We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent food”
Review of La Grotta

La Grotta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: L'Antica Trattoria "La Grotta" was founded in 1918 by Adelmo Negri, not far from a cave dug into the tuff. Here generations of gourmets have spent happy hours for lunch or dinnerbased on authentic traditional dishes. "Tradition" is the buzzword that after Adelmo, has been handed down from generationgeneration through Aristide until Bruna and children Andrea and Maria Cristina ropes. Andrea is the chef that today thanks to the "secrets" sent by her grandmother Ada serves traditional cuisine, skilfully reinterpreted that follows the seasons, offering the full range of specialties from Bologna and some now rare dishes of the hill.
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Had a great dinner here. Menu is in Italian but the very friendly waitres speaks perfectly English and translates the dishes for you if necessary. Service was quite fast, food of excellent quality and great (home made) wine. Nice location too.

Need a car to come here as it is not in the village and you'll drive some small dark roads, but there is parking space available. Located Close by to our accomodation fattiorie Di monteciario but we went by car because the small, windy road is not easy to walk on by night.

We tried various courses and shared them with two. Definitely would go back here if I would stay longer.

Prices vary from 8 tot 12 euro for each course (antipasti, primo, Segundo, dessert) and wine varied from 14(house wine) to 40 euro a bottle. We spend 84 euro with 2 (shared 4 courses, had 2 desserts and had a bottle of wine and water)

See images of "virgo pasta" (these 2 plates together is 1 regular portion) and our desserts "roasted acacia flower with ice cream and lokal almondmilk ice cream with kaki fruit sauce

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Susanne1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 549 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2019

We were staying just down the road from the restaurant and we went with our Italian friend. She ordered things we have never heard of and never would have ordered ourselves, which made the meal extremely interesting. We started with deep fried artichoke balls and a platter of meats, which were all very good. We also had platters of grilled vegetables and more deep fried vegetables and fruit, dipped in batter and sugar. Quite a contrast. The maialino (pork) flavours were strong and like nothing I've had before - but delicious. The 2013 Barolo was a great match. We finished off with an excellent panna cotta dessert which was laced with interesting flavours of wild herbs and sour cherries. The restaurant is very spacious, and the service was very good.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Papamoabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

Visit with colleagues on a business trip. 100 year old restaurant with a great tradition. Food choice is great with a great selection of wines. If you want to taste traditional Italy then this is the place to visit enjoy

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank GE05NED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

As always, I am the stupid vegan of the family but the chef came to me to understand what did I want to relish. The result? A fantastic dinner.
I ate some fried "polenta" with a top of fresh truffles and a mixed fried vegetables of the site.
The ingredients are from little manufacturers of the zone of Bologna, from the flours to the fruits.
Amazing tasty experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

The restaurant is on the Bologna hill's, but it's better to go form Sasso Marconi exi t on the highway.
In La Grotta you can't fnd a lot of dishes or plates, but you can be sure to find excellent and fresh food for every season . The secret of this place is the Funi's family, the mother on the tables to listen and to recomned to all guests with her husband, the son like a perfect cookingman and sommelier and Cristina, fantastic and lovely to be helpfull where it's need every moment. You have the impression to be at home in your sitting room, in your kitchen, but served and treated like a king. You can find different dishes and food for every week, month ora season, but it's true tha t everythink is excellent, superb and fresh right for a perfect seasonality. Go wiith first dish of typical tortellini or tagliolini, go on with second dish with superb meat with truffle when it's right season, and finish with perfect cakes. It's not easy to describe the food and the perfect regional wine like Pignoletto or several kind of other wines from all over in Italy and out, but i say you will pay less you can expect with a so wondefull and perfect service and food.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta also viewed

Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
 
Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
 
Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
Sasso Marconi, Province of Bologna
 

Been to La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing