We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scuba Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just wanted to rest and relax so we just did one day of scuba diving at the resort's dive shop (Grigri). It was a wonderful experience! First dive we saw 2 small turtles, medium size octopus (unusual since it was daytime), a couple of sting rays, manta ray, large moray eel, spotted eel, scorpion fish, lobsters hiding unter reefs, lots of juveniles, the usual school of fish etc. etc. Visibility was great! Water did get cold at the end so bringing a wet suit made the dive more comfortable. Second dive was about the same.

We definitely have to go back and really explore the reefs.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mercedes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,462 - 6,468 of 11,770 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

The Dreams La Romana is indeed a beautiful resort HOWEVER, after day 2, I got bad pains in my stomach and was on the bowl all day and night, can you say diarrhea ??. I was miserable in the room knowing that the 30 people we came with were all out having fun, not to mention that most of the group also got sick.

Food:
I will start off criticizing the quality of food at this place. If you are from NY like I am, then you know what good quality food is. The world cafe had better food compared to the other horrible restaurants, but everything still tasted bland, old and warm (not even hot) which is a breeding ground for bacteria to grow. I found chicken pieces that were completely raw. I got a burger on the beach and it was also RAW. Seriously, do you chefs look at and feel the tenderness of meat before you serve it??. The Asian restaurant was disgusting. We all wound up throwing most of it out.
No-one in our group enjoyed the food. We were all disgusted on how we are forced to eat whatever they give us being that there's no other place to go. After getting sick, I didnt want to take any more chances, so I ate plain white rice and boiled potatoes for 3 days (lunch and dinner), i started to feel better so I decided to take the risk of eating other foods because I was tired of the same white rice/potatoes and sure enough, diarrhea hit me again!.. Well at least I know its the food!

Drinks:
Thankfully we all brought our own bottles of liquor from home because they give you the cheapest of the cheapest liquor. Do you like Dewars? lol, Their cognac tasted like a mix between cheap tequila and rum. Their mixed tropical drinks however were pretty good.

Service:
I can speak Spanish but nobody at this resort can get an order right whether or not I communicated in English or Spanish. They are so unbelievably lazy. After throwing up and pooping all day I asked for Lipton Tea and plain toast, and they come back with black coffee. Other times they messed up on our bkfast/lunch room service orders. Be aware, order your food an hour before you think you'll be hungry because they take FOREVER. At times we had to call up multiple times to remind them about our food.

The Gym:
The gym is a tiny room with ghetto old school equipment. If you want to get a quick workout and stretch its fine, but don't expect anything good.

Nightclub:
We had an amazing time at the nightclub. The DJ has no clue how to mix, but being with almost 30 friends partying was unbelievable. Even though I was miserable and in pain from the food, waiting for the last day to go home to eat REAL food, being with friends took almost all of those negative feelings away. I cant wait to book another vacation with these people, but not 1 of us will ever go back to the Dreams La Romana. EVER!

Tip for the resort:
Serve good food and you'll attract many more customers and many more will return. You just lost what could've been 30 returning customers. NEVER AGAIN! and I hope you people out there take this review into consideration. Like I said, I cant understand how the majority gave this place 5 stars. Spending all of this money to be in a beautiful place eating dog food and getting sick is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 81mv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My husband and I were nervous about staying at Dreams after reading the reviews. We have traveled all over the world and we have stayed at wonderful all-inclusive resorts in the past.

Preferred or Not?
We upgraded to the preferred club. I thought it was worth it, but it depends what type of vacation you want. I wanted quiet and solitude. The preferred pool and beach are so much quieter. It is true that the preferred "shore" is rocky, however, it is just a few feet to the sandy shore. Again, I wanted quiet. The bar and the pool area at the preferred pool was peaceful. Also, I liked that we had unlimited access to the computers and internet in the preferred club from 7 AM-11 PM. We had an emergency at home, and the internet access was great. We did not want to mess with bringing our own computers. The bartender in the preferred club was great. They all remembered our names and our favorite drinks.

Garden View Room - Preferred - Building Five
Our view of the pool was spectacular. We were in room 5238. Noise was not a problem. Additionally, the resort is very small compared to the other all-inclusive resorts I have been to. I walked through the rooms that haven't been renovated. I would go with the renovated. When I booked the room, I did not realize it only had a shower. I wished I would have booked a room with a bathtub. There is not conditioner in the shower amenities. The bed was comfortable. I could hear noise out in the halls, but never from the other rooms. It did bother me though that the door did not have a deadbolt.

Food
Seaside Grill
We are both foodies. The first night, we ate at Seaside Grill. Our steaks were perfectly cooked and seasoned. We did not understand the complaints. Unfortunately, of the five nights we were there, Seaside Grill was only open one evening. It was good for lunch. The waitstaff and hostess staff were outstanding.

Oceana
We were excited to eat here. However, they seated us underneath a bright light and the hostess seemed in a bad mood upon seating us (the only person like this we encountered). There was a large bug on my plate, and the hostess just flicked it off. When they poured my husband's water, a bug flew from the light into the water. The waiter laughed and went to get another glass. But, we were swarmed by bugs because of the light. We both hate conflict, but, the idea of bugs swarming us was uncomfortable. So, we politely explained that the bugs were unpleasant and we left. Literally, we hate conflict. So, we apologized profusely to the hostess. But, when she rolled her eyes, I was not appreciative.

World Cafe
The Breakfast at World Cafe was always good. I did not enjoy dinner options here.

We had good and a few mediocre experiences at the a la carte restaurants. However, one of us always ordered a good meal, so we just split it. We never went hungry. Overall, the food is the area to improve.

CoCo Cafe
I loved the coffee and cookies here. It was the highlight.

Overall, we agreed we would go back to Dreams because the staff were so WONDERFUL and friendly. It is the best service we have ever had.

The drinks were great (especially the Pina Coladas). They did have Coronas.

My biggest complaint was about some of my fellow tourists. Some were so rude to the staff. The staff speak English (I don't understand the complaints), but, they seemed to love it when we attempted to speak some Spanish. I am amazed at all of the languages they speak.

For the price, it was a good choice. We have paid $3000 more for a resort in Playa del Carmen. It was not $3,000 nicer.

Also, bring money to tip. The staff deserve an extra thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mandyandbryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The first thing I want to point out is that our rooms and the resort overall was kept IMMACULATELY clean. We don't have a lot to compare to in terms of all-inclusive vacations as this was our first one, but we definitely had the most relaxing "beach vacation" that we were looking forward to. The Dreams staff were all super nice, extremely helpful and the place truly was all inclusive. We sipped champagne and had fruity drinks during the day, chilled and had beer, wine and mixed drinks at night without ever worrying about if it was included or not. There's a beach bar (as well as lounge-chair waiters), a swim up bar, several excellent-presentation restaurants, a fabulous entertainment team, room service + almost-always-open buffet, and pretty much everything you'd ever need in the resort. Honestly, we participated in a very limited way in all of the activities, but they had a LOT going on and it was all so fun and chill. I truly have very few negative comments. The one thing was that the food wasn't anything spectacular. The meals were gorgeously presented at dinners, but the flavors weren't all that and it was for sure a bit bland. However, I felt everything was pretty fresh and nicely done.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laneyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Spent 4 days/nights in the property (Memorial Day Weekend) with my wife, 5yr. old and here's the lowdown:

We opted for the preferred "partial ocean view. Plenty of room for us, in a modern and very clean room featuring Ipod dock, LCD TV and in room DVD player. fridge was stocked w/beer, soda and waters and promptly replenished daily. View was fine and balcony adequate. Shower was stocked w/toiletries (even toothpaste/toothbrush was provided, which we found pretty neat and unusual. All pools and Grounds are well kept and clean. Beach area kept clean, but good snorkeling can only be found much further out on your own, to the right of the dock, or in an excursion. Otherwise the water can be a bit cloudy and sea grass can sneak up on you underwater. Didn't bother me much, but if your not used to it, may freak you out.
The Staff is generally AMAZING. Friendly faces greet you everywhere, no demand is refused and every "thank you" on your part will be replied w/a "it's a pleasure" from their end. Restaurant staff just as willing to please, tips where NEVER expected but if you did tip (we did every so often) it was more than apreciated. Food selection at the buffet was varied, fresh, plentiful and best of all, the local dishes were Authentic!!! I'm a conscientious eater and had no problems at all finding a medley of delicious healthy dishes each and every day, and for every meal :) Didn't NOT LIKE THE ASIAN place... My fault... Why would I go to the DR to eat Asian cuisine is beyond me.... Should have stuck to the perfectly fresh, tasty and diverse buffet!!
Walked to Bayahibe (walk to the left for 10 minutes along the beach, and there you are :), and experienced some local life in the streets and pretty good foto ops. in a friendly and safe environment.
Preferred pool was small, but quiet. Preferred bar, was great, preferred lounge and computers came in handy as did the coffee joint around the corner. Gym was crude but adequate. Massage was average and spa experience just OK.
Lets see..... what else.... Oh, fly into "La Romana Airport" and use DAT (Dominican Airport Transfers) if you want a no hassle, AC prompt/professional pick up/drop off... All in all, the resort was def. in the "Above Average" cat. and if I were looking for a relatively affordable, quiet get away, where everything is just a request away, I would consider going back again...

Room Tip: Go Preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SayafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I am thrilled to share this review with everyone, i highly recommend this resort, i celebrated my 25th birthday in Paradise. Not only was the resort beautiful, always clean & well decorated..The service was exceptional, beyond words..the staff was always friendly, well mannered and always willing to help...I made some great friends, Look for Picasso he is very respectful & smart. My friend Gary was always smiling & did very good Yoga...My friend caramelo was very funny & charming. The food is delicious, a variety of different delicious selections... I LOVE this resort...PLEASE GO ...you wont regret it ....= ) xoxoxxo

Room Tip: If your traveling with friends, connect rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chernandez515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just arrived back from 2 weeks at Dreams La Romana with 30 of our our friends and family who joined us for our wedding out there. This resort is amazing.....I have no idea how anyone could complain.....For HarveyDog 22 who commented on mancunians I think you were just jealous of the fun we had and would recommend you try a secrets resort next time which is adults only rather than post such comments about children when this is a family resort. Back to the review.....This resort is immaculate and beautiful the cleaners do a fantastic job of maintaining the resort. In terms of rooms, ours were all great we were in blocks 5&7 which are newly refurbished, the beds are really comfortable and you have an optional pillow menu!
Real perks of this resort are...no wrist bands.....24/7 all inclusive room service and the ability to eat at the a la carte restaurants when you like and as many times as you like, you receive a newsletter in your room each day telling you which ones are open, if they don't have a table for you they'll give you a pager and you can enjoy one of the gorgeous cocktails at the bar.
High five to Picasso, Kati, Garry and the rest of the entertainment team who were amazing....we are still doing the La Colita now!
As for our wedding....it was the most perfect day and one we will never forget! Yanna our wedding co ordinator was great and everything went according to plan. We had the ultimate package which was the best you could have and it was worth it, be careful as you can incur additional costs when you get there especially as they don't tell you your photo package doesn't include ones of just the bride and groom so we bought an additional package in the end....barter with the guys at the photo booth though otherwise you'll be ripped off. Our wedding DVD is brilliant and its lovely to have those memories captured to be able to watch again and again. Our private lobster dinner on the pier was to die for too along with our room being dressed beautifully on our wedding night and the champagne breakfast the morning after was a lovely treat.
So in summary an out of this world holiday, beautiful resort, pools, gardens and beaches included, so much fun, loved Tyne food especially the French, Italian and Pan Asian restaurants. Would I go back.....absolutely. We are already thinking of trying Dreams Mexico next year......
Give Dreams a try and ignore any negative reviews....any questions about the resort or any future brides considering it, please feel free to get in touch......From A Happy Dreams La Romana Bride!

Room Tip: Request newly refurbished blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank laurakate85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
350 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
2.7 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
3 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
7,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: $199 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing