We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Porto Petro

Porto Petro
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Santanyi
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow
Level Contributor
153 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Porto Petro is a gem of a place far from the maddening crowds. If you like small quiet resorts and just a handful of decent restaurants then this is the place for you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilstonTravellers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Paella and very good Steaks”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were 4 people for lunch. 2 had Lobster Paella (Euro 19 each) and 2 had the Steaks (also Euro 19 each). It was all superb, probably the best Paella ever. The Steaks were very tender and cooked as requested. The local bottle of recommended red was very good. One Local and one Italian Lady were serving us, both were very friendly and professional and always with a smile. Desserts were an almond cake with almond ice cream...delicious.
We were having the meal on the terrace in the back, where for Dec 22nd, we enjoyed the sun, the excellent meal and the pleasant service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Charming port”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Delightul small working port without the huge floating gin palaces, apart from one that resembled Mickey Mouse!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
156 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Typically old Spanish resort”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have visited Porto Petro over the last 30 years and must admit that I preferred it in the 70's before it became more modern. Some of the restaurant then were on the edge of the water and very quaint and fabulous Spanish food. I do not like change but it is still a charming place to visit

Helpful?
Thank spainrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“We ate there on our first night and returned every evening after”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Porto Petro is an unassuming restaurant above the main supermarket in Porto Petro. Other restaurants are on the Port or near the water.
It was recommended to us by a local and we learned that there is a new Basque chef who does wonders in the kitchen. The clientele is very local but obviously tourists come here too, probably lured by the cocktails which are a quarter of the price of those at the Varadero.

Front of house is run by the young Juan Manuel and his sister Maria Isabella. They are both lovely, welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the local food and wines.
While others ate hamburger and schnitzel we worked our way through the Mallorcan speciality menu during the week and loved everything we tried. A special mention for the Paella with lobster at only 18E a head. Juan Manuel knows his wines and suggested some amazing local ones which were brilliant.
We wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant as the chef knows his stuff and the level of service and hospitality by the two youngsters is truly special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swissgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Petro also viewed

 
Santanyi, Majorca
 
Porto Petro, Majorca
Porto Petro, Majorca
 

Been to Porto Petro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing