We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Spanish with a beautiful view”
Review of Es Bergant

Es Bergant
Ranked #29 of 62 Restaurants in Santanyi
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish with a beautiful view”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Es Bergant is a very quaint quite traditionally Spanish restaurant which offers menu del Dia at lunchtimes and gets very busy with Spanish locals.
The Restaurant has 3 main areas, the restaurant itself with a small terrace area and large interior, a terrace across the road directly opposite the restaurant and a quarter share of a large new terrace opposite the restaurant but about 30 metres down the road. Don't let this put you off, the waiters do all the fetching and carrying (avoiding the traffic) whilst you sit and enjoy wonderful food whilst taking in the beautiful views.
I have been eating here for the last 3-4 years and can honestly say I have never had a bad meal! It is predominantly seafood and shellfish based cuisine although they do have a selection of meat dishes available also.
We tend to opt for tapas styles dishes which are plentiful and great value for money. The Tigers (stuffed mussels) are particularly good as is the spicy octopus.
If you have had enough of the more touristy restaurants in Cala d'Or and it's close by marina, venture out to Porto Petro and experience something more typically Spanish, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fastbowler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Overlooking the marina, thIs restaurant is one of a number that has its seating area on the opposite side of the road from where the food is cooked.
The menu is similar to many others in this fishing village and offers a wide choice of fish dishes and tapas. Red meat eaters and vegetarians are also well catered for.
The wine list looked expensive but the house wine was very reasonable and enjoyable.
Having had three mains, two deserts wine and 2 coffees we were surprised that the bill was under 60 euro. It would be easy however with different choices to spend more.
Service was efficient , the food was excellent and I would recommend Es Bergant to others.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice setting overlooking the harbour.”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

As the restaurant is right beside the harbour, fish is always a good choice for your meal.
There are a number of places you can eat as there is now a new dining deck across the road as well as the original 2 spots. The views are good and overlook a small harbour and pier.
The area is much quieter than Cala d'Or and hence the restaurant is a much more peaceful but nonetheless enjoyable place to eat.
Food is good and the staff are most obliging.
My wife and I will go back there next time we visit that part of Majorca.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Spanish restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I have been to Santanyi area a couple of times and stayed in lots of its restaurants. This is my favourite - lovely Spanish food, in a calm setting away from all the beach hordes.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bin-Derdundhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Bergant also viewed

 
Santanyi, Majorca
S'Alqueria Blanca, Majorca
 

Been to Es Bergant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing