We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not know what you are talking about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at Dreams la Romana .
And we both had a wonderful time there ,so much so we are going back in April this year.
The food was great, the hotel and rooms spotlessly clean the staff marvelous .the pools lovely and the beach.
Obviously there are those travelers who drink too much ,sit in the son too long ,and don't drink enough water,then complain about tummy bugs.
I am a qualified nurse but you don't have to be to just be plain sensible,yes there are lots of factors which can upset ones stomach especially abroad but for goodness sake ,take the blame on yourselves for not eating and drinking sensibly ,and not blaming the hotel and staff.As for the entertainment if you want Las Vegas go there and stop complaining.Looking forward to seeing all you guys at Dreams in April ,keep up the good work K Winstanley.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katpurr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Katpurr13

Date of review - February 11th 2013

Dear Katpurr13,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful vacation at our resort, we are even more delighted to hear you will be back in April.

We very much look forward to serving you once again,

Kind regards,

Rudy Richardson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,536 - 5,542 of 11,752 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

A very beautiful location . Food is good. The pizza guy by the main pool makes the best pizzas I have eaten in years. The staff can't do enough for you it seems. Its a shame not all the restaurants were not open every night. The Dominican restaurant was fabulous. Very surprised. Be careful you will put on kilos in this place. Hector in the preferred club bar is the best staff member they have. A jewel in their crown . He treated my wife and I like royalty. He went beyond the call of duty. We thank him. The rooms are adequate. Nothing great. Tiny balconies. The A/C is great. Ice cold. I would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frankie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just returned form a week vacation at Dreams. For the most part it was very good, but there are some areas that definitely need improvement. Our plane was delayed for an hour so we were were late. There were three couples, including us, checking in at 10:30 pm. No one greeted us with a glass of champagne or a drink, as a matter of fact no one greeted us. We waited at reception while the other two couples checked in, they were travelling together, all the time watching another fellow at reception filing or something. Finally he called us over but he was less than friendly. Finally gave us a room and casually mentioned the preferred club and that was it. Have to admit, I was interested before we went, we were celebrating my birthday so I thought I might treat myself. But with the intro we got to it, that thought was quickly squashed. Our room in building 4 was fine, it was nice and clean. Not the most beautiful room we have stayed in but no complaints. The grounds are beautiful and meticulous. Workers are constantly cleaning, sweeping, trimming, weeding etc. They must be commended for the job they do. We spent our time at the infinity pool. It is showing it's wear in a few spots but it would be difficult to find a time to close it to drain and resurface it. Word of caution, there are several drains with no covers on the so watch where you step. Alex and Juan at the Manatee bar are simply the best. If it weren't for these two young men, the odd employee here and there, and the wait staff in the a la carte restaurants, I would really have nothing nice to say about the staff for the most part. These two looked after us and kept us laughing all day. They even aranged for birthday cakes for three of us who were celebrating birthdays. If you can, watch the sunset at this pool, it is the most beautiful thing you will see.
We didn't make it to most of the shows but what we did see was very good. The Circus show was good and we hear that the Elements and Jeerk show are very good. However, the highlight for us was the Superbowl party. We are huge football fans so to watch the Superbowl on the beach complete with beers on ice, tailgate food, cheerleaders and football players was everything to us. It was so much fun to be a part of it and watch the game on a 30ft screen on the beach! I only wish that they showed the pregame in English rather than spanish. But that is me, I would have been there at noon watching if I could!
I have read about many people getting sick. It is to be expected when travelling to a country so different than what you are used to and it is not how you want to spend your vacation. We take an oral vaccine called Dukoral a month before we go and we have never had any problems. But everyone's stomach is different and I don't think it is the fault of the resort. We loved the a la carte restaurants with the exception of the Oceana. The french and mexican were really good. We also had a romantic dinner booked on the pier. It was lovely but the shrimp salad was the best I have ever had. The buffet is good for a buffet, there is something for everyone. We had breakfast and lunch there daily. Every breakfast became a game to see how long it would take to get coffee cups, spoons or coffee. Lots of people walking around, but no one really doing anything.They advertise international liquors but the selection is minimal and you have to ask for it.You figure there are about 7 buildings with approximatley 90 rooms in each, that is a lot of people. The gym has weights and such but only two treadmills, one eliptical and one stationary bike. It really should be a little bigger for the size of resort.
Our room was in building 4, it was fine. Our room was comfortable and clean, we had no issues. Well maybe that we talked to others who had their bed turned down nightly with liitle chocolates, we didn't have anything and we did tip!
That brings me to a note about tipping, if you plan to tip, take one dollar bills with you. If you try to get change it is an exercise in futility. My husband went to reception a few times and kept getting the run around. He would be sent to one place and they would tell him to go somewhere else and it just went on and on. And the most that they will give you is 5 one dollar bills at a time. The worst experience was when we asked for a hospitality suite since we checked out so early and we didn't have to leave the resort until 8 pm. We were told it would be ready in 10 minutes. We know what 10 Domincan minutes are so we came back in 20 minutes. There was still no room, they told us to have a seat and she would get us one in about 10 minutes. Well time passed and had it not been for my husband constantly checking to see if one was ready, we may have got on the airplane in our bathing suits! Finally we are given a room at the furthest end of the complex, bit of a coincidence i thought. So we get all the way there, the room is hot and there are dirtly glasses on the counter in the bathroom, no kleenex and toilet paper is sitting on the counter. Ok, I have a shower, go to grab a towel and there is not one towel in the room. But there were clean sheets on the corner of the bed, guess I was supposed to use that.
The whole experience was very frustrating and disappointing. We have travelled many times and we respect the people of the country that we are in. In every place that we have been the front desk/reception is the lifeline. Not here, they were not helpful at all, didn't matter what we went there for. We always felt like we were interrrupting whatever they were doing and all we wanted to do was tip the people that worked there.
In short, we had a good time here, we met some great people and had some good laughs. I would like to rate it "excellente" as all the employees say but the service holds me back. There are so many good things about the resort, especially the Superbowl party. I would recommend it to others, just go in with your eyes open.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debnmike84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A week in January turned sour for nine of us vacationing in the Dominican Republic the week of January 24 2013 to January 31 2013. We paid extra for the Preferred Club perks and accommodations which we were glad we did. If not the vacation would have been totally unbearable. The Concierge service that came with this extra fee was something we could not have done without. The food - passable - at best. The wait staff had a limited knowledge of the English language. The nightly entertainment was pitiful except for the Dominican show and the impersonator show. With the Preferred Club you have a separate pool and beach area. The beach area is so small that you have to put towels on your chairs to save them by 8:30am. Chairs are on top of one another on the main beach and the preferred beach. in other words, you are packed in like sardines. The main problem we had was that everyone in our party was felled by illness. Two became so ill that after four straight days of running to the bathroom they became so dehydrated that they were brought via ambulance to the medical center to get IV fluids. Would any of us go back ......NEVER!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Trip Advisor response to – Vimaria

Date of review – 9th February 2013

Dear Vimaria,

We are very sorry to hear your recent vacation with us did not reach your expectations, we pride ourselves on providing our guests with excellent service, food and entertainment, We are sorry that none of this reached out to you.

The vast majority of our staff have a grasp on the English language and try very hard to interact with all guests of all nationalities.

We provide entertainment shows every night, these shows vary from our own entertainment team, to outside entertainment being brought into the resort and also audience participation shows, we try our very best to cater to each and every guest.

Our beach and pool areas do get busy during times of high capacity within the hotel, however we do our utmost to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and are provided with sun loungers.

Lastly, we are very sorry to hear that you and your party were poorly and certainly hope that you are feeling better now. There are many factors that contribute to people falling ill whilst travelling to another country, excessive food and alcohol consumption, differences in the oil the food is cooked in, excessive exposure to the heat and sun and not having enough water consumption.
We thank you for your review, we take on all comments made, both positive and otherwise, and we sincerely hope we get the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rudy Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Since you arrive to the hotel all staff member make you fell like a millionairess. The room was awesome, like a Dream come True. Excellent restaurants, high quality food, great taste and beautiful presentation. Three amazing pools, all of them are infinity view. We really recommend this awesome hotel. We have planing to visit them soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with a pool view are awesome but the garden view are excellent too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnold1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from here today,Feb 5th. Had a lovely time here with my husband.The hotel has alot going for it but also has alot not going for it.The best and really excellent part were the Alacarte restaurants.All superb and staff so polite.Highly recommended.As this is an american owned hotel everything is big and loud.If you want a peacefull and relaxing time,you will not get it here.The beach is beautifull but as it is small it is obliterated by sunbeds and bodies everywhere.Then there are the activities all day long with volley balls and shuttlecocks flying around ,plus the bingo,darts,aqua aerobics spanish dancing all with music mixed up together,and the relentless entertainments team who love to wake you up and pester you.The rooms and especially the bathrooms are very dated.We had water pouring through our ceiling 3 times and the shower fixture was so corroded it fell off the wall.It was repaired promptly but fixed at the wrong angle.Nightly entertainment is centered around the swimming pool or the theatre.The Lobby bar doubles up as a very small bar area with inadequate seating so there is an overflow problem into the reception area which is rather like a railway station with people just passing through. There were people dancing in reception as the bar was always crowded.Food outlets during the day,either on the beach or round the pool also had no where to sit down,just a few dirty plastic chairs.I found this place to be uncomfortable,too big,very loud and totally unrelaxing.Its saving grace are the wonderfull staff who work in all departments,the Al acartes and the beautifull sea to swim in. I would like to add that alot of people we spoke to had been ill with the usual stomach complaints,myself included and one man was hospitalized for 3 days. This is somewhere I shall never visit again,as it is not up to standard.

Room Tip: If you want more comfort,then upgrade to the "prefered suites".Otherwise all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank G0ldenbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Trip Advisor response to – G0ldenbr0wn

Date of review – 06/02/12

Dear G0ldenbr0wn

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our extensive choice of our A la carte restaurants and that you were happy with the service you received from our wonderful staff members,

However we are disappointed to learn you did not enjoy your time at our wonderful resort our entertainment team work throughout the day and night to make our guests happy, they do various activities to keep people entertained, we are sorry that these held no interest for you obviously our entertainment team encourage everyone to take part but a simple “no thank you” will suffice should you wish to not take part.

Our beach area is very popular amongst our guests, and during busy times within the hotel the beach will have more people than usual, We try our best to ensure we have enough sunbeds, and if you venture further down the beach towards our fruit boat it is usually quieter there, we are sorry this did not reach out to you.

We are sorry to hear you were poorly and certainly hope that you are feeling better now. Please be aware that there are many contributing factors to people falling ill whilst travelling to a different country, such as excessive alcohol and food consumption, differences in the oil the food is cooked in, too much heat and sun exposure, and drinks known to be a natural laxative such as pineapple and coconut.

We do hope that you will return to our resort and would love the chance to serve you again.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have traveled to many places and quite a few general vacation areas. This was the 1st time we have traveled to the Caribean though. It was well worth it and you can't beat the friendly people & service! The water & sunsets were amazing, the hotel workers go out of their way to be helpful and sweet. "My Pleasure & Excellente" being the key words! I think it is a great place from couples, friends & families. Super Clean! We would not hesitate to go back, although we may by pass Miami airport (super thumbs down) as a hub LOL!

Room Tip: We stayed in the preferred section and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudy R, General Manager at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Kim O

Date of review - 06/02/12

Dear Kim O

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your vacation at our wonderful resort, and very much hope we get the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards

Rudy Richardson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
348 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
2.7 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
3 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
7,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $199 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing