We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best grilled lobster!”

Restaurant La Cueva
Ranked #9 of 49 Restaurants in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best grilled lobster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We left Dreams resort in La Romana to tour the cigar factory in Bayahibe and this is by far the best meal I had the entire trip. Great local cuisine...I would highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wlwaldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    92
    29
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great investment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The waitress at this place is the sweetest lady ever!!! Thanks for being so nice to a group of rowdy women!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mellanie_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delicious crackeling pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I never had a pizza like that before but ho boy, is it good! The Cueva pizza crackles like a cracker without loosing the delicious taste of the legendary Italian pie cooked in a wood stove. The calzones are also very good and the site is charming, all open so you can see the action on Dominicus picturesque main street. 5 minutes from the beach, surrounded by souvenirs and art stores.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MonelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great wood oven pizza in the Dominican Republic, who knew??? The place is great and Paola serves you with a smile all the while with great service! Average thin crust pizza no more than 10$.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cantaloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice Restaurant but a little bit expensive. The service was ok and the exchange rate between the currencies was ok if you do not have Pesos in hand. Food was delicious. It was very difficult to compare the restaurants with European standards. Do not await and expect to much. All restaurants have to take local food.

The tomatoes of the RP could not compare with the Europeans, because we think they are very bad. I think this was sometimes the problem. The same is happen with Rucula.

We find everything was ok. We never try the lobster, but we saw them and think they are really good. It was up to everyone to try this reastaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Worky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Cueva also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Restaurant La Cueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing