more.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I won't be able to capture everything that makes this resort spectacular, but I will try...

I did a lot of research before booking this trip. I was traveling with 10 adults and 2 babies and I wanted to ensure everyone had a fun, safe vacation. Fortunately, Dreams lives up to its glowing TripAdvisor reviews.

The beach was truly breathtaking. Standing in the Caribbean, I could see my own feet and fish swimming by. The sand was extremely fine. It really was paradise.

The food was really good. We were there 7 days and never had to eat at the same restaurant twice. There were tons of options at the buffet -- and each restaurant had extensive menu offerings. I have to say, with all the food we had my favorite was the pizza from the stand next to the main pool.

I had been worried about getting some kind of illness from the food or water due to some reviews I read here -- but I didn't get sick the entire time we were there. I only used bottled water (even for brushing my teeth, so maybe that helped). I *did* eat and drink way too much a few times, but I'm not going to blame that on anyone but myself. :)

We booked through Apple Vacations (and I highly recommend that -- the on-site reps were extremely helpful and I felt that we were treated like royalty). Darling was especially helpful in making our dinner reservations every night so we never had to wait in line or anything. And everyone was super friendly to the babies in our group, which we all appreciated.

Picasso was a lot of fun and made us feel important by remembering us. He's really a delightful person.

One day we walked into Bayahibe and thought we'd do a lobster dinner there. The village felt a bit unsafe and unwelcoming to me. We turned back and opted to pay for lobster at the resort. I'd skip the walk to town, unless you are just dying to get off the resort. Personally, I could have spent every waking hour at Dreams I felt that at home -- and I truly miss it! Wish we had opted to stay for 10 days instead of 7.

The rooms were clean and updated, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, the grounds beautiful and well-kept. We couldn't have expected a better resort.

Room Tip: Book through Apple Vacations. You'll get a transfer to the hotel and be treated like royalty whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Lunaleah

Date of review - 11th July 2013

Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the use of our beach area and we are glad you enjoyed our extensive food selection.

We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned who made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

we hope you return in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comines-Warneton, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

it is already finish now, just came home and al ready back to work..... very hard after a great time there and to be more than 15 ours on the road..... but we have nice pictures and very good memories, sooo they cant take away this from us, and we al ready thinking to come back next year, the decision will fall in november, so lets fingers cross, THANKS TO ALL OF YOU MY FRIENDS FOR THE EXCELLENTE HOLLIDAY !!!!!!!

Room Tip: plz take the prefered club for the quitness, so you can learn more of your family, but there many mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Frederik V

Date of review - 11th July 2013\

Dear Frederik,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are so pleased to hear that your time at our wonderful hotel met with your expectations and we very much appreciate all of your wonderful feedback.

We do hope you return for a 4th time as it would be our pleasure to serve you once more.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family and i spent 9 days and 10 nights at this resort...from start to finish this resort was immaculate and the staff worked "extremely "hard 24/7 but especially on 4th of July to make sure everything was perfect. "mr.pablo picasso" was the best and made sure we attended all events by the pool and the beach and was always on hand to let us know the daily festivities as well as getting a notification in ur room daily !!! Hector was an amazing bartender at the preferred pool in the afternoon and Estafania was great as well in the morning!!! Kenya was also amazing as she set up all of our dinner reservations....she was very sweet and accommodating!!! We went on two excursions and we had a blast. We went on the atv's and buggies and got to see the river and went into town and see how people lived and how they made sugar cane which was delicious!! We also took the boat out to Soana Island which was gorgeous and had a great time with dancing on the boat and the island! when we got there we were served great food and were treated great as well...on the way back we took a speed boat where we later went to a natural ocean pool and got to jump off the boats and explore the island a little more. The island was beautiful and well worth the trip. the staff made the boat ride the best with dancing and partying!!! My only bad comment is that the trip went way toooo fast!!! Met a lot of people and got to spend the week with them!!! Amazing staff!!! Keep up the good work and thanks for a great time!!!!!!!!!!!! And btw the beds are awesome...ur gonna wanna take one home!!!!!!!!!! Miss u picasso, hector, Estafania, and Kenia!!!!!!! although its nice not to wear a bracelet....every bar should have top shelf alcohol either by showing room key or room #!!! it’s nice to have the option to go to another pool but if ur paying for top shelf u shouldn't have to be designated to one pool. But overall an amazing "yet quick" time!!!! Thanks to everyone who made our vacation very special and memorable!!!! Keep up the good work!!!! And thanks for an amazing vacation!!! I already miss my mama-juana!!! Love Ann and nelson!!!! See you soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Ann S

Date of review - 10th July 2013

Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear your time at our wonderful hotel exceeded your expectations, we are so pleased you enjoyed our independence day celebrations, we certainly had a lot of fun!

We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned who helped make your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Dreams for 6 days 5 nights. The experience overall was great. The staff was great, they met our needs when ever we needed something or had a question. The food, drinks and room service was good. On arrival at the hotel my fiance and i met two awsome people, a luggage porter and a hotel advisor Luis and Shirley. Those too people really met our needs, from the time of arrival at the hotel till the time we left; also we up graded our stay to the priviledged club; it was a dream come true. Thanx to Luis. It was a incredible vacation, cant wait to go back. From Connecticut

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. If extra money is available. I would recommend a up grade to the priviledged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, Resident Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - H L

Date of review- 9th July 2013

Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us

We are delighted to hear that your time with us exceeded your expectations, and we thank you for your feedback, we will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned who helped make your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We do hope that you return in the future as it would be our pleasure to be your hosts once more.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#19 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,420 reviews
35.0 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,697 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing