We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellente!! From the Yoga Group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
GreenLeadersGold level
Lena
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellente!! From the Yoga Group”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

February 17-24 2013 our group of 26, who travel together every February to practice yoga, had the "wonderful" experience of Dreams LaRomana. My husband and I have been fortunate enough to travel around the world and from the moment of arrival until departure, this hotel provided exemplary service, gourmet food and the entire group felt "special". I could list each person individually but I won't. We did not have demands (I organized the trip) -- merely requests -- and ALL were met and actually most times beyond our expectations. We did not stay in the Preferred Club rooms and still the rooms were quite nice; the World Buffet provides everything you could want and the ala carte restaurants are like dining in top notch restaurants. The extra cost for the lobster dinner was well worth the money and ALL employees went the extra mile to make certain our dinner on the beach the last night was truly a "dream". When I read Trip Advisor and see the complaints, I always have to smile. Travel is an adventure; a step out of the every day routine and an experience --quite often what you make it and I'm always amazed at the insignificant things that went "wrong". It's part of life. In yoga we have a word -- Namaste -- which means I give to you from the heart and that's what these people do. Namaste to everyone we came in contact with at Dreams Resort and Spa -- La Romana!!!!!

Room Tip: Our group of 26 had 13 rooms and they were all good -- don't think there is a bad room at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Kathy C

Date of review - 03/03/13

Dear Kathy C

We would like to thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and for taking the time to post review of your time with us.

We are delighted to hear you had an excellent vacation at our resort. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

We do hope you return to our wonderful resort in the future as it would be our pleasure to serve you once again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,558
    2,633
    932
    274
    157
See reviews for
3,671
4,654
122
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,191)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were at Dreams from Feb 21 to Feb 28th. We went down with a group of 13 people for our wedding and I cannot say enough about how fantastic this resort is. We all stayed in the preferred club buildings 5 and 7. View was gorgeous and Hector was fantastic. Everyone in our group enjoyed the resort and the service. I think that some of the reviews where people are not happy are from people who would complain no matter where they stayed. Yanna the wedding planner was so helpful and we could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding.

Room Tip: choose building 5 or 7 in the preferred club
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response too - Kelly P

Date of review - 02/03/13

Dear Kelly P,

We thank you kindly for not only choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, but also to hold your wedding day.

We are delighted that our resort lived up to your expectations, and would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We thank you for your kind words and will certainly pass on your positive feedback to both Hector and Yanna.

We hope you return to our wonderful resort again in the future as we would love the opportunity to serve you once again

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is our fourth time back to Dreams LaRomana in 9 years. There have been a few changes but overall we really enjoy this resort, which explains why we have come back four times. My wife and I went for two weeks Feb 1-16, 2013 and our daughters came for the second week. We had requested 3rd floor with king bed, we were put in bldg 4. Plse note even # rooms will face pool area where evening entertainment can be noisy in evening. We were on the odd number side which is very quiet and centrally located to everything.
On the beach the fruit lady was serving daily, an assortment of fruit sucg as bananas, pineapple and watermelon. She was very friendly. As well, the pizza person at the main pool made the best pizza's ever and would make anything you wanted. He was also very chipper and friendly.
We found a wide assortment of foods in the buffet and the 7 a la carte restaurants. The variety and quality of food was excellent. Our main concern was our daughter who is a celiac and cannot eat gluten or have food cross contaminated with gluten. The hotel concierge gave us a letter written in spanish for her to present to the waiter at any of the restaurants or buffet. The food and beverage manager Juan Pierre did an explemplary job at ensuring all his staff were well versed in the requirements of a celiac and she was treated extremely well and all her meals were prepared with care and caution. Juan Pierre personally checked with her daily to ensure she was satisfied with her meals. This was a tremendous relief as we were unsure how this would work. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this resort to anyone with Celiac's disease as we had no issues with any episodes during our vacation and our daughter ate like a queen all week. This included sushi, chicken, steak, salmon, grouper, shrimp.
It is amazing that a resort of this size was able to accomodate one person's food requirements so diligently and precise. The staff in the buffet were very accomodating and we had our special waiters that we looked for when choosing our tables. Dany and Francisco were tremendous in serving our table with the utmost professionalism.
This resort gives us everything we want in a winter vacation, excellent snorkelling off the beach, warm caribean water, perfect weather and not too crowded. We will definitely return again!!

Room Tip: IF you want a quiet room try Bld 1 or 2 or the preferred club. If you want to be centrally located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Milt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me and my wife booked our hotel with 'Dreams La Romana' through bookvega.com.

From the day one on our arrival, we were greeted with a glass of cool sparkling champagne, this made us feel there very welcoming.

The staff there are friendly and always prepared to assist in any way, hence we were allays tempted to leave tips (on average tip: $1-2 dollars).

Our room was always cool, even though it was boiling hot outside. Every morning it was cleaned and the bedding was changed every 2 days.


Overall we recommend this hotel, as it has got not only best selection of menus/views, but also some great activities (including feeding tropical fishes under water).


Positive: Wonderful place for snorkeling, a selection of 8 restaurants with different menu every evening, loads of water activities including sailing solo with catamaran (max 4 people), rowing, diving. Hotel has 2 huge tennis courts and a moderate size gym with staff ready to help. Every evening hotel delivers entertainment (we were pleased to see magicians from Cuba).


Negative: whenever you go to water i.e. for general swim or snorkeling make sure not to step on Sea urchins (hotel does not warn), some restaurants do not work every evening, every Monday hotel allows for locals to come and make a market in a place where people generally rest (it is a bit annoying since locals try to sell their stuff), make sure to have all inclusive health cover, since health service there is private (expensive).

Have a nice trip!

Pete and Britney

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Have never had the level of attention from staff that Dreams gives. Each employee I encountered not only was very helpful, but eager and happy to help. Attitude goes a long way! Even the maintenance and landscape personnel have great attention to detail. While the room may not be spectacularly decorated, everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The rest of the resort is so great there isn't a need to spend much time in the room. The entertainment options are creative, some spectacular shows.
Food and drinks are wonderful with quality, presentation and great taste, especially at the ala carte restaurants.
The beach is smaller than other areas we have traveled. Can't walk as far on the beach, but this also keeps it more private. Especially nice not to have to wear ID bracelets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Trip Advisor response to - Deb J

Date of review - 27/02/13

Dear Deb J

Thank you for choosing Dreams La Romana as your holiday destination, and we thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that our resort lived up to your expectations, and that you had a great time at our wonderful hotel.

We certainly hope you return in the future as we would love the opportunity to serve you once again

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything was great except for room service. Towels had yellow stains on them and fridge was not refilled every day. The jewel of this hotel is the beach .... Best beach I've ever seen in a hotel, and it is located in natural lagoon with large shallow reef. Even though there is not a huge variety of underwater life but every day I've been very happy to snorkel early in the morning. Not sure if I'd come back here, I'd like to try Iberostar La Romana first. And if I'd come back that would be only because of the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from a week at Dreams La Romana, (Feb.18-25). As with any vacation people have different expectations resulting in differing experiences. We are a retired couple who have spent over 20 years visiting all-inclusives in the Caribbean and Mexico. At this point our desires are for cleanliness, good beach, comfortable rooms, good food, and good service.

We agree with other reviewers who have given Dreams La Romana an overall less than 5-star review. However in some catagories Dreams earned a solid 5-star gold rating.

LOBBY: Compared to other 5-star hotels, this Dreams has very small public areas. The lobby seemed exceptionally cramped. The lobby bar was equally as small and was often crowded. The space is divided into smoking/non-smoking, with the smoking section adjacent to the bar. A guest objecting to smoke would also have a problem enjoying the early evening live music as it too was in the smoking section. True a guest can sit in the non-smoking area, wait for waitress service (usually very prompt) and still hear the music. However during our week smoke and smokers would regularly spill over into the non-smoking section.

Service at the lobby bar was as prompt as could be expected given the often crowded conditions. We had no issues with the quality of the beverages. The bartenders were friendly, and even though my requests seemed to take a few by surprise they always figured out what I wanted. Waitress service in the lobby was equally as prompt and once served we seldom had to wait long for a refill.

Lobby rating - size 3, services 5.

BARS: We visited all...no complaints. The bartenders are efficient and more than willing to keep on trying until you get what you want.

Bar & beverage rating: 5

ROOM: Our room was in building 4. Again not the luxury I expect from a 5 star. Bathroom small with a single sink, insufficient towel bars/hooks, no exhaust fan. Balcony very small with no provision to hang wet bathing suits. (There was a line in the shower, but whenever did two wet bathing suits dry in a bathroom overnight?) Our bed was a large king, very comfortable. There was a table and two chairs for room service, but no additional seating for relaxing in the room. As stated before the balcony was tiny, with barely room for two plastic chairs and a teeny table. We are not large people, but it was truly too tight for both of us to sit on the balcony to relax with a cocktail.

The room was kept exceptionall clean. We always had sufficient towels. Dreams provides a selection of much appreciated extras. Lovely robes and slippers, shampoo, shower gel/soap, body lotion, sunscreen, cotton swabs/sticks, comb, shaving cream, toothbrush (no mouthwash or tooth paste!), even an umbrella. I suspect the consierge would get you anything you requested.

Mechanically there were no problems with the room.

Room rating - luxury/size 3

FOOD - One of the things we thoroughly enjoy about the Dreams resorts is their policy of no reservations and no restrictions regarding where and when you eat. BUFFET: We've always found Dreams buffets to be excellent, regardless of the meal. A guest should keep in mind the nature of a buffet. You will not find a rare prime rib or freshly steamed lobster waiting for you! However the selections offered are multiple, nicely presented, and tasty. During peak/crowded times you might have to return to get a serving of your favorite or wait a bit for beverage service. We seem to eat not at those times and always felt well taken care of by the wait staff. RESTAURANTS: Our favorite was the Jungle. The goat was superb! We by-passed the French and Mexican so cannot comment on those. Our meals in all the rest were excellent. As with any restaurant you may not like what you ordered, but that does not reflect badly on the establishment only your selection. I can promise you that if are less than satisfied ASK for something else. You will get it promptly and with muchos apologies for displeasing you.

And not to be missed are the beach hamburgers and hotdogs. (Include in this category are all of the other Dreams we've visited.) The best by far of any we've ever had in all our travels.

Room service was also excellent. When ordered outside of typical mealtimes, the food arrived very quickly. Lunch at 3 in the afternoon arrived before I finished my shower.

Restaurant/food rating - 5 star and then some.

BEACH: Ahhh, our biggest disappointment. We are beach people. We sit, we swim and we sit some more. Sitting was fine, swimming....not so good. Although there is a sufficient swarth of beach to accommodate sitting, access to the water is limited. Large sections of the beach are rocky to the point that you could not get in the water or stand once you do. There was a large amount of seaweed in one area. The water itself was warm and the waves minimal.

A huge issue at the beach (and pool) is the availability of beach loungers. Sorry to say if you do not get up at the crack of dawn and smack down a towel on one you may be doomed to a morning of roaming. If the resort could figure out a way to enforce "a one person one lounge" rule it might not be so bad. We saw twosomes who managed to occupy as many as 6 loungers, two in the sun, two in the shade and two to hold their "stuff". This is grossly unfair, but a situation that we have found in a great many all-inclusive resorts, not just Dreams.

Beach rating: 2

POOL: We don't do pool, except for the occassional visits to the swimup bar. Lounge chairs seemed to be an issue. The pool closest to the beach was clean. Seldom much in the way of rowdiness going on.

Pool rating: NA

ACTIVITIES: We do not snorkel, scuba, get in boats, take dance lessons, stretch, play volleyball, or work up any kind of sweat. (Been there, done that.) But it appeared those who did were enjoying themselves immensely. There always seemed to be activity for those inclined. There are many off site excursions offered. Again, been there done that, but the zip-line does seem intriguing...maybe next year....

ENTERTAINMENT: In general only fair. There were a few outstanding moments. The staff tries very hard, but this is not Vegas. The theatre is outdoors, no roof, by the activities pool which results in very odd seating. A couple of shows were presented in the conference area. For people who want "night life" this is not a resort for you.

Evening entertainment rating: 2

STAFF: Absolutely EXCELLENTE! Perhaps because we have spent 20+ years vacationing at all-inclusives we have a better idea than newbies as to what to expect, but Dreams staff never disappoint. On our first day I managed to get turned around and "lost". I approached a young man sweeping up fallen leaves on a walkway. He spoke no English but rather than just shake his head "No Englise..." he took me to someone who did! Even when faced with foreign speaking irate guests (not us) Dreams staff kept their cool and handled the situation.

Staff rating: 5+++

FINAL WORDS: Folks you are on vacation...chill out...assume Dominican time...what's your hurry? Customs are very different through out the world. Don't expect your hosts to know what it is you expect unless you tell them. Don't be afraid to ask for what you want, but don't expect to always get it either.

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a garden view. Building 4 is an Apple Vacation building and has a private conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#18 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10,712 reviews
35.0 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,866 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing