We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embrace your customers and employ more staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Sa Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Food average. Checking in was like going into headmasters office. When collecting keys, the owner( I presume) did not have the decency to exchange any pleasantries.

Monday night!!!!! Well... no food... OK ...but no lighting when going to bed is a bit harsh. This is supposed to be a hotel, not Bed and Breakfast. More information, more pleasantries would have been expected from a hotel such as this. Maybe a bit more customer service. Everything regarding the property is immaculate, perhaps this enthusiasm could have been reflected in customer service . I cannot believe that people were checking in on Monday night and no food and beverage was offered in a rural hotel.
Perfect setting..... too cost cutting. Felt like an annoyance to proprieter. More information would have been useful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiggy186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights during X´mas. The Hotel Sa Galera does not dissappoint. We´ve booked a Double Superior room and it was spacious and well decorated. It is good located just 10 min from the town, Santanyi. The Staff will help you with any of your needs. We will most defintely stay with you again. Thank you for everything!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sawasdee50Bremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have just spent a week in Mallorca and spent our last two nights at the Sa Galera Hotel. Lovely setting, peaceful and quiet. Had dinner there both nights and the food was excellent. (Beware if you are there on a Monday evening as the restaurant is closed and this is not mentioned on their website.)

However, breakfast was not so good. It was not available until 08.30 hrs but as it was mainly breads, jams etc found it hard to understand why. Also Orange juice was from a bottle not fresh, completely self service - coffee came by the cup from a machine -not overly impressed.

Also, found it slightly bizarre that as we were leaving early in the morning (07.30 hrs) we had to ‘check out’ at 17.00 hrs the day before as the office didn't open until 09.00 hrs and then pay cash or credit card as and when we had anything else.

We had booked a Junior Suite which was okay, but sparsely furnished with no full length mirror anywhere. The bathroom was okay too except the shower head was so high that it was impossible for me to reach (fortunately my husband is 6"1' and just managed) and the shaving mirror was ridiculously high too.

We will not be going back, very disappointed and does not live up to the write up on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MomoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My husband, two daughters and me have just returned from this hotel and we absolutely loved it.
We rented a car from the airport as we knew the hotel was a bit isolated, but once there we realised how easy and quick it was to get to beautiful sandy beaches and different towns in that area.
We had 2 rooms and were both very spacious, clean and comfortable.
We had dinner at the restaurant 3 times and we were delighted with the food. The service was very personal and friendly. It is a small hotel and sometimes we had to find staff if we wanted a drink but this wasn't a problem for us.
The pool area and gardens were nice and quiet.
We had a fantastic time and would highly recommend it to everyone looking for peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

My wife, 8yr old son and myself spent a week at this hotel in July 2007. We knew it was fairly isolated, but wanted a complete rest, and leave our son to play in the pool. We didn't even hire a car ! It is about 30mins by taxi from the airport and due to the narrow roads, it is too far to walk to the nearest town about 3kms away. The room was great, big enough for the three of us, and the en suite was large as well. There was a problem in that our son's bed was in direct line with the air conditioning unit, and after the first night we heaped blankets on him while we slept with a sheet.The restaurant was a lovely setting, and the pool and around was just big enough on the rare occassions that it was busy.
What was wrong ? The service . For £200 a night we expected a lot more. The day that we arrived there was a bowl of fruit, and some flowers in a vase. The fruit was not fresh and the flowers wilted and died without the cleaner getting rid of them. on day 5 I threw them out. There was no local info kept at the hotel, not even a small map of the immediate area. We had to pay 10 euros deposit on the pool towels, which at the daily rate, was a little insulting. It was not until the third day that I found out that hot food was available for breakfast, when I saw the only other english family tucking into bacon & eggs. The hotel caters more for Germans. We had to give 24hrs notice to order a paella for a joint evening meal, and even that was impossible when we were suddenly told that the next day was bbq evening, and the rest of the menu was off as it takes two to cook a paella and one chef was master bbq so the second could not cope with a paella! Monday evening we found the restaurant was closed. Luckily we had hired a car by then, otherwise we would have been in trouble. The food served was average. The drinks were expensive, (buy your own water)and it was summed up when we asked a headwaitress for some aioli instead of olive oil, and was told that we could not have it. A second request to a normal waitress resulted in a dish of aioli being produced in seconds.
The service and extras were more atuned to a £50 a night hotel, which is a great shame because with a little more effort this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank adedonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Precioso entorno rural, muy tranquilo y muy bien situado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nachitosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fenjaboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santanyi
4.4 mi away
Es Turo Finca Hotel Rural
Es Turo Finca Hotel Rural
#1 of 3 in Ses Salines
300 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Hotel Pinos Playa
Hotel Pinos Playa
#1 of 1 in Cala Santanyi
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cal Reiet Holistic Retreat
5.9 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
3 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Marimon
Finca Hotel Son Marimon
#2 of 7 in Santanyi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Sa Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Sa Galera

Address: Ctra Santanyi-Cas Concos Km 6,3 | Ctra Santanyi-Cas Concos Km 6,3, 07208 Santanyi, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Santanyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Santanyi
Price Range: $122 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Sa Galera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sa Galera is an ancient Majorcan manor which dates from the 13th century. It is surrounded by an amazing natural environment. The estate has been recently restored and turned into a wonderful hotel.In our search for quality and comfort, we have made an effort to respect the estate’s own style, taking lovingly care of every single detail.Sa Galera is the name of one of the seven fiefdoms into which the Kingdom of Majorca was divided by King Jaume I when he conquered the island to the Moors. D. Nuño Sanz ran the estate which housed the most important cavalry corps in the island.Its fertile fields were full of vineyards, almond trees and carob trees. Today the estate has over 5000 almond trees and houses one of the most important Pure Majorcan horse breeding centres. The Bonet-Company family have been the estate owners since 1850 and have personally participated in the restoration of the manor . They have been deeply concerned in keeping the original framework and have finally come up with a very nice and comfortable hotel with twenty rooms, each and every one of them with a character of its own. The estate is very well located in an amazing privileged environment where you will enjoy a unique and relaxing quietness, away from crowded tourist areas. Nevertheless its location will allow you to easily reach many interesting spots such as the nearest village Ca’s Concos , the towns of Santanyí and Felanitx , as well as the modern marinas of Cala D’Or and Porto Petro. And since it is located in the southwest coast of the island there are many wonderful beaches at close range, specially the beautiful beaches of Cala Mondragó and S’Amarador, which are Specially Protected Natural Areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Sa Galera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Sa Galera Santanyi, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing