We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"EXCELLENTE" vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"EXCELLENTE" vacation”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just came back from a 7 day vacation at Dreams La Romana. It is simply amazing!!!!! The beach, the grounds, the room, lobby, entertainers! The service is amazing and the staff is beyond words. I do not have anything to complain about. Picasso, Veronica, Jacob, Omega and Jeffrey were my favorite entertainers. They made my week better than ever! I recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a great time! I will be back in July!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessia514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Alessia514

Date of review - 27th March 2013

Dear Alessia,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we appreciate you taking time out to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful resort exceeded your expectations and we are very grateful for your wonderful feedback, we will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff mentioned who made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,792
    2,688
    952
    278
    159
See reviews for
3,812
4,777
125
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

So here is the breakdown. We went with our 9 year old girl and some family with their 12 yr old girl. The kiddos seem to love it. We liked it but had some disappointments.

Location: 2+ hours from Santo Domingo. 1hr from Punta Cana. 2 stars

Food: variety is plentiful. All types of food. Taste is very average. Nothing was wow. More of a focus on having variety than having high quality food. 3 stars

Hotel room: pillows seemed old, upgraded room view was ok, AC was iffy. They do stock the fridge good for you and that with room service is included in the all-inclusive package. 3 stars

Beach and pool: very established beach with great views and awesome sand. Water was great and the pool was nice. 4 stars

Kids stuff: they have plenty for kids of all ages. Free stuff and stuff for a fee. I think the kiddos would give it 5 stars.

Customer Service: very average! There were some highlights with the staff, but overall many we're more concerned with doing there own thing rather than helping the guest. 3 stars

Value: with everything said the vacation was great with a few hiccups. But the cost of the vacation was a great value. 5 stars

Casino and cafe house is nice: 4 stars.

Misc: overall I would give this place 4 stars but the thing that annoyed me the most was every day they were trying to get me to spend money. They closed a restaurant down for a 35 dollar per person lobster dinner. This caused a back up in the other restaurants. The tour sales people were also too aggressive. I understand how this works, I have been to other Caribbean tourist places, but the Dreams were too much.

If you get a deal, I would do it. But if this is your first vacation or a special vacation you may be upset with those hiccups. But if this is just a getaway with the family you should be very happy.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank ajcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Presently at resort, Stay is from Mar.23-Mar.30
Pros
Upgrade to Preferred Club for best pool if you like a smaller, quieter pool with padded loungers.
Food has been very good in both the buffet and specialty restaurants.
Rooms are well maintained in PC area. Room on bottom floor near pool so is very handy.
Was approached by The Unlimited Vacation Club but declined and they have not bothered us.
Grounds well kept.
Cons
Very poor beach for walking and has been windy the last couple of days so haven't snorkelled yet.
Beach also too crowded. Wall to wall people. Been to Punta Cana many times and found the beach could be better maintained as far as raking up seaweed and debris from ocean. Seen a plastic car oil bottle floating today.
The beach has a rocky ledge jutting out so walking any distance on the beach is impossible.
I had read how calm and clear the water was here but I have found that this week so far.
Will go back to Punta Cana for a walking beach and nice sand. Areas in Cuba are also more superior to this beach.
Lobby is very small and lacking atmosphere.
Entertainment is the run of the mill that you get at all inclusives. There was a good group called the JEERK but missed this on Saturday night because our flight arrived in the late evening.
Bayahibe village was an average DP village.
We did have to change rooms because AC wasn't working and also had a woodpecker pecking a 6" hole in the ceiling of our balcony. We were told that woodpecker are very common in this area and play havoc with the palm trees. I think they are also playing havoc at this resort because I have heard them numerous times pecking away on the buildings. The sound is annoying and will wake you up around 6 in the morning.
The spa is a bit of a joke because you cannot use the sauna unless you pay for their other services. The steam room is out of commission right now because they are going to renovate it.
We will not come back to this resort. Didn't realize how much we missed a walking beach until we didn't have it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spindrifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Spindrifts

Date of review - 26th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that certain aspects of your vacation have met with your expectations, we are pleased to hear that you are enjoying the benefits of staying in our wonderful Preferred Club and we are happy that you have enjoyed our vast food selection.

However we are disappointed that certain aspects of your vacation have not met with your expectations, we apologize that you have not enjoyed your time on our beach, we usually get lots of positive feedback about this area and we work hard to keep it maintained to a very high standard, but we do thank you for pointing out the issues that you have.

As you are still in our resort, please do not hesitate to contact any of our management team should you wish to discuss any of your issues further, it would be our pleasure to assist you.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wateringbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 and had a great holiday. We loved the fact you could snorkel right off the beach and see some great underwater life along the reef. We aren't early risers but we never had a problem getting sunbeds on the beach (I do think it may have been different around the pools) We also had some great excursions which we booked through the diving club next door and not with our holiday rep.
We found the food good but there could sometimes be a bit of a wait to eat at some of the restaurants other than the international buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ibram66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Ibram66

Date of review -26th March 2013

Dear Guest.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your time at our wonderful hotel met with your expectations, and we are very grateful for your feedback.

We do hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just came back from a 3 night stay at Dreams in March 2013 and wanted to emphasize how accurate BostonhikerBoston's review was. The beach is far too small, overcrowded, with limited play space so do NOT recommend the beach for young families. As my kids were not there, we just avoided it and stayed poolside. Lovely grounds, good meals, excellent service but oh my goodness, what an annoyance those representatives were. We ended up avoiding the lobby altogether and they would still seek us out. This is not an exaggeration- there was a minimum of 5 approaches a day, and that was even when we were deliberately avoiding contact!
When I tried to say (for the 10th time) I wasn't interested, one of them implored us so she could "get her points." It was bizarre, off putting, and overshadowed an otherwise lovely place. As our holidays are respite from busy and stressful lives, the solicitation was enough of an annoyance that it has certainly dissuaded us from returning, in spite of the many positives of this place.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor on a corner. Quiet although walls were paper thin, could hear our neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msali2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - msali2013

Date of review - 25th March 2013

Dear Guest.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we very much appreciate you taking time to write a review of your recent stay at our wonderful resort.

We are delighted to hear certain aspects of your vacation exceeded expectations, we are very happy that you enjoyed our vast food selection and we thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding our immaculate grounds and our customer service.

However we are disappointed that there were certain aspects that did not meet with your expectations, during peak times our pools and beach areas do get busier than usual, our staff try very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and have a sun lounger, we apologize if this did not reach out as expected.

Also, we thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with our Unlimited Vacation Club, usually a simple "No Thank you" will suffice, if this was not the case with you and the party you were travelling with we do apologize but again we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do hope you return to our resort again in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well where to start...we travelled 26th Feb to 12 March and can only say what a great holiday we had.The room we had in block 4 was very central and helped my wife a lot as she has MS and sometimes finds difficult to get around.Ground floor with walk in shower,nice balcony and very clean which is in thanks to our great maid Clara.We ate in every restaurant and found the food to be very good and varied,the world cafe is in a class of it's own for a buffet restaurant. The others all good with exceptional service.The beach is an ideal spot for swimming and basking in the sunshine and the bar there is superb for all the cocktails you could wish for. Special thanks go to Alexandria who bought us drinks on the beach and very often found us 2 loungers and a table.She deserves the recognition.We had a drink in the lobby bar every night before dinner and whilst it is very busy you could always find somehwere to sit,thanks here go to Diomedy and Zuleidy who always looked after us.
We went on the excursion to Saona which is worth it for the catamaran and speed boat journeys alone.The snorkelling at the reef arranged by the dive centre was very good as well.
The entertainment team were very attentive always a smile and a chat,thanks here go to Veronica,Eddy Murphy,Black point and James Bond.....hell of a crew.
If you like like music with a difference try not to miss the JEERK show...awesome.
We cannot fault this resort and are very much hoping to return next year to meet up with some of the same gang again.
Hasta

Room Tip: Blocks 3 and 4 if you want to be close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hughsie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Hughsie67

Date of review - 25th March 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we appreciate that you have taken time out to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay at our wonderful resort exceeded your expectations and we are extremely grateful for your wonderful feedback, and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to all of the staff you mentioned who made your time with us even more enjoyable.

We hope you return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a great holiday at the Dreams La Romana. We were four girls. Myslef my daughter my neice and a terrefic friend.. the resort grounds are beautiful, the food is excellent beach is just amazing. The entertainment crew does not stop and makes sure every tourist is having a great time.. There are activities going on throughout the whole day. Every night there was a different show preformed by the entertainers and they were just spectacular.. Picasso Veronica Jacob Omega and Jeffrey were just amaxing... Will return definatley
to this resort....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisa_13473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Elisa_13473

Date of review - 24th March 2013

Dear Elisa,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your recent stay at our wonderful resort.

We are delighted to hear that your time with us exceeded your expectations, and we thank you kindly for all of your wonderful feedback, we shall certainly pass on your comments to all of the staff that made your stay with us even more enjoyable.

We would love for you to return to our resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#13 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,189 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
23.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing