We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$204
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Gran Dominicus(Bayahibe)
$272
$149
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Eden Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$60
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
$70
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taino Accomodation(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$175
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (12,338)
Filter reviews
12,338 results
Traveler rating
7,793
2,989
1,057
315
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,793
2,989
1,057
315
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaside grillworld cafepreferred clubpreferred poolmain pooleddie murphypablo picassofruit boatjungle restaurantinfinity poololio restaurantswim up barbutler serviceentertainment teamglass of champagnela romanacoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
5,612 - 5,617 of 12,338 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Dreams from 1 June for 14 nights to celebrate our 3rd Wedding Anniversary. The hotel had decorated our room with balloons and a banner on the door on our arrival, which was a lovely touch. We had fruit in the room too. We had a wonderful holiday and may return one day.

Our room was in block 2. I had emailed several times enquiring about a couple of things and a possible upgrade to the ‘Preferred Club’ but had no reply. The room was large, excellent air con, with a comfortable bed, mini fridge with soft drinks, water and beer. There was also a coffee machine but it didn’t work. We weren’t bothered as the coffee in the World Cafe was very nice. The only thing we didn’t like about the room was the old bath and shower which needs replacing and updating. We understand that some other blocks had newly refurbished bathrooms. Be aware that you can hear everything from the rooms next door, which has been mentioned in previous reviews and we found this very frustrating especially early hours of the morning.

We stayed round the infinity pool most days which was especially lovely early on a morning when it was peaceful. The view from the pool overlooking the sea was gorgeous it was a typical Caribbean Picture card view. Poolside bar and swim-up pool bar were great with friendly staff and lovely drinks. Our favourite was the ‘Dirty Banana’ and recommend you try it ! We went on the beach one afternoon which made a pleasant change. Sea was lovely and refreshing. There is a fruit boat offering tropical fruits.

We booked the private pool for our Wedding Anniversary 10 June along with a meal at lunch time and waiter service which was $200 dollars and well worth it. Thank you to Victor who made our day so special and was very attentive. We also had a Romantic Meal in the Gazebo on the evening of our anniversary which was beautiful with rose petals and candles on the floor and a beautifully laid table, costing $150. We also ordered a special bottle of wine which was delicious but we can recommend sticking to their champagne as it was very nice, as was the normal wine too. Again the meal was lovely and thanks to Wilson our waiter for the night, who kindly took some great photos for us too.

The grounds are beautiful and kept pristine by the ground staff.

We found most staff spoke reasonable English but we did try our very limited Spanish and they seemed to appreciate the effort.

Each evening an information sheet is posted under the door, giving you details of next day’s weather, what restaurants are open and activities available. Not all restaurants are open every day which is a bit of a shame.

We had breakfast in the World Cafe most morning as well as lunch. There is lots of choice and quality of food was very good. Jeorge, Benny and Danny we found were very helpful and deserve a mention.
The restaurants enable you to have a varied holiday experience which we liked, as we don’t always want to go to the same place on an evening. We were disappointed with the Italian, enjoyed the Asian and Mexican. The Seaside Restaurant had lovely views but the service let it down for us, waiting a long time to be served. The Ocean Restaurant was very nice too with beautiful views. We didn’t get to try the French as we were ill that night.

We found the staff welcoming and if you asked how they were always replied ‘ Exellente’ . The only staff member we found rude and annoying was our maid, whose aim was getting money out of us and other visitors. She even told my husband, after coming into the room she was going on leave and she had done our room. He gave her some money but she was there when we left and again knocking on the door asking when we were going. Therefore watch out for Elba.

We were bitten badly by mosquitoes and advise you to take plenty of repellent. To be honest I am not sure if this works and even bought some from the onsite shop, which stocks everything you need.

We had a lovely holiday and thanks to the Dreams La Romana for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room. Take plenty of mosquito repellent.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

just got back from 2 weeks in the dreams hotel, in total there was 14 of use for a wedding, after reading some reviews had mixed feelings, the new road ment our transfer was only 50 mins and not 2 hours, cocktails on arrival, room was great king size bed tv with english chanels, bathroom was standard, fews tips if you have booked to go ask for budwiser otherwise you will get local beer not as good can only get bud in main lobby bar and do run out for few hours, can get corona in the mexican restraunt, spirts say they are jack daniels ect but seem to be waterd down unless you are staying in the prefered club they seem to be the real stuff. main restraunt is ok but not the best have to ask for simple things like chips, we ate at all restraunts and the steak grill was our best and its also open for lunch lovely sandwiches, be aware that the slush machines they use in cocktails have natural laxatives in so only have a few, near enough everybody in our group suffered with the runs for a day or 2, staff was brill would do anything for you beany on the water sports was a gem, we also hired the private pool area for the day was a nice break, wedding coordinator jenny was brill really friendly wedding went all smooth nothing could of gone better, room service is 24/7 and is free!!! once the loby bar shuts at 2am you can go into the main restraunt and just have beer till 6am... over all great holiday just main restraunt was a little bit of a let down but everything else was perfect :) p.s just watch out for the snakes as you most likely will see one

Room Tip: we was in block 2
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Kerry b

Date of review - 19th June 2013

Dear Kerry,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that you chose to hold your wedding day at our resort, and we are so pleased that everything went smoothly, we will certainly pass on your kind comments to Jenny.

We hope that you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are going to spend our yearly 3-week summer vacation once again in Dreams La Romana this year - the third time in a row. To us, just everything is great: The staff is always welcoming, attentive, friendly and helpful, independent of tips. The variety and quality of food is fantastic, and so are the drinks. The rooms are always clean and well-kept. The pools are nice, the beach is beautiful and calm. The entertainment program is complete and not at all pushy. We love also the fact that there are no other hotels around, just the more or less genuine village of Bayahibe at a short stroll's distance (where you can book a large variety of adventure trips or take a regular bus to La Romana or Higuey). Our main reason to come here was - apart from the great reviews - the "Core Zone" which is the youth's area, where all sorts of sports, games and entertainment are offered. This is absolutely great for our now 13-year-old son. He always meets youths from all over the world and we don't need to worry about him. There are just very few tiny drawbacks: One is the cost of WIFI, the other is that apparently the Menu of the a-la-carte Restaurants does not seem to change from year to year - which is only relevant for you if you stay there one year after the other - just as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank winne1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Winnie 1505

Date of review - 19th June 2013

Dear Winnie,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback and we are very pleased that we exceed your expectations, we very much look forward to your return visit.

Regarding the WIFI we are working towards having free WIFI in our resort, although we do not have a specific date as yet, we hope this will be in place soon.

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Dreams La Romana is a beautiful beach resort. The grounds are lovely and the resort is very clean. The resort is about 2 hours from the Santo Domingo airport or about an hour from the Punta Cana airport. There were many more Europeans than Americans which makes for great conversation. Make sure to walk around and discover all the places not on the map. There are hammocks and tidal pools to find.
Pros: The room was exactly as pictured, down to the rose petals on the sink and the mini bar stocked with soda, water, and presidente. There are full size toiletries and the A/C works well. Even though we were close to the pool, we had no trouble sleeping. There is a show, casino, and discoteque every night.The dancers work their tales off to entertain. The NBA championshp was happening during our stay and they had it on a big screen on the beach and/or at the bar.There is one pool with a swim up bar and the other main pool has a bar off to the side. Lots of chairs, a hot tub, and a kiddie pool at the main pool. The beach has fabulous sand, rocky "cliffs", and watersport areas to meet all your needs with lots of chairs. Just a quick swim off the beach there is a large reef with many colorful fauna. The entertainment schedule is full of activities for all ages-even teenagers. They even have a "dominican snow"/rain schedule. The staff are very courteous and willing to assist. Tips are not expected but greatly appreciated. There are many dining options available, including room service, with no reservations required. In the afternoon you will find a fruit bar and hamburger station on the beach. There are lots of wait staff walking around to take your drink order if you are willing to wait for them to come back around. If you want to get a souveneir, just off the beach boundary of the resort are many "stores" to peruse. Frank in the final stall has been there for more than 10 years and will bargain with you.
Cons: Many of the staff do not speak or do not undersand English well. Few of the bartenders can make the drinks on the menu nor can they make a drink with more than two ingrediants. Stay away from the seafood- all of it and avoid the bar by the seaside grill! The food in general was not great but there was a lot of variety.
One major annoyance were the agressive salespeople. We were confronted on the beach, at the pool, just as we came down the stairs, and while eating. They were selling everything from excersions to future vacations within the parent company and even picturess with animals. Even when you said no they would say, "You know I work on commission" to try to guilt you into purchasing. Sometimes they would offer coupons to the resort in exchange for your time. We were there to relax and wanted no schedule so we were quite annoyed.
We only had the VIP mentioned to us a check in and declined. From what we could tell it would be good if you want to be alone. The VIP pool was very quiet and the VIP beach was next to the main beach with no direct access to the water without accessing the main beach. We were told the rooms were the same but included wi-fi. They had a seperate dining area but the same food.
Overall the beauty of this area and the friendliness of the staff make up for the lackluster food and drinks. It is easy to enjoy this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kidsrgonewilltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - kidsrgonewilltrv

Date of review - 18th June 2013,

Dear Guest,

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that certain aspects of your time at our wonderful resort met with your expectations, we are very happy that you were pleased with the service you received and we are glad that you were impressed with your allocated room.

However, we are disappointed to learn that other aspects of your time at our resort failed to fulfill your expectations, we do apologize that you had a negative experience with the staff who sell excursions, we have these staff in place as a convenience to our much valued guests who wish to go on an excursion. Usually a simple "No thank you" will suffice, however we are sorry if this was not your experience.

And lastly, we are sorry you did not enjoy our extensive food selection, along with our world café buffet, beach burger bar and pizza's by the pool we have 7 a'la carte restaurants for our guests to enjoy, we are disappointed that this did not reach out to you as expected.

We do hope you consider returning to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again

kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've been to other sections of the Dominican Republic numerous times (Punta Cana and Puerto Plata). I traveled to Dreams last summer. We opted for their "Signature Club" experience. The grounds and beachfront are truly beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, however I had two main complaints.
1. When I leave the country I want to hear the music and experience the culture of that country. The music was almost all instrumental salsa, merengue and bachata. (Latin elevator music) YAWN!!!!!
2. I went their on a romantic getaway with the girlfriend. You could literally hear what the people were doing in the next room & I'm not talking loud passionate love making...I mean even the bed side conversations could be heard! (That's might do for a local dive hotel on a few hour stay, but not for the better part of a week.

Due to the previously mentioned points I certainly would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOSE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - JOSE C

Date of review - 18th June 2013

Dear Jose,.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us.

We are disappointed to learn you would not consider returning to our resort, and we apologize that your time with us did not meet with your expectations.

Regarding the music, please allow me to clarify, we are hosts to guests from all around the world and we try our very hardest to accommodate everyone, we play a mixture of music around the resort from Merengue, bachata and salsa to American music, we are sorry this did not fulfill your expectations.

We do hope you reconsider your comment about not returning to our resort as it would very much be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews